Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Two years for steroids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

2,000 pills is a lot. I can kinda agree with the judge, I suppose the guy had no control over who bought what. Online sales are hard to regulate. Kinda long sentence all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

There was more than steroids involved as well. Can't really fault the judge based on what's in that article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/exsoldier-jailed-over-8364144k-steroids-racket-2070836.html

Had to laugh at the judge in the above case. You'd think the guy was selling heroin to kids. Another example of ignorance of steroids, supplements etc.

I have to laugh at you.
    Another example of ignorance of steroids.

Anabolic Steroids are prescription only medicines and can only be legally distributed by doctors or pharmacists.
    If you are not a pharmacist, it is very illegal to sell them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I have to laugh at you.
    Another example of ignorance of steroids.

Anabolic Steroids are prescription only medicines and can only be legally distributed by doctors or pharmacists.
    If you are not a pharmacist, it is very illegal to sell them.

would i be right in saying that most people wont see any difference in athletic performance unless you are currently very trained or is that just a myth??

bubbleking wrote: »
    would i be right in saying that most people wont see any difference in athletic performance unless you are currently very trained or is that just a myth??

I haven't a clue.

I have read and watched a bit about them.
    Enough to know I don't know enough to form an opinion.

But I do know enough to have an opinion on the selling of prescription medicines by unqualified people.
    Tis damn stupid and illegal for a very good reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

In fairness €144,000 is a lot of money to rip off the exchequer!.
    Judge Katherine Delahunt told Bernard Foy (38) and Anna Nawroka (27), who have a child together, that the court "takes a very serious view of devastating effects drugs can have on people".

I've never seen any of these devastating effects to athletes myself, and its not like there are athletes running about mugging old ladies for their steroid money.

It'll be a double whammy for him if CAB get involved, thats an awful of of money indeed.

I've never seen any of these devastating effects to athletes myself, and its not like there are athletes running about mugging old ladies for their steroid money.

In fairness, if you are gonna go down the route of circumstantial effects, then you could[/b] point out Pantani, Marion Jones, Tim Montgomery etc.

Particularly Tim whose life is fairly ****ed.
    And Marco, who died broken and alone.

But its probably better if we stick to the Physical effects.

d'Oracle wrote: »

But its probably better if we stick to the Physical effects.

And what are they?.

/I'll wait while you scour the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

In fairness big mak i have seen people go from calm and relaxed people into loons after going on the juice, abusive and temperamental and tbh down right dangerous in there paranoia etc..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    In fairness big mak i have seen people go from calm and relaxed people into loons after going on the juice, abusive and temperamental and tbh down right dangerous in there paranoia etc..

I've seen people like that after a double expresso!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

And what are they?.

would you know the answer to what i posted above please??

Well of course I couldn't speak from personal experience, just hear say - so to speak.

If you took anabolic steroids without training then you won't automatically become stronger or fitter, and you won't gain muscle.

If your an athlete steroids will improve your performance, but they won't alter your genetics. So lets just say that this years top ten line up of Mr.O were to go back in time and do it all over again, everything identical but without the juice - then they should all place in the very same position drug free.

So lets just say that this years top ten line up of Mr.O were to go back in time and do it all over again, everything identical but without the juice - then they should all place in the very same position drug free.

your point makes sense but it does not take into account that some are juicing more than others, so really you dont know who would place where.

But the drugs are not altering their genetic make up, so drug free they'll all place in the same position, but smaller.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Are we still talking about steroids, or have we moved on to alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Do the gardai not have better things to be doing than setting up surveillance left right and center around a steroid dealer? There are far more pressing issues than this causing problems in this country.
    Do they set up surveillance at the spar to see who goes in and buys the 13 year olds their drink? Or would people just not like to read about that sort of stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭nij

the court "takes a very serious view of devastating effects drugs can have on people".

So not even the court bothered to educate themselves. How about actually putting the 'devastating' effects of steroids on trial? Current legislation is ridiculous. Steroids harm stupid people, but then again, so does alcohol, or a car or a kitchen knife. There's no argument for criminalising steroids. But of course, you don't want people going around feeling good, finding they don't need to shell out cash for prozac and other anti-depressants. Same with marijuana - a leaf that grows by itself that can help with so many conditions, with very few negative effects. But no, can't have people self medicating, or feeling good in any way. At least not for free.

Hanley wrote: »

Im not talking about the many negatives of alcohol, i was talking about a few lads that i know well that literally became crazy when doing cycles, not for 1 night but for ages, 1 of these guys in particualr went from been a nice calm fella to a luntaic, getting paranoid about everything and turned on people for the smallest things, he was alcohol free btw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

The courts are a fucking lottery tbh. A woman was given a suspended sentence for stabbing her brother to death very recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Kyle Maynard

Could steroids stunt my growth?.

Hypothetically speaking of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

And what are they?.

Birgit Dressel.

Lyle Alzado.

Probably more, but two's too many.

I had to LOL at the ads by google on that news article. There was an ad for HGH, two for the price of one. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Birgit Dressel.

