Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flora mini marathon*Mod Warning. NO REQUESTS FOR RACE NUMBERS*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Morning all - is everyone all set?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Best of luck to everyone who's doing this today - fair play to ye! :) Hopefully I'll be fit enough to join you next year. Enjoy the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

just over 4 hours to go according to flora website. I'm off to get breakfast and then some stretching.

I don't have a chip but I want to try and get up as close to the fast joggers as possible so I don't get too caught behind the walkers. I'll head in early enough. Temperature is perfect right now so hopefully it will stay like this!

Best of luck everyone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ArcadeFred

So glad to see it's not mad sunny, I just wilt in the heat! Still hard to know what to wear though, I was thinking maybe long sleeve tshirt under my charity tshirt (which is white - nice and see-through if it started raining and i had nothing under it!!)...maybe also a little fold-up rain jacket?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Good luck people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Walls

Me? I'm gutted, frankly, and trying very hard not to give out to myself. I've never skipped this, but I feel simply awful and I know from experience that I have no powers of recovery right now. So I'm not going, and hopefully doing the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I'm so annoyed that I got no training in for this - but it really couldn't be helped.

Wan't to give it my all at the beginning to get away from the masses and then calm down to a nice brisk walk/jog mixture!

Good luck all

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Good luck today everyone!! :)
    Walls- get well soon and Misslily- hope you get sorted out with a number. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Freckles..!

Best of Luck everyone! :D

Does anybody know if it costs to leave your stuff in the baggage area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

well done to all the ladies who participated today, I hope you had a good time and if you were running for charity I hope you raised a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

How did everyone get on today? Seriously horrible weather for it!

Finished in just over 52 minutes, ran terribly though, should have gone sub-50 but my stomach decided to kick up a fuss :mad:

I did it in 1.17 according to the clock but I'm hoping for 1.15 or under when I get the chip time.

I know it's not a fab time or anything but I am seriously over the moon with it. I did a steady 2k every 15 mins, a bit of jogging and a bit of fast walking.

Really pushed myself and hadn't trained due to a mammoth year at college so I am delighted with myself!!

Well done all, weather was awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I did it, still not home, in my brothers waiting for my other brother to collect me.

I was getting a little worried at the start, before I even reached the 1k mark I could feel my left knee popping a little, luckily I took painkillers before I left, it's only know that it's getting sore.

On the way back we stopped off at a chippers and I wolfed down a 1/4 pounder and chips.

I have never seen the crowds like today :(

People huddling together to avoid the rain but sweet lord they were doing my head in :mad:

Gonna jog it next year :D

On behalf of the A/R/T forum, I'm holding you to that :)

Oh I so will!! To go as a jogger do you need to be timed or can I just register next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,061 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Congrats to all who did the mini marathon today. I was in looking at you all going to the starting point at Fitwilliam Sq. never saw such crowds in my life. Terrible pity about the weather, but probably kept you cool.

Roughly how long would it take to walk the course, and do many walk it rather than jog/run? If I didn't feel foolish walking I would consider it next year. So how many walkers are out there to spur me on!!

You could jog it without a chip next year, but to be perfectly honest I wouldn't have done it without a white (sub-60) or blue number (sub-90, I think). For a sub-60 number this year you had to either send proof of a 10k in under 60 minutes or any other race at inside 9.30/mile pace.
    Roughly how long would it take to walk the course, and do many walk it rather than jog/run? If I didn't feel foolish walking I would consider it next year. So how many walkers are out there to spur me on!!
    Most people walk it, tbh. But you've lots of time to train to run it next year :D

I walked it 3 times as a teenager, fastest time was ~1:40.

That was my third year walking and the first two years we did it roughly in an hour and a half but this year it took two hours with the amount of people!!

You could jog it without a chip next year, but to be perfectly honest I wouldn't have done it without a white (sub-60) or blue number (sub-90, I think). For a sub-60 number this year you had to either send proof of a 10k in under 60 minutes or any other race at inside 9.30/mile pace.

Ok that doesnt make sense :confused:

Can I get a chip to time myself or even just jog it and then the following year time it?

Ok that doesnt make sense :confused:

Can I get a chip to time myself or even just jog it and then the following year time it?

If you request it on your entry form, even walkers can get a chip - it costs about €6 extra. If you entered as a walker or jogger this year, you got a yellow number and no proof of times for anything was required. For the blue and white starts (which were all chipped, so no cheapie €15 entry!), you needed to send race results from other races showing that you could make the required times.

Honestly, if you're going to run next year, I'd strongly recommend training for and doing a race or two early in 2011 and trying to hit the standard for a runner number, it's not that difficult (I think they'd give you the sub-60 number if you could prove a 29 minute 5k) and it makes things a whole lot easier on race day because it's just nowhere near as crowded up the front.

