Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swearing/Cursing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

DazMarz wrote: »
    I swear a lot. But I can turn it on and off. If I'm around people (girlfriends' parents, certain relatives, etc.) I never swear.

In most normal situations, it's like a machine-gun. Non-stop swearing.
    Aye. Don't swear in front of certain people (parents, grandad, etc), but otherwise, I swear a f**k load.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

McChubbin wrote: »
    I don't give two tugs of a dead dog's cock about swearing.

I liked transmetropolitan too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

I swear a lot when I feel like it - I like swearing sometimes. It can be good for emphasis, comedic affect, expressiveness - sometimes no other word/words will do. But like another poster says I can turn it on/off.

But yes I swear in front of my parents and in laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Fuckin hell. I Fuckin curse all the fuckin time. It spews out of me like shite flowin down a bastard river. Can't stop, even if I fuckin want to. I blame Kevin Bloody Wilson The Cunt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i have a mouth like a sailors parrot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I swear a fair bit. I'm not going to change or monitor my language in case it might offend somebody. In fact, if somebody is really offended by bad language, I reckon they deserve a good verbal bollocking. They're just words ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

lol5605 wrote: »
    I hate people who don't curse around their parents, acting a bit fake around them like, I curse all of the time so why not in front of my parents, thats me and they just know that.

It's not fake at all. I swear around mates because they're fine with it, I'm a bit more relaxed around mates' parents who are more liberal.
    My parents, however, hate swearing (even though they swear :confused:) so I'm just respecting their wishes... and they'd kill me if I did.

It's all about respect. I've a mate who's dad won't even let people say "Jesus Christ" etc. in the house; but this lad swears constantly outside of home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Rarely (see sig :)), on the topic of swearing, i love American TV censorship. Office Space was on recently, god damn customers became gall darn customers and pound me in the ass prison became pound me into ash prison. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

I very rarely swear. Except shít. I don't count shít as a swear word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Ruu wrote: »
    Rarely (see sig :)), on the topic of swearing, i love American TV censorship. Office Space was on recently, god damn customers became gall darn customers and pound me in the ass prison became pound me into ash prison. :D

The worst thing to happen to TV...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,273 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I curse in every second or third sentence. I curse instinctively, without even thinking about it. If something goes wrong, it's "ah ****/****/****". When I'm around my grandparents I do use "softer" curses, though the odd **** slips out.

I've always cursed in front of my parents, though I haven't used the c-word in front of my mother since I was six.

It was the 1994 World Cup and my older brother convinced me that there was a German player called Stefan Kuntz. He then told me to ask my mother "what do you think of Kuntz?". Completely oblivious to what the word meant, I asked her. Simply put, I received quite a lecture and the whole time I could hear my brother in the other room breaking his ****e laughing.

I hate being the youngest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

why do the irish use so much bad language??

is it a sign of insecurity > trying to look hard

even the working class in england, don't use that much bad language compared to us

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i don't think swearing is a sign of insecurity. i guess maybe some people do use it to "sound hard" but for most people i think it's just expressive. we do attach a lot of feeling to swearwords, so it makes sense to use them when we see fit.
    i swear a good bit, and though i'd never swear in a professional or formal setting, i really don't see what the big deal is. they're just words... not sins, not crimes... i really don't get why it's seen as such a negative thing sometimes.

but yeah, in front of my parents?! noooooo haha. every once in a while.. like if i stub my toe and let out a f-uck by accident i can get away with it, but they're not impressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I didn't always swear as much as I do now. Ireland has taught me to swear an awful lot more frequently.

But to me, everything's just a compilation of letters, and it all comes down to intent. People can be a lot more offensive without using a single swear than someone could by throwing out every swear in the book.

Sure, "I'm disappointed in you" said by a parent is much more hurtful than "Ah ye're a right cúnt!" from your best mate with a grin on his face.

I curse around most people except for parents with children. I do it without noticing though. My mother doesn't like me cursing, but I just bring up the "intent" argument and she usually drops it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I used to swear enough to make a docker blush when i was a teen, but these days i dont really do it that often. Usually it comes out when in a hurling match shouting "fookin hook him" from 60 yards away:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

I don't swear in public. I hardly even swear to myself under my breath. And I have a low opinion of people who can't string a sentence together without half a dozen swear words. They just sound like morons.

Thomas828 wrote: »
    I don't swear in public. I hardly even swear to myself under my breath. And I have a low opinion of people who can't string a sentence together without half a dozen swear words. They just sound like morons.

I doubt it's a matter of "can't" for many people.

Why does it make them sound like morons? I'm fairly certain the majority of the people in this thread have absolutely no trouble "stringing a sentence together" without using swear words. It's the difference between banter with your mates and writing an essay for school. Most people can do both fairly effectively, unless they're complete scumbags (or, alternately, spent their entire life in a Catholic top-level boarding school).

