Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2012 draw Sunday 7th February from 11 a.m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

We get Russia from pot 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

russia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

its..............Russia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Oooh RUSSIA! Thats not a bad group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I must say, I think we can win that group.

IMO Slovakia are the best team in the group (after us of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

russia, thats not a bad group tbh, nightmare for travel...

Can we afford to travel to Russia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,466 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Russia - not too bad a draw to be fair. we should be able to get results vs them to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Ill take Russia

we have a very good group

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Is it top 2 qualify?

antodeco wrote: »
    Trap was beside him

missed that, it was like delaneys head was filling my TV screen

winners, best runner up and then playoff for other 2nd spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Apart from the travelling, that group aint half bad. All our home games are definitely winnable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Is it top 2 qualify?

no

16 teams go into the finals for 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

lol we can afford to get there ...but can we afford all the police bribes/"fines"!!! ;)

England have a hard enough group

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Is it top 2 qualify?

winner and best runner, up, remaining runners up go into play off

not the worst group we could of got but travel is a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭Trampas

could have been worse. i think we will take that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Would have liked to avoid Russia, although at the same time thank god we avoided Kazakhstan and Israel.

Group I: Spain, Czech Republic, SCOTLAND Lithuania, Liechtenstein
    Group H: Portugal, Denmark, Norway, Cyprus, Iceland
    Group G: ENGLAND, Switzerland, Bulgaria, WALES, Montenegro
    Group F: Croatia, Greece, Israel, Latvia, Georgia, Malta
    Group E: Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Hungary, Moldova, San Marino
    Group D: France, Romania, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Belarus, Albania, Luxembourg
    Group C: Italy, Serbia, NORTHERN IRELAND Slovenia, Estonia, Faroe Islands
    Group B: Russia, Slovakia, REPUBLIC OF IRELAND, FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Andorra
    Group A: Germany, Turkey, Austria, Belgium, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Hiddink is on the way out at Russia right?! if so i can see us taking them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Very good group for us, all very winnable especially at home. Travelling is going to be a bitch though, but if we can beat the likes of the lower three teams on their own turf and knick draws in Slovakia and Russia it'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Scotland and the North got tough groups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

A load of crappy 5pm kick offs to "look forward" to. That group has as much romance as a holocaust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Frisbee wrote: »
    Would have liked to avoid Russia, although at the same time thank god we avoided Kazakhstan and Israel.

They're probably the worst top tier team, they lost out on a world cup spot to Slovenia.

So 4 groups have 5 teams and 5 groups have 6 teams.

Just noticed that now :o

ugh ronnie whelan...

your a mod now frisbee

fair play

Wow, Northern Ireland have really got it in the neck.

Horrible group for them.

A load of crappy 5pm kick offs to "look forward" to. That group has as much romance as a holocaust.

don't watch them then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

antodeco wrote: »
    Trap was beside him
    boring draw. Why wasn't Charleze Theron at draw. Outrageous :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

ugh ronnie whelan...

Whats Ronnie on about? in college and RTE wont work behind the proxy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Not the worst group but a lot of travelling. Macedonia are a good bit better these days. Slovakia be tricky but nothing special so I reckon we could get 4pts from them.
    We'll prob drop points in some of thoses away games but the group is winnable again!

ugh ronnie whelan...

Can he sneak in an anti-Rafa tirade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Group C is a horrible horrible group.

Northern Ireland haven't got a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

rarnes1 wrote: »
    don't watch them then.

Ooooooooohhhh are you my sister? You sound like her

Trap needs to get a few more players in now

Ooooooooohhhh are you my sister? You sound like her

Can you hear me through your laptop? :D

big_show wrote: »
    Whats Ronnie on about? in college and RTE wont work behind the proxy

apparently we've a very good record against all these teams... dont remember playing russia in the last decade or slovakia or andorra in fact...

he's basically talking through his hoop as usual...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

thee glitz wrote: »
    They're probably the worst top tier team, they lost out on a world cup spot to Slovenia.

They're better than Croatia anyway.
    It's the travel that is a pain, and if it comes down to them needing to beat us I'm sure it will be played in some backwater stadium as far east as they possibly can.

Also, Slovenia are fairly decent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nice easy one for Englerland, could put out the U-21 team for a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Anyone know when they will announce the fixtures for those games, or will that be later after the World Cup?
    Would be nice to get one or two handy games first to get the ball rolling like last campaign, hopefully it won't be away to Russia or Slovakia first game!

They're better than Croatia anyway.
    It's the travel that is a pain, and if it comes down to them needing to beat us I'm sure it will be played in some backwater stadium as far east as they possibly can.

Also, Slovenia are fairly decent.

if trap has any sense (and gets his way of course) we'll open away to russia and finish at home to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Not a bad draw for us, Bit of travelling though would have preferred England than Russia :(

Cake Man wrote: »
    Anyone know when they will announce the fixtures for those games, or will that be later after the World Cup?
    Would be nice to get one or two handy games first to get the ball rolling like last campaign, hopefully it won't be away to Russia or Slovakia first game!

fixtures have to be agreed in the next 30 days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

apparently we've a very good record against all these teams... dont remember playing russia in the last decade or slovakia or andorra in fact...

he's basically talking through his hoop as usual...
    we played slovakia for euro 2008

So looking at the Slovakia squad, the only players im familiar with are Skrtl, Karhan, Weiss and Hamsik.

Anyone familiar with any of their strikers? They seem a bit goal-shy at international level.

Cake Man wrote: »

it will be before the world cup, think they have 30 days of discussions to sort that out

mike65 wrote: »
    Nice easy one for Englerland, could put out the U-21 team for a few of them.

Yeah, their group is a doddle. They'll win it by a huge margin.