Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Death in Dubai

• 19-02-2010 10:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭

Looks like the Hamas leader taken out in Dubai recently had strong links with Iran and militancy there.

Israel will no doubt be blamed but it would appear that that this person was wanted in jordan and Egypt.

nasty piece of goods by all accounts

http://www.haaretz.com/hasen/spages/1146944.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Will this thread be deleted or locked:confused:
    What's the point FB?

Anyway, it's all very James Bond, just not as textbook. The Israelis were fingering Hamas as the assassins. They said Mossad would never be that amateur.
    That gave me a laugh:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

imme wrote: »
    Will this thread be deleted or locked:confused:
    What's the point FB?

Anyway, it's all very James Bond, just not as textbook. The Israelis were fingering Hamas as the assassins. They said Mossad would never be that amateur.
    That gave me a laugh:)

Probably won't have a great outcome, but the point is that this man's background is not very well known in non political circles,so the obvious people to blame would be the Israelis.

I am merely pointing out that others as mentioned on MI this am, would have an interest in taking him out, and that the obvious may not be the case on this occasion.

The Irish passport bit is also interesting considering the 'connections' between Irish activists and the various factions in that region.

Is Caoimhe Butterly still out there I wonder.

I make clear of course that these PPs were forged and nothing to do with her of course,or anyone else of Irish citizenship in that region for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

A Hamas statement last month acknowledged al-Mabhouh was involved in the kidnapping and killing of two Israeli soldiers in 1989 and said he was still playing a "continuous role in supporting his brothers in the resistance inside the occupied homeland" at the time of his death.

And, where were his 24/7 bodyguards????;)

Clues that it was Hamas that decided to get rid of the cockroach.

Another interesting little detail is that al-Mabhouh's security guards were not present when he was killed...which even brings up the possibility that he was dipping into the till without permission and paid the ultimate penalty.

So justice caught up with the cockroach

Aside from his role in smuggling arms to Hamas from Iran, al-Mabhouh has planned hundreds of attacks on Israeli civilians and his death is setback to Iran's re-arming Hamas, so I seriously doubt the Israelis are shedding any tears over his well-deserved demise.

If it was a Mossad op, it appears to have gone off pretty well, especially since it was done in an Arab country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

It sure is an intriguing case FB. The Israeli finger pointing at others and the fact that Mahmoud al-Mabhouh spent a year in an Egyptian prison all adds to the intrigue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Nice to see Isreal getting a non innocent victim for once,,,, bravo Isreal.

Now if they will only stop killing INNOCENT woman and children I might feel some sympathy for their plight(whatever that is)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

If any other country did this there would be uproar. Using Irish passports as well putting Irish people in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

20Cent wrote: »
    If any other country did this there would be uproar. Using Irish passports as well putting Irish people in danger.

and of course our government will take no real action on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

20Cent wrote: »

Apparently, they used real passport numbers (but the names didn't match), and directly put the people with these passports under the risk of arrest. So [sarcasm]bravo[/sarcasm] for whoever did this (most likely Mossad) for putting out citizens in danger, and doing the same to other Europeans. Looks like the terroristst that did this, could care less who they hurt when carrying out there revenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Israel will no doubt be blamed

The Dubai police have fingered Israel. It'll be interesting to see if Israel admit to it, and if so, what action Ireland and the UK will take against Israel. The Chief of Police in Dubai have called for the head of Mossad to be arrested.

I can't see Ireland doing much about it, but it might be a different story across the water.
    Foreign Secretary David Miliband said the use of the passports was "an outrage", and Israel's ambassador to the UK, Ron Prosor, was summoned to the foreign office on Thursday to discuss the issue.
    The BBC's Middle East editor Jeremy Bowen said if there was proof Israel had used British passports "for some nefarious uses of its Mossad service - as they have in the past with Canadian and New Zealand ones", then relations between the UK and Israel would be "in a crisis".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,309 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Nice to see Isreal getting a non innocent victim for once,,,, bravo Isreal.
    Nice to see them continuing to kill Hamas.

the_syco wrote: »

A tricky one, if we are to follow the example of Isreal then hamas killing high ranking member of the IDF or the Isreali parliment is OK too.

