Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Raid on Connaughton Road carpark

• 17-02-2010 10:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭

Anyone have the pleasure of witnessing the raid on the "lads" in the connaughton rd carpark on tuesday morning.....i hear the scene was like a cross between snatch and CSI:D,well done to the boys in blue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Didn't see it but I hear 3 lads were taken into custody

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

More like 23 from what i hear!

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

What were they looking for, drugs?

MoonDancer wrote: »
    What were they looking for, drugs?
    Not sure...maybe they forgot to make a VAT return,forgot to tax one of there fleet of new cars/vans/jeeps or didnt realise that its illegal to burn rubbish every night of the week in the middle of the town:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

Yes it was the best bit of "rubber necking" in a long time. So good I was tempted to go round the block for a second look. IMO its a pity they didn’t tow away all the illegally parked vehicles and caravans when there was such a Garda presence.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Hmmm, would definitely be interesting to see what that was all about then.......

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

Seriously like its about time something was done, if there dealing drugs then shut the b******s down. Think they have a F******* free reign on the town well its about time it was shut down. It really annoys me to see certain groups get away with everything. Fair play to the Guards:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

so does anyone really know why the raid was or is every one just speculating?

Nothing in the papers, normaly the guard are the first to say to delevired a major blow to so so.

If they didn't it was probaly a minor offence and the only reason they go in with lots of man power is because they are scared in which case I wouldn't sing their praises.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭redarmyblues

they were escorting the tv licence inspector.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

TV licences, what a backwards/hillbilly country tax. No wonder he probably needed an escort. lol

What a joke, you need a licence to watch TV.:rolleyes:

Even in the colony we got rid of that joke tax(the gov. actually thought it was a retard tax) over 50 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Shadow78

Its in the sligo champion that they were looking for goods stolen around sligo town. Picture of gardai removing what looks like copper water cylinders.

While the guards are there they should also inform them that they dont have the right to park in every disabled parking space in Sligo everytime they go to the bookies or for whatever other productive reasons they seem to be driving around Sligo 24/7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

About time some of them lads were arrested.Their the scum of Sligo town.They should all be moved out of that Car Park and put in normal housing like everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

i drove by them that morning, cant say what they were looking for but there was 5 squad cars and a paddy waggon parked up outside the carpark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭BennyLava

About time some of them lads were arrested.Their the scum of Sligo town.They should all be moved out of that Car Park and put in normal housing like everyone else.

Yes they should, any houses going round your way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

ya loads if you follow the link below.
    http://www.passagewestmonkstown.ie/images/Spike-island-aerial.jpg

They would settle well here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Macroom Man

I drove by today and there seemed to be even more caravans there.
    Cannot understand why anyone would park their car there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

I drove by today and there seemed to be even more caravans there.
    Cannot understand why anyone would park their car there.
    Why wouldn't they?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭dingding

I had the bonnet of my car keyed in the lower car park.

dingding wrote: »
    I had the bonnet of my car keyed in the lower car park.
    Are you suggesting that doesn't happen anywhere else and is definitely related to those residing in connaughton road car park?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Cwhyte wrote: »
    Are you suggesting that doesn't happen anywhere else and is definitely related to those residing in connaughton road car park?

:eek: Surely not, little Barney would never do such a thing.

MikeySligo wrote: »
    :eek: Surely not, little Barney would never do such a thing.
    Which Barney are you on about .....there is more than one:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Cwhyte wrote: »

Are you suggesting that it does?

Yes I am, people cars getting slightly damaged is not a phenomenon only associated with connaughton road.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

old_aussie wrote: »
    TV licences, what a backwards/hillbilly country tax. No wonder he probably needed an escort. lol

What a joke, you need a licence to watch TV.:rolleyes:

Even in the colony we got rid of that joke tax(the gov. actually thought it was a retard tax) over 50 years ago.

and I've seen the crap they churn out on the Aussie TV.anyway, back to the "chaos in Connaughton carpark" - the boys in the champions can have that headline for free!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

dont think putting them in a house will change their behaviour

irish-stew wrote: »
    dont think putting them in a house will change their behaviour

Well said, I have no problem with travellers living in caravans, thats their tradition and they are most welcome to it. I didnt a week in one down in Tramore and I assure you its not for me. As long as they are abiding by the law like everyone else then fair enough, carry one. However, if laws are broken they should be punished like everyone else. Sounds fair to me!

If it is a public carpark does that mean they pay for the spaces taken up by the caravans?surely it stands to reason that you pay for the spaces you use...if this is not the case why do the rest of us have to buy parking disks for the privilege of parking in the town to spend our hard earned money:confused:

bonzos wrote: »
    If it is a public carpark does that mean they pay for the spaces taken up by the caravans?surely it stands to reason that you pay for the spaces you use...if this is not the case why do the rest of us have to buy parking disks for the privilege of parking in the town to spend our hard earned money:confused:

try it and see what happens. see post no.29!