Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SU Election Candidates - Mod Warning post 196

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭Nision

kellief wrote: »
    Ah! The page was a joke so I was hoping so!!

Dont ya hate it when messers do that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 circa1990

I dunno cNag, I tend to disagree with you on some of your points:

I agree that Basia didnt have a clue as to what a feminist was, I posed the question to her and was fuming when she announced that she was a feminist, I sincerely hope and predict she will leave the ents 1st due to the fact that a lot of people simply couldnt understand what she was saying.

as for louise, general consensus at the bottom of the room and afterwards was that she bored everyone to tears and also turned every question she was asked into a story (which really annoyed people sitting at my table) also i think her speech was lacking of substance and seemed basically to say: I've got SU experience so I know how this s*** works.

pat i think stole the ents show although i think he focused too much on having the craic and not enough on anything else. he somehow managed to relate everything back to having said craic and i think if elected, he'll be just as insightful as Jeff Greene and may just continue upon the road SU events have taken this year ie we could be seeing a hell of a lot more half naked posters and jelly wrestling and other such goings on

as for cait, she has my vote (obviously) I think she possibly didnt come off as well as she should have but she's not career driven, she doesnt want a career in politics as far as I know. She has some good original ideas and she'll put them into motion. She's definitely a worker and for me, that's what matters.

Declan i feel assured has won the finance election although I think that he is career driven and sees finance as a way to progress up the exec ladder. He still doesnt impress me with the fact that he doesnt seem to know what being finance officer entails and focused mainly on things outside of his control and imo played upon the ignorance of the ordinary voter who has never read anything in the constitution regarding what finance officer actually does. For this reason he lost my vote when I first read his facebook page.

As for conor, he seriously impressed me today and I think he propelled himself into the race at hustings, needless to say, I still think that he hadnt properly researched his campaign promises and didnt seem to realise that the SU dont control the prices of londis, nor will he sit on the committee that does. I think he could be good and he'll get my number 2.

Damo shot himself in the foot today and didnt come across well but he is a good guy and will achieve anything he promises and I'll vote for him because he is the best candidate for the job imo.

Smick, although i dont have a vote in his election, i'm pretty sure he's safe. although i was talking to him afterwards and he's still petrified he's gonna lose to RON as he thought he was too liberal. Personally, I cant see it happening, if it does, he can always re-run.

Naoise i think is more popular but I still won't be voting for him as i really dont see him having the time for the position tbh. He is a good guy and I think he'll win because he knows practically everyone.

Caoimhghín is getting my number one because he gave off a genuine passion for the language and the role itself and I know he's been very involved with things with Joe Byrne this year, such as trad night. I like his ideas and for me passion is everything so I'll vote for him.

For president, I can only see one real choice and that's aengus and he'll have my #1. I think jason will go first, followed by shelly and it'll be a race between aengus, gav (unfortunately) and tara. Aengus will take it but it'll be really tight and definitely not like the landslide that brian murphy won by last year.

For education and welfare there's really no way to predict that. Its not a matter of how many 1st preferences anyone gets but more about getting the right 2nds and 3rds. I think Liz could very probably take it again, followed by lydia and then james, mary could surprise us though, she pulls a big vote with amnesty, playdo, ect. As for mark, I couldnt really say,its all down to whether or not people having been paying attention to his campaign team and i think some of them have done him more harm than good. Welfare is the only category in which i am still undecided.

Comms i am certain will go to Rob and he is the best candidate for the job. Imo, rob will take it by a landslide.

as for USI, i really hope it doesnt pass and I will be voting no. but alas, USI have paid for the yes campaign and the no side were allowed €50 to compete with them, which imo is an absolute farce! it will probably however due to the overwhelming support by the SU for it to do so but alas this is one of he realities of democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Ataxia

circa1990 wrote: »
    as for USI, i really hope it doesnt pass and I will be voting no. but alas, USI have paid for the yes campaign and the no side were allowed €50 to compete with them, which imo is an absolute farce! it will probably however due to the overwhelming support by the SU for it to do so but alas this is one of he realities of democracy.

The No side weren't helped by the fact that they have no arguments and resorted to outright lies and distortions to try and scare people, ala Coir in the Lisbon Referendum.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

To CnaG and circa, slightly off topic but "feminism" comes in many shapes and forms. A women who has no qualms with showing off her body e.g. Basia's posters or a woman who wants to partake in jelly wrestling can be as much a feminist as any other woman. Look up "sex positive feminism" before jumping to conclusions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 shmici

CnaG wrote: »
    Hustings today
    Pat’s Rep:
    Schmick – I couldn’t hear/understand half of what Schmick was saying today and I wasn’t too far from the front. I think it might be just as well that no-one else is running against him, it wasn’t a great show – although he’s right that events etc. just aren’t advertised enough on the other campus and south campus exec office hours aren’t a bad idea.
    Prediction for Pat’s Rep: well, Schmick to win. His posters are lovely, and there’s no-one else running against him except RON. I sincerely hope RON doesn’t win. Stay strong on the no smokes/alcohol lent thing Schmick :)

eh, just so ya know....was feeling quite unwell at hustings...was un-impressed with myself!!fireshow last night, white spirits in my mouth.....
    it led to a bad morning and quite a sore throat!!!
    so im usually a lot louder!! and yes...i f**king hate RON!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

The big day dawns!!

