Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CPC Exams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Liam dont be panicing about cpc its not difficult at all in fact common sense answers is all theyre after. Know where the gross vehicle weight plate is located, know the 60 seconds check outside,where illegals may stowaway on truck,how to save on fuel consumption,manual handling techniques,effects of harsh braking, overloading and why to load properly and how, they look for 3 answers in each and will help you if youre stuck. Concentrate on driving!!Dont hit or kiss kerbs. If you cant get through stop and tell tester you cant proceed. Wait for traffic to move, dont hesitate...either go or stop. Stop where there is a solid white line on junction even if there is a yield sign! Dont rush it, if lights are red up ahead dont race to them..low gears fine. Drive according to road conditions. Most importantly relax and treat test as another lesson and youll fly it. Good luck

Thanks for the advice much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Westwood

so tell me when one passes the whole C licence cpc exams and tests and wants to go on and get their artic licence do you have to pass the cpc studies exams and pratical test for those too which would be pratically the same as the c licence ones? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Westwood wrote: »
    so tell me when one passes the whole C licence cpc exams and tests and wants to go on and get their artic licence do you have to pass the cpc studies exams and pratical test for those too which would be pratically the same as the c licence ones? :confused:

No Westwood. The CPC for the Rigid truck covers Artic as well.
    :cool:

excellent news so I just do the theory apply for my learner pemitt apply for the test and take lessons and do the test and im done :cool:

Pretty Much Man!:) I'm in the exact same boat as you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 redpoppy

Well I passed my driving test yesterday afternoon and only had one blue fault. I was very pleased all my driving came together when I needed it - I swung the truck wide on one of my reverses but still parked it parallel to the kerb and that was the only fault he gave me.

I started the test doing the usual Rules of the Road, he asked what items I would have in the cab (triangle, tacho, high vis jkt etc.), my max driving in a day, min rest, when I must take a break, then out to the truck lifted the bonnet and showed him the oil, how I check the oil, coolant, windscreen washer, what my daily checks would be and how I would check the tyres, where the air release pin is - then he stood behind the truck and checked the brake lights, indicators. In the cab he asked me to show him the hazard lights, headlights, indicators.

The driving took about an hour and then back to the test centre where he took 10 mins break (didn't tell me if I'd passed the git !!) and said he'd be out to do the CPC.

First of all we stood outside the truck and he asked me the height and weight of the truck and to show him the plate. He sat into the cab said he didnt expect me to be able to answer the questions like someone who has been driving for 10 years but to reply as best I could and then started with fuel consumption, how I would use the brakes and retarders, the best use of speed and gear ratio, how to slow down on a downhill stretch, action in the event of service brake failure, and explain the consumption of an engine.

Loading - he asked how I would plan my route, how I would load the vehicle, consequences of overloading and how it would affect the stability of the vehicle, the use of gears with a heavy load.

Criminality/ Immigrants - he asked me how I would prevent criminality when parking up, then we got out of the cab and he asked me to show him where on the truck I would check for immigrants and when I would check the truck if boarding a ferry in France.

Physical - he asked how being unfit would affect my driving, what I would check when I get into the cab first thing for my own comfort, what would I do when I am going to lift something, how I would protect myself when off-loading the vehicle.

Emergency situations - he asked me to explain to him what action I would take in a front wheel blow-out, if I broke down in a tunnel, what information I would take for an accident report.

He asked me about a split pin gearbox (I think) and I hadnt a clue but he said to me the guy before me didnt either and he then explained what it was and asked me how it might help to change half a gear down/up.

The tester was dead sound and kind of lead me along until I gave him the answers he's looking for - I used the answers that Westwood put up here a while ago along with some other bits and the tester was happy with those answers, he even said I was well prepared with all my information. Even if you feel like you're repeating yourself from the last question just keep giving him some answers and they'll be happy.

As Faith said before, I'm a bit annoyed I spent so much time worrying about the CPC, it wasnt that hard or worth all the worry. All the answers you need are in the bit Westwood posted, thanks Westwood :):):)

Concentrate on your driving not the CPC !!

