Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attacked on Doorstep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I love the keyboard ninja comments.

OP, sorry to hear about your misfortune; if it was as random and unprovoked as it sounds, I very much doubt they'll try it again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Firstly, I'm sorry to hear of your incident.
    I agree with other here who have said for good reason (although I can see both sides) that the gardi in some fashion should be informed.

If that scumbag could do that level of thuggery to a child with witnesses around, what else is he capable of doing when there is none and he's left alone at any stage with a child and he loses his temper.
    As a dad of four young kids, that thought just terrifies me.

Whatever ye decide to do, you have the sympathy of all good folk here I have no doubt.
    All the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Despite the strong arguments put forward to ring the Gardaí, it's ultimately down to my parents and they've made up their minds.

I just hope that what happened tonight was an isolated occurrence.

When something like that happens literally so close to home, it makes you completely rethink your own concept of safety.

No matter I know I won't too keen walking around alone at night for sometime.

Thank you to those who read my post and for all the advice, well wishings and support.

I guess posting here was an attempt to rationalise the situation.
    And, I'll admit, it has helped calm me down somewhat.

You'll be edgy for a while after this- quite natural, but dont let it affect you, it was a pretty random incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

jd007 wrote: »
    God only knows what kind of alcohol it was so. If he was that out of his mind with alcohol I doubt he'd be able to stand up straight (speaking from personal experience;) ). There are a lot more common drugs out there that are worse than alcohol.

That make you violent??

PCP can, extremely rare outside inner city dublin, dublin meath border I'd bet my life no.
    If he was on ecstacy, he'd probably want to shake hand with everyone for being sound.
    Perhaps he had some coke, but I don't doubt that he had more drink than would be polite to drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Dubs

Honestly, calling the gardai wont do anything. Theyre not going to find who it was and it will cause more hassle for yous.

It happens more often than you think, you just arent used to it living in one of the kinder parts of Dublin. The people who did it wont think back on it again so dont worry about them, and I doubt they were on drugs. They may have had a few cans but honestly the same thing probably would have happened if they were sober.

The thing you prob dont want to hear is that it was most likely your parents stepping in that caused it, though i doubt your sister would have known what to do. If they ask for smokes again just say "Nah, sorry, bud. Dont have any" and theyll move on. Just dont provoke them in any way by tell them to get lost / fcuk off. I know people will disagree with this as well but having always lived in these areas Iv found its the best way to go about it.

I wouldnt really think much off what happened. Obviously if this is the first time it has happened and your not used to it your bound to be a little shocked. What they were doing is basically a different culture that your not used to. Not saying what he did was right but its always been like that and its not going to change any time soon. Be thankful it didnt go further (though it rarely does) and his mates pulled him away.

The gals will love the black eye by the way :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Nothing to add other than support for the people who are saying you should call the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Dubs wrote: »
    The thing you prob dont want to hear is that it was most likely your parents stepping in that caused it, though i doubt your sister would have known what to do.

The sister was 13 for goodness sake!

Which is why the dad stepped in.

What would you have him do realistically?

I know what he did was probably the right thing, but its still what caused it. Honestly I think he should have let her answer first and only stepped in if he didnt listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Realistically he did what pretty much anyone would do. T'was also in all likelihood the wrong thing to do. With people like this, there's usually f all you can do to avoid a confrontation, but actively stepping in will guarentee one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 961 ✭✭✭TEMPLAR KNIGHT

you should have picked up the nearest object and bust his face in, i can assure you he wouldnt do it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Edit: We've decided not to ring the Gardaí because the sight of a patrol car, if the gang is still around, may only encourage them to pay us a second visit.
    Although I can understand your fearful mentality, tbh, you should've really called the Gardaí...immediately. If it happens again, or they do pay a second, sneaky visit (broken windows, eggs), call the Gardaí. Do not cower in fear and let them make your lives hell. Security is a basic human need.

