Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Most annoying things online?

• 18-02-2010 10:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

What annoys me most online is those god damned captcha images!!!

Just bought tickets on Ticketmaster and near had a nervous breakdown with the things. Seven of them I went through.

Surely there is a better way to find out if I'm a human.

Here's an example of what I'm talking about:

So, anyway .. what rattles your cage online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

People getting upset over trivial matters :rolleyes:

Build a bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Twitter.

I dont give a fuck what you are doing. Fuck off.

fbi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Flashy banner ads that distract you from what you want to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

99GNSV

I'll take those tickets now please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

facebook/bebo/twitter whatever it's called now.

"what type of vegetable are you? answer these ten questions to find out!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Horny women in my area trying to contact me (at the bottom right of the screen) when I'm already busy trying to look at porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

those banner ads that say "get a free green card to live in america"
    i don't fúcking want to live in america píss off:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

google translate, translate everthing on the website

apart from the important part!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Wikipedia. It's turned every fúcker into a master know it all debater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

bonerm wrote: »
    Horny women in my area trying to contact me (at the bottom right of the screen) when I'm already busy trying to look at porn.

i have some bad news for you. those women are cheating on you, they're always contacting me as well
    Wikipedia. It's turned every fúcker into a master know it all debater.

yep, a lot of master-debaters on t'interweb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

n00bs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

When you google a subject, click on the link, decide it's not the site you want and click on the 'Back Button' and it won't go. They've set a trap to keep you perpetually locked in a site where you don't want to be.
    Feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Trying to find information on the internet can still be infuriating sometimes. We tend to think everything can be found online so when it can't be found it's frustrating. Especially if you suspect it's there, just hiding somewhere.

irish-stew wrote: »
    google translate, translate everthing on the website

apart from the important part!!!
    MaybeLogic wrote: »
    When you google a subject, click on the link, decide it's not the site you want and click on the 'Back Button' and it won't go. They've set a trap to keep you perpetually locked in a site where you don't want to be.
    Feck off.

google, the best, and the worst thing about the net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

Penis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Youtube comments
    Facebook groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

(as in, annoying - not directed at the above poster)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

OutlawPete wrote: »

Just bought tickets on Ticketmaster and near had a nervous breakdown with the things. Seven of them I went through.

Look at this ffs:

Nice pixelating your email address :D

Mmcd wrote: »
    Nice pixelating your email address :D

That wasn't mine.

I just Google Image searched 'captacha images' and that was first up :)

Bet you were hoping to see IrishWellHung@gmail.com :pac:

oh oh oh

<waves hand>

i have another one,

farmville, what the fcuk is that all about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Facebook, hands down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I posted this in R&R before but the one of the things that annoys me most on the internet is those girls who think they look really cool/hot/sexy while doing some retarded-looking pout in their social networking profile picture.

Exhibit A

Magnus wrote: »
    Youtube comments

I could never understand why nearly every video on YouTube escalated into a racism row.

I use to go back through the comments and try to find where it started but never could.

Then on the Dr.B video I uploaded, I got my evidence - it's just random fcukers going round starting sh*t.

Check out this recent comment on the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wuWs21Hj44

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

irish-stew wrote: »
    oh oh oh

<waves hand>

i have another one,

farmville, what the fcuk is that all about

I have never touched it, but my sister just finished Farmville, I'm so glad you can complete it and it is finite. They joined facebook about 3 months ago and my page was just littered with "Can someone gift me a horse" or other sh1t like that. At least there's an end in sight.

I could never understand why nearly every video on YouTube escalated into a racism row.

I use to go back through the comments and try to find where it started but never could.

Then on the Dr.B video I uploaded, I got my evidence - it's just random fcukers going round starting sh*t.

Check out this recent comment on the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wuWs21Hj44

Ahem...nice shameless plugging there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Those irritating pop-up ads for poker sites.

NothingMan wrote: »
    I have never touched it, but my sister just finished Farmville, I'm so glad you can complete it and it is finite. They joined facebook about 3 months ago and my page was just littered with "Can someone gift me a horse" or other sh1t like that. At least there's an end in sight.

She finished it in 3 months? Jesus, is she in Farmville rehab now? Some of my friends have been looking after their's for what seems like years. One of them asked me to feed her f*cking sheep or something when she was on holidays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

She finished it in 3 months? Jesus, is she in Farmville rehab now? Some of my friends have been looking after their's for what seems like years. One of them asked me to feed her f*cking sheep or something when she was on holidays!

