Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Limerick Criminal Family moving to Sixmilebridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

We all know this,of course it's going to be a melting pot but why move them like cattle to graze in neighbouring counties. It's a Limerick City problem, so keep the undesirables in the city. It's only passing the buck.

Oh so you mean move them from weston to moyross or from southhill to garryowen is it?

The murder carried out on the ennis road limerick this morning should go
    to remind us what kind of scum we are dealing with here.
    Unfortunately shootings have lost their shock value in certain areas of limerick, lets not have it happen here.
    No amount of money invested into rehabilitation of these scum will change their lifestyle.It is bred into them.Sorry, but they are a lost generation,victims of their own enviroment.All resources should go to convicting these scum on a continous basis, If they cross against a red light,Lock em up,litter,Lock em up.Continual harrasement by law enforcement officers is what is needed.When they are imprisoned ,keep em in solidtary confindment so they cannot order any more hits from jail.The minute they are released ,keep em under surveilence and the minute they put one foot outta line , bring them back in again.
    Now some may argue about their civil rights, I normally would ,but these guys have lost the way of life and dont deserve to benefit from our civil laws as they dont care about yours or mine.
    Zero tollerence is the only tool we have to use against them.

I really dont want to be digging up this post in five years time saying
    "I told ye so" as another victim is buried in Clare. Unless action is taken it is inevitable.

Sorry i forgot nobody was ever murdered in clare by a clareman.. So do we put every gangmember on 24/7 surveillance in the country? And whos gonna pay for that? Clare is a huge market for Limerick drug dealers.. So in fact in an indirect way clare druggies are fueling the problem too.. So maybe when you guys have your own act cleaned up then worry about the people next door..

Also clare has its fair share of ruff familes too.. i know a few well dodgy people from clare living here in Limerick you dont see us whinging.. Every weekend there is a massive influx of clare people into limerick.. Use us for all your needs (Shopping, Socialising, Schools) and then turn your back when we need something? This is a typical irish attitude and untill we all tackle things as a whole we are all just going to blame the next guy for everything like you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Stab*City wrote: »
    Oh so you mean move them from weston to moyross or from southhill to garryowen is it?

We just don't have the resources to cope with an influx of troublesome families i.e Gardai, community centres etc.

I know it sounds like a cop out but it's not in my interest to reside in areas where serious antisocial problems may arise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

They're letting all sorts of scum in. Look at who they left into Shannon:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aY4ure_GSHw

edit: wouldn't embed.

They're letting all sorts of scum in. Look at who they left into Shannon:

Who?

Sorry i forgot nobody was ever murdered in clare by a clareman..

Would like to point out I have lived in Shannon for almost 30 years and in all that time only one murder has ever occurred...A Shannon woman shot by a Limerick man. It wasn't related to any feud or gang/criminal activity, just relationship problems.

My intention of this thread is not Limerick bashing. I love Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

My point is the gangs are fuelled as much by consumers from Clare as from anywhere else. It's not Limerick's problem (or Dublin's or Clare's), it's Ireland's. Unless you think no one in Clare uses drugs? (probably imported via Kilrush by a Clareman btw)

That doesn't mean we should have criminals from Limerick City thrown into our villages and towns. Yes they effect Clare too, but that doesn't mean they should be moved there. Just like crime gangs all over the country, they are an Irish problem not a Limerick/Dublin/Cork one.. but that doesn't mean villages and towns in Clare, Galway, Cork and County Limerick should suffer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I always find it quite amusing when people are being relocated from 1 place to another and then it turns into a slagging match between the 2 locations. If people were being moved from Ennis to Doolin cause Ennis didn't have space for them, Doolin would be complaining that they can't cope, the new people were going to bring a crime wave, that the place would be rife with drugs, crime and prostitution, Ennis people would be saying that if it wasn't for people coming in looking for drugs, stolen goods and sex that they wouldn't have a problem and other places should help out cause it's their fault anyway.

The sad fact of the matter is that large urban areas will always have a higher numbers of undesirable activity/people, some local, some imported and rural areas won't have these problems because they just don't. The fact of the matter is that rural areas will have their own problems, in fact they may have a higher ratio of the same.

