Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gerry Ryan Radio Show Thread

• 12-02-2010 5:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭

This thread is for the discussion of all aspects of the Gerry Ryan Radio show, on 2fm. This includes, mainly, Gerry Ryans' presenting style and the various topics that arise.

The really important bit:
    if you want to post in this thread show respect for other posters by making constructive points, and never revert to lazy abuse of any of the presenters, the callers or any posters in this thread. Irrelevant personal comments will result in infractions or bans.

What Gerry Ryan does when he's not presenting this show isn't up for discussion.

And with that out of the way,the ryan line is open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought todays show was terrible and his presenting style
    was atrocious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I thought todays show was terrible and his presenting style
    was atrocious

I only caught the start of his sow today when he was talking about his listenership figures being up on the last jnlr's;)

To be serious he does have a tendancy to take the prevebial out of his callers, somtimes it's merited sometime it's in bad taste. Overall I think he's pretty good at what he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

I dislike him and his radio show so much that I tuned 2fm out of every radio I own in case I accidentally click it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

The rise in his figures is impressive, given that 2FM in general is on the slide.

Did he say whether he had improved his audience share? That tends to be a more accurate measure, as it takes into account the number of people who are listening to the radio at any given time.

The Muppet wrote: »
    I only caught the start of his sow today when he was talking about his listenership figures being up on the last jnlr's;)

To be serious he does have a tendancy to take the prevebial out of his callers, somtimes it's merited sometime it's in bad taste. Overall I think he's pretty good at what he does.

He does not allow anyone on the air who disagrees with
    his point of view so there is zero balance to a discussion,only people who ring in and pour petrol on his raging ego are welcome

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

He does not allow anyone on the air who disagrees with
    his point of view so there is zero balance to a discussion,only people who ring in and pour petrol on his raging ego are welcome

He has a lot to thank the call screeners for, thats for sure. They must be at the top of their game. Its Gerry's opinion and thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

I was listening to the GRS when he was doing his newspaper review on Tuesday - the day after George Lee's departure from FG. All newspapers with the exception of the Sun covered the Lee saga - the Sun went with Vernon Kaye (presenter of Family Fortunes and married to Tess Daly co-presenter of Strictly Come Dancing) sex texting a topless model. Gerry totally snubbed the story by stating "I don't know this couple or what they're famous for something to do with Dancing on Ice I've been told" - he then went on to flick through another paper and began commenting on a lovely lady who was at some function and had her picture taken and how gorgeous she was. It was one of his daughters.

Very unfair - I don't know any of his daughters or what they're famous for. I do however know what Kaye/Daly are famous for.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Real FM

In all fairness he simply mentioned the fact that his daughter was in the paper - he didn't talk about it at any lenght. I'd assume the vast majority of presenters would be likely to pass comment if there was a pic of one of their children in a paper sitting in front of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I dislike the presenter...i think he's a man of limited intelligence and a very large ego who views himself and his opinions in a divine light.
    He regards himself as being very interesting indeed and seems to think the listening public want to hear details of the minutae of his personal life and his views on subjects that he often plainly knows nothing about.
    I dislike the way he uses his show as a springboard for his own plainly sleazy thoughts..he regularly alludes to subjects such as masturbation,penis size,womens' underwear,teenage sexual behaviour,defecating,flatulence,pornography and subjects of that ilk.
    Now,i'm not hypocrite enough to take issue with these subjects per se,i do take issue with the manner in which they are brought up and discussed..sleazily and in the sniggering manner of a 14 year-old schoolboy.
    There are radio personalities who are capable of discussing such matters in an informed,humerous or stylish(!) manner but Mr Ryan is not one of them.
    Mr Ryan's ego and shallow intelligence to say nothing of his boorishness,lack of humour and downright arrogance is at the core of the show..permeating the whole format and rendering it stale,redundant and downright offensive.
    he further abuses his position on the show to advertise various vested interests that he seems to have,including constant plugging of the O2 venue and lionising of its owner-a 'friend' and business partner.
    He seems to have a fixation on serial tax-dodgers U2,mentioning them constantly throughout the show as indeed he does with named eating establishments,hotels and members of his family.
    The man is paid a grotesque sum of money by the people who pay the licence fee and in return he offers a scatalogical soapbox of great blandness and a formulaic psuedo 'shock jock' utterly convinced of his own importance and superiority.
    It is an indictment of the nepotism and serial inbreeding that seems to occur in our national broadcaster that out of 3.5 million people,this has-been is still considerd(by whom,i've no idea) the only man suitable to present a show of this nature...perhaps his pro-Fianna Fail bias has been instrumental in this regard..one can only speculate.
    To me the show is stale,redundant and presented by a man who is using it to further his business interests,secure gratuities for himself and bask in the glow of his own self-importance..a dinosaur from the corrupt and self-indulgent Celtic Tiger era,he and the show should be relegated to history

Real FM wrote: »
    In all fairness he simply mentioned the fact that his daughter was in the paper - he didn't talk about it at any lenght. I'd assume the vast majority of presenters would be likely to pass comment if there was a pic of one of their children in a paper sitting in front of them.

