Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCC major gig "campuspicnic" 27th march

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

I find it both saddening and distressing that such a couragous attempt by the Students Union to organise an event like this has gone to waste. While personally not a fan of many of the artists confirmed to play, I was always happy to lend my support to what I felt to be a worthwhile and well planned event.

I won't say any more than that, but I would like to lighten up the now sad atmosphere, and I recomend that everyone, most specifically the SU, would have a listen to this classic by the Hives -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCQ7VLoY7bQ

All things aside, I've one question for Samf -

If ticket sales are the key reason for the cancellation of the event, why have the SU been posting things on Facebook about how fast tickets were selling, and how anybody on the waiting list who hasn't paid yet would have to hurry up etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

Nova_era wrote: »
    I find it both saddening and distressing that such a couragous attempt by the Students Union to organise an event like this has gone to waste. While personally not a fan of many of the artists confirmed to play, I was always happy to lend my support to what I felt to be a worthwhile and well planned event.

I won't say any more than that, but I would like to lighten up the now sad atmosphere, and I recomend that everyone, most specifically the SU, would have a listen to this classic by the Hives -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCQ7VLoY7bQ

All things aside, I've one question for Samf -

If ticket sales are the key reason for the cancellation of the event, why have the SU been posting things on Facebook about how fast tickets were selling, and how anybody on the waiting list who hasn't paid yet would have to hurry up etc?

Ha, i know the song before clicking on it, ya cheeky fecker:p

I've no idea what you're talking about. :P

Now, lets have a look at some posts by the SU on their facebook page, before they get deleted in the name of transparency -
    Campus Picnic Alert - Due to demand on tickets - Any pre-registered people who held tickets and not paid for them have until this Sunday midnight to pay for their tickets or they will be released back on general sale
    Due to huge demand - those who pre-registered for tickets for Campus Picnic need to pay for them by midnight on Sunday March 7th otherwise they will be released for general sale. Pay at http://www.CampusPicnic.com
    CollegeRoad.ie Tickets for Campus Picnic selling fast guys, buy from http://www.campuspicnic.com - make sure you don't miss out on the BIGGEST party of the year... have you got yours yet????
    Grace Hurley:
    Are there any tickets left?????? ('.')

CollegeRoad.ie:
    Yup, buy now while stocks last

Now, while judging by these posts by the SU, ticket sales were not a problem, it's pretty obvious that they were among the main problems. That would beg the question, why was there no posters/flyers around campus? I was nearly drowned in flyers by election candidates, but have yet to set eyes upon a Campus Picnic flyer. Therefore, unless you listen to RedFM, or are a frequent user of college related internet, you would'nt know anything about the event.

Considering what a huge scale event it was, and how this rather amateur and unprofessional mess-up will impact upon big acts decision to play these events in the future, would it not have been sensible to put absolutely all the SU's attention into it?

The last 2 days I've seen the SU represented on campus, giving out tea and blowing bubbles. Perhaps if some of these people had allocated their time to promoting this gig instead, maybe it wouldn't have been cancelled?

Interestingly, the only reactions I've seen to the cancellation are "lol" etc, and there's nobody saying "OMG no!!! I was looking forward to it so much". That would suggested that either A) Nobody bought tickets, or B) Anybody who did is excited by the prospect that they now get their money back, and a second chance after their decision to invest in something that was never going to work.

I'd rather put my money into Anglo Irish Bank than give it to the SU for an event like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Haha a big cock up by the SU and we are all laughing, I love the trying to deflect the blame when it goes wrong above, you would probably have been the first on here on the 28th claiming how great you are if it had went well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 TheArtfulRotter

*Breathes in* ahhhhhhhhhh, the smell of failure.

Nice attempt by the SU to pass the blame when their name is plastered all over this mess. :pac:

Comming soon -- a SU presentation -- A Piss Up in a Brewery.:o Tickets only €99; hurry while stocks last. :pac:

SUFAIL.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

PaulieC wrote: »
    Since when are we ahead?? Events on UCC campus could make the college money imo, nothing makes a profit straight away anyway

Ahead as in they hadn't ploughed a pile of money into it so cut the losses and run.

Quit as in they hadn't sold enough tickets to justify going ahead with it.

This wasn't being held on campus was it?

You'll find the vast majority of concerts do make money straight away, either that or they are cancelled before hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

I love these little windows of insight into the workings of the S.U that we get from time to time. It was promoted as an S.U organised event from the start. Then as soon as it falls flat on its face, the "promoters" are all of a sudden some faceless entity. If the S.U was not going to have control over certain major aspects of the event such as the following:...
    samf wrote: »

The SU did not decide which acts would play at the event, the SU did not decide the venue and capacity for the gig, initially we worked hard to get it in the Quad however but this wasnt possible in the end, and the SU did not decide the ticket price.

