Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Transalp, What to look out for?

• 25-01-2010 1:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭

All right folks.
    I'm about to pop my Biker cherry and join the fantastically insane club of two wheel enthusiasts.

I've done a good bit of research into what bike to get, what gear, the cost of insurance ect..
    Long story Short, I'm looking to buy a 1998 Transalp.

Now before the mob descends to lynch me for trying to buy such a big 600cc bike as a starter, bear with me.

Firstly, I'm 6ft 4 and none of the standard starter bikes are anywhere near big enough to fit me.
    Secondly, I'm going to have a few lessons before I drive her home.
    Thirdly, I think I'll have it restricted for the first while.
    Lastly, When I got up on it on Saturday it felt right and I fell in love with the bike right away.

Basically, Is there anything particular about that type of bike I should look out for?
    I hear the engine is a bit tricky to work on because of the layout for example.. But I can deal with that.

I'm only just learning about the different types and makes of bike, and I don't want to get something that three months later I'll find out that "Sure everyone knows those yokes have electrics made from tinfoil and spit"

Cheers Guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

transalp is grand

but

now listen for a minute i know your in love withe the bike

you nee to get it looked at by someone who know bikes

you need to test drive it to see if you like it (this means you need to learn to ride)

you need to try other stuff

triumph tiger , yamaha tdm,honda africa twin,

these are all bigger better bikes aned you should try them

how much does yer man want for the tranny whats the milege what condition is it in what tyres is he using
    what type of break lines are in it what colour is the exhaust what type of exhaust is it

what does the wiring loom look like do all the electrics work has he any service history is the bike taxed any non original stuff on it

here is a jap import learner legal one

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/motorbikes/1058048

looks nice

or buy this its nicer

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/motorbikes/1092590

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Cheers for that Tigger..
    Some very good questions there that I didn't think to ask.

The one I was looking at was in a dealership,
    I think the extra couple of quid would be worth it until I learn enough myself to know what to look for.
    They're going to service it up for me, stick on new tyres ect.. and the six month warranty is a big bonus.

ok

how much is it and what is the warranty on ?

whats the milege

They're looking for 2700 for it.
    The warranty is for any (not my fault) issues on the bike in the six months... I'm not to sure how far that goes really...
    Apparently the shop has a reputation for the mechanics being a bit shítty on what they consider your fault..

I completely forgot to check the mileage on that one tbh..
    Bit of a dumb mistake really, but I was distracted and excitable..
    I'm going back in on Thursday for a second look anyway, I'll check it then.
    Any idea on a ballpark of what it should be for the price / age?

its priced high
    here is an example of whats out there

http://www.biker.ie/forum/showthread.php?t=99222&highlight=transalp

and i recon this guy will take 3,000 mabey 3,100 at a push thats with panniers and all

http://www.biker.ie/forum/showthread.php?t=82479&highlight=transalp

thats three year younger

take yer time its a buyers market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭ogriofa

I obviously haven't seen this bike, but I think thats way too much for an 98. If its got the retro white paint job and its low mileage then its a good price, otherwise, no.
    I'd never deal with a bike shop that had a bad rep. Ask around. Be carefull of what you read on a lot of these forums, theres a lot a boolsheet being typed up.

Can I link to a more specialised (for Honda motorcycles) site?

Besides, its a buyers market I would have thought.

Have you read up on all the "Restrictions" to new riders? V important

1 tip, and I cant stress this enough... get lessons*, they'll save your life or at least loads of pain daily (and your insurance will be a lot less painfull) Its not cheap, but you wont be sorry. Part of the sales bit is that you will enjoy riding much more if you have the skills down - and its very true.

* Depending on where you live, David Lyons http://www.motorbiketraining.net/
    This guy has got me trained up for tests and advanced grades - very clear, really understands where your head will be at. VERY professional but a good lad too.

I ride an '03 Transalp - great machines!!
    Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Wazdakka wrote: »
    They're looking for 2700 for it.
    The warranty is for any (not my fault) issues on the bike in the six months... I'm not to sure how far that goes really...
    Apparently the shop has a reputation for the mechanics being a bit shítty on what they consider your fault..

I completely forgot to check the mileage on that one tbh..
    Bit of a dumb mistake really, but I was distracted and excitable..
    I'm going back in on Thursday for a second look anyway, I'll check it then.
    Any idea on a ballpark of what it should be for the price / age?

You buy off a dealer second hand, you can expect up to a years warranty on the machine regardless of what they say it is. More depending on how far you would like to push it.

But if you already know they have a bad rep I would tell them to piss off. ts only going to lead to heartache.

ogriofa wrote: »
    * Depending on where you live, David Lyons http://www.motorbiketraining.net/
    This guy has got me trained up for tests and advanced grades - very clear, really understands where your head will be at. VERY professional but a good lad too.

You're about the 6th person to recommend this guy to me.
    I'm impressed, that's some reputation..

Cheers for all the help and advice lads,
    You've definitely given me a few things to think about..

I'll post an update when I have one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Wazdakka wrote: »
    You're about the 6th person to recommend this guy to me.
    I'm impressed, that's some reputation..

I'd recommend him too. Great teacher.

You buy off a dealer second hand, you can expect up to a years warranty on the machine regardless of what they say it is. More depending on how far you would like to push it.

But if you already know they have a bad rep I would tell them to piss off. ts only going to lead to heartache.

a years warranty on a 12 year old bike

you'll be lucky if you get 3 months

if i'm wrong tell me who gives a year cos i'l reccomend them to everyone

it has to be fit for use and safe at time of sale but i really don't think we are talking a year here

i'll be happy to be proven wrong