Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Spartan Promotions

• 18-02-2010 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭

Spartan Promotions will return to the MMA scene in May and June after nearly a year.

On Sunday May 30th we will be holding our first Amateur show in Antrim town. This show will be all Amateur D and C-Class fights fought in a ring much in the same way the EFR semi-pro series is run. It will be in a small venue and tickets will be considerably cheaper than the previous shows we have put on. The purpose of this show is to give the new lads training in the sport a chance to compete without being thrown into a cage in front of hundreds of people.

On Saturday June 26th will be Spartan 5: Resurrection.
    This will be a full Pro show consisting of 10 Professional fights and an undercard of 4 C-Class bouts and maybe a couple of Thai or K1 style fights to mix things up. This show will be held in Belfast and aims to be a return to the type of show that many in the Irish MMA community have been looking for in the last couple of years. All four of our Irish titles will be fought for on this show and i aim to have one of the biggest names in Irish MMA topping the bill.

I will start matching fights now so anyone that wants on to either show get in touch.

Thanks for your time.

Marty Walker(jnr):cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Mrs Lynch

Great Marty;) Distinguishing between the two brings peace of mind. Mr P has been doin this extremely well and there are very few "current quality pro-fighters" that did not pass through EFR amt series.

This is a great stepping stone for fighters and I hope you all the best!!!

Bringing it to Belfast wer getting spoilt lol :D

Urs
    x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

nice very nice, last time I was there great event and great after party :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Martin Walker

These are the first few Matches i can confirm for the show in June.

Straw-weight Irish Title (-58kgs)

CHAMPION: ROB QUINN (SBG) vs NEIL SEERY (RYANO)

Lightweight Irish Title (-70kgs)

CHAMPION: HUGH BRADY (PHK) vs DOMINIC MCCONNELL (SFT)

Light Heavyweight Pro A (-93kgs)

MARIUS LAPENAS (MAYNOOTH) vs MICHEAL NICHOLLS (INDE)

I should get confirmation of another 3 bouts in the next day or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭markfightie

These are the first few Matches i can confirm for the show in June.

2 very tasty fights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭chprt

you need lists of thai fighters martin?

paddy

www.onlinemathsgrinds.ie

you need lists of thai fighters martin?

paddy

Im only wanting to match a couple of our guys Paddy. Ill be intouch to see if we can organize something.

Lightweight Pro A (-70kgs)

DARREN HUGHES (SI) vs TOM MAGUIRE (SBG)

Another cracking match-up ive been looking forward to in the stacked LW division.

Welterweight Pro A (-77kgs)

BARRY OGLESBY (IP) vs MICHEAL RIED (GBNI)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

good fight, pulling out all the stops for this one looks to be a cracker.

Should have another 3 crackers booked by tomorrow!

Featherweight Irish Title (-65kgs)

CHAMPION: KEVIN CARNEY(AMMA) vs SHANE THOMAS (KOKORO)

A fight thats been about 2 years in the making!!

Middleweight Irish Title (-84kgs)

TIM MC CRORY (KYOUJIN) vs CHRIS FIELDS (SBG)

These two guys face off for the vacant Middleweight title vacated by Marius as he has stepped up to LHW!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

Thats a very swanky card

I aim to please:)

Featherweight Irish Title (-65kgs)

CHAMPION: KEVIN CARNEY(AMMA) vs SHANE THOMAS (KOKORO)

Middleweight Irish Title (-84kgs)

TIM MC CRORY (KYOUJIN) vs CHRIS FIELDS (SBG)

Light Heavyweight Pro A (-93kgs)

MARIUS LAPENAS (MAYNOOTH) vs MICHEAL NICHOLLS (INDE)

BARRY OGLESBY (IP) vs MICHEAL RIED (GBNI)

Lightweight Pro A (-70kgs)

DARREN HUGHES (SI) vs TOM MAGUIRE (SBG)

JONNY SHIELS (IMMA) vs MARK GIBSON (ELITE 400)

Massive card Marty with 8 pro:cool: and crackin matches - well done!!!

Are you still adding your C Class and Thai??? Is the show still set for Belfast/ have you decided on a venue???

Urs
    x

Mrs Lynch wrote: »
    Are you still adding your C Class and Thai??? Is the show still set for Belfast/ have you decided on a venue???

At the minute im not having any C-Class on it. I want it to be a pro show so im gonna try to keep it that way. I want two more Pro and one or two Thai or K1 Style bouts. Thats it. However the guys on here are pretty active so it will be hard to hold the card together. Injuries do happen so if i have to put C-Class fights on to keep the card alive i will.

Im still looking at a couple of things in Belfast. But i do have a back up in Antrim if needed. Hope to have that sorted next week.