As for the clowns saying "should've beat the **** outta him", although it's easy feeling angry having read that, but in the same situation, outnumbered by a gang, trying to protect your family? You'd probably have shat all over your pants. Also, there's no elaboration that the father is exactly Arnold Schwarzenneger (sp) or the irate scumbag is either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

you should have picked up the nearest object and bust his face in, i can assure you he wouldnt do it again

And found out he was stronger, had him take it from you and knock the shít out of you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

And neither would you:rolleyes:

Dubs wrote: »
    I know what he did was probably the right thing, but its still what caused it. Honestly I think he should have let her answer first and only stepped in if he didnt listen.
    Realistically he did what pretty much anyone would do. T'was also in all likelihood the wrong thing to do. With people like this, there's usually f all you can do to avoid a confrontation, but actively stepping in will guarentee one.

So are you both saying that he should have stood to one side while this thug was asking his 13 year old daughter for a smoke and then hitting her friend?

And found out he was stronger, had him take it from you and knock the shít out of you?

he was knocking the ****e out of them anyway until they ran inside so whats to lose? are the days gone when you cant defend yourself? you cant let scumbags like this get away with stuff like that. having said that i do know where he is coming from but i would have at least defended myself

he was knocking the ****e out of them anyway until they ran inside so whats to lose?

Their life? Teeth? One of his gang could of had a knife and pulled it to avenge their buddy who just got his face broken, what are ya gonna do? Smash all (possibly) 10 of their faces in? There were children in the equation and they did what was best, get them inside away from trouble not have a fecking war on the drive in front of them.

No, read the Charter regarding Advocating violence.
    he was knocking the ****e out of them anyway until they ran inside so whats to lose? are the days gone when you cant defend yourself? you cant let scumbags like this get away with stuff like that. having said that i do know where he is coming from but i would have at least defended myself

He wasn't knocking the shit out of them.

Please read the whole thread before posting.

So are you both saying that he should have stood to one side while this thug was asking his 13 year old daughter for a smoke and then hitting her friend?

No, I'm not saying that at all. It was his stepping in that seems to have caused the chap hitting her friend. Obviously if he starts hitting them the dad should step in but i doubt he would have if the dad didnt.

And personally I dont think theres anything wrong with someone asking someone else if they have a smoke. Where they live the 13 year olds probably smoke too so it was nothing out of the ordinary for them. People just think the worst when they see this happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

It's stories like this that make me wonder why i don't own a firearm.

Blay wrote: »
    Their life? Teeth? One of his gang could of had a knife and pulled it to avenge their buddy who just got his face broken, what are ya gonna do? Smash all (possibly) 10 of their faces in? There were children in the equation and they did what was best, get them inside away from trouble not have a fecking war on the drive in front of them.

i forgot completely about the kids he did the right thing consider my previous statement revoked, got a bit of a rush of blood from reading this i hate scumbags and i hate to see them get away with stuff like this it sickens me tbh

Sickens everyone, except maybe other scum, they probably think its "rapih" to be beating up children and terrorising people.

He wasn't knocking the shit out of them.

Please read the whole thread before posting.

he hit the young girl numerous ammounts of times then hit the op and was lunging at his father ya he wasnt knocking the ****e out of them:rolleyes:

as for advocating violence my apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

I don't usually post on AH, but I'd like to see what Boardsies make of this one...

Allow me to say my area (I won't specify exactly where) has always been very quite and more or less 'trouble' free.

Basically the family and myself were getting of our car, returning home from a family occasion, about an hour ago.

However, as we were approaching our front door, I noticed a large group of 'rough looking' young guys approaching from around the corner. At first I thought nothing of it, apart from it being an unusual sight for around where I live.

I was standing at the doorway, happened to forgot my keys, while my parents were picking some things out of the boot. A little apprehensive, I watched as one guy emerges out from the gang, his face covered by a hood and a scarf. He asked my younger sister (13yrs), who was chatting with her friend at the end of the driveway, for a smoke. My parents quickly chimed in politely to say she didn't smoke.

Unfortunately, this guy was having none of it. Replying assertively to the tone of "I didn't ask you", he asks my sister and her friend again. Cue my Dad stepping in to say "Listen, she's my daughter. She's only 13. She doesn't smoke".

