Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm gonna bottle it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Runways stock Mizuno, picked up a pair of Wave Creations there during the week... Apparently they are good for wide feet.

Change of plan, not gonna be around for the Calcutta Run so gonna have to pass on that burger :) I'm sure we'll do another Boards meetup after a race in the summer, always good to put faces to (knick)names :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

xebec wrote: »
    Runways stock Mizuno, picked up a pair of Wave Creations there during the week... Apparently they are good for wide feet.

Cheers. 'Wide feet'...how PC. The amount of people who gasped at how swollen my ankle was until I showed them my other one and then had to eat their words and say that that I actually have lovely cankles! Haha.

Friday 14th
    - 30 minutes fairly handy X trainer
    - Upper body weights - hadn't lifted anything in a couple of weeks so found it pretty tough. Amazing how quickly you can lose strength (the teeny bit I may have!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭dublinrunner

hey!
    Glad to hear the physio went well! good effort with the cross training, sure the spinning will keep u fit as a fiddle!
    Looking forward to getting back on the rd myself..just not likely due to stupid virus... but hopefully next week! Anyway keep up the good work!!! need new shoes myself but have the opposite problem, narrow foot (have horrible claw like feet...!! ) gonna get gait analysis i think, sort out all my aches and pains! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Wonkagirl

claralara wrote: »
    Amazing how quickly you can lose strength (the teeny bit I may have!!)

it's unREAL how quickly you lose it- never ceases to amaze me- i went to the gym for my first weights workout in 2 weeks this am and already i had to go down 1kg on my upper body free weights.

only reading this thread for the first time today, well done on your efforts, youre an inspiration, i'm kinda at the ''i can run 5 miles why the HELL woudl anyone want to go longer than that'' stage like you were last yr, so you've spurred me on now;)

It's actually ridiculous! I could have done with dropping a kilo on each of the free weights alright but I grunted and groaned through on the same weights as I had last done but could not do the same amount of reps!

Good work on getting to 5miles and just keep with it. It's a lot easier with the (relatively) nice weather and the longer evenings. I promise it'll get more enjoyable as you keep with it. Take it from someone who's been there - I genuinely hated it!!!

Sunday 16th May
    - 45minutes spinning class - it was TOUGH but brilliant!
    - Upper body weights - again, they were tough but hopefully I can regain a bit of strength over the next few weeks.

Great to get a bit of physical activity in after a very quiet and lazy week. And my diet has been appalling! :o

In other news, the ankle is really strengthening up. I'm putting all of my weight on it and consciously giving a full range of movement with each step. Doing my physio exercises too which involves a version of what I imagine foam rolling must be, but with a tennis ball instead! All fingers crossed anyway.

Also found a 10% discount voucher for runways in my goodie bag from the Kildare half :) I'm so excited to get the gait analysed and purchase new runners!

hey! Hope the ankle feelin better today? Just remember , your still spinning and that does transfer! With regards to the diet, i have never had a worse week in my life, i think there must have been a full moon or something, im currently tucking into swiss roll...cant stop, its best to just go with it! :D

I was eating a doughnut at that exact time...oops. And just had a huge slice of mum's sticky toffee birthday cake.. Sure feck it - could be doing far worse!! And I don't know aout you but I'm still burning calories since the 9th of May...ha!

Ankle is ok... still a bit sore and couldn't see myself running in the next few days. :( I'm certainly not going to push it anyway, it wouldn't be worth it. Physio again tomorrow and hoping for good news. I've probably stopped resting it as much as I should but it's impossible to stay off it!

I get to stand at the finish line of the docklands fun run tonight and cheer on my runnning bud who I've been neglecting of late :o Hopefully I'll be back on track with her by the end of the month.

Tuesday 18th May
    - 45 minutes spinning class
    - 45 minutes core stability class (on a ball...entertaining is one word...let's just stay I need to work on my core stability!)