I have a low opinion of people who use petty things to boost their own self esteem and superficially judge people based on their usage of a certain collection of letters as opposed to, oh, I don't know... having a proper conversation with them in order to assess their intelligence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

liah wrote: »
    I doubt it's a matter of "can't" for many people.

I have a low opinion of people who use petty things to boost their own self esteem and superficially judge people based on their usage of a certain collection of letters as opposed to, oh, I don't know... having a proper conversation with them in order to assess their intelligence?

I agree. Another thing that does my head in is people who interrupt other people to correct their grammar. I've seen intellectually stimulating conversations derailed and ruined because some smug arse-hole wants to make themselves feel a little bigger.
    Intelligence is demonstrated by one's ability to comprehend the point being made by others. If a minor grammatical error prevents you from being able to comprehend what people wish to communicate then, in my opinion, you're an eejit.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

I'd swear around the mammy, but I wouldn't swear at the mammy.

It's all just words, it's how you use them that matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 gorjess-girlie

I think as Irish people we use swearing as a way to make our language more colourful. I don't get offended by it, but I hate hearing people curse around kids. One day I said fcuk in a sentence in front of the folks and I nearly died... but they didn't even notice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

fryup wrote: »
    trying to look hard

I knew there was a reason. I want my elderly in-laws to think I'm hard.

I don't swear because of a paucity of vocabulary or because I can't express myself.

I just do.

Not sure I can even fathom why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I swear like a docker!

Ah no, a moderate amount I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Slugs

I didn't always swear as much as I do now. Ireland has taught me to swear an awful lot more frequently.

But to me, everything's just a compilation of letters, and it all comes down to intent. People can be a lot more offensive without using a single swear than someone could by throwing out every swear in the book.

Sure, "I'm disappointed in you" said by a parent is much more hurtful than "Ah ye're a right cúnt!" from your best mate with a grin on his face.

I curse around most people except for parents with children. I do it without noticing though. My mother doesn't like me cursing, but I just bring up the "intent" argument and she usually drops it.
    Is that cause she feels you're right, or cause she's sick of listening to you? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

No I don't swear. I have a good command of the English language so am able to choose the right word(s) to emphasise a particular point without having to resort to it.

I find swearers like smokers, generally offputting from the off. Doubly so when it's a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

bonerm wrote: »
    No I don't swear. I have a good command of the English language so am able to choose the right word(s) to emphasise a particular point without having to resort to it.

I find swearers like smokers, generally offputting from the off. Doubly so when it's a woman.

What about a swearing, smoking woman so?

I dont curse unless there is a need for it. Like stubbing your toe on something. The deserves a F**k!!!!

Things like that.

When Im angry I generally curse more. But day to day not so much.

I say feck a lot.

sorrywhat wrote: »
    What about a swearing, smoking woman so?

It's anti-viagra.

Never underestimate the pretentiousness of modern man. :rolleyes:

... and never underestimate the likelihood of someone with nothing better to say to come along and use the rolleyes.

Scroll up, I've already said my piece on the matter of people with your frame of mind.

It's not a matter of not being able to express ourselves without cursing. It's a matter of colloquial language. I'd wager 90% of the people who in this thread stated they swear on a semi-to-regular basis are perfectly capable of, say, writing a university-level paper or speaking concisely and coherently with management.

Just because we can express ourselves without swearing doesn't mean we should just so we don't offend your oh-so-delicate sensibilities with a particular grouping of letters. And one could argue that it is more intelligent to accept and utilise cursing (therefore acknowledging that you understand the basic concepts of "context" and "intent") rather than blindly oppose it because yore ma said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

B*stard (Law of England and Wales), a child born to parents who are not married to one another. doesn't seem a bad word now.

P*ick, an industrial musical act created by Kevin McMahon. not really a bad word here either.

W*nker" is the 53,492nd most common surname in the United States. also it means a useless person but we have many of them in government so that can't be a bad word.

so basically people when they hear such a word spoken cringe and think it's disgusting but it's only a word that can mean alot of different things. it's only a word. it sounds a bad word because so many people in this country have being brainwashed for so long by religion to make them think it's a bad word but in essence it means what your brain wants it to mean i.e the brainwashed brain and it's all s*it.

Scroll up, I've already said my piece on the matter of people with your frame of mind.

It's not a matter of not being able to express ourselves without cursing. It's a matter of colloquial language. I'd wager 90% of the people who in this thread stated they swear on a semi-to-regular basis are perfectly capable of, say, writing a university-level paper or speaking concisely and coherently with management.

Just because we can express ourselves without swearing doesn't mean we should just so we don't offend your oh-so-delicate sensibilities with a particular grouping of letters. And one could argue that it is more intelligent to accept and utilise cursing (therefore acknowledging that you understand the basic concepts of "context" and "intent") rather than blindly oppose it because yore ma said so.