So I can register as a jogger next year and just get the chip to time myself :D

Well done everyone. My car got clamped this morning in a spot that I've always parked it in outside my apartment for 7 years!! I was feeling seriously sorry for myself going in to the race, but then when I saw all the 40,000 other people around me running for such worthy causes it put things in perspective. I only wish I could have given that money to the charity I was running for!

I crossed the starting line at 7.50. The first 2k was like an obstacle course. I couldn't believe I'd only run 2k when I saw the 2k mark cos I felt wrecked with all the effort I'd put in trying to get past the walkers and jumping up and down on kerbs! Ran comfortably until the 7k mark, although I was big time jealous when I saw the other people running away from UCD bridge as I was running up towards it. Started feeling tight at 7k and its all a bit of a daze from there on in. I remember the fireman hosing us down in Donnybrook and the unending line of clowns :) I felt like there was no way I had made it in under 1.10 but I managed to pick it up a bit at Leeson Street. I couldn't believe it when I turned into Stephens Green and the clock said 1.13. I legged it to the finish and came in at 1.14.15. So I made it in under 1.10!!! Yay! 1.06.25 to be precise. Delighted! Didn't get a chip, but I'll definitely try and get a time in some other race for next year....and aim for under the hour!

Well done again everyone and a big well done and thanks to all the support and stewards who must have been freezing! :)

dolliemix wrote: »
    although I was big time jealous when I saw the other people running away from UCD bridge as I was running up towards it.

Best bit is when you're running away from it and you're looking at all the people just heading up towards it from Nutley Lane :D

Very well done, you must be so happy right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Jeepers, fair play to you all! I was stewarding at northumberland road, about 1.5 km in to the race and seeing you all pass by was unreal! Seriously, it was amazing to watch everyone go by, congrats to all, ESPECIALLY in this weather! :D

Well done

*one person round of applause*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Also, if you go to racepics365.com you might be able to find pictures of yerselves that have been taken along the way by searching your race number! They're not up yet but keep an eye on the site for the next few days!

Congrats again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Well done everyone on the race today and I hope everyone is happy with their times. As for the rain, no comment...I knew I should have brought the rain jacket with me and whatever Ruth Scott was on at the start, I'll have some of that!!

Well done to the organisers for the additional water station and that Solero at the end was delicious even in the freezing cold!

Rainbow Kirby do you happen to know the timing chip co as I am impatient to wait for the results to come out...PB methinks at 55:xx so am curious to know exact time! Cheers...

Not a clue, unfortunately. One of the race organisers posts on the thread in A/R/T Events so it might be worthwhile asking there. Bit impatient myself, but meh, chip/watch/gun time won't be too different here. It's a PB... just.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Cheers and well done on PB - may not be what you were hoping for but it's still a PB! Hope you're feeling better.

Jeepers, fair play to you all! I was stewarding at northumberland road, about 1.5 km in to the race and seeing you all pass by was unreal! Seriously, it was amazing to watch everyone go by, congrats to all, ESPECIALLY in this weather! :D

Well done

*one person round of applause*

Congrats to you and all the people working with you! It was was crap weather to be standing around in......I was really impressed with all the people volunteering and and cheering us on! (At least we weren't cold! :D)

Yeah I'm dyin for results too. I made it in 1.17 on the clock - I know the clock had started before I had crossed the starting line but I never think of checking.

I'll be pushing for sub-60 next year for sure!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I did it in 1 hour 9 minutes. I am SO happy with that, it is my fastest time ever - and I am 40 tomorrow so I can definitely say age has no bearing on fitness as I could NEVER have run 10km non-stop before. And maybe next year I might do better....

Well done to all of you on Boards who participated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 pump it

That was my third year walking and the first two years we did it roughly in an hour and a half but this year it took two hours with the amount of people!!

yea i have usually done it 1hr 30mins. but i did it in 1hr 52 mins dis time. so hard to jog with the amount of people doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Fiii

Well done everyone. That must be some amount of money raised!
    Did it in 1hr 30 myself, which I am pretty pleased with as I was just doing it at a brisk walk. Def think with a bit of training I could jog/ run it next year :)
    Tis the boost I needed to up my fitness levels.

Really trying to resist posting in the thread in After Hours.
    Are people seriously complaining about it? I don't think anyone is under the illusion that it is a 'marathon' of any sort. It's a fun run for charity and we all know it! Yet some people seem to think it takes away from their 'real' marathon running abilities.
    I raised 700 quid for charity and had a bit of a laugh. If you're threatened by that, you need to get a life :rolleyes:

kelle wrote: »
    I did it in 1 hour 9 minutes. I am SO happy with that, it is my fastest time ever - and I am 40 tomorrow so I can definitely say age has no bearing on fitness as I could NEVER have run 10km non-stop before. And maybe next year I might do better....

Well done to all of you on Boards who participated!

Happy Birthday!