I'm glad its all done now and best of luck to anyone else doing the test :)

Well done Redpoppy!! You got a better marking sheet than me!;)

Thanks Faith, its a relief its all over :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 GearoidOM

Alright lads how the form...i passed all the cpc theory exams:cool:...next step is my bus (D) cpc driving test:eek:...what can i expect in regards to question being asked in the practical and how many chances do you get to reverse the bus?...is it similar to the truck set up?..thanks lads....oh ill be doing it in cork too..cheers

Gearoid - I did the truck test a few weeks ago and passed the driving and cpc. I am also doing the bus test and cpc in another few weeks.

The cpc is nothing to worry about, if you look back through the pages on this thread you will see that Westwood posted alot of answers to the cpc questions. You can go on the RSA website and within the CPC booklet there is both marking sheets for the truck and bus and there's not much of a difference between them other than part 1. The tester I had was very good and if you keep giving them some answers for the questions I think they will be happy. He just had another laminated sheet with what Westwood had posted and was more or less ticking them off as I gave him the answers, they want at least 2-3 answers for each question, alot of it is common sense.

With regards to the reversing, the tester had me reverse twice at two different places. Whatever you do you cant hit the kerb, if you're going wrong, you can pull forward and straighten up to correct it but dont keep going back and hit the kerb. I think it dpeneds on the tester how many times you're asked to reverse as some people I know only did it once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭xtradel

Just finished my cpc mulitiple choice exam and passed (95/100 fair play to me :D) Next up is the case studies so i was wondering what type of questions will be asked and if you have done it recently, was it easy/middlin or hard?

Didnt get the new book yet as Easons dont have it in stock, know i can get it online but would like some first hand info first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Passed my truck test and CPC on thurs in Finglas. Thanks for the advice i recieved from anyone.:D

liam7831 wrote: »
    Passed my truck test and CPC on thurs in Finglas. Thanks for the advice i recieved from anyone.:D

Nice one Liam. Be prepared to wait for you CPC card! I passed in April and still haven't recieved mine!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

hey all,

i want to (eventually) get a c-licence,
    i need the theory test first, but i do i need to get a certain theory test book for the c licence?? i checked the normal theory test book and there are 188 questions for class c and d would that be right?

and does the cpc driving exam just replace the original driving test?

and i need, theory test, medical, learner permit,cpc theory test,cpc case studys,cpc driving test,and cpc practical, then a full c-licence:confused:

sorry for all the questions,

bladebrew wrote: »
    but i do i need to get a certain theory test book for the c licence?? i checked the normal theory test book and there are 188 questions for class c and d would that be right?
    Correct. There is only one Theory Test for the Truck or Bus. The CPC doesn't come into play at this stage.

and does the cpc driving exam just replace the original driving test?
    Yes. It's very similar to the normal truck test only a little longer.

and i need, theory test, medical, learner permit,cpc theory test,cpc case studys,cpc driving test,and cpc practical, then a full c-licence:confused:
    You're almost right.
    1. Apply for C theory test(It's a standard test)
    2. Complete medical sheet with GP. Make sure S/he ticks all the catagories, that way you won't have to go back in the future if you go for the Bus or Artic etc.....
    3. Apply for learner permit.
    4. CPC MCQ (Mulitiple Choice Questions)
    5. CPC Case Studies
    6. CPC Driving Test- Part 1 (The RSA should just call it CPC Driving Test!)
    7. CPC Practical Test

After you do all this, you'll have you C License with CPC privilages! Good Luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

cheers for that faith+1,

i was mixed up with the theory test because they seem to have a book for trucks and buses,that i cant find,
    and another one that covers all theory tests,

if im getting confused with the theory part i could be fecked trying to figure out the cpc!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭eoinor

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Nice one Liam. Be prepared to wait for you CPC card! I passed in April and still haven't recieved mine!:rolleyes:

Where did you get the application form Faith? I haven't applied for mine yet. Have you done the first training session yet?

eoinor wrote: »
    Where did you get the application form Faith? I haven't applied for mine yet. Have you done the first training session yet?

Would you believe I got my CPC card yesterday! Only took the RSA two 1/2 months :rolleyes:.
    After you've completed the CPC Practical/Driving Test the examiner will send your results to the RSA in Galway who will send you out the application form for your card.

