Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commerce any1?? UCD vs. Galway??

• 13-02-2010 12:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭

Hey really stuck between deciding wheher to do commerce in UCD or NUIG!!! Seriously like I always wanted to go 2 go 2 ucd but then wen i went 2 the open day it just seemed so big and lots of D4s!!! Galway just seemed more homely or something....not really sure??? But then is commerce in galway as good as commerce in ucd??Tanx!:confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Sophia91 wrote: »
    Hey really stuck between deciding wheher to do commerce in UCD or NUIG!!! Seriously like I always wanted to go 2 go 2 ucd but then wen i went 2 the open day it just seemed so big and lots of D4s!!! Galway just seemed more homely or something....not really sure??? But then is commerce in galway as good as commerce in ucd??Tanx!:confused::confused:

Purely in terms of international recognition, The Quinn School of business will have a much better standing than NUIG's.

D4s are a problem everywhere in EVERY course (Other than ag......), you will get annoying D4 heads in Galway (Well, G4s.......>_<)

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Fad wrote: »
    Purely in terms of international recognition, The Quinn School of business will have a much better standing than NUIG's.

D4s are a problem everywhere in EVERY course (Other than ag......), you will get annoying D4 heads in Galway (Well, G4s.......>_<)

Think either degree isnt worth much to you these days with more than 300 every year doing a B.Comm so it doesnt matter about the international recognition of the B.Comm in eithr colelge. I think if your doing a B.Comm you should do a masters after as the B.Comm isnt really worth much anymore on its own... Well for top end jobs anyway

(I'm a B.Comm student in Galway BTW)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭MaighEoAbu

I know tons of people who went to do Commerce in Galway, and would highly recommend it. I want to go to UCD but only because I want to do Veterinary. In fact, the only thing I'm worried about is going to Dublin, I just don't like the place. Maybe it's because I was northside, but in general, Galway is homely, friendly and a lot nicer! Where are you from anyway? That would give a good indication. If you're from the country, Galway will be like home from home. If you're from Dublin, Dublin might be best to stay there.

PM if you want more info about the place. Commerce is very popular in Galway and I'd know where I'd choose first.

OP posted this nearly 2 months ago.......

And hasnt posted since, I doubt they're coming back.

Galway's nice, but I know a good few people who have moved there and hated it.

Clemon, my point was that if it came to it, a commerce degree (Regardless of how useless it is) might be viewed slightly better internationally than a Galway on for no reason other than the fact it's from the Quinn school.

With all that said, I've been hearing a lot of bad things about commerce in UCD, especially people who all the way through school wanted to do commerce in UCD. Several people from my old school year have dropped out so far.

Meh

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Sophia91

Im from Sligo.......Like Im def plannin on doing a masters after it so once you do your masters does it matter what college you went to or is it just the degree people look for.....would I be at an advantage if I want to work abroad after my masters if I go to UCD or is it just the degree that matters in the end?? And cause the points are much lower in Galway does that mean its not as good?? Im not tryna put down Galway or netin btw cause I tink I wanna go there but Im still not 100% sure yet:confused::confused::confused:
    Tanx for all da replies btw there really helpful:):)

Clemon wrote: »
    Think either degree isnt worth much to you these days with more than 300 every year doing a B.Comm so it doesnt matter about the international recognition of the B.Comm in eithr colelge. I think if your doing a B.Comm you should do a masters after as the B.Comm isnt really worth much anymore on its own... Well for top end jobs anyway

(I'm a B.Comm student in Galway BTW)

So are you sayin that you're better off not doing a commerce degree in the 1st place or just that you need to do a masters to get a good job??? Like can yo get really good jobs once you have the masters or what??
    Tanx:):)

You came back :eek:

Points have absolutely nothing to do with the quality of the course, they are entirely based on demand. UCD will obviously have a higher demand because it is in the capital of the country, so there'll be a huge proportion of people who cant move (through financial reasons or simply not wanting to move out) who will apply for it. Galway will probably always have lower points because of simply the fact that it is in Galway.

Points should have little or no bearing on you choice of course (Other than considering whether you can achieve them)

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭DáireM

Don't do Commerce purely because you think you'll get a good job at the end. Commerce grads don't walk into the boardroom, seal big deals on the golf course and sail off into the sunset at 40 with a big paypacket and a trophy wife. They become accountants and work in HR. A postgrad won't change this a whole bunch, either.

If you're an entreprenurial person it'll give you the practical skillset to do your thing but business is much more about personality and confidence than getting an A in your Gender Equality in the Workplace module.