Congrats to you and all the people working with you! It was was crap weather to be standing around in......I was really impressed with all the people volunteering and and cheering us on! (At least we weren't cold! :D)

The rain and cool weather made it so much easier, but when the race was finished I got very cold and shivery and ended up buying a fleecy raincoat in Dunnes at St. Stephen's Green SC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Congrats to all finishers in the 10k today, hopefully alot of cash will go to deserving charities:)

Fiii wrote: »
    Really trying to resist posting in the thread in After Hours.
    Are people seriously complaining about it? I don't think anyone is under the illusion that it is a 'marathon' of any sort. It's a fun run for charity and we all know it! Yet some people seem to think it takes away from their 'real' marathon running abilities.
    I raised 700 quid for charity and had a bit of a laugh. If you're threatened by that, you need to get a life :rolleyes:

Well said, Fi. We know it's not a real marathon, it gets us motivated to keep fit and try and reach targets. And we do it for a good cause.
    And well done with your charity collection!

kelle wrote: »
    The rain and cool weather made it so much easier, but when the race was finished I got very cold and shivery and ended up buying a fleecy raincoat in Dunnes at St. Stephen's Green SC!

Haha I was actually thinking of doing that too! I bought a butlers hot chocolate instead! Yum :D

Fiii congrats on raising 700 euro. That is a huge amount! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

Congrats to every one who participated today. I passed the start line at about 3 mins or so into race and finished at 1.21 so I'm guessing my time was around 1.18. I'm pretty happy with myself. I jogged/walked it and probably could have pushed myself more but sure tis done. I had only aimed a time at 1.15 so was pretty close!! I'll deffo do it again next year and hopefully will be able to jog more of it next year.

Are the chip results posted on the mini marathon website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

First time I've ever done anything like this, have had the most banjaxed knee for years & was told many times I'd never be able to do any distance running on it. Had it operated on for a second time last year, and since then, it's been getting better and better...so to celebrate, I decided to enter the mini-marathon this year!

I'd say I only ran about 6k in total between walkers and breathing breaks, and while there's a sore twinge in my knee tonight, it's made all the more bearable by the memories of today!

Would love to say thank you soooo much to all the stewards who cheered us along, and everyone else who came out to cheer and shout us along-there was two wee kids just before the turn back over the bridge who were just shouting something like Go on, ye can do it! Keep going! and I just wanted to hug them. The Clowns for Haiti were great, got a row of high fives from them, which pushed me a bit further on.

The crowds coming down Leeson St. were just great, and kept me going all the way, even though I felt in bits, and I probably wouldn't have made it over the line running if it wasn't for them. I was nearly in tears crossing the line, such a wonderful feeling, still on a high now:D

So if you were one of those people who occasionally shouted or cheered the runners on, thank you for helping me along the way. And if you were one of the other 40 thousand participants, well done you!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

WOW, that was just such a fantastic day, Im still smiling away to myself here! I finished in 1hr 10 ish (also dying to see the official chip times) which was the target I had set for myself so job done and I enjoyed it so very much.
    Well done everyone, I think we're a fantastic bunch, if I do say so myself!!! Many thanks from me also to all those stewards and bands and wonderful people cheering us on because it really does make such a differance. My own husband came up from Galway with 2 of my kids and to see their little faces so close to the end (8k or so) gave me such a boost right when I needed it.
    See ye all again next year!

Thats great Tipsygypsy! I was dying to find out how my 'twin' had got on!!

What are we going to do next? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

Thats great Tipsygypsy! I was dying to find out how my 'twin' had got on!!

What are we going to do next? :D

Ha Dollie, as you were tyoing that I was over at your log suggesting a half marathon!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Well done today everyone!!! It was a bit cold and miserable but a great day.
    Really spurring me on to keep my fitness levels up now, woo! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Well done everyone, sounds like you all did brilliantly.

Hope you get better soon, Walls :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭lods

I did it with my wife for charity.We raised over 1000. :) . One annoying thing was when i got to the finished i was refused a medal because i was a man. I said i just wanted it to prove i'd done it & the Guy just refused point blank, even though i paid the same as everyone else to enter. Just thought it was a petty end to a great day. Sad to see people cheating at the top of Nutley lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭SarahJ

lods wrote: »
    I did it with my wive for charity.We raised over 1000. :) . One annoying thing was when i got to the finished i was refused a medal because i was a man. I said i just wanted it to prove i'd done it & the Guy just refused point blank, even though i paid the same as everyone else to enter. Just thought it was a petty end to a great day. Sad to see people cheating at the top of Nutley lane.

The cheating really annoyed me too, why do it? Only cheating themselves! That sucks about not getting a medal :(

Iods - men are always refused a medal - what you do is get someone to go back up with your number :D

And people always cheat there they have no shame because people always boo them!

SarahJ wrote: »
    The cheating really annoyed me too, why do it? Only cheating themselves! That sucks about not getting a medal :(

Can someone remind me of where this was exactly and how they cheated. I'm nervous I unwittingly cheated too now!! :(