I was waiting 3 weeks after my test and still heard nothing, so I rang them to find out what was happening and they said the form was in the post. Low and behold the next day I got the application form. Strange coincidence if you ask me!:P

If that was bad enough, after I sent it back completed, I was waiting another 5 weeks and still no card. I rang them and couldn't believe what they told me.
    They said " The RSA don't manufacture the cards. We send the paperwork to another company who manufacture them for us,then it's sent back to our offices, we have to inspect them to make sure the information is correct and then we will send you your card"
    Why the RSA don't have the facilites to manufacture the cards is beyond me.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Would you believe I got my CPC card yesterday! Only took the RSA two 1/2 months :rolleyes:.
    After you've completed the CPC Practical/Driving Test the examiner will send your results to the RSA in Galway who will send you out the application form for your card.

I was waiting 3 weeks after my test and still heard nothing, so I rang them to find out what was happening and they said the form was in the post. Low and behold the next day I got the application form. Strange coincidence if you ask me!:P

If that was bad enough, after I sent it back completed, I was waiting another 5 weeks and still no card. I rang them and couldn't believe what they told me.
    They said " The RSA don't manufacture the cards. We send the paperwork to another company who manufacture them for us,then it's sent back to our offices, we have to inspect them to make sure the information is correct and then we will send you your card"
    Why the RSA don't have the facilites to manufacture the cards is beyond me.:confused:

it's the same as the drivers digi tacho card there made some where in the UK, and no doubt if they ever managed to bring in drivers licence in a card format that might also be made else where

and no doubt if they ever managed to bring in drivers licence in a card format that might also be made else where

They are Donkey, the RSA hope to have them issued by 2011-12. Should be interesting to see how it works.......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ihateclowns11

They are Donkey, the RSA hope to have them issued by 2011-12. Should be interesting to see how it works.......:rolleyes:

Hi guys,grtz on passing tests,i will be doing my test in july and am wondering what did you guys do with gear changes?,My instructor tells me to use either 2nd to 4th or 3rd to 5th taking off and then use all the gears from 5th up when in high box,i personally only use 3rd to 5th taking off would this be sufficent on the day off test or will examiner be looking for more usage off the gears,ie 2nd to 4th?:confused:

I started in 3rd and then switched up to 5. When in the high box I went one gear at a time 6,7,8 etc.... When I was in say 8th gear and I needed to stop I went 8, 6 and then 5 (You can stop in 5)
    You won't get marked for this as it's called "Block Changing". It's considered eco-driving as you use less fuel, put less wear on the gearbox etc....
    Older instructors still teach gear by gear but this is completley outdated now with modern Trucks/Cars/Buses.
    ps- I didn't get one mark for truck controls using this method.

I started in 3rd and then switched up to 5. When in the high box I went one gear at a time 6,7,8 etc.... When I was in say 8th gear and I needed to stop I went 8, 6 and then 5 (You can stop in 5)
    You won't get marked for this as it's called "Block Changing". It's considered eco-driving as you use less fuel, put less wear on the gearbox etc....
    Older instructors still teach gear by gear but this is completley outdated now with modern Trucks/Cars/Buses.
    ps- I didn't get one mark for truck controls using this method.

Exellent:rolleyes: thats the way my instuctor is teaching me,by any chance was your driving instructor a guy called Ken from driving matters.ie?,and also when you left the finglas test centre did you go left or right?

Jesus it was!:eek: Small world! Lol!
    The guy is a legend, must of went through 2 instructors before I found him! Listen to everything he say's, passed everything first time with him CPC/Practical. When you see him again tell him Séan from the City Council sends his regards!:)

ps- I went left when we left the test centre!

Just to let people know which I didn’t know myself till today, If you've acquired the truck CPC and want to go on and get the bus you only need to do the case studies for the bus not the multiple choice as you’ve already done those :)

anyone done the bus case studies? doing it tommorow and was wondering if anyone could remember typical examples. was wondering if they'll ask how to calculate loads, passangers, fuel, luggage etc to get gross vehicle weight or any others to will require some brain power :eek: or is it straight forward enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭donkey balls

anyone done the bus case studies? doing it tommorow and was wondering if anyone could remember typical examples. was wondering if they'll ask how to calculate loads, passangers, fuel, luggage etc to get gross vehicle weight or any others to will require some brain power :eek: or is it straight forward enough?

jaysus your not doing a flight plan for a 747:D on average just say the fuel tank holds 200 ltr's that would be roughly about 170kgs.
    as for the pax just like an airline they go on a average weight per pax.

ye reading the dsa book here its

15 passengers = 1 ton
    15 passengers = 100 litres of fuel
    15 luggage = 330kg

so a little bit complicated at 9am when your tryna figure out the gross vehicle weight as your constantly picking up passengers etc might be the trickiest one to remember in the case studies.

