Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Milan Derby

• 24-01-2010 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭

Well as most of us have ESPN this weekend, it's time to take in some Italian Footy and no better match than the Milan Derby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Thanks for pointing this out, boca juniors and playing river plate at 1 am aswell and then after that there is UFC all access thanks very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Its gonna clash with the Real Madrid game :(

Decisions, decisions..........

Goldenballs or Twinkle toes ?

Eto'o obviously aint there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

who are Madrid playing then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

syngindub wrote: »
    who are Madrid playing then?

Malaga. Gotta be the Milan derby for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Milan derby (one of the biggest games in world football?) or Real Vs. F.C. Nobody.

If you have to even think about it, I worry about you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Seaneh wrote: »
    Milan derby (one of the biggest games in world football?) or Real Vs. F.C. Nobody.

If you have to even think about it, I worry about you.

Italian football = slow and boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

I take it you didn't watch the game between Inter and AC earlier this season then? It was anything but slow and boring.

well i'll watch this game and then give my opinion. I haven't watched a full Italian Game in about 5 years

Current League Position

1. Inter 20 46
    2. Milan 19 40

Inter slight favourites with the Bookies.
    Just put a few quid on a draw.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

I watched the Juve Roma match last night, was decent, although ref was blowing up for everything

what time is K.O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

bryanjf wrote: »
    what time is K.O

7:45pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

i used to love the coverage on c4 . lunchtime on sundays . gazza in his his pomp italian football was the best there was then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Well lads, not very good with knowledge when it comes to TV or satellites but I'd love to see what'll hopefully be a cracker tonight at the San Siro.

To avail of ESPN, do you have to have a Sky Box?

I have a satellite on Astra 2, 28.3' or something like that.
    I don't think there's much chance of me getting it on my yoke' but sure I thought I'd ask all the same.

Any ideas? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Doocey wrote: »
    Well lads, not very good with knowledge when it comes to TV or satellites but I'd love to see what'll hopefully be a cracker tonight at the San Siro.

To avail of ESPN, do you have to have a Sky Box?

I have a satellite on Astra 2, 28.3' or something like that.
    I don't think there's much chance of me getting it on my yoke' but sure I thought I'd ask all the same.

Any ideas? :)
    If you have a betfair account you can watch it there. Great quality and no lag.

INTER: Julio Cesar; Maicon, Lucio, Samuel, Santon; Zanetti, Cambiasso, Muntari; Sneijder, Milito, Pandev.

MILAN: Dida; Abate, Thiago Silva, Favalli, Antonini; Gattuso, Pirlo, Ambrosini; Beckham, Borriello, Ronaldinho.

Nesta out for Milan which will be a huge miss for them given his form. No Eto'o for Inter as well.

english football = extremely lacking in technique.

spanish football = extreme lack of tactical awareness.

See, I can talk absolute sh!te too.

If you have a betfair account you can watch it there. Great quality and no lag.

Might do that cheers, would rather watch it on the telebox but that'll be fine if it's not possible :)
    Cheers.

INTER: Julio Cesar; Maicon, Lucio, Samuel, Santon; Zanetti, Cambiasso, Muntari; Sneijder, Milito, Pandev.

MILAN: Dida; Abate, Thiago Silva, Favalli, Antonini; Gattuso, Pirlo, Ambrosini; Beckham, Borriello, Ronaldinho.

Nesta out for Milan which will be a huge miss for them given his form. No Eto'o for Inter as well.

Positives on Milan the defence.

Abate and Luca offer a LOT more going forward than Oddo and Zambrotta, and they are getting better defensively every game, especially Abate, he has come a lot lately.

Negatives.

Pepe fu*king Flavalli, ffs, serouisly?!?!

Worst Milan player since Helveg!

Another positive, I think Beckham has been very good in the advanced central position behind Ronnie and Marco,he doesn't need to break his bollocks pace wise and he can use his vision to play some great balls into the box, also he can drift out wide and over lap with Abate a lot and ping some quality crosses in, like against Juve and Sienna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I still fancy Inter for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I like this panel, good to see Liam Brady back in the chair too. Well in again, ESPN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Yeah if you've nothing intelligent to write you should keep your ignorant opinions to yourself!

is becks taking the free kicks for Milan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I'd presume it's shared between himself, Ronnie and Pirlo, I guess we'll find out tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Free to view ESPN ftw! Looking foward to this, was so happy when they showed it on BBC 3 last year!

Anyway, last game Inter wiped the floor with AC. Inter are having a drop in form and AC going well now. 6 points between them, with AC one game in hand. I said this earlier, if Inter win, I reckon it's another Serie A in the bag. They won't go through another bad patch imo.

Milan probably will be looking to avenge and close the gap. They just beat Juve well away. Hopefully a goal fest. No-one can predict these matches.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What time is kick-off?

Kick-off at 7:45.
    IvySlayer wrote: »
    Free to view ESPN ftw!
    Even better :D Beckham on now.

Cheers, new series of 24 on tonight, so not gonna see all of the match!! Gotta be done:)

Where ye lot watching it through?
    What kinda box ye got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

He's been taking the corners, free kicks have been shared as said. Ronnie's on pens.

Cheers, new series of 24 on tonight, so not gonna see all of the match!! Gotta be done:)

Record it on Sky Plus ya scamp :P

thats some dodgy shirt that golden balls is wearing

Abate and Luca offer a LOT more going forward than Oddo and Zambrotta, and they are getting better defensively every game, especially Abate, he has come a lot lately.
    Silva at right-back, Abate in central defence.

Record it on Sky Plus ya scamp :P
    And delay seeing Jack Bauer abusing basic human rights? Not a hope! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

I saw that too, and still don't believe it!

Has Abate played CB before? Seems a bit mad.

Alex Ferguson at San Siro!

who is he looking at me wonders??

Hmmmmm, scouting the enemy for the Champions League? :p

oh ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Looking forward to this, first time I'll watch Milan play this year so interested to see them in terms of the upcoming tie.

What's the story with Pato, is he out?

What planet are you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

What a treat. Really looking forward to this. 24 on Sky+

What planet are you from?
    ESPN said Silva will start at right-back, sounds daft to me but it's what they said.

That cannot be right...

I hope they give out ear plugs when entering the stadium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

mourinho has a home unbeaten record stretching 8 years (says ESPN) thats pretty damn good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

jesus, what a strike! great start to the game

Abate at right-back. ESPN clearly have no clue about Italianfootball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

a yellow card already

ffs ref have some sense

Thank fu*k it for that!