Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A long...Long way to go

Options
  • 02-02-2010 12:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭

Well today marks my first day of training.
    I'm a complete novice. I'm a 19 year old male who is terribly unfit. I could count on my hands the amount of proper physical work outs i've had in the last six months. I'm still quite slim, thank god for my youthful metabolism. But if i let this happen again in ten years, even 5 years, i'd be terribly overweight so i want to start now.

My first lesson is to prepare for training properly in terms of diet.

This morning i did 1 km in 9:52. Shocking time probably, i guess.
    But whats even worse is that i got an awful stitch. So any tips on how to avoid this? i had a peanut butter bagel about an hour before running. I aim to do a 5/10 km some time before the summer starts. dunno if i'm setting sights too high or low?

Basically the end goal is the marathon. This is probably too high a goal but feck you all i'll walk it if i have to.

So i'm starting from the bottom, the very very bottom on know nothing. Any advice at all is welcome.

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

First thing to remember is that everyone started from exactly the same place you are right now.
    Take a look at this program, its highly recommended here and seems to have a lot of success
    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml
    Remember less is more right now, the worst thing you could do is start off too hard and either get injured or fed up because you dont think you can do it.