Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man shot dead in Ennis Road petrol station

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Jigga wrote: »
    Here's article to the 3 who were concivted for Coughlan killing for those who may not remember
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0730/limerick.html

I am convinced it was for Treacy testifying, the Dundons have previous for killing relatives of witnesses i.e. Roy Collins. Anyway this was an innocent man going about an honest days work delivering bread. And the Gardai knew he was a potential target due to his brother testifying, why the hell was he not under Garda escort. The Gardai will have lot to answer for I reckon.

So you expect the Gardai to provide around the clock protection to every member of the Tracey family? Really?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Here's article to the 3 who were concivted for Coughlan killing for those who may not remember
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0730/limerick.html

I am convinced it was for Treacy testifying, the Dundons have previous for killing relatives of witnesses i.e. Roy Collins. Anyway this was an innocent man going about an honest days work delivering bread. And the Gardai knew he was a potential target due to his brother testifying, why the hell was he not under Garda escort. The Gardai will have lot to answer for I reckon.

There will be 101 theories as to why it occurred, they have someone in custody at the moment so I'm sure in due course it will come out.

Although his father philly may have accepted the witness protection, that doesn't necessarily mean daniel and the rest of the family did. He may have preferred to take his chance and live his life without guards following him everywhere. I know the sisters don't have guards following them either.

Thats without even going down the road off the massive cost involved to the state

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    So you expect the Gardai to provide around the clock protection to every member of the Tracey family? Really?
    Yes. They knew he would be a murder target for his brother testifying. His brotehr may be a scumbag but he put 5 of the McCarthy Dundons behind bars. It wouldn't cost much for 2 Gardai to follow him to work every day, an innocent man is now dead. And now can you see anyone willing to give evidence agaisnt a major gangland figure in Limerick after the murder of Daniel treacy and Roy Collins?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Yes. They knew he would be a murder target for his brother testifying. His brotehr may be a scumbag but he put 5 of the McCarthy Dundons behind bars. It wouldn't cost much for 2 Gardai to follow him to work every day, an innocent man is now dead. And now can you see anyone willing to give evidence agaisnt a major gangland figure in Limerick after the murder of Daniel treacy and Roy Collins?

How many members of the Tracey family are there? And as another poster has mentioned above it looks like the victim had been offered Gardai protection in the past and not taken it up.

the immediate family including parents would be 7 i think, obviously 6 now that daniel has passed away. So that would be 14/12 guards. Not feasible, thats without taking into account partners which would have married into the family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    How many members of the Tracey family are there? And as another poster has mentioned above it looks like the victim had been offered Gardai protection in the past and not taken it up.
    That is just speculation from the poster above. The justice system of the entire state has been undermined by these 2 murders in particluar, I can't see anyone testifying against the Dundons again and that is what they will have wanted to achieve. Limerick is now fvcked because nobody will be brave enough to testify again and the only hope we will have is that they will wipe each other out or the gardai catch them red-handed doing something. Because nobody will testify again unless you are very, very brave like Steve Collins

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Jesus christ, i was there at about 4 o'clock this morning on my way home from work.

That is just speculation from the poster above. The justice system of the entire state has been undermined by these 2 murders in particluar, I can't see anyone testifying against the Dundons again and that is what they will have wanted to achieve. Limerick is now fvcked because nobody will be brave enough to testify again and the only hope we will have is that they will wipe each other out or the gardai catch them red-handed doing something. Because nobody will testify again unless you are very, very brave like Steve Collins

True, just speculation, but probably the truth. They all had protection around the time of the case and for a short while afterwards, since then it has just been the father getting the protection on the bread run.

Just one thing.

How easy would it be for someone like us (i.e just a random person from Limerick with no gang connections) to take this scum out one by one? Yes it may be mob mentality but something has to be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

Melion wrote: »
    Just one thing.

How easy would it be for someone like us (i.e just a random person from Limerick with no gang connections) to take this scum out one by one? Yes it may be mob mentality but something has to be done.

Given that the Collopys and Keanes had no success at this, I guess it wouldn't be easy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭rubensni

mike kelly wrote: »
    Imprisoned gang members should be forced into solitary confinement, that would at least stop them from continuing to exercise influence while locked up.