Best of luck to everyone running today, it'll all be over tomorrow evening:)

Whos gonna be our count-updater??:D

irish_goat wrote: »
    To CnaG and circa, slightly off topic but "feminism" comes in many shapes and forms. A women who has no qualms with showing off her body e.g. Basia's posters or a woman who wants to partake in jelly wrestling can be as much a feminist as any other woman. Look up "sex positive feminism" before jumping to conclusions.

thats not feminism, its just not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

USI have paid for the yes campaign

Slept in one of my several USI shirts last night and all ;)

We availed ourselves of the €50 too, as Maynooth students. We paid for four different poster runs and Maynooth students did the vast majority of pro-USI lecture addresses.

The No side didn't have their sh/t together.
    The leaflet they produced was shockingly bad stuff too, Ataxia is right- I was having flashbacks to Coir. "IT'LL COST YOU!"

CnaG, good analysis of the Hustings, from what I got to catch.
    So at about 2 o’clock I sent up a question to Grace (the RO) to the effect of Grace, any chance you’re going ask any of my questions? They’re the ones written in blue pen.

Brilliant :D

Good luck to everyone running today, go neirí libh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

I don't want to go too far off topic, but there's a difference between taking your top off to get people to vote for you, and actually doing stuff to try alter the fact that, for example, women are usually the ones who work the 'double shift'. I would suggest you look that up, for future reference. :rolleyes:
    Also, sex positive feminism revolves around combating anti-pornography laws, and sexually prejudiced laws generally. I fail to see where wet t-shirt competitions come into it. Just as I don't think mainstreaming pornography does anything to encourage people to view women in terms other than those of her sexuality (or lack thereof!). That's not to say that inadvertently pandering to the 'male gaze' precludes you from thinking you're a feminist - as Basia clearly does. :(
    </ feministic grumblings >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

The last time I voted was 2005, where and what time until can I vote? I checked the SU website but nothing of course :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    The last time I voted was 2005, where and what time until can I vote? I checked the SU website but nothing of course :)
    In the Arts Block, and you can vote until 6 I think.

Used to be able to vote in the library, why did they do away with that I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Used to be able to vote in the library, why did they do away with that I wonder?

I complained about the noise :cool:

Just kidding. In all seriousness, I thought the voting was still on in the library, people at the bridge and all doing last minute campaigning. Didn't go in and check though.

Just voted there, thought the USI was being done in seperate polls, good idea though to have it in with everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

The atmosphere is a nice change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

thoroughly loved campaigning for rob today...got to meet ataxia, barrydoodles and jackass at the same time

*easy way to spot boardsies today...all wearing rob shirts:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 The_Hawk

It has been a very enjoyable day, I have to admit.
    The music supplied from Pat and David Tuohys campaigns brought JH to life.
    My Predictions for tomorrow, based on overall campaigns and todays campaigning in particular are as follows;

President - Aengus Ó Maoláin
    Vice President Education and Welfare - Liz Murray
    Vice President Communications - Rob Munnelly
    Finance Officer - Declan Meenagh
    Cultural Affairs and Irish Officer - Naoise Ó Cearúil
    Entertainments Officer - Pat Byrne
    St. Pat's Representative - Micheál Hughes

Second Place

President - Gav Brady
    Vice President Education and Welfare - Mark Duffy
    Vice President Communications - David Tuohy
    Finance Officer - Conor Curly
    Cultural Affairs and Irish Officer - Caoimghín Ó Caoláin
    Entertainments Officer - Louise Feaheny
    St. Pat's Representative - RON

What are your opinions boardsies?

I'm not gettin into an argument about feminism, the definition is there for you both to read.

Anywho, I'd say the Hawk has probably called it right there though I make no claim to predicting the Welfare position as I really haven't a notion who's won there.

In saying that, you never know how transfers are going to go, particularly for Ents and Finance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Voting is over. Well done everyone. I think the Dream Team is looking very very possible :)

I was on the bridge near the end leafleting when things were quiet. We got talking to loads of people. I would think as far as President, Comms and Welfare go The_Hawks prediction seems possible enough.

I hope we've USI in the bag. Whoever produced the abortion leaflet should be ashamed of themselves, shocking stuff. I'm so proud this country has moved past that stuff, by and large.

