Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Captain Slog

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

6.03Km in 44:33 (7:23 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Bailed on this one. Hip started to lock up so took the hint.

Total this Week: 14.04Km
    Total this Month: 92.04Km
    Total this Year: 259.40Km
    Runs this Week: 2
    Runs 32 out of 53 days (60.3%)

Average distance per run: 8.18Km
    Average runs per week: 4.21
    Average distance per week: 34.41Km

11.75Km in 1:28:48 (7:33 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

After a two-day break I chanced a long run. Managed to hold on till the last lap so missed out on a probably vital 0.25Km. Glad to salvage something out of the week.

Total this Week: 25.79Km
    Total this Month: 103.79Km
    Total this Year: 271.15Km
    Runs this Week: 3
    Runs 33 out of 56 days (58.9%)

Average distance per run: 8.21Km
    Average runs per week: 4.05
    Average distance per week: 33.35Km

8.01Km in 59:12 (7:23 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Back out again. Not a bad run, considering. Back with the physio this week so hopefully she’ll get me back on track before the 5K on Sunday. Miracles do happen, don’t they?

Total this Week: 8.01Km
    Total this Month: 111.80Km
    Total this Year: 279.16Km
    Runs this Week: 1
    Runs 34 out of 58 days (58.6%)

8.01Km in 57:32 (7:11 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Took it easy yesterday, niggles in the hip etc. Back out today and things had settled down somewhat. Back with the physio tonight.

Total this Week: 16.02Km
    Total this Month: 119.90Km
    Total this Year: 287.17Km
    Runs 35 out of 60 days (58.3%)

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Hope the physio left you in good shape for tomorrow- enjoy!

5.00Km in 32:18 (6:28 min/Km) Bohermeen, Co. Meath

Race Report

Spring Meath 5K, Bohermeen, Co. Meath

The running gods were in their heaven today. Weather was clear, crisp and with just an edge on the wind to keep you honest.

Up early and breakfasted, left at about 10.40am for the 30 minute spin over to Bohermeen. Got to the clubhouse as they were turning back traffic towards the overflow car park. I knew I shouldn’t have had the 5-minute snooze!!

Parked up and collected my number. Off at 12 noon.

The course, which I have never run on before, has 5K PB potential written all over it. (Not today, mind you, but if you were in that shape….)

My last 5K, Tara in August 2011, was 35:01, so nearly 3 minutes off that one. Delighted indeed. I wanted to get below 34 minutes. I wasn’t sure whether my training had been effective. With this result under my belt I have the confidence to carry on as I have been doing. With the restrictions in time/distance that my hip places on me it’s good to see positive improvement.

Total this Week: 21.02Km
    Total this Month: 5Km
    Total this Year: 292.17Km
    Runs 36 out of 64 days (56.25%)

Average distance per run: 8.11Km
    Average runs per week: 3.94
    Average distance per week: 32.00Km

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Well done MCS. Back on form :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Well done!! And added confidence to boot - which is always a nice bonus!! You'll be that much more formidable in your next race! :)

Congrats MCS delighted that you done better than you thought:)

6th March 2012

5.01Km in 36:00 (7:11 min/Km) Frayne, Athboy

8th March 2012

6.01Km in 44:14 (7:22 min/Km) Frayne, Athboy

10th March 2012

4.02Km in 29:30 (7:20 min/Km) Frayne, Athboy

19th March 2012

7.01Km in 53:43 (7:40 min/Km) Frayne, Athboy

21st March 2012

2.01Km in 14:41 (7:18 min/Km) Frayne, Athboy

Total this Week: 24.06Km
    Total this Month: 31.07Km
    Total this Year: 316.23Km
    Runs this Week: 5
    Runs 41 out of 84 days (48.8%)

Average distance per run: 8.11Km
    Average runs per week: 3.94
    Average distance per week: 32.00Km

6.43Km in 47:16 (7:21 min/Km) Dunboyne, Co. Meath

Race Report

Dunboyne 4 Mile 25th March 2012

After a strong January, and a middling February, March has not been the run-fest that one would have hoped for. The hip has been particularly tetchy, causing aborted runs and a general lack of confidence while running.

And to cap all this racing season is upon me. The Spring 5K was a high point. The Dunboyne 4 Mile not so.