Get real. We have fellas sleeping in the showers in Mountjoy due to overcrowding, after forking out millions for an empty field in north Dublin for a prison that will never be built:
    400 inmates are sharing cells with at least three other people. A further 40 prisoners are in cells of five or more people...More than two-thirds of the men in Limerick Prison are sharing cells with another person while a tenth are in cells of more than three people. In Cork Prison, there are 108 people in cells of three or more people, according to Department of Justice Figures. Mountjoy has some of the worst overcrowding, with at least 50 prisoners in cells of four or more people while 290 are sharing a cell with one other. http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2010/01/05/story108988.asp

The fact is the State has no money. How else did the poor chap who died today not have protection? He was an obvious risk after all. Meanwhile the gangs are minted.:(

We all know the problem here: it's lack of resources. From the regeneration stalled, to the lack of gardaí on the street, this is going to get worse before it gets better.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Casperbhoy

Id be in favour of setting up an Irish foreign legion. Send them to Chad & places like that under the supervision of the army, put the barstewards to work

Prison is too good for them

Mayor of Limerick Kevin Kiely is calling for the internment of known gang criminals.

His comments come following the shooting dead of a delivery man at a petrol station on the Ennis Road in Limerick early this morning.

The victim was approached by a lone gunman at around 6.30am and shot dead.

A 29-year-old man has been arrested in connection with the investigation.

Fine Gael Councillor and Mayor Kevin Kiely said measures introduced by the Government to deal with gang crime did not go far enough and internment should now be considered.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/limericks-mayor-calls-for-selective-internment-of-gang-criminals-447241.html#ixzz0gH5PCeG8

A lack of Gardai??
    I went through a checkpoint on the Shannon to Limerick dualcarriageway at 4 o'clock this morning, there were at least 8 guards there doing nothing. I didnt see one other car between Shannon and Thomondgate.

Rookster wrote: »
    There is only one solution to these scumbags. THE FINAL SOLUTION!!!!!

That's legalise and tax drugs I assume? Anything else is just tinkering around the edges - up to and including genocide!

Just one thing.

If you've got one of these? Not too difficult. Anything else and you're a gonner!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgDgVbRKRrM

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

If one stops to think about it, what these gangs are doing could readily be described as terrorism.

Their actions generally are to use violence, or the threat of it, to intimidate and to achieve their aims through the coercion of others.

The way I see it is that the government and judges should stop messing about by giving these scum short sentences, early releases, and suspended sentences, and start charging them as terrorists.

Get that on their records, and give them the full sentences that can be applied for being a terrorist. Being a listed terrorist would then cause them to be redflagged quicker when they are abroad trying to get arms or whatever, plus it might draw the kind of attention that those that sell weapons to them may want to avoid.

Kess73 wrote: »
    If one stops to think about it, what these gangs are doing could readily be described as terrorism.

Their actions generally are to use violence, or the threat of it, to intimidate and to achieve their aims through the coercion of others.

The way I see it is that the government and judges should stop messing about by giving these scum short sentences, early releases, and suspended sentences, and start charging them as terrorists.

Get that on their records, and give them the full sentences that can be applied for being a terrorist. Being a listed terrorist would then cause them to be redflagged quicker when they are abroad trying to get arms or whatever, plus it might draw the kind of attention that those that sell weapons to them may want to avoid.

I agree 100%, the goverment needs to take action. They are "enemies of the state" & should be treated as such

Terrorists have agendas, demands, manifestos, etc. These guys just want to make money. Just remember the old cliche: one man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter.

Just as when the IRA was going around robbing post offices in County Limerick back in the mid 90s, by calling these murderers anything other than common criminals is to play into their own sense of self importance.

They are scum and deserve to be treated as such. Assets seized and long sentences.

Casperbhoy wrote: »
    I agree 100%, the goverment needs to take action. They are "enemies of the state" & should be treated as such

Had to laugh a few minutes ago when I read that Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy came out with the line about how new legislation was being worked on in relation to dealing with criminal gangs.

