Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Build Advice / processor (photoshop)

Options
  • 18-02-2010 11:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭

Hi All.

Great reading through all the threads here, some great advice and info, I'm hoping I could get your thoughts on a build I am undertaking. Its my first build, can't wait, I'm in the middle of doing a hell of a lot of research but the component choices to me are like being in a sweet-shop as a kid, I want everything!(but you just can't have it).

This isn't a gaming PC, so the most important function that it will do that I think will influence the design is using photoshop. From what I can tell, processor speed is very very important so I'm going to start the build from there (step 1). Aside from a kick-ass processor, I want to get the PC on the ground relatively cheaply but then could upgrade to improved graphics card/ increase ram in the future. (I have read numerous articles on the internet but many are not recent enough)

So processor choice. I'm thinking an Intel Corei5. got sse 4.2, performs well. I understand that up to the 6xx series the graphics is integrated in the chip, so Im thinking I want to avoid this and get my own graphics card or at least have the option of upgrading it later if needed. So the 7xx (i5-750S) looks to match that (plus 4 cores vs 2, but at a cost). I don't want to slow down everything for beaing a cheapskate after getting a decent processor but the budget is tight outside of essentials (€600/700).