Pro show with pro fights :rolleyes:

I see a lot of the guys will be active leading up to your show but you have it well sussed to be prepared:) I also like the fact that most of the fighters are well "established" fighters and top professionals.

All I can say is that it will be a huge nite displaying Irelands top talents and all the best with it!

Urs
    x

(p.s. Is Tim the MW Title holder with you???)

No its Vacant. Marius held it but hes moved to LHW now so he gave it up.
    No-one deserves a shot at a title more than Tim. Him and Chris will matchup well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Chewabacca

Spartan 5 is really looking good. That card is about as good as it gets in the country. Always a pleasure to watch the likes of Kevin Carney, Oglesby, Chris Fields, Neil Seery and dominic McConnel fight.

Time to try and convince my car bearing friends to make the trip from Galway!

P.S I've said it before and I'll say it again. How many organs did Carney have removed to fight at FW. The guy is a monster for the weight.

Cudnt agree more - Tim is top notch and an all round gentleman!!!:D

Just have to look at the two fights with Keith Bradly for EFR title which wer both brillant.

Woz unfortunate he woz out for a while because previous to it I think he had definately stepped up a gear!!!

Him and Chris will definately be good fight;)

Urs
    x

Sorry to ask so many question but you know Im sheer nosey lol who are the other Title Holders that arent fighting i.e. LHW, WW etc

Chewabacca wrote: »
    I've said it before and I'll say it again. How many organs did Carney have removed to fight at FW. The guy is a monster for the weight!

lol. Im in the process of talking him into fighting at BW again.

Sorry to ask so many question but you know Im sheer nosey lol who are the other Title Holders that arent fighting i.e. LHW, WW etc

Its ok Ursula im used to you by now.:)
    The other belts are vacant still. Im getting these belts defended now cos theyve been held for a year already so its time. Once thats done in the next shows the other belts will be fought for. I wont be organising them tho cos this is my last one!

Its ok Ursula im used to you by now.:)

Lol :D
    ........... I wont be organising them tho cos this is my last one!

Ther is no icon for sadness but there is tears in my eyes lol serious tho you will be missed :-(

Will the show continue when you depart our shores????

Kevin has no organs he is a man of steel lol

Urs
    x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Ryan Roddy

great card!! gonna make the trip home for this I reckon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

There is no icon for sadness but there is tears in my eyes

:'(

:'(

I meant "smilie" icon Mr Leonard lol

Ryan - it will be great to see you home - Are you still trainin????

Urs
    x

Yeah looking forward to getting a few months at home in sudden impact again! hope ur keeping well :)

Still training away, had my first full pro fight there in dec 09 in newcastle, me and tommy can basically train full time so its going pretty well!

Ryan Roddy wrote: »
    Yeah looking forward to getting a few months at home in sudden impact again! hope ur keeping well :)

Still training away, had my first full pro fight there in dec 09 in newcastle, me and tommy can basically train full time so its going pretty well!

Excellent Ryan glad to hear it but wanna see a pro fight here - remember all the support I hav gave you lol;)

You need to get back in ther with the Mauler training you wont know wot hits yeah!!!

Urs
    x

Im putting together the card for my Amateur show in Antrim on MAY 30th now.
    All D-Class and C-Class. Set in a boxing ring. Anyone interested in taking part PM me here or drop me an e-mail. All weights wanted. Particularly HW C-Class.
    Marty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

You got a big venue for that Pro show Marty? When are tickets out?

I had somewhere Jason but to be polite they F*cked me over a couple of days ago. Im off today so im gonna head up to Belfast and see what i can do.

Feather Weight Pro A -65KGS

Paul Aylmer (CSC) vs Conor Mulholland (SI)

Our first Amateur event will take place on Sunday 30th of May in the Allen Park Rugby Club in Antrim Town.
    This will be in a Ring and will be on during the day. Many of the fighters will be D and C-Class. There will also be Kickboxing bouts involving our Kickboxing Club. Most if not all of the fighters will be from Local clubs looking to try there hand at MMA or Kickboxing for the first time
    I already have a few MMA bouts matched and hope to have some more by tonight.

C-CLASS
    Mal McFall (Chum Sut) vs Garath Loughran (SI) -84kgs

D-CLASS
    nathan wells (Chum Sut) v fabrice wallace (IMMA)
    joe Mcmahon(PCCB)v nathan wright (IMMA) @ 70kgs
    chris mcloughran (PCCB)v connor mcguckian (IMMA) @ 78kgs
    michael duffy (PCCB) v john nicolleti (IMMA) @ 91kgs
    gavin black (PCCB) v ady casey (IMMA)@ 100kgs
    Aaron Feeny (Chum Sut) vs Rab McAree (PCCB) -65kgs

Spartan 5 "Resurrection" will take place on Saturday June 26th in the Leighinmorhr House Hotel in Ballymena.
    I originally wanted the show to be in Belfast but due to circumstances beyond my control it was just not possible. The Leighinmorhr is a very good Hotel close to Ballymena center and near to the Bus and Train Stations.