15 passengers = 1 ton
    15 passengers = 100 litres of fuel
    15 luggage = 330kg

It's funny how the DSA base their figures on the average weight. What about the 400lb elephants you see waddling down O'Connell street every day?? As for luggage, it's a known fact that womens baggage is much heavier than blokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭electron

Just to let people know which I didn’t know myself till today, If you've acquired the truck CPC and want to go on and get the bus you only need to do the case studies for the bus not the multiple choice as you’ve already done those :)

who told you that? i did my bus licence first, and then later was told for the truck cpc i had to do the MCQ again and so i did! :( Prometric better give me a refund if you're right :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Pacior

somebody can tell this book: http://www.tsoshop.co.uk/bookstore.asp?FO=1277398&DI=609943&CLICKID=002289

have including case study nr 6,7,8,9 ???
    i have big problem to find out any questions for this study.

Electron

I did both the bus and truck tests all the way through from theory tests to driving and CPc tests.

I did the MCQ and only had to sit one MCQ exam for them both and then a seperate case study exam for the bus and truck. I'm not sure if you do them seperately how it works if you apply after but certainly if you do them at the same time you only complete one MCQ exam, prometric told me that when I rang up to book it as I thought I had to do 2 seperate exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Richie15

electron wrote: »
    who told you that? i did my bus licence first, and then later was told for the truck cpc i had to do the MCQ again and so i did! :( Prometric better give me a refund if you're right :mad:
    Think I might be in the same boat. Passed the truck MCQ end of last year, and Case Studies start of this year. 9th of August was my test, passed the Practical but failed the Driving (on one feckin' thing! :mad:). Just got the Bus Permit last week, so think I've to do the MCQ again. It's only if you have both permits first, they let you do the combined Truck and Bus MCQ, even though it's the same bank of questions, same amount, same pass mark etc. Just another €70.

Richie15 wrote: »
    Think I might be in the same boat. Passed the truck MCQ end of last year, and Case Studies start of this year. 9th of August was my test, passed the Practical but failed the Driving (on one feckin' thing! :mad:). Just got the Bus Permit last week, so think I've to do the MCQ again. It's only if you have both permits first, they let you do the combined Truck and Bus MCQ, even though it's the same bank of questions, same amount, same pass mark etc. Just another €70.

Hey m8,im just like you,i passed the cpc without getting one question wrong but failed the driving test,even though i could not see what i failed on,he failed me anyway without giving a proper explanation as to why,i think he was just looking for his quota off fails.Anyways that was last month and surprisingly my test has come through pretty fast,i am now doing it this thursday (2/9/2010).Only problem is i have changed my instructor as my last one has stopped truck lessons,so now my new instructor has different way off driving telling me not to block change gears:mad:.So one instructor tells me i have to block change or i fail,now the new one tells me dont block change or i fail.So far i have spent over 2000 euro on this test:mad:.

Only problem is i have changed my instructor as my last one has stopped truck lessons,so now my new instructor has different way off driving telling me not to block change gears:mad:.So one instructor tells me i have to block change or i fail,now the new one tells me dont block change or i fail.So far i have spent over 2000 euro on this test:mad:.

Was your instructors name Ken?

Yea m8,he was your old instructor ken from driving matters,he sold his truck to someone up north i think and has stopped doing the truck lessons so when i rang him to do the test again a month later he sent me to colliers in finglas,new instructor is ok but a bit old fashoned with his gears and what not.I am praying to god that i pass this thursday as it has me broke:(

Ye I heard he's finished teaching the trucks. If your new instructor has a long beard(Won't say names!) I'd pray. Had him for a few lessons and thought is teaching methods were a joke. Everything he teached were like something from the 80's. Just use him for the practice but keep Kens teaching methods during the test.
    I got no marks for controls, progress, position etc... by what Ken thought me.
    Good luck in yout test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,111 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I did the Artic and bus with them, different instructors. Block changing is OK as I was doing it with them. Just do as Faith+1 said.