No offense but it sounds like you haven't really considered your options or thought through what Commerce and your future career will actually be like. Think about the course before you do it, don't just do it because you'll get some generic job at the end and coast along for the rest of your life. Do a degree in something that genuinely interests you.

(UCD Commerce student here).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 John.ITB

Hey,

In a totally unrelated topic (sorry to the original poster) im studying Business and for a third year project i have to create a business plan for a fictional company of my choice. I choose a national student magazine and at the moment im doing some research into my competitors but im finding it very difficult to identify the various colleges exsisting magazine's/Newspapers.This post seemed like in would attract students so if anybody knows of any i would greatly appriciate if you could spread the knowledge. Thank you

DáireM wrote: »
    Don't do Commerce purely because you think you'll get a good job at the end. Commerce grads don't walk into the boardroom, seal big deals on the golf course and sail off into the sunset at 40 with a big paypacket and a trophy wife. They become accountants and work in HR. A postgrad won't change this a whole bunch, either.

If you're an entreprenurial person it'll give you the practical skillset to do your thing but business is much more about personality and confidence than getting an A in your Gender Equality in the Workplace module.

No offense but it sounds like you haven't really considered your options or thought through what Commerce and your future career will actually be like. Think about the course before you do it, don't just do it because you'll get some generic job at the end and coast along for the rest of your life. Do a degree in something that genuinely interests you.

(UCD Commerce student here).

Tanx for the reply!! I may have come across like I only want to do da course for a good job......but accounting is actually my fave subject in school and I've always liked business so I def have thought about it and only wanna do business in college..
    I was just wondering if Galway or UCD is better in terms of getting a job after college...Like does it matter where you do the original degree or is it just the post grad/masters (dont no wat the diff is!!) that will get you the best job???

Tanx for the reply!! I may have come across like I only want to do da course for a good job......but accounting is actually my fave subject in school and I've always liked business so I def have thought about it and only wanna do business in college..
    I was just wondering if Galway or UCD is better in terms of getting a job after college...Like does it matter where you do the original degree or is it just the post grad/masters (dont no wat the diff is!!) that will get you the best job???

I'd say both will be on a fairly even footing, the courses are pretty much the same. Commerce is commerce.

Post grad = Post graduate, ie after you graduate.

There are a few types you can do, a post graduate diploma, a masters, a PhD.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭DáireM

Job-wise I don't think it'll make too much of a difference whether you do the degree in Galway or UCD, I've only glanced at the NUIG prospectus online and it looks like UCD might offer a bit more specialisation in the final year but the difference between the two degrees looks pretty marginal to me. I doubt Irish employers are gonna make too much of an issue over whether you got your business degree from UCD, TCD, NUIG, DIT etc. because, as I said before, business is much more about experience, attitude and personality. UCD might give you an advantage as far as getting into some masters programmes is concerned but unless you're looking to go to LSE, Harvard or the likes it shouldn't matter.

Go where you think you'll be happier socially. I definitely wouldn't worry about the "D4s" in Commerce. Most people aren't walking stereotypes and the majority of Commerce students are sound, easy-going people. Commerce students are a pretty diverse lot and you shouldn't have any issues finding people you get along with in the course. Whatever you do, don't choose a university because a load of your friends are going there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 lklklk89

do economics and finance, its like commerce on steroids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Gaillimh10

DáireM wrote: »
    I've only glanced at the NUIG prospectus online and it looks like UCD might offer a bit more specialisation in the final year but the difference between the two degrees looks pretty marginal to me.

One of the advantages of the B Comm in Galway is that it actually gives a wide variety of choice in final year. It is the largest business course in the country so it can give a wider range of electives when it comes to final year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

Just do what you want!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 downey501

DONT GO TO UCD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! worst mistake of my life.....i was doing B.comm there but transfred to galway its way better!!!!! i wasted the whole of first year in UCD....theres no comparasion choose galway or ull end up wanting to transfer and wasting the whole of first year in UCD

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

downey501 wrote: »
    DONT GO TO UCD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! worst mistake of my life.....i was doing B.comm there but transfred to galway its way better!!!!! i wasted the whole of first year in UCD....theres no comparasion choose galway or ull end up wanting to transfer and wasting the whole of first year in UCD

You may want to give some reasons to justify your response.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

So because you didnt like it, it means everyone else wont like it.

Im in commerce in UCD, went in expecting to hate it, and ended up loving it. And regardless of if you end up doing a masters or not, UCD is still better recognised, even within Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 10 unreg55555

Did Commerce in Galway - did postgrad in UCD. Also from Sligo as well!

