Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of moving to PassageWest info urgently needed?

• 21-01-2010 12:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Hi

First time user long time viewer. The other half of me and myself are looking to rent in the Passage West area. Prices seems decent enough compared to other places around.

I ve been to Passage a few times but don't know much about it.

Can anyone provide info on

What it is really like..
    Would people recomend moving out there
    What traffic is like for work
    Socalising...
    taxi fares...
    Anything that may be useful...

Thanks in advance

What it is really like..
    Small town, not overly friendly really, place is still stuck in the 70s.

No, I was thinking of buying a place there years ago, my Dad said I would hate it, he used to play for some Passage clubs years back knows loads of people from there, they like Passage folk down there, no one else.

Passage to the City is an awful spin in the morning, evening is no better unless you finish at 4 or so.

Socalising...
    Awful, unless you're a local.

taxi fares...
    Dunno

Obviously it's not that bad, but it's not an overly friendly spot. I may well end up living not too far from it but it's not something I look forward to.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I'm sure there are people who would 100% disagree with everything roverjames said.

No doubt :)
    Not many blow ins would disagree though me thinks. You're more than welcome to tell about how it's such a friendly little town that has loads of great pubs and whatnot though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

i was only there once,had a bad experience and never went back i think that was 4 years ago,

and every single morning without fail on red fm they will say traffic on the passage to rochestown is backed up/crazy/not moving etc etc, i could save at least €150 on rent by moving there,but i wouldnt even consider it

• Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Max001

gpf101 wrote: »
    I'm sure there are people who would 100% disagree with everything roverjames said.

Love to disagree with RJ for a bit of craic ;) however in this case, as a blow-in, I'd have to agree. While people in PW aren't unfriendly, I'd regard living there as a slow death.

Max001 wrote: »
    Love to disagree with RJ for a bit of craic ;)

There'll be other threads :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I live in Passage West and I'm a blow-in :)

Been here for about 5 years now, so here's my opinion:

What it is really like..
    It's grand, people are OK, a decent mix, some scummy and in-bred and not very friendly, others are fine. Just like every small town/village in Ireland.

Depends, as others said, the commute along the Rochestown rd is horrendous. If you work in Ringaskiddy or Monkstown (anywhere going the opposite direction) then traffic won't be a problem.
    Yes, I am stuck in this nightmare every morning trying to get my daughter to school in Douglas every morning.
    Example: It takes me 25 minutes to get from my house to the Rochestown Inn (that is exactly 2 miles!!) and between 30 and 60 mins to get to Douglas.

What traffic is like for work -> See above!

Socalising...In the 5 years I've been here I have yet to go out in Passage. It's pretty clique and rough so I'm told. Douglas is closer and better, or even Monkstown is nice for a pint.

taxi fares... 20 quid from town approx, oh and the bus service is poor, not very frequent. Bus Eireann is designed to suit the staff, not the traveling public :rolleyes:

Anything that may be useful...hmm, let me see, if you are just the two of ye and like to go out a bit then maybe Douglas is more for you I think.

But hey, if you come to Passage you're welcome from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

I looked at Passage a few years ago and decided it wasnt for me. If I lived there for a few years I might change my mind, but having spent time in and out of it, i find it a bit dreay....hard to put my finger on it exactly !
    Its funny it should have a lot going for it - next to harbour on one side with some old buildings and the hill on the other. It will probably improve over the years...but.
    Cant see the traffic situation improving in the next ten years though. If the budget allows look at Rochestown especially with prices having dropped so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

lostincork wrote: »
    Hi

First time user long time viewer. The other half of me and myself are looking to rent in the Passage West area. Prices seems decent enough compared to other places around.

I ve been to Passage a few times but don't know much about it.

Can anyone provide info on

What it is really like..
    Socalising...
    taxi fares...
    Anything that may be useful...

Thanks in advance
    There are better places to look at. Passage is known as a 'passage' for good reason. I socialised there briefly, one jacket plus contents stolen in local pub within minutes.

