Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SU Election Candidates - Mod Warning post 196

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Ian Beale wrote: »
    The dirty tricks are already starting, seen a group of girls taking certain posters and leaflets off tables and binning them, wish I knew who was telling them to do that :mad:
    You should have confronted them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Went through the Welfare stuff there, thanks a million Rob.

On USI, I see you mentioned a candidate said better to spent the 40,000 on services at NUIM?

What bloody 40 grand? The money doesn't exist. Are they proposing a referendum where we charge students an extra fiver for services, as opposed to one where we charge students an extra fiver for USI?

Makes me grrrr.

Still, sounds like an interesting Hustings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Anyone who wants to help me out on wednesday by wearing my tshirt and getting votes gets access to a serious post-election pissup in Caulfields :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Maybe this is slightly irrelevant, but anyway I need a bit of a rant, it concerns something that is in my opinion utterly pointless. Yesterday, at those blue seats of death in the Arts block... I was sitting there attempting to read as per usual (the pain keeps me awake and it's not as distracting or diseased as the reading room) and every couple of minutes it seemed someone was passing by dropping yet another election-related leaflet on the table. The table already had a bunch of rubbish on it... and every extra leaflet or flyer just looks like more rubbish. Who the hell is going to go rooting through what genuinely amounts to rubbish to read a flyer that's also pasted every 17 inches in any direction you could possibly move? Seriously, the amount of wasted paper (and time) is astonishing! It's like these people have printed 83000 flyers and they MUST distribute them all, on pain of death, even if the table they distribute to already has 482 copies of the flyer already. People need to get a feckin grip.

When you put a flyer on top of rubbish, it becomes rubbish, even more so than it perhaps already is.

Every candidate demonstrating this approach is automatically not getting my vote, and the vote of everyone I can grab to give out to. And as for what amounts to chalk graffiti everywhere, no vote for them either. And no vote for anyone with a flyer promising things that would be unobtainable even if we all lived in happy happy fantasy land. Realism, honesty, and a lack of muppetry will get my vote more than a mountain of wasted paper that's going in the bin shortly. Although... that might end up meaning no-one gets my vote...

Actually... I'll vote for anyone who'll run a regular "Put your rubbish in the bin yeh scumbags!" campaign on campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

K4t wrote: »
    You should have confronted them.
    I did, they didn't see me until I went over to them and told them to take them back out of the bin, they tried to lie and said they didn't until I walked over to the bin myself and pulled one out:rolleyes: funny thing to they threw the leaflets in to a general waste bin and there was a paper recyling bin right next to it as well:rolleyes: they didn't have any other candidates leaflets or anything to show who they were doing it for though, who do you report that kind of thing to btw?

Ian Beale wrote: »
    The dirty tricks are already starting, seen a group of girls taking certain posters and leaflets off tables and binning them, wish I knew who was telling them to do that :mad:

Can you tell us what candidate they were doing it for?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Ye see Mick, it works, that's why candidates do it. It's a tried and tested methods used by all political parties (how many times do you see the same party poster on a drive home?).If you're sitting around those tables, and are a normal human being, you will probably get curious and pick up whatever reading material has been left there and give it a look over and it might just convince you to vote for someone.

Besides that, election literature encourages students to get involved, read up on candidates and actually get out and vote.
    And no vote for anyone with a flyer promising things that would be unobtainable

Ah sure ye'd have to pick it up and read it to find out that though. ;)

irish_goat wrote: »
    Ah sure ye'd have to pick it up and read it to find out that though. ;)
    Ah! But they were the ones handed to me. And if the candidate can't remember attempting to hand the same person a flyer 5 times... no vote for them.

Actually I went and read all the flyers. There's some fierce grammatical abuse going on!
    If you're sitting around those tables, and are a normal human being ...
    Yes, that second bit is most likely my problem...:p

And no vote for anyone with a flyer promising things that would be unobtainable

If I am elected President, I promise there will be a new canteen by October. I can promise these things, because I am the kind of person who owns a High-Vis jacket and a hard hat and understands the fundamentals of building things.

