Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats the going wages for driveing tractor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭maidhcII

I think there are two issues here. One is the compensation for unforsee nevents, and the other is broader involvling subsidised production with the sfp and the like.

The government often subsidise people who are badly affected by unforseen and generally uninsurable events. The bacon processors were bailed out last year, the potato farmers last year, and I think one IFA president once got in trouble for complaining about relief being given to the owners of "trendy cottages on the dodder". Ultimately this is more humanitarian than anything else.

What I have an issue with is subsidising irish agriculture, it completely distorts the market, doesn't benefit farmers at all and just leaves them in a bad light looking a bunch of whingers. We have some of the most fertile land in the world, and if Irish farmers can't make a profit and compete against the best of New Zealand, no one can. I do think thet there will have to be massive consolidation, but at least land prices are coming back to normalish levels.

to the OP: Good luck with the job, but look beyond tractor driving as a career, it can get desperately boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dar31

bk1991 wrote: »
    could you please tell us what you work at porscheman

porcheman, please tell me your a public servant, it will make my day:D

bk1991
    if you are planning on going to reaseheath agriculture college, have a look into going over there April may time and getting some work in the general area of nantwick. a lot of lads esp second year students get part time work with contractors or milk to help with drinking money for the year. a lot of these jobs are tied up in the first couple days of term by second years in the know.
    remember a lot of saturday nights in may there would be 3 or 4 + jds nparked up in the car park lads would be let take the tractor home to get a couple of hours kip before starting over in the morn
    as for tractor driving you will be the new lad to any outfit, and sure as sure you will get a back breaker of a tractor for the summer

contact some one in the collage, they should have the names of places to work, even if its not in the area, if you get a good reference it will help come the start of term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

maidhcII wrote: »
    I think there are two issues here. One is the compensation for unforsee nevents, and the other is broader involvling subsidised production with the sfp and the like.

The government often subsidise people who are badly affected by unforseen and generally uninsurable events. The bacon processors were bailed out last year, the potato farmers last year, and I think one IFA president once got in trouble for complaining about relief being given to the owners of "trendy cottages on the dodder". Ultimately this is more humanitarian than anything else.

What I have an issue with is subsidising irish agriculture, it completely distorts the market, doesn't benefit farmers at all and just leaves them in a bad light looking a bunch of whingers. We have some of the most fertile land in the world, and if Irish farmers can't make a profit and compete against the best of New Zealand, no one can. I do think thet there will have to be massive consolidation, but at least land prices are coming back to normalish levels.

to the OP: Good luck with the job, but look beyond tractor driving as a career, it can get desperately boring!

again with the New Zealand carry on.. if they can do it we can, I was in New Zealand for work experience, while both our countries are similar in some respects they are a whole lot different in others, the history in New Zealand of extremely large farms being broken into smaller but still large plots of land is alot different to the history of Irish land being split up from small plots of land taken over from the British and broken up into ever smaller land plots as farmers split farms between sons. The traceability system of food in NZ is totally different and doesn't come near Irish or EU standards with regards on farm deaths and births. Alot of share farming carried out in NZ, the money agriculture generates in NZ is a greater proportion of the total,

Ireland really now only has two sectors that can lead our way out of the state of the economy, tourism and agriculture. We are an over priced economy excess population wanting high wages, leading to more and more manufacturing companies heading for eastern Europe. The low corporation tax Ireland has is being mimicked in developing countries. People need to wake up and realise that Ireland is Ireland and New Zealand is New Zealand (Teagasc included).

I agree that land prices should reflect the value of production, but its not that simple with regards history in Ireland

Rant over . . . . i think :rolleyes:

EDIT: bk1991 I think you should work in the UK for the summer coming, few lads from the course went last year, and happy out withit, balling straw, drawing bales etc. wern't getting paid much... but free accommodation and cheap spuds out of fields kept them going :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

dar31 wrote: »
    bk1991
    if you are planning on going to reaseheath agriculture college, have a look into going over there April may time and getting some work in the general area of nantwick. a lot of lads esp second year students get part time work with contractors or milk to help with drinking money for the year. a lot of these jobs are tied up in the first couple days of term by second years in the know.
    remember a lot of saturday nights in may there would be 3 or 4 + jds nparked up in the car park lads would be let take the tractor home to get a couple of hours kip before starting over in the morn
    as for tractor driving you will be the new lad to any outfit, and sure as sure you will get a back breaker of a tractor for the summer

contact some one in the collage, they should have the names of places to work, even if its not in the area, if you get a good reference it will help come the start of term

i will look into this if you have anymore information on this pm me

• Registered Users Posts: 37 porscheman

dar31 wrote: »
    porcheman, please tell me your a public servant, it will make my day:D

