Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planting Indoors!!

Options
  • 31-01-2010 11:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Hi. for the last few days i've been planting a variety of seeds indoors and im beginning to wonder if it was too early to start! basically i thought id grow them out a little before putting them into the greenhouse..I planted radish,lettuce,mini-carrots,tomato,peppers,strawberry and mini-cucumber. im probably a month ahead of myself. this is my first attempt at growing my own fruit & veg. so no doubt im gona make mistakes.
    I have large grow bags which i hope to grow mini-carrots,sweet pepper,cucumber and spuds. I have some medium & small bag for radish,lettuce.

So basically my question is! have i planted too early?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 28,434 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Normally the answer would be yes, it is too early - the plants get too big before you can put them out. However since you have a greenhouse you might get away with it, though many of the things you are growing are tender - they don't like cold - so it will depend on the weather.
    Some things you sow where they are going to grow, by the way, I would not transplant lettuce for example, you might manage it but it is rather fragile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Mister Tickle

yeah...having looked at the lettuce seeds today..they've sprung up very quickly days so i might abandon them until later.