Lyle Alzado.

Probably more, but two's too many.

Those are both cases of extreme drug abuse

There is a big difference between use and abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

So what would be an appropriate sentence for someone with €200k worth of controlled drugs who admits to sale and supply?

Not just steroids either but a range of medicines.

(apart from which if he was selling Viagra over the internet he was probably part of a spamming network in which case 22 years hard labour would be too good for him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

podge57 wrote: »
    Those are both cases of extreme drug abuse

There is a big difference between use and abuse

Indeed. And who knoweth the difference? Doth the trusty Mr Foy know (the character of) the person he is supplying?

Anyway, this point is moot. Foy got two years for breaking the law, not for steroid use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Indeed. And who knoweth the difference? Doth the trusty Mr Foy know (the character of) the person he is supplying?

Anyway, this point is moot. Foy got two years for breaking the law, not for steroid use.

I agree with that - whether people like it or not, steroids are illegal,and if you break the law, there is a good chance you will be punished - which is what happened here

I wasn't debating that this guy should be allowed to sell steroids, just that listing those names as examples of the effects of steroids isn't really accurate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Yapamillias

Hanley wrote: »

Steroids are addictive and alter hormonal levels and can/will affect the temperment of individuals regardless of gender. Roid rage is the comman phrase but its apt for describing the 'condition'. Check out 'doping for gold'. Its an old film about the East German drug doping experiements...its pretty truthful.

Steroids are addictive and alter hormonal levels and can/will affect the temperment of individuals regardless of gender.

Addictive?.

addictive in the sense that athletes will suffer from withdrawal symtoms which can either be physical (loss of energy- negetive effect on energy systems) or psychological (feelings that he/she cannot compete to the same levels without 'substance'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Horse pucky. You're confusing addiction with wanting. Codeine is one of the most addictive substances on earth but I don't see people posting about the evils of Solpadeine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭brianblaze

If Steroids are so bad for people, how are they used so widely in medicine?!

Or do Steroids know when they're being taken for reasons other than the Medically approved, and suddenly become evil?

The only addictive part about 'roids is probably that once you stop taking them, you're no longer as big or as strong a you were once you've cycle off them. It's a psychological addiction, not chemical.

The world needs serious educating on the effects of Steroids... And alot of the myths surrounding them need putting down.

As for the dude getting 2 years... Break the law, go to jail, sounds fair.

Im not confusing addiction with wanting. I know nothing of Codeine or the pharmaceutical makeup of Solpadine. If substance dependence is the same as substance addiction then steroid misuse is the same as heroin or alcohol, but thats just semantics. Its a new subject area in Addiction Psychology but not as published as other substance abuse research studies. Have a read of this journal abstract (if you need/want the full article then PM me).

Anabolic–androgenic steroid dependence: an emerging disorder (Kanayama, 2009)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

brianblaze wrote: »
    If Steroids are so bad for people, how are they used so widely in medicine?!

So is methadone and morphine.

And dont confuse corticosteroids/glucocorticoids with the type of steroids used by athletes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Im not confusing addiction with wanting. I know nothing of Codeine or the pharmaceutical makeup of Solpadine. If substance dependence is the same as substance addiction then steroid misuse is the same as heroin or alcohol, but thats just semantics. Its a new subject area in Addiction Psychology but not as published as other substance abuse research studies. Have a read of this journal abstract (if you need/want the full article then PM me).

Anabolic–androgenic steroid dependence: an emerging disorder (Kanayama, 2009)
    My gripe isn't necessarilly with the addictive qualities of steroids, but rather the unequal treatment of drugs in our society. Though I've heard of steroid dependency before I didn't know it had been linked to a physiological addiction.

However, given the vast amounts of medicines freely available both over the counter, in licensed premises and by prescription, I feel the treatment of steroids is unfair.

That being said, the guy was doling out prescription meds without a license and got what was coming to him. If a bloke was doling out any other type of prescription pill, say a high dose painkiller like, oh, I dunno, an opiate, and had made 150k on it, we'd all be crying at how leniant his sentence was.

My gripe isn't necessarilly with the addictive qualities of steroids, but rather the unequal treatment of drugs in our society. Though I've heard of steroid dependency before I didn't know it had been linked to a physiological addiction.

However, given the vast amounts of medicines freely available both over the counter, in licensed premises and by prescription, I feel the treatment of steroids is unfair.

That being said, the guy was doling out prescription meds without a license and got what was coming to him. If a bloke was doling out any other type of prescription pill, say a high dose painkiller like, oh, I dunno, an opiate, and had made 150k on it, we'd all be crying at how leniant his sentence was.

I agree with you there, the opioidergic effects of AAS (steroids for sports) are less publishized than other medicinal pharmasetical products. Guy breaks law...gives out prescription drugs without a lisense...he gets prison time...its a pity that the other guy dealing out the same drugs doesnt get found out because the steroids are 'just for sport'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Horse pucky. You're confusing addiction with wanting. Codeine is one of the most addictive substances on earth but I don't see people posting about the evils of Solpadeine.

tell that to mary "love handles" harney, who is trying to make prescription only..

