Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stoke v Manchester City - Champions League me arse

• 16-02-2010 2:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭

Massive game for us tonight. Really need a win to put the pressure on Liverpool going into the weekend's clash.
    Stoke's Matthew Etherington is out (knee), although a scan has revealed he did not damage his cruciate ligament in Saturday's FA Cup tie at Eastlands.

Liam Lawrence and Andy Wilkinson should be fit despite picking up minor knocks.

Manchester City again expect be without Carlos Tevez, who has travelled to Argentina for family reasons.

Craig Bellamy (knee) and Vincent Kompany (groin) are out and Martin Petrov is doubtful, but Adam Johnson returns after being cup tied on Sunday.

Stoke (from): Sorensen, Huth, Abdoulaye Faye, Wilkinson, Amdy Faye, Higginbotham, Collins, Lawrence, Sidibe, Whitehead, Delap, Diao, Kitson, Beattie, Fuller, Tuncay, Pugh, Whelan, Simonsen, Begovic.

Doubtful: Lawrence (knee) & Wilkinson (ankle)

Injured: Etherington (knee)

Man City (from): Given, Taylor, Richards, Zabaleta, Onuoha, Toure, Lescott, Boyata, Garrido, Sylvinho, Bridge, Wright-Phillips, Ireland, Adam Johnson, Vieira, Barry, De Jong, Petrov, Ibrahim, Adebayor, Santa Cruz.

Doubtful: Petrov (knock), Richards (calf)

Injured: Bellamy (knee), Kompany (groin), M. Johnson (knee)

Mancini's negativity will no doubt be out in force again so don't be surprised to see a team of -

Given

Richards
    Onouha
    Lescott
    Bridge

De Jong
    Toure
    Barry

Zabaleta
    Sylvinho

Vieira

Ok, maybe a slight exaggeration but we've been awful boring as of late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Kompany and Bellamy are big losses, as is Tevez, but City at home should still have too much for Stoke.

Johnson back in the squad is a plus as he looked very good against Bolton last week.

Would imagine it will be Johnson on the right side of a front three with Cruz and Petrov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Does Tevez not realize I have points to make up in my private league? Swaning off on a double gameweek!:rolleyes:

Speaking of Petrov, did he ever sign a new deal or is he able to leave on a free come the summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,778 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Johner wrote: »
    Does Tevez not realize I have points to make up in my private league? Swaning off on a double gameweek!:rolleyes:

Etherington getting himself injured in a meaningless cup game is worse imo :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Etherington has been very good I think a draw could be on the cards tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Kess73 wrote: »
    Kompany and Bellamy are big losses, as is Tevez, but City at home should still have too much for Stoke.

Johnson back in the squad is a plus as he looked very good against Bolton last week.

Would imagine it will be Johnson on the right side of a front three with Cruz and Petrov.

That game is at the Brittania, so for that reason I'd give Stoke a good chance in front of their own crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Speaking of Petrov, did he ever sign a new deal or is he able to leave on a free come the summer?

Still free to leave in the summer. I'd have been campaigning for him to sign on a few weeks ago but AJ has come in and looked quality so we may have found our replacement.

Cake Man wrote: »
    That game is at the Brittania, so for that reason I'd give Stoke a good chance in front of their own crowd.

My bad, I thought City were at home.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Still free to leave in the summer. I'd have been campaigning for him to sign on a few weeks ago but AJ has come in and looked quality so we may have found our replacement.

Isn't Johnson better on the right though? Or was it because Boro had Downing that Johnson got games on the right when he was not out on loan? Cannot say I paid a lot of attention to him in the past, but anytime I saw him, he seemed to be on the right like he was for City against Bolton.

Shame to lose Petrov on a free though, as I feel he still has a couple of years left to offer at a high level. Would not say no to him on a free to Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Champions League YOUR ARSE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The first of two defeats this week that will put paid to City's CL hopes is my prediction for tonight I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Ok, maybe a slight exaggeration but we've been awful boring as of late.

And loosing more. Lost 3 since Mancini came in. We can push teams as well as the best of them.

