Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm gonna bottle it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭runrabbit

I need to make a plan for the rest of the week too, we should try and salvage something from this week! My hope is to get out for an hour or so at the weekend - I missed a 12-mile last week too but I think I'll only wreck myself now trying to fit it in before the half!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

claralara wrote: »
    Aaargh...talk about being stung rapid for my conscious decision to not have a positive outlook on my training this week!!

I could not be further off the beaten track for Waterford right now!! How about yourself?

Oops sorry!!

Yeah I am the same tbh :(

Damn monster migraine yesterday meant my week has started out sh!te. I cant get to the gym until tomorrow which will mean a flipping WEEK without running. I am not happy.

Im getting a little downbeat again. AND I heard the weather forecast predicts snow etc until at least Wed next week :eek:

Guys, I am afraid Waterford isnt going to happen at all tbh!

Anyway I am hoping for 12 miler on Sunday, but anything over 8 at this point would be good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

runrabbit wrote: »
    I need to make a plan for the rest of the week too, we should try and salvage something from this week! My hope is to get out for an hour or so at the weekend - I missed a 12-mile last week too but I think I'll only wreck myself now trying to fit it in before the half!

Operation salvage-training is go go go!! :D

Wednesday 1st December
    - 5miles / 8k – 42.50 – just did this on the treadmill at lunchtime there. It wasn’t as awful as Monday. Maybe I will manage to get used to it for a bit. 2 hours at the weekend could be a bit of a push but if I need to, I’ll give it a bash. I just had it at an incline of 1. Back at my desk and I’m still sweating…nice. Another downside to indoor running is the heat!!
    yungwan wrote: »
    Im getting a little downbeat again. AND I heard the weather forecast predicts snow etc until at least Wed next week :eek:

Guys, I am afraid Waterford isnt going to happen at all tbh!

Anyway I am hoping for 12 miler on Sunday, but anything over 8 at this point would be good!

No! I’m the only one who’s allowed to get down and moan in here! Give yourself a few days to recover from the Migraine and then next week will come and go and we’ll all be in the same position i.e. pee’d off and doubting ourselves. The thing is though, if the weather picks up and the half goes ahead, we’ll all get there, we’ll all cross the finish line at some stage in whatever state, we’ll have a bit of craic and we can chalk it down and start to focus on new goals for the new year! So chin up and let’s get through the next 9 days!

where are we all planning on running at the weekend? If we get out on our feet for an hour we'll be flying!

Thursday 2nd December
    - Nothing done today...oops! If there's such a thing as a 'good excuse' then I have one. (I think!) New addition to the family today so I am officially a cool aunty :cool: As a result the evening has been spent eating and drinking...mmm champers! I'm actually a bottomless pit these days :)

I WILL get 30 minutes of something done tomorrow and I WILL have a productive weekend. I have a niece to train for the 2030 DCM!

Aw congrats on your new niece! Definitely a reason to celebrate!

Hi Claralara

Any training over the weekend?

Unfortunately as you might see on my log I am being a wuss and backing out of Waterford :(

You still planning on it?

Friday 3rd December
    I managed to get a 45minute walk trek in the snow in. It was a round trip to the off licence for lots of red wine so I can’t claim any exercise points!

Saturday 4th December
    An impromptu 12 pubs of Christmas… No running! Oops. I took my first tumble on the ice despite having been uncharacteristically sensible and wearing my wellies into town. No major damage done, just a bruised bum and even more bruised ego!

Sunday 5th December
    I spent all day talking about going to the gym and even managed to get in and out of my gym gear about 3 times. However, I eventually talked myself out of it having burnt the dinner and hit the chocolate and the couch feeling sorry for myself. Then my brother called in and basically told me to get up off my lazy ass and go for a run! I suppose I have to thank him for his honesty… The hangover wouldn’t allow for a run so I went for the cross trainer instead. The last 20 minutes were almost pukey but I managed to hold it in!!
    - 62mins – X Trainer – Intervals levels 7 / 12

I don’t know what to be at this week or when the decision on Waterford will be made. The website isn’t saying anything about cancellation just yet. I will not be completing it in a decent time at this stage but I think I’ll definitely go ahead and run it regardless if it goes ahead. Sure I’ve nothing to lose.

This week’s plan is totally plucked out of mid air…:-
    Monday – 45mins X trainer
    Tuesday – 5miles (treadmill most likely)
    Wednesday – 35mins X trainer
    Thursday – 2/3 easy miles before work – hopefully outdoors
    Friday – Rest
    Saturday – Waterford Half Marathon :eek:

Sounds like a fun weekend. If last night's weather forecast is correct then there should be a thaw by the weekend - it's due to hit a balmy 7 degrees on Thursday! After hearing that I went off to pack my gear bag - I'm changing my mind about it a few times a day! At the moment I think I'm going to go for it, if the hip improves a bit. I'd say my time will be woeful and I'll be leaving my watch at home but the money's paid now so I should give it a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sounds like a fun weekend. If last night's weather forecast is correct then there should be a thaw by the weekend - it's due to hit a balmy 7 degrees on Thursday! After hearing that I went off to pack my gear bag - I'm changing my mind about it a few times a day! At the moment I think I'm going to go for it, if the hip improves a bit. I'd say my time will be woeful and I'll be leaving my watch at home but the money's paid now so I should give it a go!