Bit of a nationalistic type area as well with rotting flats on the waterfront. I really hope your not thinking of moving into one of them?

Overall atmosphere was not great i.e. 'We don't like your kind around here boy' type mentalilty that is unless you have a purty mouth like the one worn by your girlfriend. Yup come live here purty lady. A good time will be had by y'all.

If ya like it rough then by all means take the plunge. I'm sure the locals will appreciate it, yup.

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭Bumble32

Basically what everone is trying to say is that "passage is a dive"

Bumble32 wrote: »
    Basically what everone is trying to say is that "passage is a dive"

:D yeah, even though I live here I suppose that's it in a nutshell. A lot of people moved to Passage due to more reasonable house prices during the celtic kitten and property boom but now that places in Douglas/Mount Oval have adjusted their prices perhaps you may have more options available to you OP.

As someone else said, it has huge potential, beautiful river walk, nice village (if it was cleaned up and stuff) but really, the people make or break a place and Passage is truly broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭buckrodgers

Ye are being very hard on the place. I lived there for about ten years, my parents still live there. I was a blow in. I loved living there. There is a great walk called the line. The park is nice for small kids. There are good schools there, no need to be driving to Douglas for the schools. There are plenty of lovely people down there, it sounds to me like you are basing your judgements on the people who go into the pubs down there. Yes I would not go to the pubs there, they are dives but there is more to a town then its pubs. There are a lot of community groups that run, pace - the big pink building - this is for the elderly to get together, there is a meals and wheels in there too. The local library is also based there. There is a mother and baby group. Rochestown park hotel is relatively close as is the bosun in Monkstown.
    Dad works in the city and gets the bus in and out everyday. He goes around half seven in the morning and is in in about twenty minutes. I have lived in the city and other suburbs around Cork and all people are closed off until you make conversation with them. I found it much safer than Cork city or even some of the more well to do suburbs.
    Personally I would love to move back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If it's clannish, well it's fairly close to town and very close to Douglas, Monkstown, Carrigaline, so maybe these would meet your socialising needs?

The town centre is kinda run-down and dreary - could do with a facelift, but the surroundings are lovely. Some very nice estates on the way in from the Douglas side. Mixture of suburban and countryside - "rurban" - good environment to live in, in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,563 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Example: It takes me 25 minutes to get from my house to the Rochestown Inn (that is exactly 2 miles!!) and between 30 and 60 mins to get to Douglas..

Jesus - hardly takes me 30 mins from Cobh to College Road!

On topic: some of the pubs in Passage are well rough, but some are fine (eben though they look dodge!).

Jesus - hardly takes me 30 mins from Cobh to College Road!

On topic: some of the pubs in Passage are well rough, but some are fine (eben though they look dodge!).

care to mention the fine ones (presume that would be less work than naming the rough ones!).

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Milly33

Oh I wouldnt do it nope nope..

Not unless now you were renting somewhere kinda outside Passge or perhaps if you are older and settling down as in like mmm late 50's..

I grew up in Rochestown and went to school in Passage and I wouldnt live there..Not saying that all the people are not nice but their are a few scumbags and if you have kids I would say stay well away, some of the kids from there, it is a shame to see them hanging around shouting and being grown ups rather than kids that they are..

The traffice is also crap in the mornings there are so many schools between Passage and Monkstown, there is a way to avoid this by taking the back roads alrite...

Bus as far as I rememeber it is quite good for buses..

Socilising is ehhh well it had plenty of old man bars there again it is fine if you know the people that run them some of them are great and gas characters but it would not be a young persons idea of a night on the town.