Thusday 19th May
    - Upper Body weights (getting easier after the pain of last week...)
    - 45 mins Cross Trainer (My god the boredom!! Couldn't do the extra 15 minutes to bring me to the hour)

Physio update: my calves are ridiculously tight which is essentially causing the ankle pain. Had a great (painful!) session yesterday which has worked wonders. One more session on tuesday and he said I should be running out of the place. Fingers crossed anyway. Tis time to invest in one of these foam rollers ye learned men and women speak of!

yes foam roller is great! I only got mine recently..cant believe how much pain something so simple looking can cause!! That and compression socks for after my long run have helped alot with my sore calf muscles! :)

I AM GOING OUT OF MY MIND!! It was 2 weeks yesterday since the half i.e. since I've been for a run and I cannot see myself getting out this week again. So instead of enjoying a nice run in the sun yesterday, I got to sweat it out in the sauna of a spin studio!

Sunday 23rd May
    - 60 minute spinning class
    - 60 minute body pump class - yuck yuck yuck!!

I need to go for a run :mad::mad::mad:
    Having to go to the gym for exercise is making me very lazy! That plus I'm REALLY missing it :(

Tuesday 25th May
    - 4mile walk - quite slow but definitely the most promising outing since the ankle turned evil. Nice to get some fresh air in too.

Wednesday 26th May
    - 45 minute spinning class
    - Upper Body weights program

Rest of week plan:
    Thursday - Body Balance Class (need to work on my flexibility big time!!) / X trainer / Weights
    Friday - Spinning / Weights
    Sunday - Spinning or X trainer (depending on how wrecked I am after a weekend away on the booze.... :o

Thursday 27th May
    - Upper Body weights program.
    A little bit of a sore ankle and a lot bit of feeling sorry myself led to no X training or Balance.

Friday 28th May
    - 45 minute spinning class
    Feeling a lot better today. Less of this feeling sorry for myself and more get up and go for another couple of weeks!!

Saturday 29th & Sunday 30th
    - Was away for the weekend so plenty of wine and dirty food and zero physical activity.

Monday 31st
    - 45 minute spinning

Tuesday 1st June
    - X Trainer - 60 minute intervals - levels 6 / 10

Wednesday 2nd June
    - Babysitting 1year old all day. No gymming but was totally wrecked so counting it as a full body workout! Kudos to all of you with children who manage to get everything done and still have the motivation to train for marathons...sheesh!!

Thursday 3rd June
    - 45 minute spinning

Friday 4th June
    - Upper Body weight program
    - X Trainer - 60 minute intervals - levels 6 / 11

* Need to get a new weights program. I don't think I'm pushing myself hard enough.
    * I think the ankle is good enough to get the gait done and get me some new runners so yaay!!
    * That said I'm gonna keep up the cross training for another couple of weeks. No point in going hell for leather and hurting it again.
    * ... which means I'll be walking the mini marathon on monday :( but there's a good group of friends and family walking so it should be a bit of craic.

That's all folks! Ha, I should really get a paper diary for my ramblings like those!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Looks like you're making the best of a bad situation there!

Good luck on Monday, and good luck with the ankle.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭DigiJem

Some serious effort the last week despite the ankle injury, fair play to you. Hang it there, you're doing the right thing to let it heal up properly. Enjoy yourself tomorrow, my last experience of the mini-mathon was walking with friends and the craic all along the route was brill.

Cheers guys! Ah all the self pity and complaining was getting me nowhere - it was more exhausting than actually running! It's not like I'm a pro marathon runner who's lost their livelihood. Once I'm staying on top of it I figure it shouldn't be too difficult to get back into it. Aiming for a decent race series so fingers crossed I'll be well back on track by then.

Hopefully the rain will stay away for the hour or two (no idea how long it takes to walk 10k?? :rolleyes:) tomorrow anyway. It'll be a good charitable day out followed by a nice feed. And I don't have to stay off the bank holiday booze today now either... :D

Saturday 5th June
    - 60 minute spinning

Sunday 6th June
    - 60 minute Body Pump Class
    - X Trainer - 30 minutes - level 5 (tried to keep it speedy enough!)

Monday 7th June
    - Walked the Mini Marathon in the lashings of rain. Well done to everyone who ran and walked with a smile on their face..I'm not so sure I did :o I was hungry and wet and cold and grumpy and I couldn't run! Ha. And I had to get over myself fairly quickly when I realised I wasn't the only one! It took us over an hour and a half (a nightmare for me but the walkers I was with had a ball). Anyway upon warm reflection, with my hot cup of tea and my bag of chips, it was a good day out for a good cause which I would otherwise have spent in front of the TV on my rear end!!