Limerick has it's problems, Clare has it's problems, whether Clare should help Limerick is what is open to debate. Ireland is a very small place, the mid-west region is a smaller part of that, a lot of Limerick people work in Clare, a lot of Clare people work in Limerick, but most Clare people would prefer to work in Clare and Limerick people in Limerick (closer to home, less of a commute), personally I think that Limerick should look after their own people first, there are as many small communities in Limerick (like Sixmilebridge) that can cope with the "overflow" as there is in Clare.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭firesidechat

Sorry i forgot nobody was ever murdered in clare by a clareman.. So do we put every gangmember on 24/7 surveillance in the country? And whos gonna pay for that? Clare is a huge market for Limerick drug dealers.. So in fact in an indirect way clare druggies are fueling the problem too.. So maybe when you guys have your own act cleaned up then worry about the people next door..

Also clare has its fair share of ruff familes too.. i know a few well dodgy people from clare living here in Limerick you dont see us whinging.. Every weekend there is a massive influx of clare people into limerick.. Use us for all your needs (Shopping, Socialising, Schools) and then turn your back when we need something? This is a typical irish attitude and untill we all tackle things as a whole we are all just going to blame the next guy for everything like you are.

Settle !
    I dont care what county they come from.
    To answer your question ..YES.
    Put all gangbangers under surveilence 24/7.
    It will cost a small fortune ,but it will be money well spent.
    An ounce of prevention is worth more than a pound of cure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Well if they're moving people from Limerick they need to move them to Ennis not Sixmilebridge (and I'm from Ennis), because we have a proper police presence. Places like Kilrush already have serious social problems and the government is shutting down the garda station. Rural areas certainly don't have the resources to deal with any kind of anti social elements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Balagan

If they're closing down the Garda Station in Kilrush, then it really is time to get out of Dodge.

Are you sure it isn't the tourist office in Kilkee that's closing down?

Would like to point out I have lived in Shannon for almost 30 years and in all that time only one murder has ever occurred...A Shannon woman shot by a Limerick man. It wasn't related to any feud or gang/criminal activity, just relationship problems.

My intention of this thread is not Limerick bashing. I love Limerick.

Clare is alot bigger than shannon. Plus nothing ever happens in shannon. EVER.. EVER... EVER....

EVER

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 hairless

Just wondering, why will no-one name the "well known limerick family"? Surely you're not worried about getting sued here? Are we?

Settle !
    I dont care what county they come from.
    To answer your question ..YES.
    Put all gangbangers under surveilence 24/7.
    It will cost a small fortune ,but it will be money well spent.
    An ounce of prevention is worth more than a pound of cure.

Ok so lets put the gangsters under surveilence.. That will solve absolutley everything.. Sher of course your irish will your tunnel vision.. This is why the country is in this problem.. Sher of course when they spend all our money on the 24/7/365 surveilence and lock up all those gangsters that will be the end of it then ya?? Its not like there will be younger more violent crims to take their place.. We need to start looking at different solutions to stop the problem from happening in the future not throwing cash at it when its already too late granted there are an element that need to be watched but lets be realistic..

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭firesidechat

Ok so lets put the gangsters under surveilence.. That will solve absolutley everything.. Sher of course your irish will your tunnel vision.. This is why the country is in this problem.. Sher of course when they spend all our money on the 24/7/365 surveilence and lock up all those gangsters that will be the end of it then ya?? Its not like there will be younger more violent crims to take their place.. We need to start looking at different solutions to stop the problem from happening in the future not throwing cash at it when its already too late granted there are an element that need to be watched but lets be realistic..
    The point being that as the older muppets get locked up ,the younger generation will see no attraction to that lifestyle. Of course there will always be a few followers,lock em up also.

Ah my friend if only life were that simple.. they are already seeing them being locked up and worse murdered.. this is still not stopping it either is the 24/7 "body-guards"... until there is something else for these kids to do in these communities it will get worse...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

Places like Kilrush already have serious social problems and the government is shutting down the garda station.

Got a source for this statement? because its total bullcrap, the government is not shutting down Kilrush Garda station.
    They only recently built a new garda station back there ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭loctite

Keep em where they are........
    Surely from a policing point of view it makes sense to have criminals centralised?? How are the Garda Armed Special Unit, which I thought was set up to target these criminals, supposed to police such an expanding geographical area??

Spreading them across the two counties will be like spreading a virus. By all means, evacuate the ordinary, decent families out of these areas. But make sure that all those scumbags are left behind and let them do what they do best while the guards sit on the fences to keep em in there........