First off you don't know anything about my sensibilities or my upbringing. I can swear like a docker so utilising the function is not a problem. I choose not to because it serves no constructive purpose (even if you seem to believe it does). Also no matter what you think, I choose to believe swearing (along with smoking mentioned previously) is a strong pointer towards identifying individuals with other generally undesirable characteristics. However if you choose to believe the contrary then feel free to do so.

seems a bit racist to me. just because a person smokes doesn't automatically mean they are generally undesirable. what planet are you from if you don't mind me asking ?

zenno wrote: »
    seems a bit racist to me. just because a person smokes doesn't automatically mean they are generally undesirable. what planet are you from if you don't mind me asking ?

I didn't say it that it means they are. I said that I use that as a pointer towards gauging their personality. I find more often than not that it serves me well.

so if a person you meet smokes you would still judge their personality because they smoke ?

zenno wrote: »
    so if a person you meet smokes you would still judge their personality because they smoke ?

It would definetly be a factor.

well imo i think thats the wrong way to think. i mean people from thousands of years ago loved to smoke tabacco and still do to this day so i can't understand why you would make it a factor in a persons personality.

That's incredible. You're seemingly serious and you are obviously no fool generally, but that's a bafflingly narrow minded and bizarre view IMO.

And your typical Irish person using "so," "like," and "sure" more than your average bear isn't particularly constructive but I somehow doubt you look down on them.

Or what about the wholly pointless use of the typical Irishism of "so I am, so I am?" Or people saying "jaysus?" Do you think lesser of them because the usage doesn't "serve a constructive purpose?" What about "cool?" Or "savage?" or "deadly?"

Yeah, didn't think so.

Grow up. I never said swearing serves a constructive purpose, it's a colloquialism-- casual, informal language. It's the slang of the 21st century. It's just words. Just. Words.

It's like judging someone's character depending on whether or not they eat onions. Pointless.

Canadian eh Liah? AFAIK Canucks, at least Quebecoix (sp?), have a peculiar take on swearing. Don't they use the common variety swear words quite liberally, but reserve exchanges/threats using religious imagery for the most offending insults?

Constantly.

A very high percentage of my sentences would have some word or other that would be considered a curse. Its not helped by the fact that anywhere I have worked including where I am not its fair game.

On the topic of parents. I always cursed in front of them and they didn't like it however in recent years they have started to curse aswell and no longer complain much when me or my sisters curse. I am taking credit for getting them into it.

And your typical Irish person using "so," "like," and "sure" more than your average bear isn't particularly constructive but I somehow doubt you look down on them.

Or what about the wholly pointless use of the typical Irishism of "so I am, so I am?" Or people saying "jaysus?" Do you think lesser of them because the usage doesn't "serve a constructive purpose?" What about "cool?" Or "savage?" or "deadly?"

Yeah, didn't think so.
    You didn't (don't) think at all judging by your comments. You just spout your opinion endlessly without seemingly absorbing (or even caring) about other peoples pov's.

To answer your question, yes I do look down on people who would continually invoke needless phrases such as "like", "so", "eh" etc all the time in conversation. There's no law that states you have to fire every thought out of your mouth at a million miles an hour.. Some people would appreciate it if you thought about what you are going to say and then said it clearly and concisely. You’d get your message across much more clearly and the rest of us wouldn’t be subjected to your childish babble.
    Grow up.
    Yawn. End of discussion (insofar as anyone could have a discussion with you in the first place). There should definitely be some sort of Godwins law equivalent for people who have to resort to puerile comments such as "grow up" on here. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Every second word out of my mouth is a curse :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

hocus pocus:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i was on the bus home from town earlier talking to a mate on the phone. i was using language that would make a docker vomit but the looks some granny was giving me was priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

I used to swear more than Gordon Ramsey, friend pulled me up on it and as a test i decided to give it up for lent last year and since then I seem to save it for emphasis.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

Primary : I would flinch if I even heard a swear word!
    Early secondry : Began to swear but Never in front of parents, teacher etc.
    Late secondry : Swore frequently but still very rarely in front of anyone except my friends.
    College : Oh. Dear. What. A. Potty. Mouth....:o and sometimes I do swear in front of my parents now...sigh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,954 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

pearliefan wrote: »
    Primary : I would flinch if I even heard a swear word!
    Early secondry : Began to swear but Never in front of parents, teacher etc.
    Late secondry : Swore frequently but still very rarely in front of anyone except my friends.
    College : Oh. Dear. What. A. Potty. Mouth....:o and sometimes I do swear in front of my parents now...sigh!

This is basically my story too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Charlie Bird is the king of f****n cursing:rolleyes: