Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭letowski

We go tomorrow,

Patrick Kelly; Domhnall O'Donovan, David McInerney, Cian Dillon; Jack Browne, Conor Ryan, Pat Donnellan; Colm Galvin, Pat O'Connor; John Conlon, Tony Kelly, Colin Ryan; AN Other, Shane O'Donnell, David Reidy.

100pc were playing sweeper system and should lose. I hope #13 is reserved for Conor McGrath but then maybe it's not worth playing him unfit. Seadna I think is unlucky to be dropped if he is, was better than most last weekend. Happy for Reidy, I think he earned this start.

I know it's not going to happen, but I just wish Davy would just stop shackling this team we all defensive tactics and just go and hurl. Feck it like, what does it matter if we lose by a few more points, at least we would give a better chance of a win. Davy bemoaned the lack of confidence in the team during the week but its him that influencing the mindset most of all that were going to lose, by withdrawing lads back. What hope have Reidy and SOD, not 22st between them, have of getting on the ball with 4 or 5 big KK defenders around them. I really hope we go for it tomorrow and take on the game to Kilkenny, but I think Davy will just restrict it.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

The Clare forwards are going to be both outnumbered, prob 6 backs on 4 forwards, as well as out muscled by bigger men who will have an overlap in defence - ideal for launching balls forward bypassing our crowded midfield.
    This tactic hasn't worked all year, didn't work last year , nor did it work prior the mi-wadi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

And what's with the two different team line ups?

Delighted if reidy is getting another go. Well deserved but if he is just left isolated in the corner again he will find it really tough to have any influence on the game.

And what's with the two different team line ups?

Delighted if reidy is getting another go. Well deserved but if he is just left isolated in the corner again he will find it really tough to have any influence on the game.

I think he could be a good positive from the league. He is full of pace and skill and his movement can create space for others, like he did against Dublin and KK. The thing about those games were that he came off the bench when we were losing, and we actually started to bring more players forward. He had players around him he could bring into the game. But as you said, none of these attributes can be effective if he is up top and has to fight for his own ball isolated. I would like to see Honan get more action tomorrow afternoon too, if he is feeling better.

Why are we playing a sweeper with the wind??

O donnell on fire though

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

O donnell on fire though

Just saying that to herself he looks super sharp.

McGrath gone off didn't see why but presume he just wasn't 100÷ fit?

Can't see us winning this into that breeze in the second half, as you say asweeper isn't much use for putting points on the board with the wind.

This short passing is doing more harm than good. Constantly putting ourselves in trouble. All well and good using the tactic to retain possession but when you can't find your teammate it's pointless. Just drive it down the field ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

O donnell on fire though

+1, Reidy playing really well too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

This short passing is doing more harm than good. Constantly putting ourselves in trouble. All well and good using the tactic to retain possession but when you can't find your teammate it's pointless. Just drive it down the field ffs.

+1. Hate to see it when a forward is running for a pass and the handpass to a colleague 10 yards away happen 50/60 yards away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

can anyone pm me a link for tg4 beo streaming. They keep showing the ballyhale match when I try to watch

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Deise_2012 wrote: »
    can anyone pm me a link for tg4 beo streaming. They keep showing the ballyhale match when I try to watch

Aertv.ie perhaps? Still free on a laptop / pc for Saorview channels Afaik

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

marco_polo wrote: »
    Aertv.ie perhaps? Still free on a laptop / pc for Saorview channels Afaik
    tried Aertv but I'm not in the country so they can't show the streaming! cheers anyway!

Fighting and working hard in this second half. Taking call of the ball a lot more. Very hard to get our scores though.

Some great interplay between O'Donnell and Kelly today. Penalty miss aside he is on fire today too.

The kelly and o donnell show here for us anyway

Poor start from the footballers in Limerick trailing 1-3 to 0-0

Two crucial points in a row gift wrapped to Kk with poor short passes in defense

Poor start from the footballers in Limerick trailing 1-3 to 0-0

Going to take a guess and say we are playing into a gale

Could be a breeze alright just an update text I got.
    Two crucial points in a row gift wrapped to Kk with poor short passes in defense

And one more to send us down to 1b.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Pity but we needed those types of performances earlier in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

The defence using the short pass to beat themselves,awful ta watch..need
    A big rejigg in tactics this Clare team

Best performance I seen from them in a long time bar the second half of the Dublin game. Pity to lose it. O donnell was unreal today!