Wnat to see the pace back on the wings

Given

Richards
    Onouha
    Toure
    Bridge

De Jong
    Barry

Wright Philips
    Ireland
    Johnson

Ade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Adebayor?

JPA wrote: »
    Adebayor?

Thought he was out. Swap him for Cruz then. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Whats the craic with Tevex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭jimmyendless

tevez had to go home for a family emergency.

Ade is fine and should be playing ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,778 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

keano_afc wrote: »
    Whats the craic with Tevex?

Special delivery service to Argentina afaik

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

I almost want to see City win this one. The FA Cup is become more and more boring as the big teams drop out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Columbia wrote: »
    I almost want to see City win this one. The FA Cup is become more and more boring as the big teams drop out.

League game tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

dobsdave wrote: »
    League game tonight.

Oh really? Shoot. Shows precisely how much attention I've paid to the FA Cup this week :p

Draw for me then, 1-1

Massive game for us tonight. Really need a win to put the pressure on Liverpool going into the weekend's clash.

Have a feeling you'll slaughter Stoke and beat the 'Pool comfortably, thus ending their chances of CL ball next year.

As a Utd. fan, I'm unbelievably torn between wanting to see Liverpool imploding (can see a few big names leaving without CL football), which would mean Citeh would have the double whammy of financial clout and European football to attract big names in the summer, or of the opposite happening (minus the cash for Liverpool).

Still not 100% sure I'd prefer to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

this on the square thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Stoke will destroy them.

Vieira, De Jong and Barry

Zzzzzzzzzz

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Zzzzzzzzzz

so so negative. Watching the game and this is not how city play, we are hoofing a ball up the field ffs, there is no spark whatsoever.

I'm also increasingly convinced that's not the real Patrick Vieira, it's only someone who looks remarkably like him, he's been awful tonight so far, did you see the kick on Whelan, absolutely no call for that at all, I know Whelan was snapping at his heels but wtf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

karma_ wrote: »
    so so negative. Watching the game and this is not how city play, we are hoofing a ball up the field ffs, there is no spark whatsoever.

I'm also increasingly convinced that's not the real Patrick Vieira, it's only someone who looks remarkably like him, he's been awful tonight so far, did you see the kick on Whelan, absolutely no call for that at all, I know Whelan was snapping at his heels but wtf.

Its him alright hes just ancient and long gone past it.

Awfully depressing stuff. Stoke are battering us.

Having said that, Barry should've scored easily a minute ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Zzzzzzzzzz
    That's incredibly negative.

Is AJ playing?

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    That's incredibly negative.

Is AJ playing?

yea he's on, but not having much of an impact.

Vieira booked. He's absolutely horrific.
    Subs: Taylor, Bridge, Onuoha, Zabaleta, Ireland, Wright-Phillips, Petrov.

Get the three of them on

Vieira booked. He's absolutely horrific.

Get the three of them on

Strange having all 3 on the bench?

There is no way he can be allowed back out onto the pitch after halftime after that performance. Surely?

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Strange having all 3 on the bench?

Not if you've been watching Mancini's City lately.

Copyrighted_Image_Reuse_Prohibited_157137.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Are you expecting them to get better? Manici's teams are always terribly conservative, even by Italian standards.

God no. He has set his stall out and we're going to have to live with it.

Makes it a hell of lot more difficult to motivate myself for these 4am kick offs though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

How's Adebayor doing? Is he looking threatening?

Faye sent off for a professional foul as last man.

Well done Mr Assistant. Wiley wasn't even going to give a free.

Vieira is still on the pitch.

Apologies for sounding like a broken record but I can't get my head found that fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

yes!!! 1-0 Stoke. I've always loved Whelan

oh god!

Oh dear

Don't think the other contenders have much to fear in the race for 4th.

Stoke down to ten and we still have De Jong and Vieira in midfield.

Unbelievable

Stoke down to ten and we still have De Jong and Vieira in midfield.

Unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Can I change my vote for who's finishing 4th?

wtf.

a goal down and we are bringing on Zab?

Zabaleta?!

Ah here, I'm getting it in early - Mancini OUT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Even for an Italian this is worryingly negative...

Lol crazy stuff.