Tuesday 8th June
    - X Trainer - 30 minutes - level 5 - a lot speedier than sunday
    - Upper body weights program - a new improved taste of hell which had me sore and stiff before I even made it out the door of the gym. Good pain though. I may be turning into a sadist!

I'm almost* getting a good* 5k time on the X trainer these days!! * Loose use of the words almost and good!!

Wednesday 8th June
    - 45 minute spinning

I hope I'm not gonna get kicked out of here because of my lack of running efforts...:o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

well done on keeping up the fitness!

Hope you'll be ready to run soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭runrabbit

Well done on all your cross-training! I'm currently out injured and I can't do anything except some very gentle stretching - I'm getting more grumpy and depressed as the days go by. I need to take a leaf out of your book and stay more positive - I might hit the cross-trainer in the gym towards the end of the week if I feel up to it.

runrabbit wrote: »
    Well done on all your cross-training! I'm currently out injured and I can't do anything except some very gentle stretching - I'm getting more grumpy and depressed as the days go by. I need to take a leaf out of your book and stay more positive - I might hit the cross-trainer in the gym towards the end of the week if I feel up to it.

I know how you feel but I now think it's mind over matter. I was getting seriously annoyed and down with the injury; all I wanted to to was go for a run. But since I decided to hit the cross training and not aggravate it to get better quicker I've been feeling much better. I think I might try and run around the garden on the grass for 5 or 10 minutes tomorrow and see how that goes. It has been 5 weeks now :eek: but these things happen. I'll ease back in again over the next few weeks and hopefully you won't be too far behind me! PMA eh??

Thursday 10th June
    - Day off :D Went bike shopping, bought a bike, collecting it tomorrow...
    carrera-gryphon-v-spec-medium-performance-hybrid-bike-08.jpg Can't wait to give it a go, hope it's alright as I know very little about bikes.. :)

Friday 11th June
    - Upper Body Weights
    - X trainer - 45 minutes - Intervals - Levels 6 / 11

Saturday 12th June
    - 60 min Spinning

Don't know much about bikes either I'm still cycling the mountain bike my parents got me for my Leaving Results in 1993! It looks like a serious bike!

Well may you cycle it! :)

Sunday 14th June
    - Rest. No bike - it won't be in until Friday. I was a little bit happy about that given the weather and my hangover yesterday :o

Monday 15th June
    - Upper Body Weights
    - 45 minute Spinning

Now I must turn off the internet and the phone and all access to the outside world and try and do some study. I am an almighty joke at the minute and exams in 2 weeks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

claralara wrote: »
    Thursday 10th June
    - Day off :D Went bike shopping, bought a bike, collecting it tomorrow...
    carrera-gryphon-v-spec-medium-performance-hybrid-bike-08.jpg Can't wait to give it a go, hope it's alright as I know very little about bikes.. :)
    Congrats! Keep it between the hedges!

Haha, thanks. If I can keep it upright I'll be doing well!

NEWSFLASH: I'm just in from a 4k run! Yaay! :D Took it very easy but yaay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭southofnowhere

Great stuff. Hope you're feeling okay today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

Thats great Claralara, it must have so frustrating the last few weeks. Good for you!

Great stuff. Hope you're feeling okay today.

I had planned to take Tuesday off as a pre-emptive strike on the pain that I was dreading to wake up with but I was grand the next day. Not 100% amazing but certainly no worse than it had been. Thank god!

Tuesday 15th June
    - Rest - took it off anyway despite not having an excuse to do so.

Wednesday 16th June
    - Upper Body weights
    - 45 min spinning

Thursday 17th June
    - 4 slow miles - just under 40 minutes. Very slow but I'm being very cautious. I also think I've forgotten how to walk / run on my foot as result of being so precious on it for the last 5 weeks but hopefully that'll pass and I'll stop thinking about EVERY SINGLE time my right foot hits the ground - I can't imagine that'd be much fun in a 10 mile run. Happy out for the minute anyway.

I also think the spinning must be doing something for the legs as the first mile of this run is uphill and I always dread it and struggle but I felt like I was on the flat last night. Maybe it was the negative speed I was going though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Thta's great that you're back running after the injury and well done on the cross-training in between, seems like you're fitness has really improved with the spinning. May be a good thing to add into my training if it helps with the hills :).

Best of luck with the comeback. Have you signed up for the full then?

shazkea wrote: »
    Best of luck with the comeback. Have you signed up for the full then?

