Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm Free! (so far)

Options
  • 25-01-2010 5:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭

Hi All

Finally bit the bullet and stopped smoking last Friday night. So it's day 3 now and I can't believe how well it's going.

I started takin the Champix about 3 weeks ago but it didn't make me cut down on the cigs at all so I was really dissappointed. I was also reading good ole Allen Carr "The only way to stop smoking" (basically an extended version of easyway)

Really got it into my head that I wanted and needed to stop. I have been smoking 20+ a day for 20 years!! Am 34 now and figured I couldn't cope with 35 and still a smoker :-)

Don't know whether it's the Champix, Allen Carr or both that is working out so well but believe me I have tried to quit cold turkey before and gone through hell not sleeping and obsessing about smoking. I also used the gum before but i really think that just keeps the craving for nicotene going...

Anyhow I have read peoples accounts before when they said they were finding it not too tough and have alway thought well they mustn't be "proper smokers" then. But I swear this feels really do-able!!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭martingore

Well done .I quit smoking on Friday too for the same reason as you did, Im 35 next month and could'nt go on like this anymore.Im trying the new nicorette invisi patchs and they are work well so far.I've been down this road before so its always one day at a time.