There will also be no fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

banquo wrote: »
    Can you tell us what candidate they were doing it for?
    It was for one of the VP positions, I think the posters had david something not 100% sure but I'll be around the same place at lunch and can double check.
    Edit: Sorry better clarify I know you meant to say who were they doing it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I saw a Liz Murray sticker on a door in JH earlier, is that not considered graffiti/littering? Unless someone's going to remove them all with label remover afterwards I wouldn't be too impressed.

^There was one on the door of the mens toilets in Arts too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Definitely not the way to go about things IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

I also hope this Lydia one doesn't just let the rain wash all the chalk shit off and actually makes an effort to get rid of it. It looks so horrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭Nision

circa1990 wrote: »
    Liz Murray hiding her Sinn Féin persuasions

WHAT????
    HOW???
    Proof please, you shouldn't throw that accusation around lightly.

I second the above comment.

I know the Ógra Shinn Féin Cumann in NUI Maynooth quite well at this rate.

Poor form saying someone has 'Sinn Fein/ Fine Gael/ Labour/ Workers Party/ Socialist Party' (delete as appropriate!) 'persuasions' unless its backed up, not really fair on Liz.

Don't really know whats meant by ' persuasions' either, compared to say party membership? "I voted them once in the locals" kind of thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Pajoe89

I agree on the whole Party issue, especially in terms of Fianna Fail.
    Not intending to come across as anti-FF but to be honest i wouldn't trust a F.F candidate as far as i could throw him/her considering most of em are doing it cause mam n dad did cause there granddad was a fan of Dev and against the treaty.
    Time we put stupid things like that behind us and vote with our heads. I know it's a little off topic but it does filter down to student elections when in my opinion all students should be left leaning (until they get a high paid job anyway) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 circa1990

Nision wrote: »
    WHAT????
    HOW???
    Proof please, you shouldn't throw that accusation around lightly.

she's told me herself before on many an occasion. by persuasion I mean that she supports the party although i don't know if she's a member of the ógra shinn fein cumann on campus

but what does it matter anyway? people are entitled to support what ever political party they want. it shouldnt affect anyone's opinion on them personally. end of! the way you guys are talking about it you'd think I was slating her. She's getting my 1st preference, which shows that I intend to vote on the merit of the individual candidate and not according to each of their political creed.

people are entitled to support what ever political party they want. it shouldnt affect anyone's opinion on them personally

yep, by and large I agree 100% with this.

I think it came off badly, the point I was trying to make was that I don't personally think election Ógra Fianna Fail reps to Presidental or VP places in student unions is wise at present. They're obviously more than entitled to run. Personally, I'll end up voting at least one member of ÓFF in the process of the election, but for the positions involved- its irrelevant. I'm voting them because they're capable in those areas, and party affiliation would not be an issue in those areas in the slightest.

As for the Sinn Féin thing, I've personally no problem with them and have worked with the party (On and off campus) on many occaisons. Again I think the point made was just that none of us had ever heard her say it, and anyone can say anything on boards.ie so it could be picked up as mud-throwing. It obviously wasn't.

No biggie smalls.

Good luck to her and the other candidates!

Liz Murray isn't a Shinner,
    if she was it still doesn't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

banquo wrote: »
    Anyone who wants to help me out on wednesday by wearing my tshirt and getting votes gets access to a serious post-election pissup in Caulfields :D
    count me in for that...pming number

PM'd. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jayo4Prez

Guys,

Just want to know what your opinions are on slating other candidates without provocation?

Just found out another candidate has been leaving negative comments about other candidates on their FB page... Is it just me or is that not on?

If the criticism concerns tactics or policy, then yes, it is on because that is called DEBATE, something sadly lacking so far.

However, personal attacks on a candidates, their associations or mates is not on. I will agree with you on that.

Also i was talking to some guy who is running for president..his views were interesting; everything should be nationalised etc etc think socialist with a hint of BNP, heard he got kicked out of FEE for being to extreme.

Please let there be other candidates, i'd like to see joe byrne go through

The name is Whelan, Jason Whelan and yes, I am running for President!!!!!!!!

Hi guys, Barry is obviously doodling again. Reckon Bertie would be proud of a synopses like that. Full of generalised fiction. :cool:

Soooooooo..........

May I make something fairly solidly clear. I do not, nor never have, condone the tactics or philosophies of the BNP.