Cheers! Good god no, I wouldn't be able for it. Nor would the people I live / work / socialise with - I wouldn't be able to talk about anything else! haha. Maybe next year... :rolleyes: People in here are like an advocating devil on my shoulder putting ideas in my head. ;)

So I was a bit of a brat this weekend. Did nothing Friday except go for ‘one’ drink to relax after a day of study. That entailed getting home in the bright hours of Saturday morning. Walked around Bray Head for the afternoon enjoying the sunshine as I wasn’t in any state to do much more. Sunday was rather more productive – got a good bit of study done, made it to the gym, collected my new bike, got my gait analysis done and gots me some new runners J and then went on to eat and drink everything that crossed my path at a BBQ for the evening. Happy days. What exams!!
    The new runners are Saucony – it was between those a pair of Mizonu Wave Creations but the Saucony were a better fit for my high arches. I’m delighted with them and cannot believe the state of what I had been running in! Went for a 4 mile test run this afternoon and felt like I was wearing a pair of gloves and running on cushioned paths! The guys in Amphibian King were fantastic – I even learned loads and will definitely be going back there.
    Also took the bike for a test drive – had to collect the car from the party house from yesterday. I really hadn’t planned on that glass of wine... owning a bike is brilliant! Ha.

Sunday 20th June
    - 60 minute spinning

Monday 21st June
    - 4 mile run – same loop as Thursday – 37mins. Don’t know if it was my new rocket fuelled runners or a bit of bravery on the ankle but it was a good one!
    - 7 mile easy easy cycle – I don’t think it remotely counts as training given the speed I was going. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t terrifying motorists all around me due to my loose cannon style of cycling!

Good luck with the new bike, and the new runners.
    Must get myself a pair of cushioned path gloves for my feet :rolleyes:

Tuesday 22nd June
    - A good study day - only left the desk to eat, make coffee and use the bathroom. And an hour of tv before bed to melt the brain cells and anything that may have been absorbed.

Wednesday 23rd June
    - 6 miles - 55.30 - quite tough but enjoyable. Good to be back.

Also a BAD study day. I've read about 100 pages and I severely doubt anything has gone in. My eyes are glazing over and I cannot concentrate. Thought the run earlier might have helped and while it cleared my head while I was out and gave me maybe an hour's concentration that has well and truly left me now. Now I'm just rambling...anything to not have to go back to those books. :(:mad:

Good for you getting back on track with the running. Good luck with the new bike, new runners and the study!

Thursday 23rd June
    - Decided I didn't have time for any running / cycling / gym malark for a week so chained myself to the desk to aid the not-so-slow road to insanity that I'm on at the minute. Ugh.

Friday 24th June
    Decided to screw the plan to stay chained to the desk - couldn't handle it!
    - 4.2 miles - 36.25

Saturday 25th June
    - 4.1 miles - 34.44

Holy crap it is hot out there these days. I'm now thinking the injury during the height of that good weather wasn't the worst thing...

I'm thinking I'll set a sub 40 goal for the Adidas 5 mile and concentrate on that for the minute... :rolleyes: I've discovered that studying is very conducive to making life plans!!

Sunday 27th June
    - Today will continue to be a day of high degree cramming.. can't wait :D

I shouldn't even be on here right now - just wanted to wish all the Enniscorthy Half'ers the best of luck. I look forward to catching up on everyone's reports very soon. Can't believe I actually thought I'd be prepared enough to not have to study today and be able to go down for it. Pffft!!

Exams over thank god. Had a boozy weekend in athlone with friends who did the tri and felt like the laziest sod going! Off to the sun for a week in the morning and will be back with a proper plan then to haul my ass into training!

Have entered the duathlon in the park on the 4th August and the Frank Duffy 10 mile on the 21st August so I'll have some serious work to do as I've put on about a stone in the last week...:eek:

Stupid stupid me also missed the deadline for the adidas 5 mile. Very annoyed.

Until next week comrades - hope everyone's training is going well!

Right I’m back. Hopefully with a vengeance! Managed to get two 5k (ish) runs in on holidays but they had to be done before 7am because of the heat. It was literally 35+ degrees from 8 in the morning until 11 at night. I won’t complain though. Anyway I’m back in work and well rested with no injuries. The ankle is strong and I have my new proper runners so no excuses.