....then what the hell were they thinking. All it proves is that firstly, once again the S.U has shown how little power it has in the grand scheme of things within and surrounding UCC and secondly, that they are completely clueless when it comes to some basic concepts and common sense.

In fairness to them, at least they tried but next time, they should learn how to walk before they decide to run a marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

SU reps how many tickets were sold? as % of capacity will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Nothing to do with this so don't know how true it is but I heard less than 10%

There's more chance of Korean Unification then there is of the SU actually telling us something truthful about their figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samf

I dont know what the final sales figures were and for obvious reasons we wont be releasing them, its irrelevant now anyway.

Sorry to any students who feel let down or angered about the whole thing, but just know that we tried our absolute best to make this a successful event, it wasnt to be but we're happier than to have tried than to be sitting thinking of what might have been.

Hope most students understand that, and im not willing to get into an argument with any of the previous comments, everyones entitled to their opinion on it.

Trying to come up with entertainments that keep everyone in the college happy is a damn hard thing to do, and while i enjoyed the year I dont envy next years officer's job, however I wish her and future years the best of luck and hope that sometime in the near future something similar to this event will be tried out again and will enjoy the success that it deserves.

I didn't realise that Bertie Ahern posted on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I agree with nova era on the lack of poor promotion this event received. Red FM made mention of it, as did Boards, but if you weren't a fan of either then you would not have a notion what Campus Picnic was. I saw no fliers or posters for it around the college grounds. Fair play to the Student Union for trying, hopefully some valuable lessons have been learnt here.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 137 ✭✭Pi^2

Just back from the showgrounds there... I must say, Campus Picnic was a huge success in so far as it was exactly as we expected it to be - there was no one there, and there was zero good music to be heard! The atmosphere was somewhat lacking however. But at least I didn't have to pay!

In all seriousness, anyone going to see the noisettes, the coronas and the hoosiers in the Savoy tonight?

No?

Didn't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Max001

Agreed. But on a side note, the Trinity ball made huge losses in its first few years running, its only because its such a well established event that it sells out every year. Its tough to try something new and have immediate success.

Yer arse! Try the 6 P's Samf. Prior Preparation Prevents Piss Poor Performance!

And yes, in the interests of learning lessons and transparency, all the facts and figures should be published on collegeroad, or some other medium that people actually click on. Shining a light into the dark recesses of the SU is the only way things will improve!

Trying to come up with entertainments that keep everyone in the college happy is a damn hard thing to do/QUOTE]

Samf, coal mining is a hard job, soldiering is a hard job. Mincing around as an ents 'officer' is only hard, if you make it hard. Grow a pair.

A bit of common sense as well as a dash of intelligence, not to mention the smarts to go understudy at another gig before trying to become a concert promoter, would go a long, long way.

I was doing this kinda thing at secondary school for an income (gig promoter) and theres a tried and tested way to go about things. I'm not here to educate you, but I do feel 'campusfubar' is simply symtomatic of UCC SU all round.

I had a great time at the gig anyway, I hope everyone else enjoyed it too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samf

Max001 wrote: »
    I was doing this kinda thing at secondary school for an income (gig promoter) and theres a tried and tested way to go about things. I'm not here to educate you, but I do feel 'campusfubar' is simply symtomatic of UCC SU all round.
    Awh really, a promoter in secondary school? Wow i should be grateful to have the opportunity of such an experienced promoter like you impart some of your ever growing knowledge to me. Because im sure in secondary school you were involved in many gigs with 5 and 6 figure costs.

I clearly didnt mean the job is physically hard, (as in your miner example.... sigh) i meant its not easy to keep 18000 people happy every year, it was a good experience but one im glad to be getting out of now, because while the majority appreciate when you do your best, theres always one or two begrudgers, with nothing better to do than tell you how bad you've screwed up, and have no interest in anything other than to point out the mistakes and the negative side of everything. They usually claim to have experience in the area (e.g. a secondary school promoter) and occasionally may and try to impart some overly patronising "advice" just to reassure themselves that they'd clearly be absolutely flawless if they did you job. Of course in reality they'd never do the job because that would actually be doing something about it (:eek:), and couldnt be done from the anonymous comfort of your own home.

Sound familiar Max001? :pac:

Oh and heres some advice back for you, find a hobby. Seriously, anything to stop you posting night and day about something you clearly hate and have no time for. Maybe try the secondary school promotions again you seem to think you've got all those P's goin for ya :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Awh really, a promoter in secondary school? Wow i should be grateful to have the opportunity of such an experienced promoter like you impart some of your ever growing knowledge to me. Because im sure in secondary school you were involved in many gigs with 5 and 6 figure costs.

