Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Up the Deise

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

deise48 wrote: »
    methinks the two of ye should get a room :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭jmcc

So UTD is gone. 051.ie dropped the domain last year and it was reregistered. Mad-Blaa is still there. Operating a forum in Ireland with minimal oversight seems to be a lot more dangerous now since that blogger case.

Regards...jmcc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

jmcc wrote: »
    So UTD is gone. 051.ie dropped the domain last year and it was reregistered. Mad-Blaa is still there. Operating a forum in Ireland with minimal oversight seems to be a lot more dangerous now since that blogger case.

Regards...jmcc
    Must look up mad blaa. Good to be able to look into a forum without straight jackets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Must look up mad blaa. Good to be able to look into a forum without straight jackets.
    I dont follow, are you detained in some way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

Ziedth. wrote: »
    I dont follow, are you detained in some way?
    What you on about? Carry on regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

seanybiker wrote: »
    we had a vote to tell ya about ti and decided we didnt like ya lol. Only messing. the place was good. I enjoyed it anyways.
    ya never know, it might be back. just have to wait and see I suppose.

I wasn't referring to you Seany :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

KevIRL wrote: »
    It's no loss. And its hard to sympathy with the site owner being worried about legal claims considering the style and content of a lot of his own posts. There is an easy answer to avoid being sued, run a tight and fair ship. Funnily enough the people on that forum often critisised the moderation on Boards.ie while at the same time allowing racist biased and even bigoted nonsense to be posted over there.

The GAA section was by and large an embaressment to any decent county supporter and hurling person. Childish drivel such as 'yer mudder' would very often be posted as a counter argument to a good point made.

I liked UTD, I do think it's a loss, but I have to agree with you. All it needed was a bit of decent moderation and it could've been brilliant. It was annoying the crap that was posted up in the GAA section in particular, whether it was people from other counties logging on to stir things, or people just personally abusing the GAA players. Or having about 10 threads about the same thing. And people with totally inappropriate avatars and signatures and posting other stuff that's bordering on porn.
    I checked it out yesterday, there are some sad creeps on that site, with their sheer hatred for the UTD owner which is just pathetic. It looks like you can basically say whatever you want on that site (such as calling the UTD owner names) so if that's your kind of site then check it out.

There doesn't appear to be much actual discussion about Waterford stuff there either, which was usually plentiful on UTD. At least on UTD you could discuss local issues and there were a few very good posters there who knew their stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

Anyone know what has happened to this site? Lots of rumours about it's demise which I won't repeat here.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

Sad to see it go as I know the founder very well and he put a lot of work into it. Maybe it got out of hand a bit but sad to see nonetheless.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Since we already have a topic on the death of UTD so I shall merge the two together. :)

Topic Merged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

200motels wrote: »
    Anyone know what has happened to this site? Lots of rumours about it's demise which I won't repeat here.

Ah it was basically personal reasons. Wants to spend more time with the kids which is understandable, and what with all the fecking over sensative people around. You can get sued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭Speak Now

200motels wrote: »
    Sad to see it go as I know the founder very well and he put a lot of work into it. Maybe it got out of hand a bit but sad to see nonetheless.

Infairness he must have spent 20 hours a day on it but he didn't come across very well with the rubbish he posted. Should have concentrated more on modding than the "yer mudder posts". Anyway this place is much better, more controlled.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Ah lads, can we not start pimping other sites? Leave the topic be without the spam!

Sully wrote: »
    Ah lads, can we not start pimping other sites? Leave the topic be without the spam!

Dont know why you are calling it spam Sully

wellboy76 wrote: »
    Dont know why you are calling it spam Sully

You can PM if you have a query with the moderation, otherwise, lets keep this on track. :)

Sully wrote: »
    You can PM if you have a query with the moderation, otherwise, lets keep this on track. :)

Ok then, lets keep it on track.

I was a mod on UTD and am now a new member of Deiseboards and wish the place good luck. I am posting there but am not moderating. I also know that Mr Foley wishes it good luck.

So it is pretty relevant to the thread. Hope you sign up too Sully;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

If the content posted up is anything like it was at UTD, I wouldn't expect this place to last long. It's hosted on another website (i.e. a hosted board) and they generally take down sites without warning if even one complaint comes in. I'd advise that you guys try move over to your own website if you want the place to last.

Lets see what happens so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I just looked in the mad blaa :eek:

mike65 wrote: »
    I just looked in the mad blaa :eek:

lol. Poor ninelives is he getting an awful time.

Is that Kilkenny clown still doing the rounds?

wellboy76 wrote: »
    Is that Kilkenny clown still doing the rounds?
    ah leave him bloodi he is harmless. Poor chap. Ya dirty scouser