Great effort and a high quality game for the relegation battle. Just gifted kilkenny with too many easy scores and that's what ultimately cost us.
    Going to need a lot more scores from our forwards. Can't rely on just 2 lads in every game.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭cnoc

Unfortunately for Patrick Kelly the short hand pass cost Clare dearly today. With time almost up he should have belted it up the field and out of defence.

cnoc wrote: »
    Unfortunately for Patrick Kelly the short hand pass cost Clare dearly today. With time almost up he should have belted it up the field and out of defence.

To be fair to him the same could really be said of any of the last three points, a little bit disappointing today but if we play like that we should hopefully have a longer summer than last, and you'd think we are well capable of bouncing straight back up from 1B next year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Very disappointing to be relegated but there is no shame in being beaten by KK by a point in Nolan Park, we did concede a few points by inaccurate short passes in defence.

I would question while we played with a sweeper when we were playing with a strong wind and why go for goal after 24 minutes from the penalty.

To be fair to him the same could really be said of any of the last three points, a little bit disappointing today but if we play like that we should hopefully have a longer summer than last, and you'd think we are well capable of bouncing straight back up from 1B next year.

On today's performance Clare will overcome Limerick in May. If Shane O'Donnell and Tony Kelly click like they did today, they will cause a lot of problems for any defence. If Podge was available, what a difference he would make to the forwards.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Disappointing that the footballers lost by double scores today, they might be able to stay up if results go their way even if they lose against Fermanagh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

cnoc wrote: »
    On today's performance Clare will overcome Limerick in May. If Shane O'Donnell and Tony Kelly click like they did today, they will cause a lot of problems for any defence. If Podge was available, what a difference he would make to the forwards.

What happened this weekend won't guarantee anything come May.

Gutted about today, but at least we got our best performance of the year. It's frustrating as we as much beat ourselves with at least 5 or 6 astray short passes that they took. When we did actually go direct, SOD and co. were causing all sorts of problems. We can definitely take a few positives out of today like Kelly and O'Donnell's performances while Reidy had a good return today of 3 points. It was good to see Clare being able to compete well in a physical type game. We need to push on now to the end of May.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Boots234

Clareman wrote: »
    Disappointing that the footballers lost by double scores today, they might be able to stay up if results go their way even if they lose against Fermanagh.

It looks like they could be staying up if they lose against Fermanagh as long as Limerick and Louth don't draw

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Hidalgo wrote: »
    What happened this weekend won't guarantee anything come May.
    No it doesn't but today was the first time in a long time that we played well and fought hard. Limerick, on the other hand were terrible yesterday. We've got every right to be optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

hurling

legendry performance by tony kelly today shane o'donnell not far behind him , great to see us play so will with an injured connor mcgragh , and couple of lads like john conlon and colm galvin maybe carring knocks but not 100%

jack browne showed us what he can do when he keeps his dicipline , david mac had a huge game again at full back and in fairness to most of the subs that came on all did well ,

dont get the tatics today , we hade a gale force wind behind us in the first half and kept handpassing the ball out of defence , in the seccond half we went long against it which made no sence for example when pat kelly got caught out at the end he pumped the ruselting puck out 70 yards down the field
    we need to start getting a bit more consistent in our play

we were poor for most of the league and probably deserve to go down , but we need to take a look at what derrick mcgragh did with waterford this year where he had his side out playing challenge games against kilkenny , tipperary cork and ourselves on a regular basis which probably showed him more about where they were then any oppisition in 1b

the issue with 1b that i have is te limericks offalys wexfords are not putting out full strenght teams either so there is a drop in standerds hopfully we dont stay there too long and hopfully use the 1/4 finals stages onwards next year to our advantage for the cham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

