Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tri a bit of everything

• Registered Users Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Thursday
    Club MTB League race
    Bit of a disaster this one. I started ok and was going fairly well(not falling off anyway) but I got a puncture on the second lap and that was my race done. So much for bloody tubeless tyre that aren't supposed to puncture! So I got about 20 mins at race pace.

I played astro at lunch again, thats intervals of a sort, right?

Friday
    31.7km tempo spin in 54.01, 35.3km/hr
    3 laps of the strawberry beds loop. Probably not the best preperation for a 5k race. I think I've got a nice comfortable slounched over the bars aero position sorted for the bike. Definately the last really hard session before next weekend.
    HR avg 162 max 180

• Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

All the best for the Donore 5km. As you say you haven't been doing a whole lot of running, but the bike will translate something there. The runs you do are still pacy enough IMO.
    I predict a good outing for you - would have been better save the tough bike session today though!

Have a good one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭El Director

You were right Mac, great running from this man today! Whatever he is doing I want a subscription! Well done Nomadic, savage going today on a tough enough course.

Saturday

Donore Harriers 5km
    I'd no idea how I was going to go in this. My first 5k so a PB was sorted. I was expecting to dip under 19 and would have been delighted with a sub 18. Hit the first K in 3.23 and was going alright for the next 2k. Hit the hill at about 3.5k and the head wind came into play. I passed a few up the hill and got blasted by the wind at the top. It was head down and grind it out from here. I hit 4k in 14.00. I traded places with a couple of ladies in the last k and it helped to keep it pushing along. Finished in about 17.40 so happy with that. Met El D before and after, well done on the PB after being sick.
    HR avg 178
    17.33 chip time

22.9km handy spin, 30.1km/hr
    Just did a couple of laps of the strawberry beds to loosen up the legs. Handy spins are fierce boring so I cut it a bit short of the planned 30km.
    HR avg 142

• Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

F*ck me, excellent time. Well done.
    I'm trying to think of the running equivalent of "chewing the handlebars" - but what ever it is, it sounds like you gave it your all, and bagged a quality PB - You'll have fun trying to better that.
    Super stuff.

Sunday

I had quite the hang over so I only got about a 1 mile run in to collect the car from outside the pub.

Monday
    5.6 mile run in 36.01, 6.26 min/miles
    HR avg 163, max 177

69.4km spin in 2.02.51, 33.9km/hr
    Summerhill - Kilcock loop. The leg out to Summerhill was tough with a headwind. I though I was just going ****e but when I turned towards Kilcock I realised that I had been straight into the wind. The rest of the spin was handy with mostly the wind at my back. My calfs were threatening to cramp for the first half, I think I'll knock the running on the head for the rest of the week.
    HR avg 143, max 165

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Thats a bloody quick 5k nomadic, well done! Of the back of your midweek 5milers at 6min mile pace or so no doubt plus all the cycling building the lung capacity. Unlucky in the mtb race, it almost sounds like that irked you more than the 5k result pleased you :confused: You are there or thereabouts in whatever you put your hand to, perhaps time to specialise in something for a season?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

17.33, some leg speed, Nomadic. Great running...

Thats a bloody quick 5k nomadic, well done! Of the back of your midweek 5milers at 6min mile pace or so no doubt plus all the cycling building the lung capacity. Unlucky in the mtb race, it almost sounds like that irked you more than the 5k result pleased you :confused: You are there or thereabouts in whatever you put your hand to, perhaps time to specialise in something for a season?

I was pleased with the 5k on the back of the little running training I've done but I know I was in better running shape earlier in the year and can do better. I know I need to just chose one sport and stick with it, I've set myself a lot of targets and I just won't be able to do them all. I've done shag all swimming so tri has been pretty much dropped this year, I'll do a bit so I survive the swim in swinford(if I do it). The cycling season ends in September so hopefully that'll work well with doing the marathon in October.

I think ultimately I'll concentrate on cycling (on and off road) next year with maybe a little running. My long term goal is cycling related. I definitely want to do an IM but that can wait a few years.

Tuesday
    I meant to get out for about an hour but I ended up spending about 4 hours trying to get a wrong sized BB fitted to the bike.

Wednesday
    Nada

Thursday
    Finally got the proper BB for the bike and got it fitted.

20.8km spin in 38.48, 32.2km/hr
    Just a handy spin with a few hard efforts thrown in. Lovely evening, I nearly got taken out of it by a couple of idiots wandering aimlessly onto the road in the park but I managed to survive this pre race spin.