The same line was trotted out after Shane Geoghan was brutally murdered in 2008. Then when Roy Collins was murdered by scum in 2009, the public was again told that new legislation was being fast tracked into use to deal with the criminal gangs.

Now again today in 2010 after yet another senseless murder, we get to hear about this miracle legislation that is being worked on to be enforced against criminal gangs.

http://news.ie.msn.com/article.aspx?cp-documentid=152250953

rubensni wrote: »
    Terrorists have agendas, demands, manifestos, etc. These guys just want to make money. Just remember the old cliche: one man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter.

Just as when the IRA was going around robbing post offices in County Limerick back in the mid 90s, by calling these murderers anything other than common criminals is to play into their own sense of self importance.

They are scum and deserve to be treated as such. Assets seized and long sentences.

Ok so these guys want money and status. Does that not count as an agenda?

To be a terrorist you do not have to have a cause or a manifesto. What these scum do on a regular basis does match the broad definition of terrorism, and if by calling them terrorists it meant they got proper punishment, then I could care less how their egos get boosted by it. If committing murder and being charged under a terrorist act for it got you 25 full years in prison with no early release, and it started to be implemented by the courts, well after a while it may not be such an ego boost to be charged as a terrorist.

If being caught with firearms and being charged under a terrorist act meant a minimum of ten years with no early release, then it may not be as much of an ego boost to be called a terrorist.

I know they are scum. I know they deserve long sentences and their assets seized. But the current laws allow judges to apply that punishment and it simply does not happen.

I could not care what nametag they get tried and convicted under, as long as it came with the longest sentence for each crime committed, was binding in law, and the time you serve is exactly the time you were sentenced to. Good behaviour should mean only doing what you were sentenced to, bad behaviour should mean a longer sentence.

rubensni wrote: »

Thats a fair point, I think what we are trying to say though is that they need to be set apart from common criminals. They are vermin with no chance reforming themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭DJ_U4EA

Had to laugh a few minutes ago when I read that Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy came out with the line about how new legislation was being worked on in relation to dealing with criminal gangs.

The same line was trotted out after Shane Geoghan was brutally murdered in 2008. Then when Roy Collins was murdered by scum in 2009, the public was again told that new legislation was being fast tracked into use to deal with the criminal gangs.

Now again today in 2010 after yet another senseless murder, we get to hear about this miracle legislation that is being worked on to be enforced against criminal gangs.

http://news.ie.msn.com/article.aspx?cp-documentid=152250953

The only legislation they need: use of force, use of pepper spray/tasers, open ended holding times for anybody involved in gang activity, minimum of 20 years for anybody convicted of being involved with one of the gangs (regardless of their role).

If the gardai take the gloves off and get properly stuck into making every single second of life a nightmare for these gangs we might see a turnaround. Nobody cares if you drive a scumbag out somewhere nice for a baton party, nobody cares if you drag the scumbags by the hair kicking and screaming from their houses, nobody cares if the need arises to use force on a mouthy scumbag- JUST GET THE BLOODY JOB DONE!

DJ_U4EA wrote: »
    The only legislation they need: use of force, use of pepper spray/tasers, open ended holding times for anybody involved in gang activity, minimum of 20 years for anybody convicted of being involved with one of the gangs (regardless of their role).

If the gardai take the gloves off and get properly stuck into making every single second of life a nightmare for these gangs we might see a turnaround. Nobody cares if you drive a scumbag out somewhere nice for a baton party, nobody cares if you drag the scumbags by the hair kicking and screaming from their houses, nobody cares if the need arises to use force on a mouthy scumbag- JUST GET THE BLOODY JOB DONE!

Personally I agree with everything you said there.

But the Devanes of this city would have a field day getting big compo claims for the poor abused scum, who know no better. And all funded by free legal aid.

The only way the guards in this city will actually do something about this is when one of them is murdered by this scum.

They don`t fear domestic incarceration, violence, threats, pressure being applied

They have no place within civilised society & have no contribution to make

What do they fear? maybe being displaced? they feel safe in numbers, we know that

A prisoner exchange programme might be an idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

This is the reality of the situation:

1: We need more prisons & in particular maximum security ones for gang members.

2: We need more Gardai & in particular special trained military police style units to target gangs.