All of a sudden the guy decides to start punching my sister's 12 year old friend in the head. All of us in complete shock of the unexplainable escalation of the situation, my Dad approaches the guy to try and get him to stop (non violently). Next thing you know he starts swinging punches at my Dad, while shouting "I'll f**king kill everyone in this garden".

My Dad decides it's best to quickly get us all inside to avoid the situation getting any worse. But the guy follows my Dad to our doorway, where he proceeds to lunge in at all of us, hitting me in the face.

Thankfully, at this point one of his 'buddies' steps in and takes him away while we slip inside... to the sound of much abuse.

Suffice to say we are all shaken and a bit frightened.

None of us knew this guy, or any of his 'gang' for that matter. Furthermore, he wasn't egged on in any way.

We suspected, judging by his attitude and completely random act of violence, that he was on some kind of drug.

I suppose now we're glad that his gang didn't join in the violence or try to break down our door afterward. Of course, this sort of thing shouldn't happen - especially on the doorstep of your own home.

Unfortunately it did... and now tomorrow I'm going to have the shiner to show for it.

Has any boardie ever had a similar experience?
    Or is this kind of occurrence completely isolated?

Edit: We've decided not to ring the Gardaí because the sight of a patrol car, if the gang is still around, may only encourage them to pay us a second visit

lucky they didn't continue that Assault...

Poor people - never stand their and take it... Always hit back... you'd be surprised how weak the hardy'est lookin fella's are.*

*STRICTLY in self defense only, if your hit first then by all means, you've upto 3 hits back - make them count.

karlog wrote: »
    It's stories like this that make me wonder why i don't own a firearm.

Well it's just as well that you dont own a firearm or you would find yourself locked up pretty quick

Self defence is a good thing and protected but it needs to be proportionate.

If someone swings for you it doesn't give you the right to shoot them in the face.
    Thats not justice by any means, even Sharia law wouln't condone that...

he hit the young girl numerous ammounts of times then hit the op and was lunging at his father ya he wasnt knocking the ****e out of them:rolleyes:

as for advocating violence my apologies

My apologies then, I was focusing on the young child being hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Contradiction much? :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Nevore wrote: »
    Brilliant plan. Once you cower and tug the forelock every time you see them from now on, you should all be perfectly safe. :mad:

Seriously, call the guards.

Why? So the guards can come and say 'Don't do that again', thus making these scummers more ballsy?

I happen to agree with calling the Guards, but there are certainly things to consider when calling them. Its all well and good if you have a close knit neighbourhood who stand up for each other, but I don't see it much anymore. In such circumstance, its not a mockable offence to let the incident go as an isolated event. If they came back though, as in you become a target, then you've nothing to loose by calling the Guards. Personally, I wish neighbours stood up for their neighbourhoods. What is it they say, 'Evil prospers when good people do nothing?'. If these thugs knew that if they 'misbehaved' in the area that every adult within 5 blocks would be out to them, they'd be alot more reluctant be be the scum they are in the area.

I grew up in Ballyfermot, and I remember when I was a kid, a goup of dads blockading an area due to a known drug dealer moving into a house. They had a 24 hour watch going so that they couldn't move in. All kinds of threats were issued by the dealers 'associates', and the Garda came down to move the blockade etc. The community won in the end though, and the drug dealer probably set up somewhere he wasn't known, or where the community were not close enough to be rallied in such a manner.

The justice system is a lame duck when it comes to local crime (Anti-Social behaviour my @rse. Just a watery way of excusing criminal activity). When you witness 12 year old boys threatening to 'box the head off' local shopkeepers, and chuckin bricks etc on a regular basis. Also been brought back to their parents by Guards on a fairly regular basis, you realise that some forms of security must be taken on personally, and IMO, the best thing to do is try to have a close knit community.