Ye I heard he's finished teaching the trucks. If your new instructor has a long beard(Won't say names!) I'd pray. Had him for a few lessons and thought is teaching methods were a joke. Everything he teached were like something from the 80's. Just use him for the practice but keep Kens teaching methods during the test.
    I got no marks for controls, progress, position etc... by what Ken thought me.
    Good luck in yout test!

Yea thats the guy,has a big beard,at first i didint like the way he was teaching me but i eventually started to listen;).Well it dont matter anymore cus i just passed the test:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Thx for the advise yall,this thread was very usefull,especially for the cpc part off the test,im off to get me artic provisional:D:D:D.

Well done ihateclowns11! It's great to know all your hard work payed off in the end. I remember the first lesson I ever took in a Rigid and thought to myself how in name of jasus can I drive this thing!:eek::eek:

Good luck with the Artic and a special good luck with the reversing! :rolleyes:

Well done ihateclowns11! It's great to know all your hard work payed off in the end. I remember the first lesson I ever took in a Rigid and thought to myself how in name of jasus can I drive this thing!:eek::eek:

Good luck with the Artic and a special good luck with the reversing! :rolleyes:

He He thx m8,yea that brings back memorys off my first drive,i was thinking the exact same thing(Im Fu**ed) lol.While i have you here,i still have'nt recieved application form for cpc card and that was a month ago,who do i contact about that?,and also did you apply for your tacho graph card yet?

I would suggest that you ring them, inform them that you have passed your truck test and they should post you out the form. I don't think they can issue you a CPC card until you've passed your test.
    They're not exactly workaholics that CPC crowd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 sebax55

Lads, I have a exam on rigid 14.09. Could u tell me how is lokk the exam. What they ask and what they want when u r driving on city.

Thx

sebax55 wrote: »
    Lads, I have a exam on rigid 14.09. Could u tell me how is lokk the exam. What they ask and what they want when u r driving on city.

Thx

Hey sebax,That all depends on a few things,like how many lessons you have had yet? ,You doing the cpc aswell?,what test centre and so on.

I had six lessons before, Now I think i take maybe 5 and should be fine. I have exam on cpc truck test 1 and practical test. I book exam on finglas.

sebax55 wrote: »
    I had six lessons before, Now I think i take maybe 5 and should be fine. I have exam on cpc truck test 1 and practical test. I book exam on finglas.

Ok,well,the cpc part is pretty easy,just read all the posts in this thread to find out what questions you will be asked.The main test the tester will first ask you some questions about the rules off the road and to explain some road signs,he will then take you out to the truck and ask you to show him all the lights work and ask more questions about some buttons in the cab and ask about hand signals.He will then ask you to reverse around a corner (x2)
    Then he will ask you to leave finglas test centre and you will drive around for an hour until you come back and have a 10 min break.After your break he will ask cpc questions about the truck,takes about 15 minutes,you will then both go back inside and he will tell you if you passed or not.:pac::pac::pac:

Who have you got lessons with?

Thanks so much. I got lessons with Gerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭The Villain

Hi Lads,

Doing the Truck CPC case studies exam in Youghal this Wednesday. I've gone thru a lot of the 13 pages in this thread for a link to either some study material or sample questions and answers, but can't locate any. I've got the book from the irish website, and the 2 books from the english one, and am going thru them on my own.

Any help on finding a link would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Hi Lads,

Doing the Truck CPC case studies exam in Youghal this Wednesday. I've gone thru a lot of the 13 pages in this thread for a link to either some study material or sample questions and answers, but can't locate any. I've got the book from the irish website, and the 2 books from the english one, and am going thru them on my own.

Any help on finding a link would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Hey villain,the best way to do the case studies is to go to the rsa website,there you will find the actual case studies used in the test,6 off them i believe but you will only get 3 on the test so better look at them before your test.

Good luck on your test:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭User16

examiners say welfare will pay if u cant afford it-

welfare is denying this-

anyone out there get welafre assistance with these costs...?