HR avg 152, max 182

All set for Donegal now, the last week with fewer spins has me feeling like I've done too little. Probably could have done with a spin on tuesday but I'm sure it'll make no odds in the end. Hitting the road in the morning for stage 1 tomorrow evening.

Best of luck this weekend dude. Looks like it will be a hot one! You are well prepared and I really hope u get want you want out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Best of luck for the weekend dude, hope it goes well for ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Best of luck for the weekend.

Friday
    Ras Dhun na Ngall Stage 1
    A nice short 52km stage to kick things off. The fog rolled in to Ardara just before the off but we did get a bit of sun for half the stage. I went for the first KOM with 2 lads up the road a bit. I ended up 5th over it which was no good. Only the first 3 got points. I paced the second KOM a bit better. I went early enough and gave one bloke a great lead out but I got over 2nd which got me a couple of points in the KOM comp (turns out that there was 2 lads down the road for most of the stage so I was 4th over, no points again).

It finished in a bunch sprint. The last 6k were all downhill so I kept it nice and safe in the bunch. I'm crap at sprints anyway so I had no business up the front. Happy with how that went, I felt strong. A hill climb TT in the morning will sort the men from the boys.
    53.7km in 1.24.10(including short warm down), 38.3km/hr
    HR avg 160, max 190

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/fullscreen/31752062/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Best of luck with the remainder of the weekend!

Saturday
    Ras Dhun na Ngall Stage 2 TT
    This was a hillclimb TT, about 2.9km I think. I did it in 7.19 which was good enough for 15th. The quickest time was 6.32 and only 3 got under 7 mins. No HR data, my max was 188 so maybe I could've gone harder or maybe thats a sign of pacing it well. That put me in 16th on GC 1.20 down on the yellow jersey.
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/31752258

Ras Dhun na Ngall Stage 3
    83km stage. Lots of hills again. The sun came out and it was a lovely day if a tad windy. I got into a break after a couple of KM at the start and we were away for a few but when we got swallowed I was wrecked. It took a while in the bunch to recover. I eventually found my legs about half way and tried to stay near the front. The yellow jersey was doing great work closing down anything that was a danger. I got into another break about 60km in, we worked hard but it didn't stick. The stage winner was in that break and went again soon after in the winning break of 3. I took it handy near the front until we were on the home straight where I eased back in the bunch to stay safe. I finished in the bunch, I'm not sure if the 3 in the winning break were already ahead of me but hopefully I'm still about 16th. I know second place coming into the stage lost a few minutes so that'll be a place gained anyway. I just lost the computer data, I think it averaged 36.xkm/hr
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/31754150

Tomorrows stage is a 97km beast with loads of climbing. If I'm smart I'll take it handy until the last 20km. The finish is up a wopper climb so places could be gained there if I'm fresh. There's only about 30 seconds between me and the top 5. Hopefully I resist the urge to jump off down the road early like I usually do.
    The legs are sore at the mo. I've the feet up watching the match.

Fair play Nomadic, I'm really enjoying reading these reports. Sounds great and sounds like something to do for next year. Tough going though but suits you, you're well able and good luck on the final push tomorrow, be patient and efficient and then go for it! Looking forward to tomorrows report :)

Sunday

Ras Dhun na Ngall stage 4
    98km stage with loads of climbing for a change.http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/34418884
    The weather had taken a slight turn for the worst over night and it was basically a monsoon with puddles and rivers all over the roads. It didn't stop raining for the whole stage. 30 people didn't bother starting. I hid in the car until 10 minutes before the start and got a half arsed warm up in. The legs were fairly sore. I was starting the stage in 14th. I kept to my plan hiding in the bunch for the first half of the stage. It was bloody hard work and I was mid pack for most of it. The descents were lined out and really hairy as people tried to stay upright. It was harder work staying on wheels on the descents than the climbs. The first half passed and it was much harder than I was hoping. A break with some of the main contenders went at about 50k.

I kept it to plan but ended up cycling off the front at about 60k as the bunch were taking it too handy. I didn't mean to break or anything, just kept up the same effort as I had been doing. I ened up getting a decent gap on the bunch and was in no mans land at this stage. I wasn't putting in enough effort to bridge to the break(2 mins down the road) but I was building a gap on the bunch and catching 2 blokes up the road. I upped the effort a bit heading up the last KOM when I saw the bunch appear down the road. The yellow jersey broke from them and I jumped on his wheels for a few km. He was crusing and was chatting away to me. It was a bit strange as he cycled beside me cool as a cucumber chatting and me in a bit of pain. We picked up the 2 lads down the road over the KOM but the yellow jersey ended up riding away from us(and finishing 2nd on the stage), he was way too strong. I stayed away with the 2 lads for another few km but we eventually got caught by the remnants of the bunch. I was away from the bunch for about 20k which may have been stupid. I tried to go again with a young lad who broke as we were caught but my legs were fairly shot and I couldn't put any decent turns in.