Sorry to hear about this OP, its the kind of cr@p that boils my blood and invokes all kinds of violent thoughts, but I believe you did the right thing on this occasion. If they came back though, you would HAVE to take action, be it the Gardaí or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Edit: We've decided not to ring the Gardaí because the sight of a patrol car, if the gang is still around, may only encourage them to pay us a second visit

So you didn't call the Guards and the possibility exists that the thugs terrorized another family down the road and even committed more heinous crimes. If the Guards were called, then:
    1. The crime would have been reported.
    2. It could have stopped a potential crime spree by this gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

God only knows what kind of alcohol it was so. If he was that out of his mind with alcohol I doubt he'd be able to stand up straight (speaking from personal experience;) ). There are a lot more common drugs out there that are worse than alcohol.
    Cocaine mixed with alcohol... that's about it. 70-year-olds might say in relation to violent thugs "they were as high as kites" but they're not actually correct.

jumpguy wrote: »
    Contradiction much? :-/

If you take it in the context it was meant, I was saying he was right to get them all inside, didn't the OP say her Father acted non violently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Am I the only one amused/annoyed by the amount of people here who really wouldn't stand up and fight for fear of being hurt?

It's a sad state of fear ye're living in. Stand up for yerselves and this kind of **** would never happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Not if the person you're standing up to has a weapon. It's too much of a risk.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Dudess wrote: »
    Not if the person you're standing up to has a weapon. It's too much of a risk.
    And backed they're up with 10-15 lads and your children are present...

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

SV wrote: »
    Am I the only one amused/annoyed by the amount of people here who really wouldn't stand up and fight for fear of being hurt?

It's a sad state of fear ye're living in. Stand up for yerselves and this kind of **** would never happen.

This is very true

'The bully is always a coward' rings true

These little assholes only make shapes to look hard, square up and give them any bit of retaliation at all and they will back off for fear of being made look stupid (when you're like these lads, all you have is your image)

Remember we're only highly evolved animals, you're on your ground and you're gonna defend it, they'll back off like you were a jack russell chasing and alsatian down the street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

So I suppose you would have taken them all on by yourself then?

they'll back off like you were a jack russell chasing and alsatian down the street

Or....they could follow up on their hardman image and stab you on your drive in front of your children and your wife, then we'd be reading a thread on AH --"Father killed in front of wife and children" and someone would say "well I'm not suprised, he should have walked away":rolleyes:

Admittedly, some of them would probably run away but do you want to be the one to test them and possibly leave your children without a father?

So I suppose you would have taken them all on by yourself then?

I'm pretty confident of what i'm capable of. I'm also pretty confident of the fact that when the biggest and loudest goes down they tend to **** themselves.

Or....they could follow up on their hardman image and stab you on your drive in front of your children and your wife, then we'd be reading a thread on AH --"Father killed in front of wife and children" and someone would say "well I'm not suprised, he should have walked away":rolleyes:

Every situtation is different, if there was toddlers or babies involved then yes, lock up and go to bed

But if its fit young adults and someone is trying to act hard, tell him in no uncertain terms that you're not gonna be intimidated by a little pr1ck like him and bruise the little **** ego

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I'm pretty confident of what i'm capable of. I'm also pretty confident of the fact that when the biggest and loudest goes down they tend to **** themselves.

You'd take that risk? Your confident that you'd be able to take on 3/4 lads possibly armed? If you are then fair play.

But if its fit young adults and someone is trying to act hard, tell him in no uncertain terms that you're not gonna be intimidated by a little pr1ck like him and bruise the little **** ego

Indeed every situation is different, but someone on here saying "I'd bust their face in" isn't taking into account the variables (children, numbers, weapons, drugs taken etc) and acting the hardman behind a keyboard isn't the same as having a shock attack and being unprepared like the OP and having to go to work with a gang of scum on your driveway.

This isnt directed at you but just generally against the "I'd batter their face there and then even if they were armed crew"

This is very true

'The bully is always a coward' rings true

These little assholes only make shapes to look hard, square up and give them any bit of retaliation at all and they will back off for fear of being made look stupid (when you're like these lads, all you have is your image)

Remember we're only highly evolved animals, you're on your ground and you're gonna defend it, they'll back off like you were a jack russell chasing and alsatian down the street

We really need to come down to reality here. My dad used to say 'Hard men are not who you need to be wary of. Cowards are the dangerous ones.'