Yes I agree a parent would comment on a picture of their children in the newspaper but to dismiss a lead story in a newspaper due to the fact he did not know who the couple were beggars belief.

Real FM wrote: »
    In all fairness he simply mentioned the fact that his daughter was in the paper

I too would have registered surprise..on account of the fact that she's not famous.

Degsy wrote: »
    I too would have registered surprise..on account of the fact that she's not famous.

Famous is a subjective term, a lot of us have heard of her, she's been discussed on other threads here for instance, she is forging a career in the entertainment industry. In this instance she was famous enough to feature in a newspaper article. It could be argued that she is indeed famous and therfore a valid topic of discussion on the G ryan show irrespective of the family connection. That aside non famous people are entitled to be a topic on his show as well as they are most days.

She's only famous cos he mentions her every day :rolleyes:

In fact, it is VERY beneficial for a newspaper to have her in it every day so Gerry will skip straight to that paper first. The newspaper is then plugged in front of 300,000 listeners. Result.

I wanna do a bit of back-seat modding here and instruct people to go to this thread..i do hope gerry is reading!!:D

Yeah I did read through that link. Some of the comments (imo) would be hurtful for a young girl to read about herself - famous or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭Cunsiderthis

deelite wrote: »
    Yeah I did read through that link. Some of the comments (imo) would be hurtful for a young girl to read about herself - famous or not.

Perhaps you misunderstand that, for those obsessed, perspective is lost and its appears fair game to attack anyone if the result is to attack GR personally. If his children, or family, or friends etc etc have to be attacked, or logic turned on its head, then that appears fair game to the obsessed.

deelite wrote: »

Very true, I feel for the girl. Some nasty comments there.
    Perhaps you misunderstand that, for those obsessed, perspective is lost and its appears fair game to attack anyone if the result is to attack GR personally. If his children, or family, or friends etc etc have to be attacked, or logic turned on its head, then that appears fair game to the obsessed.

Jesus wept :rolleyes:

As another poster put it so eloquently...POT, KETTLE, BLACK!!:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

I dislike the way he uses his show as a springboard for his own plainly sleazy thoughts..he regularly alludes to subjects such as masturbation,penis size,womens' underwear,teenage sexual behaviour,defecating,flatulence,pornography and subjects of that ilk.

I find these all of these subjects amusing. Then again I also own a box set of Bottom.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

He chooses to push his family into the spotlight. He, above all people should know that people with high profiles are bound to come in for scrutiny and, if applicable, criticism.
    I, for one, never heard of Totty or Dotty or whatever her name is. Is she such an innocent abroad that she thinks that the offspring of a deliberately self promoting character such as Ryan is going to be overlooked? If you can't stand the heat......
    Personally, I think if she's any thing like her father she'll be lapping it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭airhorn

Thanks for posting that Degsy, i found it fierce funny alltogether!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

right lads, as promised - todays the day the conversation switches back to the radio show only. Posts will be deleted and users banned. Simple as :)

This morning it was sleezing over a woman who had her breasts removed because of cancer

classy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

This morning it was sleezing over a woman who had her breasts removed because of cancer

classy stuff

Sleazing in what way? What did he say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Barname

gerry has 'sinus' problems (9:50am)

interesting

off-topic posts deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

I recall being forced into listening to him at an old job as the manager had his radio blaring though out the office. Not one other person wanted to listen to him.

The topic one friday was about vibrators, and he was giving them out to girls to take home and test. Then saying "now, you'l come back and tell us how you got on with that now wont you?". the chap is a seedy pervert.

Hes a terrible presenter and he makes my skin crawl when i have to hear his voice bellowing out of a radio speaker. It takes alot to do that to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

classy stuff

And i thought my story was a one off thing or something. He makes me ***king sick.

Barname wrote: »
    gerry has 'sinus' problems (9:50am)

interesting
    I hope it doesn't affect the quality of his broadcast, he still has to mention Harry Crosbie/O2/Dromoland another dozen times before 12

tbh wrote: »
    off-topic posts deleted.

Would you mind telling me how was, a lad wondering what was the cause of his sinus problems an off topic post?

Ryan said he had sinus problems & i wondered what the cause of it was, right....

Is this the way its going to be from now on tbh, you randomly deleteing posts just cause you feel like it?

Did I hear things correctly?

Gerry missed work for a few days because of his sinus problem?

airhorn wrote: »
    Would you mind telling me how was, a lad wondering what was the cause of his sinus problems an off topic post?

Ryan said he had sinus problems & i wondered what the cause of it was, right....

Is this the way its going to be from now on tbh, you randomly deleteing posts just cause you feel like it?

don't treat me like a fcuking idiot. If you want a second opinion, go to helpdesk. Post like that again, and you're permabanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

airhorn wrote: »

Was tbh talking about your post? :confused: Because your one's still there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭who what when

telekon wrote: »
    He has a lot to thank the call screeners for, thats for sure. They must be at the top of their game.QUOTE]

Yep they're extremely talented people thats for sure.

eth0_ wrote: »

classy stuff

Sleazing in what way? What did he say?

i'd be interested to hear what he said too.