We only had under 20k to go now and it was basically rolling until the Glengesh climb. The pace was high enough but I tucked in near the front and hung on. We passed through Ardara for the last time and we knew Glengesh was only up the road. The climb was seriously imposing as we cycled through the valley facing it. The remainder of the bunch(about 20 I think) hit the base of the climb and it smashed to pieces here. Definately the hardest climb I've ever done. The legs were lactic city and this thing kicked up something stupid. I just plugged away looking at the tarmac, looking at what was left would probably have broken me. The top eventually appeared and I managed to up the pace for the last 100m and finished the stage in 17th, 3.24 down.
    Just under 3 hours racing, 33.5km/hr. HR avg 151, 183 max (including warm down).

That left me in 15th overall 4.18 down on the winner.
    A cracking race, a real tester. I'm delighted with how I went.

Cracking result dude and thats some weekends racing. You must be shattered today but I bet there is a serious sense of satisfaction. I swear looking at that stage 4 profile has the lactic acid building up in my legs even as I sit here. That was some kick at the end - cruel. Well dude dude, within 5 min of the winner after 3/4 days, super :)

Enjoyed reading those reports, well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Great reports Damien! Well done, savage result!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭griffin100

Really good race reports and a great result as well, makes me want to do one of these 3 day races:)

Cheers lads, the 3 days racing lark is good fun. Eating stuff like white bread with chocolate spread, loads of chocolate crossants and pizza was one of the highlights. The refueling lark is one of the benifits.
    this pic taken at the finish gives a decent indication of the climb at the end of the last stage. I've seen myself in the photos and I've got my chewing the handlebars face on in every single one of them!
    Shrouded%20in%20mist.jpg
    Monday
    15k easy on the MTB
    Just a quick spin to aid a bit of recovery. Legs felt grand actually.

Tuesday
    Just the commute. I was going to go out for an hour after work but I had a cold core and thats always a sign of being a bit low so I chilled on the couch.

Wednesday
    32km spin in 55.55, 34.3km/hr
    3 laps of the strawberry beds loop giving it a decent effort. Legs are spot on so I gave it a bit of effort. I need to get a bit more specific with the training. Apart from hill climbs all my other spins have just been at a decent effort, no intervals or any of that lark. I'm a fan of just giving it a constant effort on spins but I think intervals will probably be of more benifit. I noticed at the weekend that the hills were where I was more powerful than most but my power on the flat was a limiter.
    HR avg 161, max 181

Its crunch time with regard to the HIM in swinford over the next few weeks. I've absolutely no motivation to go swimming and getting the long runs in might be a struggle.:confused:

Thursday
    Kathleen O'Sullivan Memorial
    50km A3 and A4 race out in north county Dublin somewhere. There were only about 45 signed on so a nice compact field. The A4's got 1.30 but we caught them after about 5km. It was a 4 lap loop so the first lap was just for scouting. There were 2 primes for a climb on the 2nd and 3rd laps. I attacked on the bigger of the hills on the second lap and was down the road for a bit but that didn't stick. I got over first in the first prime. I got on a good wheel coming up to it and paced it well.

I rode on the front for too long coming up to it on the 3rd lap and hadn't anything in the tank to go for it. There were a few half hearted attacks but nothing stayed away. One lad went just at the top of the last hill on the last lap with about 5km to go and I did a bit of chasing knowing he was fairly strong. I caught him but with about a km to go the bunch was close so I sat up a bit. I actually though the finish was a bit further down the road, we could have stayed away with a big effort:o. The finish appeared out of nowhere and I was a bit back, I tried to count how many were in front of me to see was it worth going for. Bollox, I was 7th (6 prizes). I put a big effort in but missed out on 6th by about a centimeter.
    HR avg 160, max 187 - 35.5km/hr avg including 2km spin back to the car.

I'm a tad dissapointed with it, I was going well. I got some petrol money at least.

Oh your man Cian Delaney(duathlete dude) was racing. I was chatting to him and he was saying it was only his second road race. I was still jumping on his wheel any time he made half an effort just in case.

nomadic wrote: »
    Thursday
    Kathleen O'Sullivan Memorial
    50km A3 and A4 race out in north county Dublin somewhere. There were only about 45 signed on so a nice compact field. The A4's got 1.30 but we caught them after about 5km. It was a 4 lap loop so the first lap was just for scouting. There were 2 primes for a climb on the 2nd and 3rd laps. I attacked on the bigger of the hills on the second lap and was down the road for a bit but that didn't stick. I got over first in the first prime. I got on a good wheel coming up to it and paced it well.