In terms of quality of course I don't think there's much difference - I would have thought UCD have a wider variety of subjects on offer than NUIG (contrary to someone else's post). I majored in Economics in Commerce and found it really interesting. One thing I noticed was that from doing economics in commerce(NUIG), then going into a postgrad is that maybe NUIG didn't offer the best grounding in maths that was necessary for postgrad in economics. This is probably irrelevant to you as your interested in accountancy!

Also I think Commerce in UCD may be better in the finance area - I think they have more finance related subjects in final year. I know a group of NUIG commerce lads that applied to the finance masters in Smurfit and were told to feck off because they didn't have the necessary grounding - where as I know of people who did commerce in UCD and got into the same finance course.

Of course if your interested in accountancy, then commerce in UCD and NUIG are on level pegging. I know people from both that have got into the big 4 and done the M.Acc in smurfit so if your picking the accountancy stream you don't have to worry about quality of course - both offer the same exemptions for the professional exams and I know plenty of graduates from both that got into the best companies/post grad courses.

In terms of marketing/HR the quality is also much the same and have seen both UCD and NUIGIANS get into the best postgrad courses in this area.

Overall, in terms of quality of course the only thing I can see is that commerce in UCD would be better if you may have an inkling for a specialisaton in finance. All the other streams seem the same!

Now most importantly is which college would be better suited to you? - going straight to Dublin is a big step. Personally, I found coming from a town like Sligo that going to Galway was the best move for me. It's like a really big town, great people, great nightlife - it exposes you to a whole new scene but your not far away from home and you'll see some familiar Sligo faces floating around while also making loads of new friends. I did my few years in Galway, loved it and then felt ready to go to Dublin. Absolutely loved UCD as well - miss Galway all the same but have met great people here and I've grown to really like Dublin. I wouldn't worry about the D4 thing either - some of them are knobs, alot of them are bang on and very friendly (maybe they get friendlier as they get older), theres also alot of non D4 peeps around from everywhere who are also lovely.

One last thing that you should check (something I'm not sure about) is class sizes for both. I have a feeling UCD Commerce class sizes may be smaller and hence theres more of a class spirit where as commerce is Galway is mostly one huge class (until you get to specialisations in third year) and class spirit probably doesn't really develop properly until final year.

Anyways hope my take on things helps you. I'd recommend Galway particularly if your sure you want to do accountancy, however bear in mind what I said about finance. Don't rule out UCD either - find out about class size and also think about whether the finance area may appeal to you.

Best of luck in whatever you choose!

Small classes in UCD - 50 people in each batch and then one or 2 big lectures with the whole year.

Much better for asking questions too, which is extremely important

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

Clemon wrote: »
    Think either degree isnt worth much to you these days with more than 300 every year doing a B.Comm so it doesnt matter about the international recognition of the B.Comm in eithr colelge.

Financial services is comparatively pretty good in Ireland for jobs, compared to other industries :confused:

dyl10 wrote: »
    Financial services is comparatively pretty good in Ireland for jobs, compared to other industries :confused:

The arse has completely fallen out of financial services in Ireland. Even the head of finance dept when coming into us to help us decide on what to specialise in said most of the jobs we'd be looking at would be abroad

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

The arse has completely fallen out of financial services in Ireland. Even the head of finance dept when coming into us to help us decide on what to specialise in said most of the jobs we'd be looking at would be abroad

Seems to be plenty of accountancy internships about. That's the only sector I've looked at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

downey501 wrote: »

This is his only post...My troll senses are tingling..

dyl10 wrote: »
    Seems to be plenty of accountancy internships about. That's the only sector I've looked at.

Where did you hear that? Theyve all taken on way less year. Theyve advertised loads yeah, but in terms of people actually getting them, I only know of 1 who has amazing grades and does an excellent interview, and he only got it because an extra position opened up

unreg55555 wrote: »
    Did Commerce in Galway - did postgrad in UCD. Also from Sligo as well!

In terms of quality of course I don't think there's much difference - I would have thought UCD have a wider variety of subjects on offer than NUIG (contrary to someone else's post). I majored in Economics in Commerce and found it really interesting. One thing I noticed was that from doing economics in commerce(NUIG), then going into a postgrad is that maybe NUIG didn't offer the best grounding in maths that was necessary for postgrad in economics. This is probably irrelevant to you as your interested in accountancy!