Was tbh talking about your post? :confused: Because your one's still there!

it was one of mine, it was an amusing comment on the cause of Gerry’s sinus trouble, TBH obviously thought it wasn’t amusing or relevant.

Infracted: off-topic

what a sad show

they just had a crowd hoot and holler for a 20 Stone beast that lost 3 lbs

3lb is approximately 1% of their bodyweight

wow, thats some acheivement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

what a sad show

they just had a crowd hoot and holler for a 20 Stone beast that lost 3 lbs

3lb is approximately 1% of their bodyweight

wow, thats some acheivement

These people have been losing weight every week for the past 5 or 6 weeks. Fair play to her.

tbh wrote: »
    don't treat me like a fcuking idiot. If you want a second opinion, go to helpdesk. Post like that again, and you're permabanned.

No need for that now is there, all i did was ask a question... if thats the way your going to act well then fcuk it.

banned - one month.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭johndoc

Gerry said this in Feb 09.
    So for those of you who think you can manage, by cutting a bit there, by storing a little extra here, if you think you can do it, now’s the time to buy that house, because it’s never going to be cheaper.”
    http://dynamic.rte.ie/quickaxs/209-rte-2fm-grs-gerryryanshow-2009-02-17.smil

By Dec 09, the average property price dropped 43 grand.

Thanks for the tip Gerry. Hope you don't have an interest in seeing property prices maintained.
    Me, I could do without having to cutting a bit there, saving a bit here & scrimping my way through life.

johndoc wrote: »
    Gerry said this in Feb 09.
    http://dynamic.rte.ie/quickaxs/209-rte-2fm-grs-gerryryanshow-2009-02-17.smil

By Dec 09, the average property price dropped 43 grand.

Thanks for the tip Gerry. Hope you don't have an interest in seeing property prices maintained.
    Me, I could do without having to cutting a bit there, saving a bit here & scrimping my way through life.

He's a radio presenter not an economist. mind you many economists were saying the same at that time. I very much doubt people hang on his every word for financial advice,.

If he's not an economist he should stfu giving economic advice.
    Telling people that "now's the time to go and purchase a house as they'll never be cheaper" sounds like economic advice to me.

If he's not an economist he should stfu giving economic advice.
    Telling people that "now's the time to go and purchase a house as they'll never be cheaper" sounds like economic advice to me.

It's ironic that you can have an opinion that he is not fit to have an opinion!

If radio presenters are not allowed, on a wide ranging 3 hour talk show, to give their opinions, then there would not be a lot to talk about. If some misconstrue a personal opinion (that property prices are low and that it's probably a good time to buy property) as economic advice, then that's more fool them.

It seems that, no matter what this presenter does, you are determined to find fault with him, and are determined to put the worst spin possible on whatever he does.

Like most of us, he is a mixture of the good and less good (even you and me are the same mixture), and it seems apparent your policy is to try to put the worst possible interpretation on anything he does.

While I agree with you that i don't like his show and don't listen to his show, I hope I am more balanced in my views about him and about the show.

I checked here

http://registers.financialregulator.ie/

gerry ryan is not registered, he should refrain from 'advising' listeners on financial matters

I checked here

http://registers.financialregulator.ie/

gerry ryan is not registered, he should refrain from 'advising' listeners on financial matters

I hope you have made an official complaint to the financial regulator and I am sure we all look forward to reading his ruling on the evidence you have sent with your official complaint.

It's ironic that you can have an opinion that he is not fit to have an opinion!

His "opinion" is a vested interest in reinvigorating the property market...he mentions his "best friend" Harry Crosbie on his radio show almost daily..Harry Crosbie is a property developer who's involved in numerous developments around the Docklands.
    Giving finacial advice he most certainly is and not through any sense of altruism either.

His "opinion" is a vested interest in reinvigorating the property market...he mentions his "best friend" Harry Crosbie on his radio show almost daily..Harry Crosbie is a property developer who's involved in numerous developments around the Docklands.
    Giving finacial advice he most certainly is and not through any sense of altruism either.

It's not true that if you repeat something a number of times then it automatically becomes true. And now you hint at corruption on his part having a vested interest in the property market!

If you genuinely believe that he is guilty of giving financial advice on the airwaves, and/or corruption, then surely it becomes not only a duty for you, but a pleasure, to make a report to the financial regulator or to the gardaí.

You've made an accusation, but seem to shy away from following it through where you claim there is no doubt that he is in breach of the law or the guidelines. If you are so certain, then are you able to explain why you haven't made a full report to the financial regulator or the gardaí? Could it be that you are not so certain as you pretend? Surely not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

gerry ryan is

ricero wrote: »
    gerry ryan is

LMAO

brilliant !

ricero wrote: »
    gerry ryan is
    LMAO

brilliant !

first gets a permaban, second gets a one month ban.