I rode on the front for too long coming up to it on the 3rd lap and hadn't anything in the tank to go for it. There were a few half hearted attacks but nothing stayed away. One lad went just at the top of the last hill on the last lap with about 5km to go and I did a bit of chasing knowing he was fairly strong. I caught him but with about a km to go the bunch was close so I sat up a bit. I actually though the finish was a bit further down the road, we could have stayed away with a big effort:o. The finish appeared out of nowhere and I was a bit back, I tried to count how many were in front of me to see was it worth going for. Bollox, I was 7th (6 prizes). I put a big effort in but missed out on 6th by about a centimeter.
    HR avg 160, max 187 - 35.5km/hr avg including 2km spin back to the car.

I'm a tad dissapointed with it, I was going well. I got some petrol money at least.

Oh your man Cian Delaney(duathlete dude) was racing. I was chatting to him and he was saying it was only his second road race. I was still jumping on his wheel any time he made half an effort just in case.

Still good session there for ya Nomadic and a 7th place finish is nothing to be sniffed at. I'd love to someday get some petrol money...time to be making back all the €'s sunk into this business!

Ya Cian was racing the night before in the 4okm TT, he was the only one to catch me. Some performer as he only switch from GAA 12 months ago...and running is his strong point.

Friday
    rest

Saturday
    Christy Mac Manus, Roundwood G.P.
    A2/A3 handicap race, about 85km I think. The A3's got 1 minute so we didn't bother knowing we'd be caught soon enough. I sat in for the first 3 laps(of 7). A couple of breaks went but were brought back. I had my eye on one of the lads from the cycling forum(Tawfeeredux) who has been doing well recently and when I saw him head for the front I followed. He attacked and the whole bunch jumped on his wheel, he's a marked man now. Anyway I gave it a dig with one other lad after that but it didn't stick. On the 4th lap I was leading the bunch coming up to the only steepish hill so I gave it a bit of a dig and got a bit of a gap. A bloke from Carrick came with me and a couple others caught up. I didn't think we were going anywhere but the lad from Carrick persisted so I followed. We ended up with a bit of a gap and a few riders bridged over to us. It ended up as a decent break of about 12. We stayed away for the rest of the race. It was actually fairly handy going in the break, easier than the bunch I thought. I think 12 was a nice number to have.

I finished 6th overall (2nd A3 I think), another point and a few quid again. Really happy with today, it was nice to be the the break instigator and probably a lot easier than having to bridge.

Numbers (including warm up and down) 94.5km in 2.37.30, 36km/hr
    HR avg 151, max 183

Nomadic our very own Contador less the Clenbuterol:) Great racing dude.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Really interesting racing reports Nomadic you may have found your fortay dude great stuff. I'll have a look back on this log for sure when picking some 2012 goals

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Hi nomadic,

Great to see you absolutely flying. I think some of the lads prob underestimate what your achieving - starting in A3 for your first season is some feat you were obviously a beast on that mountain bike. And you cant be too far of making it to A2 - how many points is that now? Great to do a 3 day stage race, id say that absolutely destroys the legs. Would love to do one but doubt it will be next year unless i get my act together maybe the next year.

Your putting in the hours and getting some fantastic results.

Really interesting racing reports Nomadic you may have found your fortay dude great stuff. I'll have a look back on this log for sure when picking some 2012 goals
    I'm hooked alright. I think the most enjoyable part is the racing. Its not just using your legs, you've to use you head as well. It took a while to get confortable with it but I think my nieve hammering it off the front earlier in the year has made me stronger.
    Great to see you absolutely flying. I think some of the lads prob underestimate what your achieving - starting in A3 for your first season is some feat you were obviously a beast on that mountain bike. And you cant be too far of making it to A2 - how many points is that now? Great to do a 3 day stage race, id say that absolutely destroys the legs. Would love to do one but doubt it will be next year unless i get my act together maybe the next year.
    The aim for the rest of the season is to get upgraded. I've only 3 points so far but its coming together now so hopefully I can pick up a few decent results. I haven't been on the MTB much but I'm going to get out on it more now. The nationals is coming up and there's a few longer mtb races coming up which I like the look of.

I'm off to glastonbury in a couple of weeks so no doubt I'll put on about a stone and be in bits when I get back. The week off the bike might be a good thing though.

Sunday
    Nada, I was contemplating a run but with the weather and a mild hangover I didn't bother. Definately glad I'm not out in the wilds of Wicklow.