Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxegen 2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Snas

This lineup makes me cry. :(

Would I get into Electric Picnic at 17? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Snas wrote: »
    This lineup makes me cry. :(

Would I get into Electric Picnic at 17? :P

Most likely yeah. I've never been checked for ID (except going to get a pint in the main arena) so I wouldn't really worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Eminem and Jay-Z are great, it's their fans that are the problem

Edit: Does this mean that the Daft Punk rumours aren't true? Goddamn it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

antodeco wrote: »
    Yay! Means I will be going to Electric Picnic instead now! Was trying to decide which, but the skank factor has won me over and allows me not to participate. Although, some young ones could be looking for a nice fella to give them a fingering...luv

Well i'm sure there'll be enough Anto's and Deco's at Oxegen so enjoy EP!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

phasers wrote: »
    Eminem and Jay-Z are great, it's their fans that are the problem
    Doesn't thinking they're great make you a fan?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Doesn't thinking they're great make you a fan?
    Yep. Now shut up or oill batter ya

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 cartman555

simply the BEST oxegen line up EVER! actually probably even the best concert line-up ever in Ireland! JAY-Z and EMINEM! still cant believe they could get acts that good!:D usually the oxegen line-up is muck but this year its gunna be amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I love Jay-Z, Eminem, BEP and Florence and The Machine. Wish I was allowed go.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Each to their own, but i certainly wont be going to Oxegen. It was good in the early years but now its gone too commercialised for me. I'm gonna take my chances at EP,Indiependance and life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Jesus wept. Who'd have thunk the ****test festival ever could get ****ter?

A mix of D4 trendies AND knackers. That impending massacre will sort out my two most hated demographics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

Christ there is just no pleasing some people.

There are many great bands/artists at this years Oxygen.

Just because there's one or two acts you don't like doesn't mean the whole festival is ****e.

Get over yourselves for **** sake. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

If they announce Pendulum, Brand New, 30 Seconds To Mars, The Mars Volta, Chimaira (doubtful) then I'll be really happy.

Decent enough lineup.

I'd hope that nobody would go to an artist just to throw sh*t at them etc. I never really get that tbh. Looking at video's on YouTube of My Chemical Romance at the Download festival when loads of idiots went and threw stuff at them.

It's a fcuking festival. Go see someone else. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Can't believe Broken Social Scene are playing. Would love the chance to see them again, but not at Oxegen thanks very much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

What is with all the has-been artists too...Stereophonics, Faithless, Eminem, The Prodigy.

Its also gonna be knacker fest too, maybe the recession might stave off some of them to let some people enjoy all of the two decent bands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

the only ones id really like to see from that lot are muse and florence . . .and maybe mumford and sons. other than that it sounds fairly shít . . .

just compare it to glastonbury line up . . .makes it look really bad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

I like Jay Z and Black Eyed Peas, but I'm not sure I'd like to see them at a festival. If I go this year I don't think I'll camp, there was a dodgy enough crowd there last year and I'd say it'll be much worse this year with some of the bands that are playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Oxygen? Rubbish concert, Regae Geel is where it's at :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭chillin_penguin

I think the line up looks awful this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Soul Cake Duck

Twee. wrote: »
    Can't believe Broken Social Scene are playing. Would love the chance to see them again, but not at Oxegen thanks very much!

Would really love to see these live..but I've done my time in the brat camp that is now oxegen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Wacken, grasspop or rock am ring here i come. It'll work out cheaper too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

doc1976 wrote: »
    What is with all the has-been artists too...Stereophonics, Faithless, Eminem, The Prodigy.

Its also gonna be knacker fest too, maybe the recession might stave off some of them to let some people enjoy all of the two decent bands

They all constitute has-been artists to you!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

Gillington wrote: »
    They all constitute has-been artists to you!?

You have to remember, alot of these people complaining are just complaining as they aren't going and when asked why they aren't going they can just say "oh i didn't like the line up.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

You have to remember, alot of these people complaining are just complaining as they aren't going and when asked why they aren't going they can just say "oh i didn't like the line up.."

+1 mate.For some reason most of the people on this thread have a serious chip on their shoulder about oxegen for whatever reason.Seriously lads-Its fvcking pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Anyone who likes this year's line up needs to seriously review their music taste.

Voltwad wrote: »
    Anyone who likes this year's line up needs to seriously review their music taste.

...or you just need to realise that people have different music tastes to you:rolleyes:.I started pissing myself earlier when a poster said he thought mars volta were good.

This thread is going to end well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

...or you just need to realise that people have different music tastes to you:rolleyes:.I started pissing myself earlier when a poster said he thought mars volta were good.
    Nah

Well there's music and there are Oxegen "fashion bands". And Jay Z is rubbish, I thought Eminem had retired...

Oh and before the accusations, yes, I'm a TOTAl music snob. Yup that's me :cool:

And hypocrite much to pysl at another posters taste when you preach different tastes?

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Well there's music and there are Oxegen "fashion bands". And Jay Z is rubbish, I thought Eminem had retired...

Oh and before the accusations, yes, I'm a TOTAl music snob. Yup that's me :cool:

And hypocrite much to pysl at another posters taste when you preach different tastes?

Jay Z is fvcking unbelievable.How many No.1 albums has he had again?Ah but sure, thats just a fluke isn't it?:rolleyes:

Well, if you're a self confessed music snob I'm not really going to take your opinion seriously so.