I am not a public servant

I am actually in the agri sector and very much depend on farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

porscheman wrote: »
    I am not a public servant

I am actually in the agri sector and very much depend on farming

He said in a different thread he sells farm machinery in Dublin. If I were him I'd leave the info at that or he could have a boycott on his hands!

EDIT: bk1991 I think you should work in the UK for the summer coming, few lads from the course went last year, and happy out withit, balling straw, drawing bales etc. wern't getting paid much... but free accommodation and cheap spuds out of fields kept them going :D[/QUOTE]

does many guys go over from ireland i am doing interfew in few weeks over there ?

bk1991

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

porscheman if you depend on farming for your business why are you complaining about farmers getting subsidies from the eu? if your a farm machinery dealer and farmers dont get any subsidies they will not have any money to spend and then you will not get any customers.
    maybe your upset because sales of new machinery especially tractors have dropped for the start of this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

EDIT: bk1991 I think you should work in the UK for the summer coming, few lads from the course went last year, and happy out withit, balling straw, drawing bales etc. wern't getting paid much... but free accommodation and cheap spuds out of fields kept them going :D

does many guys go over from ireland i am doing interfew in few weeks over there ?

bk1991[/QUOTE]
    i went there years ago and reaseheath are only too helpful in putting you in touch with other irish people that are going there too , it was great as it meant i wasnt going over on my own:rolleyes:

whelan1 wrote: »

bk1991
    i went there years ago and reaseheath are only too helpful in putting you in touch with other irish people that are going there too , it was great as it meant i wasnt going over on my own:rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

what course did you do ? i am going to do the national deploma in land based techonology 3years . havent enough points for palaskenry .whats reaseheath like how did u like it ? many irish guys go there ?

bk1991

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

bk1991[/QUOTE]

twas just two from our class, he said alot of english lads working there too, and also said drink is cheap as - if it worries ya :P if i had the opportunity id defo go for it! reckon as long as you can drive a tractor you'l be grand, i know of a lad that works for a contractor here and usually goes over around july to september and said you'd make worth while money there in the 6 weeks. even if it was the same money as home i reckon it would be worth it, travel broadens the mind and will stand to you with the sayings the english have with stuff before you go to college there and get to know the place rather than turning up in spetember when things will be hectic.

Best of luck with it :cool:

I DID DAIRY HERD MANAGEMENT there where 15 irish there that year now i will show my age i went in 1992:eek: was a great year and learnt loads , no problem getting jobs at that stage hth

did dairy herd management as well back in 99 there was 15 on the course 7 of which were Irish, could nt count the no of Irish in the whole collage at the time

was just thinking earlier there was alot more than 15 irish could have been 30 , most of which where doing the machinery courses , there where 5 irish out of 15 on my course . at that time there where very few specialist courses here in ireland so had to go there to do it

does many guys go like myself to start the machinery course or are they mostaly comeing form palaskenry ?

when i went most people had done the basic year in an ag college here and gone over there then

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

I work with a man that pays me €2 for every bale i wrap so am hoping for lots of silage this year

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

I work with a man that pays me €2 for every bale i wrap so am hoping for lots of silage this year

Jesus,thats serious money,wish i got that for every bale i wrapped....15,000 last summer.....god bless them new mchale wrappers..Wish the 690 would give up the ghost so I could put it on the 6630:D

BK1991

How many points do you need for pallaskenry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭maidhcII

I'm going to assume you have your own machine for that. I can do 50 bales an hour with a Kverneland 7510 and Ford 4600. :D

pajero12 wrote: »
    Jesus,thats serious money,wish i got that for every bale i wrapped....15,000 last summer.....god bless them new mchale wrappers..Wish the 690 would give up the ghost so I could put it on the 6630:D