One thing they do have is a great sporting attitude although some of the groups take it way to seriously

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

I went to look at a place to rent down there 6 motnhs ago (for me and my bf, so similar situation).
    Just my opinion ( and no offence to anyone living in Passage) but its just lifeless down there. We went for a drive around etc. Not near to any Tesco/Dunnes etc, town is very drab looking. I wouldn't fancy going into any of the local pubs unless I were a local, if you know what I mean.
    The commute to work would be horrendous; traffic unreal and the road isn't great either.
    As for heading to town etc? My best friend has to dish out 30 squid to get home from a night out and she knows the taxi driver.
    Not the place for me!

poconnor16 wrote: »
    I went to look at a place to rent down there 6 motnhs ago (for me and my bf, so similar situation).
    Just my opinion ( and no offence to anyone living in Passage) but its just lifeless down there. We went for a drive around etc. Not near to any Tesco/Dunnes etc,

ooh, and close proximity to said places is a guarantee to lively and bustling environs:rolleyes:

yes, the place is lifeless alright, well it's lifeless to people who aren't born and bred there.

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

ooh, and close proximity to said places is a guarantee to lively and bustling environs:rolleyes:

yes, the place is lifeless alright, well it's lifeless to people who aren't born and bred there.

Where did I say that Tesco/Dunnes gaurantees this? Believe it or not, come people consider weekly shopping, eating food etc a bit of a important task, so I was being helpful.
    I was trying NOT to be insulting to anyone living in Passage - you obviously have a different take and thanks for sharing it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Ive covered this topic previously, please refrain from making disparaging comments about an area as it will be treated as an attempt to flame.

castie wrote: »
    Ive covered this topic previously, please refrain from making disparaging comments about an area as it will be treated as an attempt to flame.

ah c'mon now Castie, I live in the area!! My comments were satirical and I'm sure most people reading them would agree that I have described almost every town in Ireland.

How (exactly) does my post go against that charter??

poconnor16 wrote: »
    Where did I say that Tesco/Dunnes gaurantees this? Believe it or not, come people consider weekly shopping, eating food etc a bit of a important task, so I was being helpful.
    I was trying NOT to be insulting to anyone living in Passage - you obviously have a different take and thanks for sharing it.

well Dunnes and Tesco is only 5 minutes from Passage (in Douglas) and Mahon Point is only 10 minutes away so that's quite handy don't you think?
    I have two young children and believe me, I go shopping weekly!!

Well maybe your comments were insulting you know, you can never be PC enough these days!
    I was having a laugh, you know, some fun and a little humour...do you take everything you read on the internet seriously?

well Dunnes and Tesco is only 5 minutes from Passage (in Douglas) and Mahon Point is only 10 minutes away so that's quite handy don't you think?

In reality they are double that easily :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

I thought you said traffic is chronic and it can take an hour to get to Douglas :confused:

Ludo wrote: »
    I thought you said traffic is chronic and it can take an hour to get to Douglas :confused:

aaarrrggg!! yes, during the morning rush! Ludo if I have to turn around from my desk and hit ya I will...you know.

RoverJames wrote: »
    In reality they are double that easily :)

not when I'm going there, early on a Saturday or Sunday morning...when people without children are still in bed.

Passage to Douglas is 5 miles, the road is far from a motorway. Also Passage, Rochestown and Douglas are 50km/hr areas, there is no way you can do it in 5 mins unless you average 100km/hr, which would mean you would be speeding the entire way :) 10 mins I reckon if the traffic is very light.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

aaarrrggg!! yes, during the morning rush! Ludo if I have to turn around from my desk and hit ya I will...you know.

I see you have settled well in Passage....Typical Passage persons response :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

ah c'mon now Castie, I live in the area!! My comments were satirical and I'm sure most people reading them would agree that I have described almost every town in Ireland.

How (exactly) does my post go against that charter??

Previous topics have lead to this line being taken.
    This goes for everyone not just you so exceptions wont be made.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Passage to Douglas is 5 miles, the road is far from a motorway. Also Passage, Rochestown and Douglas are 50km/hr areas, there is no way you can do it in 5 mins unless you average 100km/hr, which would mean you would be speeding the entire way :) 10 mins I reckon if the traffic is very light.

who said anything about driving....I'm a fast runner you know;)