I clearly didnt mean the job is physically hard, (as in your miner example.... sigh) i meant its not easy to keep 18000 people happy every year, it was a good experience but one im glad to be getting out of now, because while the majority appreciate when you do your best, theres always one or two begrudgers, with nothing better to do than tell you how bad you've screwed up, and have no interest in anything other than to point out the mistakes and the negative side of everything. They usually claim to have experience in the area (e.g. a secondary school promoter) and occasionally may and try to impart some overly patronising "advice" just to reassure themselves that they'd clearly be absolutely flawless if they did you job. Of course in reality they'd never do the job because that would actually be doing something about it (:eek:), and couldnt be done from the anonymous comfort of your own home.

Sound familiar Max001? :pac:

Oh and heres some advice back for you, find a hobby. Seriously, anything to stop you posting night and day about something you clearly hate and have no time for. Maybe try the secondary school promotions again you seem to think you've got all those P's goin for ya :rolleyes:

Burn! I don't know how you don't lose your temper more often on here, but you should, it's great!

Samf, unlike you, I have taken on a project within UCC, that will benefit many students and is within my capabilities. It will be planned, executed and regularly reviewed, with lessons learned made public, because ultimately, while its starting small in the autumn, one aim is to become a model of best practice over the three years I'm going to commit to it.

Sound like a familiar scenario Samf? No, I didn't think so.

So; you go your way and continue to make assumptions and talk about things of which you clearly know little and I'll go my way and walk the walk, instead of merely flapping my gums.

End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Whats the project??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

Samf, unlike you, I have taken on a project within UCC, that will benefit many students and is within my capabilities. It will be planned, executed and regularly reviewed, with lessons learned made public, because ultimately, while its starting small in the autumn, one aim is to become a model of best practice over the three years I'm going to commit to it.

So; you go your way and continue to make assumptions and talk about things of which you clearly know little and I'll go my way and walk the walk, instead of merely flapping my gums.

End of.

Tell us what it is so if its so great

Fair question.

However, its a bit sensitive until its launched, which is tentatively planned for the first week of next term. Theres a lot of planning to be done over the summer and at this point I'd not have any detail other than a project outline.

When you see a new 'body' launched within UCC during the first week of next term, its value and purpose will be obvious. Once launched, it'll be absolutely transparent.

Sorry I can't say more for the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Fair question.

However, its a bit sensitive until its launched, which is tentatively planned for the first week of next term. Theres a lot of planning to be done over the summer and at this point I'd not have any detail other than a project outline.

When you see a new 'body' launched within UCC during the first week of next term, its value and purpose will be obvious. Once launched, it'll be absolutely transparent.

While I can appreciate you can't go into serious detail about this project of yours - it seems you're flapping your gums tbf

That said, you sound so enthusiastic about it - good luck - lets hope your walk is as good as your talk

Fair question.

Transparent as mud at the moment.

Are you
    a)providing a service
    b)selling a product
    c)creating a organisation/group/club/society
    d)invading Poland

surely you can disclose this much!

will this be profitable for you or are you just doing it for the kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

End of.
    Fair question.

10248KettleCallingPotBlack.jpg

Samf, unlike you, I have taken on a project within UCC, that will benefit many students and is within my capabilities.

Samf did setup the dead and buried E+S society, which was all over college two years ago and won numerous society awards (which I am constantly reminded about) and a European mystery tour.

Also has any previous ents officer done as much? The previous guy was non-exsistant.

What ever mystery Mickey mouse project your working does half of what he did (or a quarter of what you built it up to be) maybe jus maybe could you lecture people on how to benefit the students of UCC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭FerrisBueller

I don't go to UCC and I have no idea who any of ye are, but I'm sorry the amount of attacking is seriously ridiculous!

I have never held an SU position, but I have been in a very responsable position for a society before and I can tell you that whether or not one considers the job you're doing good or bad, it's still pretty hard work!

An SU position in the space of a year really is something which is a lot more difficult than it looks, as in planning realistically needs to be done before one even wins a campaign when you think about it. Also, I'm not sure about UCC but I'm sure that samf (along with other officers) found out about a number of restrictions after they were sworn into office, hampering their progress.

Also, have you been to universities abroad? To be honest Irish ones are fantastic for organising events, etc in comparison to most places around the world. I honestly think there's little room for complaining unless samf did nothing all year except talk about the fact that they won an SU popularity contest, which I highly doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

End of.

Meh, your idea sounds like fluff to be honest.

come back in september so samf can have his sweet sweet revenge. :D