The morning promised the kind of weather runners hope for. A light breeze, warm and dry. After the usual preparations I set out, dropping the eldest at the stables on the way. Registration was a doddle, with bigger queues at the pre-reg desks than the on-the-day one. Good quality tech t-shirt.

I was still feeling the effects of the painkiller I had taken on Friday night, groggy and a bit out of it. I thought I was amply hydrated, and downed 500ml approx an hour before the off.

Lined up with the 1,100+ others and we were off at 3pm. The first 2 miles went well. The only issue I had was having to swerve around two “ladies” who stopped dead in front of me. This caused some discomfort in the hip (more of this later).

At the 2-mile mark I was motoring at sub-11-minute miles. The major issue at this stage was an inability to spit. Anyone who has run with me will be aware of my propensity to “expel” every so often. My mouth was dry, and there was bugg*r all saliva on tap. “Expelling” was not an option.

3 miles came in 34 minutes. A twelve-minute mile. Coming back into the village centre I could hear the crowds in the distance. Another “swervegate” incident and I was struggling. My upper thigh was cramping and I slowed to a near crawl as the finish came into sight. My hip was locking with each step. I was barely able to hobble through the finish chute. A thirteen-minute last mile.

So, the positives? I finished.

Where to from here? I need to get back running regularly, no matter how slow or short. I had only run 5 times since the Spring 5K.

Total this Week: 15.45Km
    Total this Month: 37.5Km
    Total this Year: 322.66Km
    Runs 42 out of 85 days (49.4%)

Average distance per run: 7.68Km
    Average runs per week: 3.20
    Average distance per week: 24.57Km

I was wondering where you were.
    I always claim that 'ladies' shouldn't be allowed in bookies during Cheltnaham and grand national and now I have to agree they should be banned from road races- luckily I'm far from being any form of a lady! When I had IT band troubles the sudden unexpected movements were the ones that I always knew could send me 10 steps backwards, I can imagine how you felt.
    However finishing is always good- its up there with being able to get up in the morning:)

Ouch sorry to hear that MCS :( the heat on sunday was a killer. Fair play for struggling on. Hope the hip is ok and it's nothing too serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Here's hoping for a swift recovery MCS
    well done on the race on Sundy..i heard "seasoned" runners were stopping to walk the heat was so intense!!!

littlebug wrote: »
    Ouch sorry to hear that MCS :( the heat on sunday was a killer. Fair play for struggling on. Hope the hip is ok and it's nothing too serious.

Its the arthritis so can only get worse until I agree to the amputation. :rolleyes:
    Younganne wrote: »
    I heard "seasoned" runners were stopping to walk the heat was so intense!!!

Serves them right for sprinkling themselves with salt and pepper. :D

4.02Km in 29:58 (7:27 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

A very easy, very short run. The cunning plan is to focus on getting out for at least 30 minutes 4 to 5 times a week. I’ll gradually increase distance/time over the next few weeks. My confidence in the hip has taken a bit of a beating lately (as has the hip).

Last Sunday was very difficult. I don’t want a repeat of it anytime soon.

Total this Week: 4.02Km
    Total this Month: 41.07Km
    Total this Year: 326.68Km
    Runs 43 out of 87 days (49.4%)

4.02Km in 28:50 (7:10 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Another very easy, very short run.

Total this Week: 8.04Km
    Total this Month: 45.09Km
    Total this Year: 330.70Km
    Runs 44 out of 89 days (49.4%)

4.02Km in 28:44 (7:09 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Another very easy, very short run. Next time out will be the Hill Run in Mullaghmeen on Sunday 1st April.

Total this Week: 12.06Km
    Total this Month: 49.11Km
    Total this Year: 334.72Km
    Runs 45 out of 90 days (50.0%)

a hill race :eek: you're a brave man!
    Good luck :D

littlebug wrote: »
    a hill race :eek: you're a brave man!
    Good luck :D

There's a thin line between bravery and lunacy :D

5.00Km in 41:40 (8:20 min/Km) Mullaghmeen, Co. Westmeath

Race Report

St. Brigids AC 5K Hill Run (IMRA) encompassing Meath Hill Run Championships

A glorious day for a run. A tad chilly but not enough to put this specimen off his game.