football

a very tired and lackluster performance , without cathal macinerny david tubridy and ciarian russell we struggled to find scores , although we had plenty of the ball it has to be said our desicion making at times let us down , we took on a lot of goal chances in the first half when taping the ball over the bar from close range was the senceable option
    in the seccond half we switched gary brennan into full forward got ourselves back into the game when podge won a penilty which pat burke converted albeit very nearly saved , the limerick keeper went on to make two crucial point blank saves which could have turned the game in our favor , instead limerick had the legs to close out the game and as our fitness levels droped they went on a scoring spree in the last 20 minuets outscoreing us 1-05 to 0-01

the reasons for the tiardness is compleatly understandable , we have basically used the same starting line up in nearly every game in the league we never really chopped and changed things enough and now we are paying for it , our game plan consists of short passing and lots of running .

credit has too be giving to gorden kelly who lined out despite a family bervment last week, he along with martin mcmahon kevin hartnet and dean ryan were our best players (our starting full back line)

we are now in a relagation battle if we match sligo's result we stay up , the relagation works as follows

1 if two teams are level it will be decided on head to head between the teams result in the league

2 if more then two teams are level it will be decided by scoreing average

hurling

legendry performance by tony kelly today shane o'donnell not far behind him , great to see us play so will with an injured connor mcgragh , and couple of lads like john conlon and colm galvin maybe carring knocks but not 100%

jack browne showed us what he can do when he keeps his dicipline , david mac had a huge game again at full back and in fairness to most of the subs that came on all did well ,

dont get the tatics today , we hade a gale force wind behind us in the first half and kept handpassing the ball out of defence , in the seccond half we went long against it which made no sence for example when pat kelly got caught out at the end he pumped the ruselting puck out 70 yards down the field
    we need to start getting a bit more consistent in our play

we were poor for most of the league and probably deserve to go down , but we need to take a look at what derrick mcgragh did with waterford this year where he had his side out playing challenge games against kilkenny , tipperary cork and ourselves on a regular basis which probably showed him more about where they were then any oppisition in 1b

the issue with 1b that i have is te limericks offalys wexfords are not putting out full strenght teams either so there is a drop in standerds hopfully we dont stay there too long and hopfully use the 1/4 finals stages onwards next year to our advantage for the cham

Agree 100pc on the tactics it was so frustrating, as you said, we did the exact opposite managers would do with and against the wind. I thought O'Donovan kinda summed it up. He beat JJ Farrell to practically every ball today but still caused 3 points from trying to short pass it out.
    If there is to be one big potential positive today, it could be that we finally found a way of getting a quality supply in SOD, something Davy has failed on too many occasions. His link up play with Kelly was superb, it's a pity McGrath or even Podge weren't there too. Kelly is class, especially as he was probably in bed all week sick. Good of the KK supporters to give him an ovation when his body eventually gave in.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭LMK

Great game today, Clare unlucky KK efficient as usual.
    Patrick O'Connor played the sweeper role very effectively, he's a smart hurler, McInerney is a serious player, O'Donnell was great, honest and classy, Reidy was good, Kelly is a freak, if Clare can keep Galvin from going stateside it could be another interesting year,but..........the free taking needs to improve a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

That hand pass for the last Kilkenny point is still bothering me

What a sickening way to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭billo.d86

Great game yesterday, manful stuff at times as they would say! Tony Kelly is a phenomenon, O'Donnell looking back to his best ran rings around Paul Murphy, and almost had his nose knocked to the other side of his face. Dave Mc was made of steel again. O'Connor was mopping up loads of ball. Colin Ryan but in a good shift without being outstanding did a lot of hard work. Conlon and Galvin looked off the pace, Conlon more so than Galvin. Conlon had no affect on the game really.
    But without a doubt poor Domhnall O'Donovan was found out, or was it just a bad day, every mistake he made lead to a score for Kilkenny?
    You have to admire Kilkenny we put it up to the and forced then to shoot form further back, as the normally filter it back to midfield and fire it ok, but the were shooting from half back line or mad angles. But when we made mistakes in the back and we made a lot they struck immediately and pushed us.