I have 3 weeks to train for this Duathlon in the Phoenix park and then the Adidas 10 mile is about 2 weeks after that so I need to make a realistic plan and stick to it. I’m feeling pretty motivated. I will post the plan when I figure it out… Have no idea what I should be doing but I’m sure some interweb research will set me straight.

Sunday 11th July
    - 7.8k – 42.52 mins – this was my Newtownpark Avenue nemesis of a run. It was a tough one for the first proper run back but managed to keep going albeit quite slowly. I’m actually looking back at my log – I’ve only run this route twice and it took me 44.20 and 44.28 those times so I suppose I’m happy with that bit of progress seeing as it has been a slow 2 months running-wise.

Monday 12th July
    - 8.5k – 48 mins – looking at this it seems pretty slow but it was probably a 5.5k slow uphill, 2k fast downhill and a flat last kilometre. Happy enough with it. It’s just good to be back. Feel like I have way more energy already.

Tuesday 13th July
    - 9.3k cycle into work – 25mins – this was my first adventure in the traffic but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I’m expecting the cycle home to be a little harder as it’s mostly uphill. I’ll try get through the days work before worrying about that though.

I think I need a new title for my log...

Tuesday 13th July PM
    - 9.3k cycle – 35mins – it was very wet and very slippy so I took it handy enough. Not very confident on the bike yet but hopefully I’ll get more comfortable soon enough.

Wednesday 14th July
    - 6.7k / 4.2miles – 35.18 – this was tough. My legs felt very heavy for most of it. Presuming that’s because of the cycling so hopefully my body will get used to it. I think I would have managed a 40min on Saturday had I been organised enough to enter :mad: (albeit I would most likely have collapsed in a heap after it)! I might map a similar 5mile just to test myself. It won’t be the same though.

Taking today and tomorrow off – don’t want to push it too hard the first week back working and running. I’m shattered already!

Working away on two fronts now I see, well done :)

The cycling will probably be great for you, keep your fitness up, or improve it, and take the pressure off your legs.

Wish I lived close enough to work to cycle it!

Welcome back claralara. Good luck with the cycling - not something I'm very knowledgable about! I'm not the most comfortable on a bike...
    I'll be watching your new training regime with interest!

Saturday 17th July
    - 5 miles – 39.54 – the little bit of sick that came up at the last 200metres made me feel hard! Haha. Raging I couldn’t do the race now, it definitely would have been a PB. Next time!!

Sunday 18th July
    - 40k cycle – Round trip – 20k to Clontarf to meet a friend for lunch – mmmm pizza… - and 20k back home again. It was very windy and I have no idea how I managed to have the wind against me the whole time both ways. Grrr. I’d say it took about 1hr20 each way. Not very speedy but I’m all about getting the time in whilst staying upright and reaching my destination in one piece at the minute.

Great time for the five miles.

And I hope the pizza was worth it, that's proper carb loading :)

Thanks South. I was sooo wrecked after it though!! If anything it was worth it to deserve a night out and a feed of pizza (and thai takeaway :o) on Sunday. I'm a food monster these days!! :D

Monday 19th July
    - Day off :)

Tuesday 20th July
    - Upper Body weights - first time in exactly a month so it was pretty tough. Didn't drop the weights but had to drop the reps. Ah well, we'll get it back! I look forward to the pain tomorrow!!
    - 45 min spinning - great class, felt strong and full of beans now! One observation: 45 minutes spinning is so much sweatier than 2 hours cycling...my god!!

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Butterbear

Clara- I hear you on the multi-directional wind. I always find that on the Clontarf Road. It's a pain when running but even worse on the bike. I use hiking but mostly cycling as my cross-train, so even though you're streets ahead of me (pun alert) I'll be following your progress. Your comment might also explain my heavy legs on Saturday's Adidas run. I cycled 20 mins there and 20 back. Anyway- good luck with the training!

A huge part of the enjoyment of my lunch was the thought that the wind was going to push me all the way back into town. Disaster stations when I realised I was actually going to have to exert some more of my own energy! Ha. I have yet to run straight off the bike so that will be interesting. I should really give it a go seeing as this duathlon is on in 16 days or something...:eek: Maybe thursday morning before work..