This is the fightcard to date.

Straw-weight Title fight -58kgs

Champion: Rob Quinn (SBG) vs Niel Seery (Ryano)

Featherweight Title Fight -65.8kgs

Champion: Kevin Carney (AMMA) vs Shane Thomas (kOKORO)

Lightweight Title Fight -70kgs

Champion: Hugh Brady (PHK) vs Dominic McConnell (SFT)

Vacant Middleweight Title Fight -84kgs

Tim McCrory (Kyoujin) vs Chris Fields (SBG)

Light Heavyweight Pro Fight -93kgs

Marius Lapenas (Maynooth) vs Micheal Nicholls (Independant)

Lightweight Pro Fight -70kgs

Darren Hughes (SI) vs Tommy Maguire (SBG)

Welterweight Pro Fight -77kgs

Barry Oglesby (IP) vs Micheal Ried (GBNI)

Jonny Shiels (IMMA) vs Mark Gibson (ELITE 400)

Featherweight Pro Fight -65.8kgs

Im working on three more Pro MMA bouts for this and a full Pro Kickboxing Fight aswell.

More Details to come!!

Excellent card for Spartan - Im layin it all on the line to say this is gonna be the best Pro event in Ireland so far this year:D

Absolutely brillant card with some of the best players in Irish MMA!!! Im praying it all comes off because it is "HUGE". If there's a show worth seein I'd say this will be the one!!!!

Great mix of amatuer, pros and best of all Title fights - GREAT;)

Only disappointment its not in Belfast but sure I cant hav everything in life lol:cool:

I do not mean to take away from other shows but these fites are sheer classics and on any Irish MMA fans wish list!!!!

Urs
    x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭markfightie

I have to agree, an absolute cracking fight card,

best of luck with the show.

Hi all.
    Due to to circumstances beyond my control ive had to cancel the Amateur MMA event in Antrim on MAY 30th.
    It was a hard decision to make but in the interest of the fighters i think its best to pull things now instead of closer to the time. Things have came up and i just dont have the time needed to put the sort of show on that fighters need.
    I have already contacted the coaches of the fighters that were matched/put forward privately and im using here to put out a public apology.
    Sorry.

The Pro show in June 26th will go ahead without any problems.

Thanks for your time.
    Marty (jnr)

Great card, best in country for ages! Any card with darren hughes and johnny shields on the undercard is going to be good, also connor mullholland doesnt have a dull fight, and micheal reid...

will have to make the trip home for it!

Hi all.
    Due to to circumstances beyond my control ive had to cancel the Amateur MMA event in Antrim on MAY 30th........
    The Pro show in June 26th will go ahead without any problems.

Givin Chaos and Myles Price show are both on the nite before fans hav enough to occupy them lol;)

However your warned Marty!! 26th June is wot wer all geared up for and Ryan your totally right undercard alone is magic!!!! This show is like wot we wer once used to - experienced fighters with huge reputations in the sport:D

Urs
    x

Straw-weight Title fight -58kgs

Champion: Rob Quinn (SBG) vs Niel Seery (Ryano)

Featherweight Title Fight -65.8kgs

Champion: Kevin Carney (AMMA) vs Shane Thomas (kOKORO)

Lightweight Title Fight -70kgs

Vacant Middleweight Title Fight -84kgs

Lightweight Pro Fight _70kgs

Martin Begley(AMMA) vs TBC

Lightweight Pro Fight -70kgs

Jonny Shiels (IMMA) vs TBC

Featherweight Pro Fight -65.8kgs

Straw Weight Pro B Fight -58kgs

Anthony Mcgrath (PHK) vs Eric Boylan (Ryano)

As you can see above a couple of things have changed.
    Its getting to the time before a show when things start to shuffle a bit!

Marius Lapenas pulled from his fight at LHW with Micheal Nicholls and now Micheal has decided he would rather pull out himself instead to change opponent. I totally understand his choice but am a bit dissapointed.

Mark Gibson Pulled out from his Bout with Jonny Shiels so i need an opponent for him.

Martin Begley now wants to fight on this card since his fight on Chaos this weekend was scrapped.

On a positive note i have added an extra Pro B bout with PHKs Anto Mcgrath facing Team Ryanos Eric Boylan.

Im hoping to add a couple more names to the card and have it finished by the weekend.