Davy going again about us only having won 4 All Ireland's and we forget that in Clare. Then says plenty of counties have won U21 All Ireland's and not gone on to won a senior. We know this Davy but we also have one of the best teams this county ever produced and a Kilkenny side who walked over teams for years rebuilding again. We should be competing to win titles while we have this current bunch and I for one would be very disappointed if we didn't win another one in the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Banker

Will any of the players be able to go for a drink now or attend a sisters 21st between now and the Limerick game?

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭irish coldplayer

The_Banker wrote: »
    Will any of the players be able to go for a drink now or attend a sisters 21st between now and the Limerick game?

Only if they submitted a socialising request form (2 copies by registered post) and an email before xmas detailing the date, time, occasion, reason they should be allowed go and soft drinks they want to consume, plus calorie details of any finger food to be served. :p
    they also have to send the management a snap chat after showing they are at home when they say they're supposed to be.

Any information on the leg injury received by Tony Kelly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Tony Kelly was absolutely class yesterday. If he didn't get injured in those last few minutes, I think ye might have won.

Shane O'Donnell had a fantastic game as well. Before yesterday I never rated him too highly as he never seemed to contribute too much in terms of work rate, even when considering his ability to score goals. But he completely dominated Paul Murphy yesterday. Some great ball was played into him in loads of space. He was either able to score himself then or pass off a nice ball to a team mate for a score. Very impressed with him.

Tony Kelly was absolutely class yesterday. If he didn't get injured in those last few minutes, I think ye might have won.

Shane O'Donnell had a fantastic game as well. Before yesterday I never rated him too highly as he never seemed to contribute too much in terms of work rate, even when considering his ability to score goals. But he completely dominated Paul Murphy yesterday. Some great ball was played into him in loads of space. He was either able to score himself then or pass off a nice ball to a team mate for a score. Very impressed with him.

O donnell played very well against a Dublin too and won almost every ball played into him both high and low. Seems to really have upped his game which is great to see, very unselfish with the ball too. I have been really impressed with Reidy too over the last few games.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Kelly is pure class he's a joy to watch. I have watched him since he played against Waterford in a minor Munster final id say around 2010 and he has been a sensation since. Saw him in the flesh again this year for UL against ucc in the Fitzgibbon cup and what a performance he put in again that day. Not taking from Shane O Donnell for one moment but Paul Murphy isn't the answer at fullback for kilkenny. I think they will struggle in that position all year and the likes of yourselves or Tipp will definitely exploit that come championship.

I know I've never been his biggest fan, even when he was playing I questioned some of his decision making and some of the mistakes that he made in games, I also have a massive problem with his father being the County Board Secetary and other family members being heavily involved also, but his recent interview where he seems to go on the offence against the supports is a bit much.

http://www.the42.ie/clare-relegation-davy-fitzgerald-2020908-Mar2015/
    We’ve four All-Irelands won in 130 years, they forget that in Clare so they do.
    "They" forget it, so he's not a Clare person now. Whatever about 4 in 130, we've won 3 in the past 20, that's more than Tipperary, Galway, Limerick, Offaly, Wexford, Waterford and Dublin and the same amount as Cork in the same time period. We also remember the fact that we won the All Ireland 18 months ago.
    There have been a number of teams that have won Under 21’s and never gone on to win senior so they haven’t.
    What have other counties to do with it? We have won a Senior and Under 21, we aren't looking to win a first All Ireland, we are looking to regain our title, actually we are looking to win a championship match.
    people might have questioned the lads
    I would consider myself fairly well engrained in Clare GAA circles, I haven't heard of anyone questioning the "lads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I think the main questions the clare public have been asking of 'the lads' have been along the lines 'how can we help you guys get a proper management team in place so you can fulfill your potential'

Akrasia wrote: »
    I think the main questions the clare public have been asking of 'the lads' have been along the lines 'how can we help you guys get a proper management team in place so you can fulfill your potential'

I think the overriding statement is "that management are going to destroy "the lads""

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭rambojon

Clareman wrote: »
    I think the overriding statement is "that management are going to destroy "the lads""

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Lads, what way will your midfield line out come summer now that Galvin is gone? He's a big spoke in the way Davy wants them playing.... Limerick look way off but on their day James Ryan and Paul Brown are a match for any pairing - going to be tough to fill this problem position.