Wednesday 21st July
    - c. 7.5 miles - c. 1hr15 - this was a preemptive LSR as it looks like I have an eventful weekend ahead :D Nice and handy run around with a friend; we managed to keep a conversation going mostly the whole time which was enjoyable and a huge change since last December when we could barely walk 500m and breathe never mind chat!! We were expecting rain so the matching rain jackets came out but typical Irish weather gave us no rain and about 17degrees of clammy yuckiness. Nice. Nothing too exciting to report otherwise.

Thursday 22nd July
    - Didn’t get anything done as a result of getting out of work late followed by late night shopping. Was pretty wrecked after Wednesday’s run anyway so I didn’t mind too much.

Friday 23rd July
    - 4.9miles / 7.9k – 43.18 – Firstly it was such a nice morning for a run; it was so quiet and peaceful even on the main roads. Lovely stuff. Legs felt very heavy at the start and I considered shortening the distance to the 3 mile loop I do along this route. Then I decided to man up and just do it hoping that I’d loosen and lighten up. No such luck. Found myself absolutely shattered at the bottom of Newtownpark Avenue after 20mins with only one way to go….up! I managed to keep going but it was tough. I wasn’t looking at the watch as I normally would for this route (getting this run down to 40 mins is my ultimate goal; it may take a year or two but I’ll get there!) but I got home in 43.18 which was good enough considering the tiredness. Now for a weekend of fun! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Well done Claralara. Any time you take the harder choice and do the extra miles, you're winning the battle. Don't forget that late night shopping is a form of cross-training too!

Haha. Glad you agree - wait until pay day and you’ll see cross training efforts soar like you never thought possible!

Saturday 24th July
    - As expected the only physical exertion was hauling hungover ass out of bed to head into the comedy festival in town which was nice and beery!

Sunday 25th July
    - The result of shaking on a ‘brilliant idea to cycle up to Johnnie Fox’s!!’ on Friday night saw a few of us from work trotting off on our merry way for a ‘leisurely Sunday cycle’…not!! Well it was fun at the top and on the way down so for that alone I’d probably consider putting myself through the torture again. It was about a 25k round trip for me so not too far but pretty darn tough. And definitely not speedy on the ascent! A fun day out nonetheless :D

Monday 26th July
    - Upper Body Weights
    - Corework
    - 35 mins Spinning

Tuesday 27th July
    - 9.3k cycle – 25mins ish
    - 4k – 20mins ish
    First attempt at mashing the running and the cycling together… cycled into work and then just ran 10 mins along the canal and 10 mins back. It wasn’t a race against time or anything like it! It was more just to make sure I won’t pass out next week. My legs were pretty tired but I blame spinning last night for that. I certainly won’t be winning anything anytime soon but I may be capable of crossing the finish line on two legs so that’s reassuring. Mildly… Now where can I find someone to drag me home by a piece of rope tonight…:rolleyes:

Tuesday 27th July PM
    - 9.3k / 5.7miles cycle home

Wednesday 28th July
    - Stomach got a workout with the pick'n'mix at the cinema :D Inception... Interesting..

Thursday 29th July
    - 7.59k / 4.72miles - 39.37 - great run last night. Really enjoyed and the legs felt really strong. I've been good this week for getting my sleep in - early to bed, early to rise actually does work wonders...who'd have thought Mammy words were worth listening to... :)

Friday 30th July AM
    - 9.3k / 5.7miles cycle - decided I'm not going to time the cycling - not in the rain and traffic. I'm neither confident nor competent enough to be trying to race against the watch yet. And the badly surfaced cycle track still terrified me at speed!

Friday 30th July PM - I'm putting this in now because It has to be done so hopefully I won't have to edit!
    - 9.3k/5.7miles cycle home
    - Upper body weights
    - Corework

Hi Clara Lara.

You're really doing well there with the mileage. I'm envious!

Since I've checked in last you're doing loads more cycling as well.

Whats the duathalon you're training for? And what kind of bike are you using?

I cycle a little bit but just for commuting.I've found it so much easier since I began running. I have a mountainy bike. My parents bought it for me when I got enough points in my Leaving to go to college in 1993!!! Its fine because it wasn't used for about 8 years so even though its nearly 20 years old, I always say its really only less than 10 years old!!!

I'm enjoying reading the updates of people who are training for duathalons/ triathalons. I like the idea of mixing things up. The only thing is do you need to get a proper racing type bike to participate in these types of races?