Feeling similar about it. Haven't run in a week, reckon I might just do it though for the sake of getting a 13 miler in.

All of the above sums up exactly how I’m feeling about it! I just think I’ve nothing to lose if it goes ahead. Race is paid for, accommodation is paid for, I have no other plans for this weekend because of it (that said, I’m sure I could find some way of entertaining myself should the trip not happen!) so why not! As runrabbit says – leave the watch at home and just enjoy it and as rainbow Kirby says – at the very worst treat it as a long run! We can burn a few extra calories in anticipation of Christmas!

Monday 6th December
    I was so wrecked yesterday; got stuck in work a bit later than I would have liked and then fell asleep on the bus which is something I never do! I did manage to get myself up to the gym – only because I’d posted my random plan for the week though!
    - 49 min X trainer à 3min W/U – intervals levels 7 / 13 – 3min C/D. As usual, I was glad I did it but my legs were pooped last night!

Race is paid for, accommodation is paid for, I have no other plans for this weekend because of it (that said, I’m sure I could find some way of entertaining myself should the trip not happen!) so why not! As runrabbit says – leave the watch at home and just enjoy it and as rainbow Kirby says – at the very worst treat it as a long run! We can burn a few extra calories in anticipation of Christmas!

At the rate people are dropping out on the Waterford 1/2 thread it could just be the 3 of us running it. Or jogging/walking/crawling it in my case :( Maybe I'm mad to think about it - it's really going to be the roads that decide it for me, whether I can make it down on Friday evening or not.

So the decision will be made by tomorrow afternoon about Waterford. I don’t even know how I feel about it anymore. Indifferent I suppose! Whatev trev! :pac:

Tuesday 7th December
    - 5 treadmill miles (measly incline of 1) – a slow enough 47 minutes.
    The first 30 minutes were actually grand. I was all distracted looking around me and listening to the radio and just thinking about general crap! But then I dropped my phone and had to stop for a second and when I started back up my legs began to feel pretty heavy and tired. At that point I was thinking how the hell would I be able to go for another hour and a half on Saturday?! So I really don’t know at this stage. I’m glad it’s up to the Gods above and not me to make the decision. If they think I should run then it’d be rude not to!

So the decision will be made by tomorrow afternoon about Waterford. I don’t even know how I feel about it anymore. Indifferent I suppose! Whatev trev! :pac:

I'm nervous about it already! I just hope I don't keel over or end up walking so much of it that it takes me over 3 hours

There we go, decision made - no Half Marathon for me this month. I can't do the 18th. (12 pubs of christmas is a valid excuse right?!)

Now I don't know if I have the energy to get myself to the gym this evening. I'm just leaving work...although I have my stuff with me...inspiring words anyone?? I need my brother to call me fat again!!

I think I'll challenge myself to do 13 miles on saturday now...weather permitting of course!

Wednesday 8th December
    - 47 mins X Trainer - intervals - levels 7 / 12
    Well I sucked the motivation from somewhere and hit the gym. Far more satisfying than spending money I don't have...eh :rolleyes:

4 days in a row in the gym this week - I'll be getting my money's worth this month anyway. Probably for the first time ever!

Thursday 9th December
    - Day off - socialising to be done! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Wednesday 8th December
    - 47 mins X Trainer - intervals - levels 7 / 12
    Well I sucked the motivation from somewhere and hit the gym. Far more satisfying than spending money I don't have...eh :rolleyes:

4 days in a row in the gym this week - I'll be getting my money's worth this month anyway. Probably for the first time ever!

Thursday 9th December
    - Day off - socialising to be done! :D

Enjoys the beers ;)

Saturday 10th December
    Longest run ever today! :D
    14 miles in the park with Menoscemo, Digijem and RK. Pace 9:50. Really enjoyed this despite having been very apprehensive about the distance and lack of running lately. I got a bit of a pain in my left foot after about 7 miles but Menoscemo took the world of physio into his own hands and led me through a few wonderfully icy puddles for some alternative medicinal therapy. It worked though! It feels a little tight now but I’ll get the golf balls and the Epsom salts on it!
    A day of firsts for me:
    - First run longer than half marathon distance
    - First group run
    - First time to go for a training run in the park
    - First cross country experience...:rolleyes:
    I probably deserve some sort of a medal?!
    It was great to get out with the lads – cheers! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭maria74

Well done..whole load of firsts there! Maybe the "rest" over last couple of weeks has a silver lining...altho dont let anybody who is posting on the whos not running in this weather thread know!!;)

well done Claralara on your running today.
    You did very well to do 14 miles.

