Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can any one offer advise for my trap? pic

Options
  • 02-02-2010 9:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭

Morning all,

Im not very good at gardening...infact the only thing I can seem to grow is mould...however, I took it upon myself to purchase a venus fly trap last Summer from a local garden centre, purely out of interest but so far so good.

I keep it on the kitchen window sill and water it with rain water as often as possible. I dont force feed it but it has caught numerous insects and flies over the last few months.

Over Christmas some of the traps died off and became black (thought it was going to go into a dormancy period with the really cold weather we had) but alot of the traps stayed green and some even grew.

Now it has a massive long stem growing from the middle of the plant and what looks like a flower developing....and...well....Im not sure what to do.

I presume since we are entring into the Spring its trying to pollinate or something...please tell me if Im wrong...but Im stuck as to what to do with it now???

Any advice please?

Also should I cut off the dead and blackened traps to save the plant energy?
    Tagged:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 28,466 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Yay! thats amazing! You can gently pull off the blackened bits (or cut them if they do not pull off) but it will not make any difference to the plant's energy. Otherwise just watch, wait and enjoy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Velvet shank