Left early and was at the venue by 11am. Registered, changed, off at 12.10pm.

While in the annals of mountain running this race is over a mere pimple, for those of us more gravitationally challenged it proves to be an effort, to say the least.

It’s an out and back course, the first 2 Km being reasonable, and was covered in 15 minutes (7:30 min/Km). The 3rd Km separates the field out (12:00 min/Km). Final 2Km in 14 minutes (7:00 min/Km).

Hip held up well, with only slight twinging in the last 800m or so. Good eats afterwards in the midst of the beech trees.

This run went a long way to dispel the ghosts of Dunboyne.

Total this Week: 17.06Km
    Total this Month: 5.0Km
    Total this Year: 339.72Km
    Runs this Week: 4
    Runs 46 out of 92 days (50.0%)

Average distance per run: 7.38Km
    Average runs per week: 3.50
    Average distance per week: 25.87Km

4.02Km in 29:14 (7:16 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

An easy tester of the legs after the Hill Run on Sunday. Both present and correct.

Total this Week: 4.02Km
    Total this Month: 9.02Km
    Total this Year: 343.74Km
    Runs 47 out of 95 days (49.4%)

4.02Km in 30:10 (7:30 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Had to run later in the evening as day got away from me. An hour’s coaching afterwards didn’t help the recovery too much though.:rolleyes:

Total this Month: 13.04Km
    Total this Year: 347.76Km
    Runs 48 out of 96 days (50.0%)

Gosh I was so caught up in my own post race euphoria on Sunday I completely missed your race report :o
    Well done! Hill races indeed.... braver than I!

5.01Km in 36:3 (7:18 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Went out for a trundle in advance of the egg-fest to come. Here choccy choccy……. :pac::pac::pac:

Total this Week: 13.05Km
    Total this Month: 18.05Km
    Total this Year: 352.77Km
    Runs 49 out of 99 days (49.49%)

Average distance per run: 7.19Km
    Average runs per week: 3.46
    Average distance per week: 24.96Km

5.01Km in 35:49 (7:09 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Moving up the distance for this week. In order to keep trundling I have to find the “breaking” point and try to stay just below that. The experiment of 1 continues. :rolleyes:

Total this Week: 5.01Km
    Total this Month: 23.06Km
    Total this Year: 355.78Km
    Runs 50 out of 101 days (49.5%)

Average distance per run: 7.19Km
    Average runs per week: 3.46
    Average distance per week: 24.96Km

Compendium of Runs

Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

11th April – 4.02Km in 29:18 (7:17 min/m)

12th April – 4.02Km on 29:10 (7:15 min/Km)

16th April – 3.03Km in 21:40 (7:09 min/Km)

17th April – 5.01Km in37:37 (7:30 min/Km)

19th April – 4.04Km in 30:07 (7:27 min/Km)

21st April – 3.03Km in 22:40 (7:29 min/Km)

22nd April – 5.01Km in 37:09 (7:25 min/Km)

Generally haven’t been looking after myself the last couple of weeks/months. Too many late nights translate into tired MCS going forward. :o All too easy to bail on runs (before and during) so resulting in a patchy (at best) training regime. :rolleyes: This is the first 5-runs week since January. Says it all really. :(

Total this Week: 20.12Km
    Total this Month: 51.22Km
    Total this Year: 385.84Km
    Runs this Week: 5
    Runs 57 out of 113 days (50.4%)

Average distance per run: 6.76Km
    Average runs per week: 3.53
    Average distance per week: 23.92Km

4.04Km in 29:57 (7:25 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Weather this morning changeable to say the least. It was chucking down hailstones as I was leaving home. Encountered a few heavy rain showers during my run, followed by a good baking in my waterproof jacket when the sun came out. There were still hailstones on the ground when I got home. :eek:

Total this Week: 4.04Km
    Total this Month: 55.26Km
    Total this Year: 389.88Km
    Runs 58 out of 114 days (50.8%)

Average distance per run: 6.76Km
    Average runs per week: 3.53
    Average distance per week: 23.92Km

4.04Km in 29:40 (7:41 min/Km) Club Grounds, Frayne, Athboy, Co. Meath

Another easy enough run.