I only mentioned Mars Volta because he was giving out about music tastes and I was simply pointing out that I don't like their music.I had originally said to myself I wouldn't criticise others tastes but given the posters arrogance I felt I had to point it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Hedman

+1 mate.For some reason most of the people on this thread have a serious chip on their shoulder about oxegen for whatever reason.Seriously lads-Its fvcking pathetic

Dunno about anyone else on the thread but i definitely have a chip on my shoulder about Oxegen. Comes from the fact that last time i was there 2 years ago we practically had to have someone sitting beside our tents all weekend keeping guard because all of our stuff kept getting nicked, muppets jumping on our tents during the night and wrecking them. Random knobheads wandering around looking for rows and then to top it off some cnut thinking it'd be hilarious to start setting tents on fire, while we're still in them.

The festival's a kip and it's been getting worse every year imo, nothing pathetic about not wanting to hand over good money for a weekend like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Jay Z is fvcking unbelievable.How many No.1 albums has he had again?Ah but sure, thats just a fluke isn't it?:rolleyes:

Well, if you're a self confessed music snob I'm not really going to take your opinion seriously so.

I only mentioned Mars Volta because he was giving out about music tastes and I was simply pointing out that I don't like their music.I had originally said to myself I wouldn't criticise others tastes but given the posters arrogance I felt I had to point it out.

why does it have to be about no 1 albums and record sales who cares about that stuff, and also jay z is a over weight pile of excrement every rap fan surely knows dr. Dre is quality and Eminem who beat the blacks at there own game ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Don't really enjoy the oxegen experience anymore.

It'll be all about hitting up Electric Picnic this year for me, aswell as going to much much cheaper festivals in Spain/ Belgium/ Germany. Some alternatives;

http://www.meltfestival.de/en/acts

http://www.pukkelpop.be/en/

http://www.primaverasound.com/ps.php?seccion=cartel&idioma=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I went Oxegen the year Snoop Dogg was playing (God knows, I wasn't going to watch him). Needless to say, I haven't been back since.

Unbelievably bad maybe. Hahah.

Yea right, record sales are indicitive of being a talented musician. Not fluke, but popularity and good publicity definitely.

How many number 1 albums has Britney Spears had?

PS. Rolleyes is a very irritating emoticon. You're relatively new and may not be aware of that so I'll let you away with it. ;)

This thread is going to end well...

I was thinking that when I saw the thread title, I'm surprised it has been allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Knack-fest 2010!!

Oh man this is gonna be full of the "white socks tucked into tracksuit brigade"

Choon!!!

There's gonna some amount of honda civics at this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

The fact that Oxegen is labelled as a rock festival makes it extremely frustrating that the likes of Eminem and Jay Z are headlining. Its a shame because this festival has been going down hill ever since they changed the name from Witness to Oxegen.

Roll on EP i suppose, or i might just head across the water and go to Reading-Leeds.

The fact that Oxegen is labelled as a rock festival makes it extremely frustrating that the likes of Eminem and Jay Z are headlining.
    My friend referred to it as a rock festival earlier and I had to ask was he serious (genuinely, as I don't give a crap about it myself and never have). Looking at lineups, it's really just a collection of whatever's currently mainstream mixed with one or two popular older bands.

Yeah, if you go onto the oxegen homepage, it says "Europe's favourite rock and roll weekend"

My arse.

Yeah, if you go onto the oxegen homepage, it says "Europe's favourite rock and roll weekend"

My arse.
    Oh wow, that' unreal. Wish we had a proper rock festival, though would probably still work out cheaper to go Europe :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

life-festival.com

Its a shame because this festival has been going down hill ever since they changed the name from Witness to Oxegen.

It reminds me of when Bart and Lisa go to Camp Krusty, except the people who go are also knackers.

Oh wow, that' unreal. Wish we had a proper rock festival, though would probably still work out cheaper to go Europe :rolleyes:

Maybe if MCD wasn't so busy organising the same Piss up in a field in your wellies with the Kings of Franz Patrol Killers festival every year, they could get their ass in gear to organise something like Donnington, Rock AM Ring or Novarock..

Feck it, I'd rather spend my hard earned money abroad :D

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Maybe if MCD wasn't so busy organising the same Piss up in a field in your wellies with the Kings of Franz Patrol Killers festival every year, they could get their ass in gear to organise something like Donnington, Rock AM Ring or Novarock..

Feck it, I'd rather spend my hard earned money abroad :D

Are we allowed to discuss them now? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭happydayz182

this thread makes me angry

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Are we allowed to discuss them now? :confused:
    Yeah, for ages now :P MCD MCD MCD MCD

Haha considering this years line up for oxegen, there may be a new ban on discussing MCD after this years oxegen festival :P

Ah great. MCD are the biggest shower of money-grabbing bastards that I have ever had the misfortune of doing business with! Man that felt good. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

With the exception of 2002 i have been to every Oxegen/Witnness since they began in 2002. Every year the lineup,IMO, has been very strong with a mainly Rock theme(Hence "Europes favourite Rock festy") but this year gives me very little reason to want to go.I was gonna give it a miss this year anyway and go to TITP but given that its practically the same lineup I wont be going there either now.
    Even though I could at a push pick 8 or 9 bands to make me want to go the thoughts from previous years of Tent-Jumping,Firestarting,Car window smashing,Beer nicking and other various forms of mindless gobsh!te-ness would certainly put me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 meaty33

When ppl heard you couldnt make it sales plumited and there was an influx of refunds>>>They all want to be there with ye this year tho.....lol:)