3: We need tough laws and judges who are not scared to enforce them.

4: We need politicians with the will to make this happen.

Unfortunately none of this is going to happen and Fachta Murphy can trot out all the bull$hit excuses he likes, nothing will happen because of this murder, just like nothing changed after Shane Geoghan and Roy Collins. It is not going to get better anytime soon because this state is constantly cowing down to human rights bollocks that is exploited time and time again by the criminals in this country. Politicians have not got the BALLS to make this happen and the people of this country will just vote in the same shower of inept politicians at the next election.

Limerick is heading fast towards a Detroit like scenario. Mark my words.

The only way the guards in this city will actually do something about this is when one of them is murdered by this scum.

I really hope it does not get to the stage where we have to find out if there is truth in your comment.

I think there needs to be more done at the court stage than at garda level to be honest.

I am no great fan of some of the garda work in Limerick, but it seems to me that even when the gardai arrest these animals, that it is at court level where they get let go again with soft sentences. Hence the growing number of cases involving people with 50 or 60 previous convictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Liam79

The biggest problem here is the fact that being in this “gang” is to many people, perceived as being “cool”
    Shows like the Soprano’s create a slightly romantic image of being in a gang. Being a made guy etc etc
    Tony was a horrible racist murdering cnut. But he was the hero. You liked him, and you thought Paulie was hilarious. Paulie murdered old ladies!

Youngfellas growing up in the troubled estates, they reckon joining these gangs is cool. I wanna be Tony! I wanna be Christopher. Yes the Sopranos ended badly for them all, and Tony was a seriously troubled guy. But he was still THE MAN!

These youngfellas are prob driving around listening to The Sopranos Theme on cd, or Gangstas Paradise, thinking, I’m cool, I’m one of the bad guys.

Now I am not blaming HBO! It was a brilliant show and I loved it.
    But I think the reporting of these crimes on the news and the red top Sundays as “Gangland warfare” as opposed to just criminals shooting criminals, and this crap of giving them names ala The General, The Penguin, The Viper, Psycho etc only feeds this image.

I heard your man Dutchy Holland on the radio a while back and he said that the Dutchy thing was Paul Williams invention and no one called him that…..!
    In essence Williams was making this guy into an iconic figure which in reality he wasn’t!

Now the younger kids see this, they think these guys are so cool, driving their big cars, getting into the papers on a regular basis with their monster tattoos and their gloks and colts and getting mad nicknames. Gangsta’s!!
    They want to be part of it. It’s a media driven recruitment in a way!
    And of course the scum are only too happy to accommodate them! They are also only too happy to bring them into Cal’s Park/Hyde Road Field, make them dig their own grave with a gun to their head and murder them.

So long as its in the media all the time as Family V Family, Gang V Gang, Smokie V Psycho….. as opposed to Criminal kills Criminal, then certain kinda people are gonna be drawn to it, and it will go on and on and on.

Being a Gangsta….is cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

RonMexico wrote: »
    This is the reality of the situation:

1: We need more prisons & in particular maximum security ones for gang members.
    No. We need to stop wasting spaces on lower category prisoners and use other methods like tagging for them.
    2: We need more Gardai & in particular special trained military police style units to target gangs.
    The Gardai in Limerick are arguably the best equipped and resourced division in the State and have the best detection rate in the country. You need evidence to prove a crime and the only way to do that these days is targeted surveillance not sheer numbers of Gardai.
    3: We need tough laws and judges who are not scared to enforce them.
    We've had an absolute raftload of legislation over the last 20 years to deal with gangland crime & dissident terrorists. All it requires is patience for the current Garda operations to yield results. Building a rock solid case can take years.
    4: We need politicians with the will to make this happen.
    That's not going to be a problem. Politicians have a field day with knee jerk reactions to horrible crimes like this. Throwing around crazy ideas like internment shows up that.
    Limerick is heading fast towards a Detroit like scenario. Mark my words.
    No it really, really isn't. There are less than 100 people involved in feuds in Limerick. Targeted Garda surveillance can make their activities extremely difficult if its done right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Liam79 wrote: »
    Being a Gangsta….is cool.

Messing with fonts/size however, not so much...