Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Becon holders from john deere.?

• 09-02-2010 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭

DO john deere sell there becon holders as a part? i was thinkin off putting on our tractor make it look flashy.. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

DO john deere sell there becon holders as a part? i was thinkin off putting on our tractor make it look flashy.. ?
    u talkin the mirror mtd ones ?

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭dasheriff

The dealer would have them alright but your are taling at least €200 for 2 brackets and beacons JD..Sorry not being nosey,What kind of john deere did you buy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭John deere 6920

bk1991 wrote: »
    u talkin the mirror mtd ones ?
    sorry no these ones mount on cab on the left and right hand cornors.. i see them welded on..

dasheriff wrote: »
    The dealer would have them alright but your are taling at least €200 for 2 brackets and beacons JD..Sorry not being nosey,What kind of john deere did you buy??
    your not being noisy at all.. and i didnt buy a john deere. was putting em on our own tractor..

what tractor u putten them on because there are a range of different brackets avabile .

zetor 9540

zetor 9540
    britax and vapormatic do a range of bolt on and weld on brakets

in ireland ? yes thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭iano93

Hey, I got one ther put onto our zetor it is an o8 proxima series the dealer i bought it off fitted i for around 70€ while he was servicing the tractor but ther was already a switch on dash and a wire for it and der was a bracket outside to accomadate the beacons bracket so it was a very straightforward job!:D ..Shes lookin well now!;) Btw is there a button for it on de dash of ur zetor?............Did ya consider de ones dat plug into the cigarette lighter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭marlyman

zetor 9540

the brackets and beacons are inexpensive in ireland. loads of places will have them. Go for Xenon beacons to be really bling.

iano93 wrote: »
    Hey, I got one ther put onto our zetor it is an o8 proxima series the dealer i bought it off fitted i for around 70€ while he was servicing the tractor but ther was already a switch on dash and a wire for it and der was a bracket outside to accomadate the beacons bracket so it was a very straightforward job!:D ..Shes lookin well now!;) Btw is there a button for it on de dash of ur zetor?............Did ya consider de ones dat plug into the cigarette lighter?
    thanks iano93 but i rather have the becon holder rather then have em on roof looks better.. our tractor 9540 she regd 96... there is loads off places we cud put em is just putting em on first... we cud just send it to dealer .. only like mile away..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭iano93

thanks iano93 but i rather have the becon holder rather then have em on roof looks better.. our tractor 9540 she regd 96... there is loads off places we cud put em is just putting em on first... we cud just send it to dealer .. only like mile away..
    Ya i havta agree wit ya on dat, wen der fitted on the corners dere a more secure and tidier job and dey look well!:D Ther gettin v popular around my country i cud name a good few farmers who got them fitted properly to there tractors and these wer all older tractors too.;) I'd say if u took it do the dealer he'd to a nice job for a decent price!

iano93 wrote: »
    Ya i havta agree wit ya on dat, wen der fitted on the corners dere a more secure and tidier job and dey look well!:D Ther gettin v popular around my country i cud name a good few farmers who got them fitted properly to there tractors and these wer all older tractors too.;) I'd say if u took it do the dealer he'd to a nice job for a decent price!

ya... not many farmers if any around here have em on apart from tom brown. mostly contractors do thou.... cost a good bit thou to pay him...

twin beacons the only job :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

twin beacons the only job :D:D

we have twin beacons on nearly everthing including the 5000. our mechanic comes to our yard and is €25 an hour so i just got him to do the lot to fit them.

ah the 5000 wud look claas i say wit the twin becons.? too blinging

post pic of the twin beacons il try find the pics of my 885 with the twim beacons on it

bk1991

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭maidhcII

Jesus lads... they are only flashing lights, and actually illegal In ireland (not that it is enforced or Gardai even realise that!)

I have none on any of our machines.

maidhcII wrote: »
    Jesus lads... they are only flashing lights, and actually illegal In ireland (not that it is enforced or Gardai even realise that!)

they are for big machines...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

Very true, it's illegal to have a flashing beacon on any road going vehicle that isn't used by the emergency services, gardai etc. Or at least it was anyway, maybe the law has changed in the last year or so. I only put them on the tractors if they were being used for site work, other than that I always left them off. They drive me mad reflecting into the cab, particularly in the dark. Great yokes for getting caught in overhanging branches and the like too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭aristo

Exactly, no need for them at all. have them on 2 machines, came factory fitted, never turned on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

post pic of the twin beacons il try find the pics of my 885 with the twim beacons on it

bk1991

i cant bearly take a picture with the digital camera not to mind then load them onto the internet

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Casinoking wrote: »
    Very true, it's illegal to have a flashing beacon on any road going vehicle that isn't used by the emergency services, gardai etc. Or at least it was anyway, maybe the law has changed in the last year or so. I only put them on the tractors if they were being used for site work, other than that I always left them off. They drive me mad reflecting into the cab, particularly in the dark. Great yokes for getting caught in overhanging branches and the like too!
    Do they actually flash?
    I thought they just spun around.Never looked at them properly
    I drive a big tractor with twin mowers and never use them.They reck me head,just like you said in the dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

pajero12 wrote: »
    Do they actually flash?
    I thought they just spun around.Never looked at them properly
    I drive a big tractor with twin mowers and never use them.They reck me head,just like you said in the dark

A reflector turns around a bulb giviing the effect of flashing. The bulb doesn't actually flash itself. The same type of flashing light is used on cop cars etc