Tickets are now printed and available from Chaplins Barbershop and Red Dragon Gym in Antrim and IMMA in Ballymena.
    If any clubs are looking tickets you can contact me here and ill get them to you before hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭weemate

mate,Im going to need some tickets /posters if you have them.Give me a nod and we'll arrange something.
    Peter

Just letting everyone know that this show is still going ahead as planned. Ive been getting a few calls this week because of a post i put up on another thread that seemed to imply that it was gonna be pulled and the fact that i havnt been very active on here in a while.
    What is happening is that it looks like my dream of putting on a full Pro show in my last event isnt gonna happen. Ive had a lot of pullouts from the pros this week and its cut my Main card in half.
    But i will soldier on and match some c-class fights now so if any guys want to get a run out get intouch. Ill stick up the revised card in the next day or two.Cheers!

Marty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Just letting everyone know that this show is still going ahead as planned. Ive been getting a few calls this week because of a post i put up on another thread that seemed to imply that it was gonna be pulled and the fact that i havnt been very active on here in a while.
    What is happening is that it looks like my dream of putting on a full Pro show in my last event isnt gonna happen. Ive had a lot of pullouts from the pros this week and its cut my Main card in half.
    But i will soldier on and match some c-class fights now so if any guys want to get a run out get intouch. Ill stick up the revised card in the next day or two.Cheers!

Marty

Martin fair play to you for trying to do the full pro card, hats off for the effort-im sure the show will still be a big success in saying that, i've been to C class shows that have been far better than other Pro shows so its all about the fights arranged..

Best of luck with it.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

....................What is happening is that it looks like my dream of putting on a full Pro show in my last event isnt gonna happen.................

It woz a great great dream and excellent matchmakin (bet a lot of the fights are put on during the year by other promotions) its just the downfall of MMA with pull-outs;) I thought it wud been great send off for you:cool:

But I dont doubt it is still gonna be fantastic show and as Paul says some of best show hav c fights its just a bonus with your pro fights at times:D

Urs
    x

PROFESSIONAL MMA IRISH TITLE BOUTS:

Lightweight Title Fight -70kgs:

Vacant Middleweight Title Fight -84kgs:

Featherweight Title Fight -65.8kgs:
    Champion: Kevin Carney (Red Dragon) vs Shane Thomas (KOKORO)

PROFESSIONAL MMA BOUTS:

Lightweight Pro Fight -70kgs:

Welterweight Pro Fight -77kgs:

Bantam Weight Pro B Fight -61.8kgs:

Neil McGuigan (EFR) vs Anthony McGrath (PHK)

AMATEUR MMA C-CLASS BOUTS:

Welterweight C-Class Fight -77kgs

Przemek Mucha (IP) vs Maciej Kaczorowski (SI)

Straw-Weight C-Class Fight -58kgs

Ronnie Brennan (SFT) vs Stewart Ferry (HMA)

KICKBOXING BOUTS:

Micheal Putlak (Red Dragon) vs Joshua Ferry - 61kg Full Contact

Stevin Gannon (Red Dragon) vs Jonny Carr (Stewert Kirk Kickboxing)- 65kg Full Contact

Mark Coulter (Red Dragon) vs Micheal Hamilton (Steelheel Kickboxing) -72kg Full Contact

Andrew Higgins (Red Dragon) vs Conor McErlain (Freestyle Warriors)- 60kg Light Contact

Paul Higgins (Red Dragon) vs Micheal Bradley (Freestyle Warriors)- 40 kg Light Contact

Novice MMA BOUTs:

Colum Louge (Red Dragon) vs Jonny Glover(Steelheel MMA)-65kg
    Deon Smith (Red Dragon) vs Mark Nixon -70kg
    Lewis Barron (Red Dragon) vs Warren Mitchal(Wing Chun Belfast) -72kg

This is the latest card for the show on June 26th. As you can see its not gonna be the full pro show that i wanted.....:( However i have filled most of the room made by pullouts. Im hoping to add a few more c-class to this and ive one more b-class im working on.
    Anyone looking tickets will have to get them soon as many of the clubs in Ireland that have guys on the card are buying them at 20 and 30 a time so they are running out fast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

It's still one of the best Irish fight cards I've ever seen on paper. I'll be rushing out after my fight for Hughes vs. Maguire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭John Ferguson

Can't wait for this one!!! Looking forward to a cracking night out :-)
    I reckon Domz vs Hugh is gonna be a real warr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

Barry and Mike Reid's fight has potential to be a cracker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Barry and Mike Reid's fight has potential to be a cracker.

In more than one sense of the word.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭golfman

Anyone looking tickets will have to get them soon as many of the clubs in Ireland that have guys on the card are buying them at 20 and 30 a time so they are running out fast.

I'm in Dublin and I'm looking for tickets. I used to train in Kokoro but I'm sure Shane has a full bus load going up with him. How can I get hold of tickets? (if there's any left)