Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VB.NET and VB6

Options
  • 04-02-2010 5:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭

I'm sure this kind of question has been asked loads of times before but I have a job interview coming up for a VB.NET position. I am more used to VB6 and have done a little C#. I've only ever written one app in VB.NET so I am a bit of a novice in it to be honest.
    If I get the job will I be able to "wing it" at the start until I get used to the language or will I find out I have bitten off more than I can chew? From what I remember it is not that different to VB6.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

The syntax is similar.
    VB.NET is object-oriented. VB6 is not. VB.NET is used with the .NET framework. VB6 is not.
    I would say that a knowledge of object-oriented programming and a familiarity with the .NET framework would be much more important than a background in VB6.
    The possibility of you being able to wing it would depend on the level of expertise needed for the particular role, as well as your own aptitude. However I think your background, as you describe it, would make you less suitable than candidates with a background in Java/C++ etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭lukin

pwd wrote: »
    The syntax is similar.
    VB.NET is object-oriented. VB6 is not. VB.NET is used with the .NET framework. VB6 is not.
    I would say that a knowledge of object-oriented programming and a familiarity with the .NET framework would be much more important than a background in VB6.