This will not provide a solution, both side need to be grabbed by the scruff and given a few slaps by the international community otherwise the current slaughter will continue.
    2c

• Registered Users Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭conorhal

And yet it get's mentioned as an almost amusing afterthought that al-Mabhouh himself was in fact travelling on a fake pasport, but I don't see any outrage about the ease that that actual terrorists have accessing forged documents. Surely that's far more worrying.

conorhal wrote: »
    And yet it get's mentioned as an almost amusing afterthought that al-Mabhouh himself was in fact travelling on a fake pasport, but I don't see any outrage about the ease that that actual terrorists have accessing forged documents. Surely that's far more worrying.

The passport issue is a minor diversion in my opinion, the real issue is comdoning murder has become prevelant on both sides of this conflict.

The Pro Palestinian side still has some people (not around here) who feel the murdering Isreali's is Ok and the pro Isreal side still has some people who feel murdering palestinians is OK.

Its not OK, under no circumstance is murder because of land or religion OK.

Why?

Mossad (if it was them) put real people in danger because the passports used by them were linked to real people, and after this murder, those passport details would have been put on a watch list.
    One of the Irish people effected was due to travel in the near future so there was a real risk that they might have been arrested. Depending on where they travelled to, they might have been put in a very dangerous situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

The 11 man team of assassins who strangled an unarmed man and put innocent passport holders at risk were pretty nasty as well

riiight because the israeli hit squad aren,t terrorists.They may act in exactly the same way but somehow they,re better.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

jonsnow wrote: »
    riiight because the israeli hit squad aren,t terrorists.They may act in exactly the same way but somehow they,re better.:rolleyes:

Not many things lower than Hamas, possibly Pete Doherty fans!

fontanalis wrote: »
    Not many things lower than Hamas, possibly Pete Doherty fans!

The murderers of 320 children in gaza in less than month early 2009 would be significantly lower than hamas.

The IDF murdered more children in a month than hamas/palestinian terrorists in a generation..... now thats low, as low as you can get really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

The murderers of 320 children in gaza in less than month early 2009 would be significantly lower than hamas.

The IDF murdered more children in a month than hamas/palestinian terrorists in a generation..... now thats low, as low as you can get really

Any group that justifies the killing of innoecnts through their imaginary friend is scum, muslim, jew christian etc
    Just don't expect me to get misty eyed for some Hamas scum.

The assassins who shot an unarmed man and put innocent passport holders at risk were pretty nasty as well

Shot!! Shot!!!??

What are you talking about sir??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

the_syco wrote: »
    Hamas was elected to lead Palestine so I'm guessing democracy is not your big thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 1969

Once again Israel has shown absolutley no respect for human life.
    At what point will the world stand up to this Apartheid state who seem to have a licence to kill whoever they want, whenever they want, and wherever they want.

It's high time Ireland shut down the Israeli Embassy and kicked them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

1969 wrote: »
    At what point will the world stand up to this Apartheid state who seem to have a licence to kill whoever they want, whenever they want, and wherever they want.

You wanna shut down the American Embassy and kick them out also?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

SLUSK wrote: »
    Hamas was elected to lead Palestine so I'm guessing democracy is not your big thing.
    Its not theirs either. Just ask their opposition party in Gaza if you can find one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

This was an act of terrorism by all accounts. If members of Hamas went and killed a top ranked IDF military leader, you can be sure that Flutterinbantam would be on here expressing that it was an act of terrorism.

All this does is destabilize peace. The fact that they used Irish passports and put Irish citizens at risk, says all you need to know about their character. Israel has alot of explaining to do.

Shot!! Shot!!!??

What are you talking about sir??

Fine.Fixed it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Why do people think Mossad is so inept as to have their agents captured on closed circuit tv ?

1969 wrote: »

After hamas took power in gaza, there is TV footage showing their gunmen pulling opposition palestinians out of buildings and murdering them in cold blood - hamas democrats..don't think so !:(

Fine.Fixed it for you.

Suffocated

G'night jonboy;)

anymore wrote: »
    After hamas took power in gaza, there is TV footage showing their gunmen pulling opposition palestinians out of buildings and murdering them in cold blood - hamas democrats..don't think so !:(

Why not? Can't you be both democratic and a shower of murdering bastards at the same time? Like the state of Israel in this case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭feicim

Its says a lot about our government when you compare their reaction to the reaction of other countries. They obviously don't really give a **** about the issue.

It doesn't involve them directly (protecting the reputation and integrity of Irish sovereignty is of no interest to them) and this shows by their limp response.