It's nuts, unfortunately I still have 3 more of my sisters on it. The one who finished obviously has more time on her hands than the others. I assumed it was some kind of virtual world, I didn't realise it had levels and stuff.

Ahem...nice shameless plugging there ;)

Excuse me but I'll have you know that a few AH clicks would be a mere ripple in the sea of hits that an OutlawPete vid receives.

Why I'm nothing short of an internet sensation I tell ya.

Second only to 'Leave Britney alone' :P

Excuse me but I'll have you know that a few AH clicks would be a mere ripple in the sea of hits that an OutlawPete vid receives.

Why I'm nothing short of an internet sensation I tell ya.

Second only to 'Leave Britney alone' :P

I know most of those 3176 views are from you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,442 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I have a few things that I find annoying about going online

The elitist gamers when playing online games who think they're so brilliant and then sh!t on the other gamers who aren't as great and ridicule them by calling them noobs. I'm happy to say i've never called anyone a noob when playing online, and I'm a pretty good gamer.

Youtube posters

someone i know asked me to do that as well....

the sheep died.

apparantly i also was partly responsible for someones death in mafia wars, even though i have never played that either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Look at this ffs:

That one is quite tame TBH, you should see them on their highest settings :D

The funny thing is most of the still mostly legible ones like below can be cracked by computers at this stage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

You...

*Points at screen*

EDIT:
    Awwww... I just pointed at my post
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

People who leave one-liners supporting a specific pairing on every YouTube episode for a particular series "Character A X Character B forever!"

Like on the Storm Hawks vids morons who go "Aerrow X Piper 4evah!" and nothing else in their post.

FFS, I can't stand it when someone does it for a pairing I support let alone one I can't stand (like Scott/Chloe in SGU)

Also morons like !Hello-Uh-AHCRAP in this thread
    http://forum.deviantart.com/community/complaints/1382685/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Those stupid pop-up ads used to get on my wick. Fortunately most public computers i've been using block them out. And they almost never pop up on my mobile phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Tells

Constant surveys on AH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Stee wrote: »
    Twitter.

I dont give a fuck what you are doing. Fuck off.

At first glance i missed the "Twitter" bit in this post.^
    I was thinking "Jaysus, what did the OP do to deserve that" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

MrPain wrote: »
    Penis

Ugh, don't get me started on those twunts who post close-ups of their ugly cocks on Deviant Art.
    You have a penis, you think it's beautiful, we get it, now **** off

I posted this in R&R before but the one of the things that annoys me most on the internet is those girls who think they look really cool/hot/sexy while doing some retarded-looking pout in their social networking profile picture.

Exhibit A

It's Iranian Skanger time! She's wearing a bra in her pic, how classy...

http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=776744846

tech77 wrote: »
    At first glance i missed the "Twitter" bit in this post.^
    I was thinking "Jaysus, what did the OP do to deserve that" :D

Another thing that winds me the fcuk up is people on YouTube who put a popular title in their video and make the video screencap match.

Then when you click on it some prick says:

"Hi there, In know your looking for the 'Kayne West / Taylor Swift' video but here's my opinion.

NOBODY WANTS YOUR FCUKING OPINION YOU LOSERS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭RedDragonJack

cashback wrote: »
    Trying to find information on the internet can still be infuriating sometimes. We tend to think everything can be found online so when it can't be found it's frustrating. Especially if you suspect it's there, just hiding somewhere.

Not to mention once you find what your looking for, can you trust the source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Exhibit A

Hey,how did you get hold of my facebook picture?? :pac:

I hate this new wave of text speak where they replace letters with numbers. I can't understand a word of it. (No,im not getting old). How am i meant to spy on my nephew on his bebo and facebook when i can't make head nor tail of what's being said:)

Im joking bout the spying part before someone starts on bout his privacy, blah blah, own life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Demonique wrote: »

It's Iranian Skanger time! She's wearing a bra in her pic, how classy...

http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=776744846

I went to school with her!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Exhibit A

Not as bad as this stupid cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭window_licker

I went to school with her!! :eek:

hahahaha yeah i know her too
    El Weirdo wrote: »

yeah, next time shes tryna be "sexy", she should flush the toilet behind her :eek:

El Weirdo wrote: »

They are all Zoolandering all over the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Oooo Social netwoking sites.

I have 200 friends...

Ehhh no you don't...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Probably been said before but, girls who pout for the camera, although its a great warning sign.