Its sounds great saying 'Stand up for yourselves' etc. However, tell that to the family of the Finglas man who stood up to a 16 year old who was hassling him at his house and ended up with a BULLET in his chest. I once had my wheelie bin stolen. I ran into the Park with a hammer in my hand. Was I wise to 'stand up for myself?' Was I f**k! I could have ended up in a heap, for the sake of my wheelie bin and my pride. I certainly agree we don't role over, but getting all bravado is simply unwise in alot of scenario's. Alot of these cowards don't know when to stop. I've seen gangs of teenagers beat the cr@p out of people. An old school friend of mine was locked up for beating someone to DEATH with 4 other friends. The OP has a shiner and a bit of hurt pride (maybe), it could have been much, much worse. Its certainly not cowardly, or indeed fearful to consider a situation wisely and not act impulsively if it can be helped.

You'd take that risk? Your confident that you'd be able to take on 3/4 lads possibly armed? If you are then fair play.

Do you want to live in a society where everyone cowers inside there house afraid of the possible misfortunes that happens outside?

Wrap up in cotton wool and you breed a society of weaklings (and I'm no internet hero, and I'm not hard, I'm the skinniest fella anyone has ever met)

Put your chest out and remember what is yours is yours, you've earned it and stand up for it!

Not armed no. All it takes is a stray knife to an artery and it's goodnight.
    But i'm confident enough to take on 3 or 4 lads on my own but it's only worth it if the situation merits it and the situation in the OP does I think.
    The only way to deal with them being armed with anything is to do enough to the loudest that they won't even want to try anything.. But there's never a real guarantee is there eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Do you want to live in a society where everyone cowers inside there house afraid of the possible misfortunes that happens outside?

Wrap up in cotton wool and you breed a society of weaklings (and I'm no internet hero, and I'm not hard, I'm the skinniest fella anyone has ever met)

Put your chest out and remember what is yours is yours, you've earned it and stand up for it!

And always be sure to avoid intimidating looking groups of teenagers that look strung out on drugs.

JimiTime wrote: »
    An old school friend of mine was locked up for beating someone to DEATH with 4 other friends.

That really was a personal attack.

/sorry...

Indeed every situation is different, but someone on here saying "I'd bust their face in" isn't taking into account the variables (children, numbers, weapons, drugs taken etc) and acting the hardman behind a keyboard isn't the same as having a shock attack and being unprepared like the OP and having to go to work with a gang of scum on your driveway.

This isnt directed at you but just generally against the "I'd batter their face there and then even if they were armed crew"

Definitely not condoning 'I'd bust their face in', just saying that most of the time if you stand up for yourself they will back off

No doubt there are the few occasions where they wont but I, personally, don't want to be afraid of scum

I've lived in cities, live in the sticks now, and my experiences ranged from defending myself on the way home in the city (best part of that was when I was being mugged for my phone and smashed it on the ground, thought I was being original but the lads had seen it a hundred times before and I got a kicking but felt ok about it)
    In the sticks, my house was cleaned when my granny was here, we get the odd crowd of lads in vans call back the odd time to 'sell' something whilst looking in the windows, and my aul man (legend) will casually walk out and leave the gun up against the wall. A good reason why Nally was loved so much (barr my own reservations on the case)

I'm rambling, but my point is, its your ground, stand up and defend it. If you dont want to, thats fine but for a lot of people, they'd see it as being worth the risk to stand up to vermin

but my point is, its your ground, stand up and defend it. If you dont want to, thats fine but for a lot of people, they'd see it as being worth the risk to stand up to vermin

I agree, but there are wiser methods than, 'Bring it on' or acting impulsively. Some circumstance sure, but certainly not all, I'd say most.

I'm in agreement with you. You generally have a feel for when you should stand up and when you should just go to bed

Think we all agree with that, some you can win..others it's just not your fight, what's laughable I think is the people who go on "even if there was 20 of them, were on drugs, had machetes and I had a broken leg and was blind in both eyes...I'd still smash a brick off their faces because im well 'ard"** types.

** dramatised obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Ah the internet hardmen are out in force this saturday night. It's a shame guys like SV who can beat up gang of 15 stong men aren't out patrolling are streets on a saturday night to keep us all safe.