Sometimes it would be great to be near Dublin so I could join you guys on such runs. :(

Enjoy your rest day 2moro.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

well done on the 14miles, :)

Sunday 12th December
    - Rest - my poor body needed this and it was wonderful hanging out with the couch and the contents of the fridge! :D

Monday 13th December
    - 54 mins X Trainer - 3minW/U, intervals levels 8 / 13, 4 min C/D - tough after a long day in work, i'll sleep well tonight!

Intervals tmrw eve on the track in UCD...bit nervous about that one!

Not sure about the plan for the week, pretty busy with work and christmas dinners so i'll just see how it all pans out. I also need to think about my plan for the next few months - Waterford Half in January and Connemara Half in April and I really have no idea what to be doing with myself.

In other news, I ordered a Garmin 110 today...Happy Christmas TO ME :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Sunday 12th December

In other news, I ordered a Garmin 110 today...Happy Christmas TO ME :D

You'll love it!! :) Well done on the LSR at the weekend. My runners are covered in cobwebs at this stage and my training log is now probably on page 27...... :rolleyes:

Don’t bother rooting it out – just start a New Years Resolution one in January with me!

Tuesday 15th December
    - Intervals with RK & Menoscemo – 1.5mile warm up @ 9.10 pace – 10 X 400m (varying wildly between 1.40 – 1.45!) – 1 mile cool down @ just over 9min/mile pace – total about 5 miles.
    - As advised, my legs feel like lead and I’m a little bit stiff all over today! Fun times. And again, despite my apprehension I did enjoy this. I definitely didn’t think I’d be able for it so I probably didn’t push myself hard enough at the beginning. That’s hindsight though; at the time I was fecked! :)

I have an awful demon on my shoulder now egging me on to a spring marathon…grrr. Gonna tip along until Waterford on 15th Jan (not following any particular plans but hopefully get some good long runs in) and then make an executive decision..:eek:

I should have about 2 hours between finishing work and going for dinner in town this eve so I brought my gear and hopefully get a few pre-eats miles in or get to the gym for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

I have an awful demon on my shoulder now egging me on to a spring marathon…grrr. Gonna tip along until Waterford on 15th Jan (not following any particular plans but hopefully get some good long runs in) and then make an executive decision..:eek:

There's some great running being done on this log, and I think that you are well on the road to your first marathon, a lot sooner than October 2011 ;) Keep up the good work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

10 X 400m (varying wildly between 1.40 – 1.45!)

Not True!! You were definately doing the last few well under 1:40 (about 1.37-1.38 or 6:30/mile pace)! As I said yesterday, you defiantely have both speed and Endurance in those legs and you weren't anywhere near dying at the end of 14 on saturday. I reckon you should upgrade that conemarra half entry to the full marathon :pac:

Sounds like you're well able for it! I'll be following your log with interest in the new year - I'll be starting from scratch again no doubt but I'll live vicariously through you!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

You're doing great! You should deffo sign up for a Spring marathon! Go on, you know you want to! :p

Well they were some wonderful comments to wake up to – I presume you’re all going to join me on this road to self destruction I’m initiating??
    menoscemo wrote: »
    I reckon you should upgrade that conemarra half entry to the full marathon :pac:

Aaargh enough with the peer pressure! I'm too weak to say no..:eek:

I ended up having to do a 5 mile trek around town on work errands yesterday so I was all ready to talk myself out of a run by the time 6 o clock came around. But it was either run or sit at my desk and wait for dinner so I decided to just run. Then I discovered that I had no socks with me so running would have been blister hell. I just went to the gym and hopped up on some random machine called an Arc Trainer that I’d never used before. Pressed a few buttons and lashed up the levels but I’m not sure what I was doing. It was tough though so I suppose that means something. I was glad I went though because I think I ended up eating the equivalent of a small poultry farm followed by the contents of a chocolate factory after it! :o My legs are totally shot today though!

Wednesday 15th December
    - 45 mins Arc Trainer…

Thursday 16th December
    - Rest

Friday 17th December
    - Rest…Christmas party tonight so life itself will be a struggle tomorrow..

I hope to get a long run in on Saturday – anything over 10miles and I’d be happy. That will be dependent on a number of things including the weather and actually being able to get out of bed after a tiring week… fingers crossed! :)

I'm sitting at my desk with a sore head, a 1.5l bottle of water and a bag of chips from Beshoffs and I'm getting an awful time...they're calling me the face of marathon running...and I don't think it's supposed to be a compliment :rolleyes:

My garmin just arrived. I think I'll have to try it out (maybe not today though...) and just wrap up the empty box to put under the tree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭maria74

I'm sitting at my desk with a sore head, a 1.5l bottle of water and a bag of chips from Beshoffs and I'm getting an awful time...they're calling me the face of marathon running...and I don't think it's supposed to be a compliment :rolleyes:

QUOTE]

Ha ha..sounds like a perfect pre christmas afternoon..it is SO cold outside!