Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Another bit of trivia for yis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Eidur Gudjohnson came on or off for his dad in an Iceland match once upon a time.

Bingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Name the 2 players who appear in the all time premiership top ten goal scorers list ,who are still playing in the premier league ?

Your question is out of date. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Your question is out of date. ;)

This it ? how ??? pm me please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

This it ? how ??? pm me please
    Keane moved
    the other is
    Owen
    no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Name the player who appeared in the all time premiership top ten goal scorers list ,who is still playing in the premier league ?
    FYP -
    Michael Owen
    . EDIT - everdead.ie got there before me
    Name the only player to captain a league winning team in three different decades ?
    Very tough one, absolutely no clue. EDIT
    Maldini
    maybe?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

For anybody interested we do have a Sports Trivia forum.

Keane moved
    the other is
    Owen
    no?

QUESTION CHANGED , Missed the Transfer, As for answers given
    Owen Correct
    28064212 wrote: »

Very tough one, absolutely no clue. EDIT
    Maldini
    maybe?

Sorry was thinking premiership/England , He could have

Sorry no,
    Baresi
    perhaps? Seems like an Italian thing. A keeper maybe:
    Dino Zoff
    Oliver Kahn
    maybe, although I have no clue what his club career was like

EDIT: Ah, England only, ignore those so

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

Dub13 wrote: »
    For anybody interested we do have a Sports Trivia forum.

Ye but this is more soccer only :D

I don't care what horse jumped something , tennis player won something else or that someone was able to stand on ice while music played , if they are not kicking a circular object its just not the same:pac::D

Name the only player to captain a league winning team in three different decades ?

Has to be
    Tony Adams

Baresi
    perhaps? Seems like an Italian thing. A keeper maybe:
    Dino Zoff
    Oliver Kahn
    maybe, although I have no clue what his club career was like

Was thinking premiership/England , Club career ,
    ok only one, give away

Has to be
    Tony Adams

Well done Sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Which player played in the Manchester, North London, Merseyside and Tyneside derbies?

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Which player played in the Manchester, North London, Merseyside and Tyneside derbies?

Was almost tempted to say
    Ziege
    or
    Hamann
    or
    Barmby
    or
    Gazza
    Bellamy
    or . Good question.

Ince ?
    maybe

fikay wrote: »
    Who has played in the Manchester, Merseyside and Glasgow derbies?
    Kanchelskis
    and
    Bellamy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Epicurus

Paul Stewart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Bukman13

Name the only player who has ever played for 2 different countries in 2 World Cup Finals (& won one of them).
    I'm feeling it's one of those South America/Europe players (a la Di Stefano).

Interesting fact, Di Stefano never played in the world cup, he missed out on 4 World Cup finals between 1950-62

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Epicurus wrote: »
    Paul Stewart

Good hustle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Name the only player who has ever played for 2 different countries in 2 World Cup Finals (& won one of them).

hmm.........I have a similar one. Who played in the World cup for two different countries and scored in both. (it aint the same player as above)

EDIT: Luis Monti is the answer to your question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

redout wrote: »
    hmm.........I have a similar one. Who played in the World cup for two different countries and scored in both. (it aint the same player as above)

EDIT: Luis Monti is the answer to your question

not di stefano? Puskas?

or maybe it could be like an East/West Germany to just Germany player?

kryogen wrote: »
    not di stefano? Puskas?

or maybe it could be like an East/West Germany to just Germany player?

Nope.

What was unique about the 74 world cup ?

Nope.

What was unique about the 74 world cup ?

hmmm, could it have been
    lothar mattheus?

unique about the 74 world cup?
    got this at a table quiz last night! the answer given was it was the first WC where there was a penalty given in the final?

hmmm, could it have been
    lothar mattheus?

unique about the 74 world cup?
    got this at a table quiz last night! the answer given was it was the first WC where there was a penalty given in the final?