Also I think Commerce in UCD may be better in the finance area - I think they have more finance related subjects in final year. I know a group of NUIG commerce lads that applied to the finance masters in Smurfit and were told to feck off because they didn't have the necessary grounding - where as I know of people who did commerce in UCD and got into the same finance course.

Of course if your interested in accountancy, then commerce in UCD and NUIG are on level pegging. I know people from both that have got into the big 4 and done the M.Acc in smurfit so if your picking the accountancy stream you don't have to worry about quality of course - both offer the same exemptions for the professional exams and I know plenty of graduates from both that got into the best companies/post grad courses.

In terms of marketing/HR the quality is also much the same and have seen both UCD and NUIGIANS get into the best postgrad courses in this area.

Overall, in terms of quality of course the only thing I can see is that commerce in UCD would be better if you may have an inkling for a specialisaton in finance. All the other streams seem the same!

Now most importantly is which college would be better suited to you? - going straight to Dublin is a big step. Personally, I found coming from a town like Sligo that going to Galway was the best move for me. It's like a really big town, great people, great nightlife - it exposes you to a whole new scene but your not far away from home and you'll see some familiar Sligo faces floating around while also making loads of new friends. I did my few years in Galway, loved it and then felt ready to go to Dublin. Absolutely loved UCD as well - miss Galway all the same but have met great people here and I've grown to really like Dublin. I wouldn't worry about the D4 thing either - some of them are knobs, alot of them are bang on and very friendly (maybe they get friendlier as they get older), theres also alot of non D4 peeps around from everywhere who are also lovely.

One last thing that you should check (something I'm not sure about) is class sizes for both. I have a feeling UCD Commerce class sizes may be smaller and hence theres more of a class spirit where as commerce is Galway is mostly one huge class (until you get to specialisations in third year) and class spirit probably doesn't really develop properly until final year.

Anyways hope my take on things helps you. I'd recommend Galway particularly if your sure you want to do accountancy, however bear in mind what I said about finance. Don't rule out UCD either - find out about class size and also think about whether the finance area may appeal to you.

Best of luck in whatever you choose!

Thank you so much for all he info.....it really helps knowing these things from actual students not lecturers tryna peomote their college!! Thanks;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

UCD has smaller classes and more "status". Socially, decide what would suit you better. I'd want to be in the bigger city, and UCD is Ireland's biggest university and has the most active club and society scene.

The commerce course did have a good few elitest people when I went there. Big woop, UCD is a big place and I had a ball

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

So are you sayin that you're better off not doing a commerce degree in the 1st place or just that you need to do a masters to get a good job??? Like can yo get really good jobs once you have the masters or what??
    Tanx:):)
    The only masters I can think of would be in HR or marketing because of the fierce competition for those jobs. But you would want to have a Bcomm as well.

An MBA for example, which many arts students go for, is worthless until after you've had business experience.

Careers in finance and accounting would be better improved by getting professional qualifications like the CFAs or AC(C)As that by getting a masters

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭rantyface

I had no problem in UCD, I really liked in and I'm going back for post grad. Don't worry about most people being D4s on your course, there are thousands of other people in other courses. Anyway, I'm sure most D4 heads are nice too. That said, Galway is a nicer place because it's in the city whereas UCD is in the suburbs.

If you're concerned about international standing, why not google the Irish times articles about graduate standards? There was a lot of talk about it this year. The article in the Times about the delining standard of Irish graduates said "
    A senior executive at Google, John Herlihy, has said that while the company recruits in all seven Irish universities, it recruits principally from three – UCD, Trinity and UCC."

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭LetsThinkBIG

Im facing this exact same dilemna.
    My dads family are form dublin but we live in donegal.. Ucd for B.Comm and French was my number one choice but after the cao/lc attacked me I've got Galway for B.Comm.

Look around, the business world out there is cannabilistic at the moment.

Is three years of great craic in Galway compensated by a degree whihc in some peoples eyes is lesser than a degree from ucd/tcd ?

In business/Finance/Accountancy terms Dublin is where its happening .. If you were a HR guy with your pick of graduates.. Would you be picking UCD/TCD or NUIG ??

The course might be a piss up yeah .. But ****s sake i want a future.. :(

If i repeated the leaving cert im pretty sure i could get the points for B.Comm in Ucd with the language as i wanted ..

To me.. An emotianal shooken an dirate pre-Leaving cert guy .. It looks like that Nuig is all grand and good but the next step up is a masters in ucd/tcd.. Whereas the net step up for a ucd/tcd graduate is some business school abroad .......

Am i putting ucd on a pedestal ?? I dunno guys.

Appreciate responses and conversation :)