Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heavy Snow at times next week especially after midweek

• Registered Users Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Sweet mother of the lord lanterin jaysus !!!

prectypeuktopo.png

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

tinners wrote: »
    Sweet mother of the lord lanterin jaysus !!!

prectypeuktopo.png

very reliable those gfs precipitation charts!

lol I know, it just looked so lovely !!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

true enough, but at least it's for today not two days away. still it's likely to be wrong as you say.

:mad::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Bucketing down snow here at the moment, had a good 5cm covering this morning as well!

A bit sleety at the moment but still plenty of big flakes and the fact we're getting this at 2pm is a good sign for proper snow again later on

Harps wrote: »
    Bucketing down snow here at the moment, had a good 5cm covering this morning as well!

A bit sleety at the moment but still plenty of big flakes and the fact we're getting this at 2pm is a good sign for proper snow again later on

harps we're(well i am anyway) getting kind of tired of the snow in donegal!

just noticed met eireann have yet to update their forecast in its website apart from the warning. must be on a go slow or having difficulty with teh charts as well.

lunchtime weather on tv after news looked good for munster/leinster tomorrow evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭WolfeIRE

Heavy showers heading towards WEST and SOUTHWEST

http://www.sat24.com/gb

blooming shannon radar down again:(

19 February 2010 11:35

Today

Cold this afternoon with sunny spells. Some wintry showers too though, mainly affecting parts of Ulster, Connacht and west Munster, with snow mainly falling over higher ground here. Highest temperatures just 3 to 6 degrees, in a light northwesterly breeze.
    Tonight

Turning very cold again tonight with a widespread sharp to severe frost, as well as some mist and fog in places. Most areas dry and clear, but some wintry showers will affect Munster and south Connacht. Lowest temperatures 0 to minus 5 degrees, with little or no wind.

Tomorrow

Starting off mainly dry and clear tomorrow, Saturday, with frost and fog clearing. However a persistent band of rain and sleet will spread from the west during the afternoon and evening, falling as snow in places - giving some accumulations. Another very cold day, with highest temperature 3 to 6 degrees.

Outlook

The current cold spell will continue through Saturday night, Sunday and much of next week. Daytime temperatures will range from about 3 to 7 degrees. There'll be sharp or severe frosts at night with temperatures falling as low as -6 degrees in places. Saturday night will be dry in many areas with clear spells. However there's a risk of sleet and snow in Munster and south Leinster and also near Connacht and Ulster coasts. SUNDAY and MONDAY will each have a good deal of dry weather with sunny spells and light northerly breezes. There'll be some scattered wintry showers of rain, hail, sleet or snow, mainly in coastal counties of the north and west. TUESDAY will start off dry. But outbreaks of rain and sleet along with fresh easterly winds, will develop in the south and gradually spread northwards through the evening and night, possibly falling as snow in places. The rain, sleet and any snow will gradually clear eastwards on WEDNESDAY with brighter weather following.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Trogdor

Dunno what to make of that GFS precip forecast!
    Hirlam has a trough stradling the country:
    hirlam12.gif

trogdor wrote: »
    Hirlam:

here is the hirlam in motion
    http://www.dmi.dk/dmi/index/danmark/vejrkort.htm
    click on nedbor

doesn't exactly look like a major event tomorrow. Very often though the Hirlam is only reliable 6-12 hrs out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭darkmaster2

Really heavy snow shower here now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

Any chance of Dublin getting a blast of this snow event ?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

seems it could be a nationwide event. BBCs lunchtime forecast have stepped up their forecast for saturday night

Really heavy snow shower here now.

are you far roughly outside mallow? nothing closer to the town yet.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

105645.png

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Vudgie

Relatively clear skies in Dublin's City Centre, pretty mild this afternoon.

I really think that if we see don't see snow in the next few days this winter is a done deal.

I unfortunately have to go out this evening so if Snowmaggedon could wait 24 hours that would be great for me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭jambofc

rain shower :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Light sleet on northside of Cork city at the mo. It after getting fierce dark. Shower could last awhile.

Lads,

Where is my snow ?

that met eireann radar being down again is a right pain...can't even see if there is showery activity approaching. in fairness it always seems to go on the blink at the wrong time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,682 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Saganist wrote: »
    Lads,

Where is my snow ?

When did you last have it :p

Start of Jan.. Was all over the place, now I can't find any ! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

jambofc wrote: »
    rain shower :(

desperate times call for desperate measures. with this in mind perhaps it's time you have a look over redsunset's snow dance guide and try it:D

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭Defcol

desperate times call for desperate measures. with this in mind perhaps it's time you have a look over redsunset's snow dance guide and try it:D

Where this guide you speak of? Jambo, meet you at the top of Tara later and we give this a go?:P

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭gugsy

Clear dry and sunny at the moment showery clouds approaching the city from the north west 5.5 degrees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Not

trogdor wrote: »
    Hirlam has a trough stradling the country:
    hirlam12.gif

Could that trough explain the graupel and hail showers that have kicked off in Meath in the last hour or so, combined with a noticable temp drop ?

The showers are getting heavier as time goes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

harps we're(well i am anyway) getting kind of tired of the snow in donegal!

just noticed met eireann have yet to update their forecast in its website apart from the warning. must be on a go slow or having difficulty with teh charts as well.

lunchtime weather on tv after news looked good for munster/leinster tomorrow evening.

Still hasnt stopped since my last post at 1:45! 2 hours of very heavy snow now, not a lot of it sticking on the clear ground but where ever there was snow left over from this morning its getting very thick now. Cant imagine how deep it'll be tomorrow if we get this sort of stuff tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭joe199

Hi all first time poster here but long time lurker, really enjoyed the board during the big freeze and havent giving up hope of snow just yet althought its a grand and bright day in north dublin at the moment.............:mad:

LATEST GFS RUN FOR TOMORROW NIGHT
    uksnowdepth.png

h850t850eu.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

Hail shower here at the moment. Not especially heavy but it's cool watching the little ice pellets bouncing all over the place :D