Australia's view...
    Mr Rudd said: 'If Australian passports are being used or forged by any state, let alone for the purpose of assassination, this is of the deepest concern and we are getting to the bottom of this now.
    'We will not leave a single stone unturned.'

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0225/dubai.html

Now the Paddies...
    This morning, the Minister for Foreign Affairs Micheál Martin said that the incident was very serious and had put the security of Irish citizens at risk.

And not only that but..
    but he (Mr Martin) had serious concerns about the issue.

Mr Cowen said
    will continue to be pursued to the greatest extent possible*

*I.e. we'll go through the motions until everybody has forgotten about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

feicim would you give it over wat u have quoted from australia and what you have quoted form ireland both say the exact same thing you just choose to interrpret them differently to have them say what you want to say

I think the Irish response was pretty much on par with the Aussie one.

No way Jose.

Irish response was wishy washy, and as Feicim said, Meehawl just hopes the thing will go away and not cause any problems while he acts the statesman and visits Gaza.

Aussies sound like they mean business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,089 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I doubt it.
    As the Australian and Israeli intelligence services have a close relationship just like MI5 and mossad do. Therefore the Australians, just like the British, are more than likely going through the motions as well, they're just better at convincing people there is conviction behind their public statements due to their choice of language. close cooperation between these intelligence agencies means what you have in public is not what you have privately. in other words, it suits all parties that this is forgotten about quickly, so the mossad will know anything said in public is just for effect.

Yes , I would agree with you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

dvpower wrote: »
    Can't you be both democratic and a shower of murdering bastards at the same time? Like the state of Israel in this case.
    Ask the Hamas opposition party in Gaza . . . if you can find them

Why isn't there as much fuss about the twleve innocent Afghan civilians murdered by US and UK forces the week before this incident ?

newthread.gif

it's a free forum. Create a thread and we'll discuss it. I'm sure you'll get more than a few pages out of it.

dvpower wrote: »
    Why not? Can't you be both democratic and a shower of murdering bastards at the same time? Like the state of Israel in this case.
    Without wishing to be defending Israel, if you counted the numbers of Muslims who have been murdered in the Middle East in the past fifty years, you would find that far, far more have been murdered by their fellow Muslims than by non - muslims.

You might also find that the muslim countries that have commited the most atrocities and can be attributed to most deaths were US backed!!!!!

No 1 example Iraq...... 1,000,000 people died in the war with Iran

You might also find that the muslim countries that have commited the most atrocities and can be attributed to most deaths were US backed!!!!!

No 1 example Iraq...... 1,000,000 people died in the war with Iran

1979-1989: Afghan Mujahideen Battle the Soviets

And the name of the country that backed the Mujahideen ?:confused:

1979-1989: Afghan Mujahideen Battle the Soviets

And the name of the country that backed the Mujahideen ?:confused:

That would be the good old US of A :(

A lot of deaths, millions for nothing. Afghanistan and Iraq are still a mess, people still die every hour. Life is cheap... WHY

That would be the good old US of A :(

A lot of deaths, millions for nothing. Afghanistan and Iraq are still a mess, people still die every hour. Life is cheap... WHY
    And the name of the country that stepped in militarily to protect the lives of muslims in eastern europe about ten years ago ?

Looks like the Hamas leader taken out in Dubai recently had strong links with Iran and militancy there.

Israel will no doubt be blamed but it would appear that that this person was wanted in jordan and Egypt.

I wonder how many arab countries supplied information to help Israel track this man down ?
    If Israel was involved, that is.

And the name of the country that stepped in militarily to protect the lives of muslims in eastern europe about ten years ago ?

Nato is not a country,

As far as i know, NATO isnt some autonomus organisation that operates as it sees fit.
    In fact i dont know if NATO has ever done anything without the US's permission !
    If Israel didnt exist, if the US didnt exist, the middle east would still be in turmoil.

!
    If Israel didnt exist, if the US didnt exist, the middle east would still be in turmoil.

What a remarkable reply,

I was going to put you on ignore but if you keep up this standard I will be your no 1 follower.

continue :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,089 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I wonder how many arab countries supplied information to help Israel track this man down ?

the more interesting question is which senior figure in hamas is working for mossad. this guy was more than likely betrayed by someone close to him.
    any intelligence agencies worth its salt will have spies high up in their enemies organisation. supporters of the IRA know this fact only too well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

The more i hear about this case the more uncomfortable i feel about it. Hard to believe Mossad are still allowed to operate like this.