Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Casuals 20th February - Gamesnash LiveDunboyne

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Sisko wrote: »
    N1, bit of a cheeky question but do people play much SF4 there anyway? On ps3? Wondering if any of the PS3s you have might have the chars unlocked or not. Cause if one does obviously it'd be nice to have that one :D hehe

I'm really looking forward to this actually. Place looks sweet, I shall bring my camera.

Not a cheeky question at all - tbh very little SF4 played on site ( blasphemy that it might be but Tekken 6 is more popular :p - and I'm not 100% sure if there is a copy on PS3 there at the moment ( if not we will get one in before Sat ) If you wanted to bring your saved game file on a memory stick it could be loaded on though ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Unfortunately the "copy protection feature" of PS3s which prevents all trophies being unlocked by copying a save file also prevents things like unlocked characters, colours, etc.

If you want to spend some time unlocking characters you're more than welcome to do so.

It doesn't take that long: http://www.eventhubs.com/guides/2009/jan/25/unlockable-characters-trophies-achievements-ps3-xbox-360-street-fighter-4/

Unfortunately the "copy protection feature" of PS3s which prevents all trophies being unlocked by copying a save file also prevents things like unlocked characters, colours, etc.

Didn't realise it blocked unlocked characters. Suppose it does make sense when you think about it. Guess that's out of the window so. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Well The only unlockable characters that get alot of play in our group are Akuma and Cammy I believe. Shouldn't take long to unlock those two.

We have people who play sakura, Fei long, etc. too but I'm not sure if they are coming so It might not be a big deal if we have a ps3 which dpesn't have all the cast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

You have to unlock everyone before unlocking Akuma >< minus Goken and Seth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

I reckon it'll be alright. We'll have all the characters on the xboxs so we can leave the playstation as an "arcade" machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

anyone have a copy of CVS2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

i do but wont be there =[

anyone have a copy of CVS2?

Only the EO xbox version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭FoamyMushroom

Anyone wana hop the bus with me!? :P

Had a look through the PS3's there lads - looks like there are no characters unlocked on any of them. Arcade machine it is I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Going to be skipping this one unfortunately.

enjoy lads.

Had a look through the PS3's there lads - looks like there are no characters unlocked on any of them. Arcade machine it is I'm afraid.

Or you could unlock some characters for us. It really does not take long at all.

Easiest, one round, thirty second rounds. Jump HK -> Crouch HK pretty much will give you perfects every match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

Or you could unlock some characters for us. It really does not take long at all.

Easiest, one round, thirty second rounds. Jump HK -> Crouch HK pretty much will give you perfects every match!

Can't really expect him to bother doing that for us, i know i wouldn't bother! By the way, if i'm going I'll bring a memory unit for xbox360

All I will say is that Seth is a a ****&* !!!!er :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Jim wrote: »
    Going to be skipping this one unfortunately.

enjoy lads.

boourns jim boourns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

All I will say is that Seth is a a ****&* !!!!er :mad:

Fair played to you man. Thats dedication! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭FoamyMushroom

Whats the startin time for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Ken B

I've got CVS2 for Dreamcast(Japanese import edition:cool:) and PS2(Spanish edition, I bought it in Gran Canaria!!). Are these any good to anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

If people can bring old xbox pads i'll bring my xbox 1 with me, it has cvs2 aswell as all the fighting games you could ever imagine on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Kirby wrote: »
    Fair played to you man. Thats dedication! :)

Had a spare hour earlier so I thought sod it let's give it a go. Never played SFIV before ( much to my shame of course ) Started off with C.Viper and unlocked Cammy no hassle at all. Fairly sure I beat Seth in final round but maybe not. :confused:

Then started with Abel and everything goes well until the end. WTF though on "easiest" level that Seth guy beat me up down left and right every time. About 12 attempts later and I'm fit to ban SFIV from the centre and tell yous not to bother coming :D

Whats the startin time for this?

AFAIK 2.00pm

Had a spare hour earlier so I thought sod it let's give it a go. Never played SFIV before ( much to my shame of course ) Started off with C.Viper and unlocked Cammy no hassle at all. Fairly sure I beat Seth in final round but maybe not. :confused:

Then started with Abel and everything goes well until the end. WTF though on "easiest" level that Seth guy beat me up down left and right every time. About 12 attempts later and I'm fit to ban SFIV from the centre and tell yous not to bother coming :D

DO IT!!! DO IT!!!

Yeah, Seth'll do that to ya...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

I've got something on 'til 3ish, so will probably drive down.

Is there parking closeish Pat?

Yeah there's plenty of on street parking right outside and there's a car park across the road. There's no disc parking or anything like it in operation so you should be grand.

So will i bring my xbox for cvs2 yay or neigh?

Xinkai wrote: »
    So will i bring my xbox for cvs2 yay or neigh?

It works on 360's doesn't it?

No CVS2 was never made backwards compatible :(

Sorry guys - just to confirm and make sure consoles are held / available for your starting time. :)

Originally it was 3 consoles from 2.00pm - Are you looking at taking the 4th ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Sagat06

Is there confirmed numbers for this yet?

I'm going to be there anyway.

I'll be getting there about 2 I'll be driving through Tallaght about 1ish if anyone needs a lift.

I could use a lift from Tallaght if there's one on offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Red350

Looks like I'm not going to be able to make this after all.
    Sorry to anyone who was looking forward to trying out TvC :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Anyone going to be driving by Artane or the city centre? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Who's grabbing the bus from town?

Dreddybajs wrote: »
    Who's grabbing the bus from town?
    looks like I might be.

Meet you/others in town at 1pm?

Sure. Where's the bus from? Just back and brain is not working right.

Sure chopper what part of Tallaght you in?

Hawkins St (Just outside the Screen Cinema, near Pearse St./D'Olier st.).

Gotcha.

Meet you outside the screen then?

Works for me, see you there at 1!

Sagat06 wrote: »
    Sure chopper what part of Tallaght you in?

Kilnamanagh, but if somehwere like the Square is handier for you I'll meet you there.

No worries I'll pick you up at the Dunnes in kilnamanagh about 1 then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

The screen at one sounds good to me.

Sagat06 wrote: »
    No worries I'll pick you up at the Dunnes in kilnamanagh about 1 then

Cheers!

I'm gonna take it that i should bring my Xbox 1 for CVS2 & Other fighting games.

Favour though, can anybody bring Xbox1 pasa & the connector wires? Scartcable, power source wire etc. Just looking back behind my cabinet, it's way too busy back there for me to get at the wires :(

Red350 wrote: »
    Looks like I'm not going to be able to make this after all.
    Sorry to anyone who was looking forward to trying out TvC :(

Don't worry about it - we have one there. ;)

Xinkai wrote: »
    I'm gonna take it that i should bring my Xbox 1 for CVS2 & Other fighting games.

Favour though, can anybody bring Xbox1 pasa & the connector wires? Scartcable, power source wire etc. Just looking back behind my cabinet, it's way too busy back there for me to get at the wires :(

Is anyone actually going to play these games? I like CvS2 a lot, but I only plan on playing SF IV as I have an international comp to win!

An old xbox is a heavy enough piece of kit to be lugging around if it'll only get a few minutes use.

Ditto. I'm going to want to up my SF4 game, not dick around with CvS et al.

Fair enough, nice to geta response, won't bring it along so.