---

Rob, I hope more than anyone you get elected. I'm sure it was a new and exciting trip for Aengus and James and all the others, but I think your race is the ultimate 'I can do the job' versus 'I have the sweets' battle, and its the second time after coming so close. For the papers sake, I hope it happens.

Seen the abortion leaflet today littered around logic. Total disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

dirty b*****ds whoever published them (Prolife soc maybe?)
    Gave one to the campaigns officer in USI - they looked damn pissed off about it.

I'd say all the sabbat results will be close, going on what I heard today - didn't see many people out for David Tuohy, Liz Murray, or Lydia Farrell though, maybe I missed them? Fair play to the amount of campaigning done by Louise, Rob and Declan's teams by the way!

Most people I've spoken to have said Yes to the referendum, but the 5 euro mention on the ballot might have thrown people off a bit...

Who put out the abortion leaflet? I was involved in trying to organise the no campaign and we didn't put them out, we would not have taken such a ridiculous stance seeing as we're not idiots. So to contradict you there, we're nothing like coir and I think somebody who wasnt involved with us printed those up as a joke.

In relation to private eye saying that they also got €50, fair enough, but there's no denying the 100's of euro that USI themselves pumped into that campaign and there was no way we could compete with they're propaganda everywhere. What you guys yourselves put out there was factual and i admire it, but what the shipped in, which included they're entire sabbatical officer panel, was not.

Either way, the results cant possibly hold seeing as the referendum breaches the constitution (see article 6) and the guardianship cant let it go though as it breaches articles and not schedules and articles are cemented. This may seem pedantic, but thats the way it is. If its recalled hopefully both sides will be able to run a better campaign without outside influences from USI. I really hope this happens although I am concerned about reaching quorum and the cost on the SU, but on the other hand, if the guardianship can't uphold the constitution (as bad as it may be) then what's the point in even having one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Didn't get to vote today, had 7 hours of college and only a 1 hour break, pain really, best of luck to everyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

I'm not gettin into an argument about feminism, the definition is there for you both to read.

*Sigh* Feminism is a touchy topic for me, so I don't really want to enter into an argument about what it is (and what it isn't) either. I will say, however, that during hustings Basia came across as about as much of a feminist as Bertie is a socialist.

I was out for James today. I had a good time. Most people seemed happy to get the sweets I was offering by the bag load, and I think I convinced more than a few to give James their first preference. It helped that his name was at the top of the list - I had it down to a fine art by about 2 o'clock "Have a sweet? Have you voted? Vote James for Welfare no.1 please, his name's at the top of the list. You can't miss it!" :)

Until today I would have thought Aengus was a fairly safe bet for President, but then Gav's people were out in force. He could prove serious competition, it might boil down to third preferences :(.

Tuohy's lot really annoyed me. One of them hit me with that sliotar they were knocking about - was not amused. And they were generally loud and obnoxious. I think Privateeye is right - this is the ultimate case of meat (Rob) versus sweets (Tuohy). Though I probably shouldn't agree too loudly as I myself was (very) guilty of bribing people with sweets and promises.

Also got the chance to reflect on how small Ireland is - I met someone by chance while canvassing on the footbridge today who I was in the gaeltacht with about 4 years ago.

All in all a good day. Not sure how we'll fare up against Liz and Lydia, but keeping my fingers crossed and hoping all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Is your issue with the leaflet itself or with how it was placed?

I mean the leaflet tells the truth as far as I know, USI support legalising abortion as a matter of choice in this country. Is that not correct?
    What is so "disgraceful" about pointing out a key part of USI's policy?

I heard that Basia was handing out condoms with "Vote Basia" stapled onto them? Is there any truth in this? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Jakkass wrote: »
    Is your issue with the leaflet itself or with how it was placed?

I mean the leaflet tells the truth as far as I know, USI support legalising abortion as a matter of choice in this country. Is that not correct?
    What is so "disgraceful" about pointing out a key part of USI's policy?

So it supports choice?

Look, I don't want to get into a debate about this, but you have to admit leaflets only saying USI supports abortion is clearly not the way to go about a campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

So it supports choice?

I think the SU should remain neutral on the subject, and allow people to decide for themselves whether or not it should be legalised.

I believe that the child has a fundamental right to life, hence why I wouldn't feel comfortable with the idea that €5 of my registration fee is going to support it. I think it's right that people know about USI's stance on abortion, particularly to inform people of pro-life persuasion, therefore I think the leaflets are honest and valid.

I don't think that's "backward", "ridiculous" or anything else, but rather a matter of principle.

I find it a bit odd that people don't understand how this could be difficult for some people to support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Well, I respect that, and as I said I won't get into it, this isn't the place. :)

BTW, I was around Hume today heard you were around. Wanted to meet you but I just missed you! :(