Of all the wrappers, mchale are my favourite. I prefer not to use joystick controls. The biggest threat to my wrapping job would be a mchale fusion but land around here is so bad it would make a bale and sink. At most I could do close to 45 bales if the bales are lined and I wrap the bale with 16 revalutions. But I can only go as fast as the balers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Jesus he must have money to burn. On a good days wrapping you'd clear 400 bales. €800 for a day's work!?!? :rolleyes:

Of all the wrappers, mchale are my favourite. I prefer not to use joystick controls. The biggest threat to my wrapping job would be a mchale fusion but land around here is so bad it would make a bale and sink. At most I could do close to 45 bales if the bales are lined and I wrap the bale with 16 revalutions. But I can only go as fast as the balers
    Its a hs2000 so no controls at all,just press 1 button.If the bales are lined up i can get 100 bales an hour.Most I wrapped in a day was 1729 bales...that was a long day mind you:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭PaddyBloggit

Its a hs2000 so no controls at all,just press 1 button.If the bales are lined up i can get 100 bales an hour.Most I wrapped in a day was 1729 bales...that was a long day mind you:D

€3458 for a day's work ..... how bad! :D

I never said i was getting €2 a bale

If you pulled an all nighter and just happened to have the 2,400 bales lined up in front of you (some field that would be) and were on €2 a bale you would have €4800. if done for a week straight. €33600 for a week.

hmmmm......€33600 + grants = what i want to make per year.
    I can work for 1 week a year then. Thank you for showing me the path to a better future

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭goondakid

are u directly related to this lad ur wrapping 4?? because if his payin u that much he mustn't be makin a euro out of it 4 himself :L

goondakid wrote: »
    are u directly related to this lad ur wrapping 4?? because if his payin u that much he mustn't be makin a euro out of it 4 himself :L

He gets like 75c a bale or something. He doesn't bale an awful lot anymore and I am there whenever he needs me at any time any day.

I presume it's your own tractor and wrapper?

Casinoking wrote: »
    I presume it's your own tractor and wrapper?

You presume correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

we pay 6.50 euro per bale cut baled and wrapped and supply our own plastic so if you took 2.00 euro for the wrapping it would leave 4.50 euro for cutting , baling , supplying the net , the diesel plus drivers wages.
    it doesnt add up.

mossfort wrote: »
    we pay 6.50 euro per bale cut baled and wrapped and supply our own plastic so if you took 2.00 euro for the wrapping it would leave 4.50 euro for cutting , baling , supplying the net , the diesel plus drivers wages.
    it doesnt add up.

I am not quite sure how it works but silage costs 2 euro more than hay and thats what i receive

mossfort wrote: »
    it doesnt add up.

€4 for baling and €2 for wrapping is pretty much the standard rate all over the country. Mowing is about €20/acre so I'd say you're getting a good rate alright. We were charging €7.50/bale to mow, bale, and wrap last year with the customer supplying the plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭PaddyBloggit

I never said i was getting €2 a bale

I was putting it into the context of kingofthe3rdyrs €2 a bale rate .... just saying how 'twud be a great rate to work at!

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭goondakid

Casinoking wrote: »
    €4 for baling and €2 for wrapping is pretty much the standard rate all over the country. Mowing is about €20/acre so I'd say you're getting a good rate alright. We were charging €7.50/bale to mow, bale, and wrap last year with the customer supplying the plastic.

Ya but ur lad on the wraper wasnt gettin 2euro a bale was he??

goondakid wrote: »
    Ya but ur lad on the wraper wasnt gettin 2euro a bale was he??

My €2 is the equivilant of getting a seperate man in to wrap your bales. We just work together to get ahead of competition.

The lad who's getting €2/bale has already said he owns the tractor and wrapper

BeeDI wrote: »
    A competent farmer (the ultimate employer) on that basis should be worth say €25 an hour. But does he earn that? Does he hell?

if I as a farmer worked €25 an hour and i farm for between 12-14 hours (including breaks) 7 days a week I would get around €2,200 at the moment i might only be drawing in like 200-300 a week from farming alone if my calves do very well.