Where will you be then? 60 yoyos to get a fix :eek:

And what are they?.

That's pretty condescending.

I have no intention of scouring the internet for info on anabolic steroids.

Honestly, this place is crazy sometimes, just look at my first post.
    Its should be fairly clear that I have no frickin intention of talking about Steroids, the morality of steroid use or the physical effects of steroid use.
    None.

If you wan't to play bash the gym n00b, or whatever, find someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/exsoldier-jailed-over-8364144k-steroids-racket-2070836.html

Had to laugh at the judge in the above case. You'd think the guy was selling heroin to kids. Another example of ignorance of steroids, supplements etc.
    TOUGH ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Punishment IRL

I've two private gyms, one in town, one in swords. I would'nt have any users near the place. Anyone showing signs or side effects are tested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I've two private gyms, one in town, one in swords. I would'nt have any users near the place. Anyone showing signs or side effects are tested.

Fair play, I can say that there's more people using steriods up my way then there was ever AFAIK. None of my business n'all, but some of them haven't gotta clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

And what are they?.

Smart answer, but in fairness, you're protecting yourself behind the "you can't prove anything" line.

If you don't think steroids are destructive, fair enough; this thread can go on for about twenty pages of "facts" proven or unproven, but it's bullsh!t to deny there are any ill effects from steroids.

I understand you are a competitor, too. That makes your attitude on this thread a bit disappointing tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

But drugs such as codeine, which can be obtained over the counter, is used to treat many common illnesses. Steroids aren't. They're not used to treat headaches, or flu; they're used for much more serious conditions. It's a joke to say steroids are being singled out, when they are being abused just as badly as other drugs.

And because this abuse serves a purpose, i.e getting "big" or fitter, it's deemed acceptable by many, simply because it's not recreational abuse. It's still abuse, and more, in most cases, it's cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Firstly i posted the link as the judge seemed to have no clue about the nature of steroids. To her it is just another controlled susbtance. Sure the guy broke the laws but why couldnt a suspended sentence be imposed?? It would save taxpayer a few hundred grand it costs to hold a prisoner for 2 years. If he reoffends then stick him away but 2 years for a pretty much victimless crime when real violent criminals get away with murder (literally in many cases) seems a bit OTT.
    I wouldnt beleive the figures in story either. Gardai are notorious for quoting excessive values for seizures and there were obviously costs involved in sourcing, buying and distirbuting the stuff.
    Not advocating what the guy did but in grand scheme of things it seems fairly harmless.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

The Judge is under no obligation to consider the nature of steroids. All she needs to know is that it's a controlled substance, end of story.

The people that have it listed as a controlled substance are the TD's that enacted the legislation, not the judge. If you want to seek a change in how steroids are viewed you can always present your case to your local TD. Although the chances of success are fairly slim I'd imagine.

I'm guessing there was too much evidence against him for him to able to claim he was just giving them away to his mates. Otherwise he'd have gotten out of a custodial sentence.

Firstly i posted the link as the judge seemed to have no clue about the nature of steroids.

They are another controlled substance.

Untill something in the law changes, they will remain a controlled substance.
    Regardless of what people use them for.

I mean if someone had a gansai load of Methodone and was selling that on, that would be the same in the eyes of the law.

You can't flout the laws of the land just because of perception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

But the drugs are not altering their genetic make up, so drug free they'll all place in the same position, but smaller.

Not really. Doesn't give the honest athletes a chance.

davyjose wrote: »
    Smart answer, but in fairness, you're protecting yourself behind the "you can't prove anything" line.

If you don't think steroids are destructive, fair enough; this thread can go on for about twenty pages of "facts" proven or unproven, but it's bullsh!t to deny there are any ill effects from steroids.

I understand you are a competitor, too. That makes your attitude on this thread a bit disappointing tbh.

What attitude?.

All I'm saying is that the guy was caught with an awful lot of drug's, €144,000 is gonna piss off anyone. If it was smokes, booze, DVD's, fake designer gear etc the exchequer is down a lot of money and your gonna be in deep poo poo.

The judge (it would appear) displayed an ignorance of the effects of anabolic steroids (IMO) but then again I don't know what case's she see's on a regular basis to make her judgement - ie wife battery & hubby defence lies on his use of steroids maybe? huh!.. I just don't know what goes on re. steroids in legal circles.

What I can say from being around user's for over twenty years (in gym's) is that I've never once seen the "devastating" consequences of steroid use, and if someone comes on and makes a blanket statement in ignorance & I know better then its tough tittie if that comes across as condescending.

As a competitor I take nothing stronger than a cup or two of coffee or a glucose tab or two before going out on the mat, so I don't see why I disappoint you.

Personally I want to go win my fights naturally.

Not really. Doesn't give the honest athletes a chance.

You've no idea what I mean't have you?.

makes a blanket statement in ignorance & I know better then its tough tittie if that comes across as condescending.

BS.

What blanket statement did I make?
    None.