Nope

and

you could be correct on the second one (I have another reason)

What person can claim to have the greatest amount of World Cup medals ?

Who is the only sub to score a hat-trick at the world cup ?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Nope

and

you could be correct on the second one (I have another reason)

Who is the only sub to score a hat-trick at the world cup ?

Cafu (including silver medals)?
    Possibly a Russian guy who scored in the 6-0(?) thrashing of Cameroon in 1990

Cafu (including silver medals)?
    Possibly a Russian guy who scored in the 6-0(?) thrashing of Cameroon in 1990

Sorry I am talking about winners medals

and

Do you have a name ?

winners medals?
    got to be Pele

I got the year wrong, it was 1994, the player was Salenko but he scored his 5 goals from a starting place, so no dice.

Fair play to anyone who gets this one. I had to cheat and
    never heard of the player, although I reckon Prince did

winners medals?
    got to be Pele

Nope

I got the year wrong, it was 1994, the player was Salenko but he scored his 5 goals from a starting place, so no dice.

Not the chap I have. Who was his second country and did he score for them at the world cup ? If not then he aint the answer

Sorry different question. Your answer is incorrect.

Sorry, reading that back my last post was not at all clear. Salenko was an incorrect guess and the actual answer is a real toughie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭token56

Aston Villa trivia: Only 3 players to have played in two world cups while also at Villa, who are they?

I remember he had a short spell at Rangers, plus the game was 6-1 and Russia still went out.

Easy,
    Pele

Nope

how so? he has 3!

From when?
    They lost the '98 final.

From when?
    They lost the '98 final.

how would pele be playing in the 98 world cup?

Edit: and why are you arguing? you gave the same answer!

how so? he has 3!

Is it not obvious that someone must have more ? :D

how would pele be playing in the 98 world cup?

Edit: and why are you arguing? you gave the same answer!

Take a chill pill, I thought you were the one who said
    Cafu
    . Why would I think Pele would be playing at the '98 World Cup? Now, breathe.

Is it not obvious that someone must have more ? :D
    Assuming the sport is soccer, and we're talking about the FIFA World Cup, I'm guessing someone has a couple from the U-17 and the U-20 Tournaments. Either that, or we're talking about a private collector who has bought a couple of them

Nope

Nope
    But it is soccer, and it is the Fifa World Cup? Are you including the club world cup then?

Nope just the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Who has Scored 3 Goals Against Celtic for 3 Different Teams In The Champions League?

Take a chill pill, I thought you were the one who said
    Cafu
    . Why would I think Pele would be playing at the '98 World Cup? Now, breathe.

im quite relaxed thanks...

Nope just the World Cup.

this is very confusing to me!

pele has 3 winners medals, to my knowledge, nobody has more! and now im off to check it our on google!

Edit: now i checked, and pele is the only one who has 3 medal!

you said silver medals not included so i am very :confused:

answer on a postcard!?

this is very confusing to me!

pele has 3 winners medals, to my knowledge, nobody has more! and now im off to check it our on google!

Edit: now i checked, and pele is the only one who has 3 medal!

you said silver medals not included so i am very :confused:

answer on a postcard!?

Read the question again.

Pele does not hold the most winners medals.

Believe me I have verified this.

Dancor wrote: »
    Who has Scored 3 Goals Against Celtic for 3 Different Teams In The Champions League?

this was brought up cause his name was in the papers recently
    Gary Caldwell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Epicurus

Mario Zagallo? Won 2 as a player and one as a manager. Think he was involved with the 1994 team as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

this was brought up cause his name was in the papers recently
    Gary Caldwell

Well done.

Read the question again.

Pele does not hold the most winners medals.

Believe me I have verified this.

iirc nobody has more, even people who have won it as players and managers, like Beckenbauer! and Zagallo!

you gotta pm me the answer to this as im gonna have a sore head over it! :)

is it a referee or something like that?

It's not some cleaning lady who holds the world cup medals while she's cleaning out a cabinet somewhere is it :D