Also, if you want to comment on my affiliations to groups, at least get it right. I was a member of FEE last year and at the start of this year. I LEFT the night of November Union Council after a motion that I put forward was defeated. The lads from FEE felt that I should have consulted them. I didnt. Clash of opinions and I left. I would like to think that I have remained on good terms with the lads since.

Finally, my beliefs on how the world should operate financially or globally are about as relevant to this campaign as an empty coke bottle!!!!!!!!!!;)

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Think I know who you're on about. Small tubby guy, a complete tool.

Quite cute!!!!!!!!!

All I will say is, while this is all fine and dandy, at least everyone knows who I am and know that I will address any and all questions and criticisms.

Also, my waistline hasn't stopped me covering much more ground than the other candidates.

Plus, if I am a tool, how is it that I can do all my own talking, instead of getting campaign managers to do it for me?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D:D:D:D

Gavin Brady(Gav) will be running for president, tall rugby looking guy. and a small tubby dude sharky his nickname is also.
    No campaigns can be started til the 16th of feb.

What is with the waisteline!!!!!!!!!!! I'm still covering more ground and dancing on more floors despite it!!!!!!!!!!!

mickstupp wrote: »
    Maybe this is slightly irrelevant, but anyway I need a bit of a rant, it concerns something that is in my opinion utterly pointless. Yesterday, at those blue seats of death in the Arts block... I was sitting there attempting to read as per usual (the pain keeps me awake and it's not as distracting or diseased as the reading room) and every couple of minutes it seemed someone was passing by dropping yet another election-related leaflet on the table. The table already had a bunch of rubbish on it... and every extra leaflet or flyer just looks like more rubbish. Who the hell is going to go rooting through what genuinely amounts to rubbish to read a flyer that's also pasted every 17 inches in any direction you could possibly move? Seriously, the amount of wasted paper (and time) is astonishing! It's like these people have printed 83000 flyers and they MUST distribute them all, on pain of death, even if the table they distribute to already has 482 copies of the flyer already. People need to get a feckin grip.

When you put a flyer on top of rubbish, it becomes rubbish, even more so than it perhaps already is.

Every candidate demonstrating this approach is automatically not getting my vote, and the vote of everyone I can grab to give out to. And as for what amounts to chalk graffiti everywhere, no vote for them either. And no vote for anyone with a flyer promising things that would be unobtainable even if we all lived in happy happy fantasy land. Realism, honesty, and a lack of muppetry will get my vote more than a mountain of wasted paper that's going in the bin shortly. Although... that might end up meaning no-one gets my vote...

Actually... I'll vote for anyone who'll run a regular "Put your rubbish in the bin yeh scumbags!" campaign on campus.

Couldnt agree more. Thats why I have used my cards and TALKED TO PEOPLE....... What a novel approach......... talking to the people who could potentially vote!!!!!!!!!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

Jayo4Prez wrote: »
    Couldnt agree more. Thats why I have used my cards and TALKED TO PEOPLE....... What a novel approach......... talking to the people who could potentially vote!!!!!!!!!:confused:

Your attitude here is most certainly not going to convince me to vote for you and if you are you talk the way you type then maybe the leaflets are a better idea for ya.

Clearly people have said things about you that you don't like but if you get offended by them and feel the need to go on a defensive then maybe the position of President is not for you. A position where every decision you make will be judged and critiqued. It requires a level of maturity which your posts seem to be lacking.

Somebody vandalised 2 posters for one candidate in the notice board by Callan Hall. Grow up folks.

Next week should see a new 'Vote Yes' leaflet, some tshirts and a new FEE poster up, if time permits it all over the weekend. Exciting election/referendum, loving it so far.

Rob,your posters look great in real life btw. A friend with a keen eye for design was very impressed too.

Jayo4Prez wrote: »
    I don't like being agreed with, whether in reality (since that'd make you as grouchy and narrow-minded as me) or just for the sake of making a point about the way you approach your campaign.

No vote for you.

Besides, I noticed the other day how you spoke and offered cards to two young ladies sitting beside me, and didn't even bother with me. And I wasn't wearing headphones at the time either. I may have been scowling but that's not unusual...