Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Cloning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

steve06 wrote: »
    That's why I don't think they can access the info... I'm sure dpa wouldn't let them to be honest.

Give me your reg and I'll tell you where you live, what type of car you have, what colour it is, when the tax is out and when the test is up;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Give me your reg and I'll tell you where you live, what type of car you have, what colour it is, when the tax is out and when the test is up;)
    Why dont you stop dancing around and state where you are getting this info so we can determine if its even relevant to the thread?

On the whole blanking thing:
    1) If you were a criminal out to slip by and commit crime you wouldn't be driving a rare car, you would choose something way more mundane. Think about it.
    You wouldnt need to go online and search said rare car, you would just copy the next Audi A4's regplate you see on the street. And even if they had something exotic and get-away friendly like a (stolen) Audi RS4, for the purposes of evading ANPR and Gardai, a A4 TDI regplate would be just fine. Better perhaps.

Sure, someone could clone your reg plate when they see it online.. but outside of some very specific scenarios, thats not a likely occurrence. You are more likely to be a victim of identity theft driving at Silver 1.4 Golf (/Avensis/Focus). Plenty of on street reg plates to choose from, none of this (traceable) online forum trawling bull$hit. The "Here is what I saw today" thread is nearly 800 pages long...

2) Car Sellers with blanked out plates are usually fraudsters. They do this so you cannot search the Financial and Crash history of the car. Usually they dont even have the car, they are operating one of those stupid schemes where the car is in "x country" right now, send me money and you get it at 2/3 price. Otherwise they may be covering crash damage etc.
    If you are a genuine seller selling a car, I can absolutely assure you, you have lost potential customers if you have blanked out plates. Its an "I'm a scam" flag.

3) To avoid M50 tolls you dont even need a cloned plate. You can use any plate that isnt yours, or even easier, just put a screw in a weird place. The fact we now have a freeflow payment system, 1 of them (one main one anyhow) that other countries have in abundance, for years, and we are getting all hot and bothered about complicated fraud rings set up to avoid a 2 euro toll over a bridge... pure Irish.

The pure flights of fantasy on this thread:
    "Im selling a €400 car on Donedeal, whats to stop people stealing my plate and running up and down the M50"
    "Someone was staring at my regplate yesterday in traffic"

:eek: :eek:

You all been reading spy comics recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Ha Ha, I really hope something that's a 'flight of fantasy' happens to you some day.

Have you chosen out of spite or ignorance to not read the relevant news links and actual instance of this happening ?

Jip wrote: »
    Ha Ha, I really hope something that's a 'flight of fantasy' happens to you some day.

Have you chosen out of spite or ignorance to not read the relevant news links and actual instance of this happening ?

I have read them and find most of them, like this thread, rabid scaremongering. How many cars are cloned from your car park at work? Oh wait without a media hype machine to tell you what to fear next, how can we gauge threat!?
    Note, I never said car reg plate cloning doesnt exist, I just debate the relevance of it in the OPs case (like what, 5 of them in Ireland, too stand out ish for crime etc) or the photos of ultra exotics (that the poster doesnt even own).

I dont think you actually read more than the last 4lines of my post anyhow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

What media hype machine ? It has and does happen, end of.

Jip wrote: »
    What media hype machine ? It has and does happen, end of.
    Good come back.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I have read them and find most of them, like this thread, rabid scaremongering. How many cars are cloned from your car park at work? Oh wait without a media hype machine to tell you what to fear next, how can we gauge threat!? Note, I never said car reg plate cloning doesnt exist, I just debate the relevance of it in the OPs case (like what, 5 of them in Ireland, too stand out ish for crime etc) or the photos of ultra exotics (that the poster doesnt even own).

I dont think you actually read more than the last 4lines of my post anyhow.

I agree, and I know first hand the plague of reg cloning. My dad is still in a argument with the Toll bridges lawyers about paying fines for trips he didn't make. Somehow the idea of a 2005 LWB Ford Transit reg on a clapped out 90's Corolla doesn't seem to quite enter their heads as something which is wrong. And its never been up for sale, bought new.

If somebody is going to clone your reg they are going to do it regardless. Carzone might make it slightly easier, but the odds of you actually having it done to you are so small as to make it a pointless exercise.

Adn for the argument of something like a monaro being cloned. Its a very rare car, which means it stands out and makes it very likely its going to be caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Blanking your reg is like putting a house up on daft and not saying where it is in case someone uses your address for identity theft. It's just silly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Blanking your reg is like putting a house up on daft and not saying where it is in case someone uses your address for identity theft. It's just silly!

Yeh, but I can't stick your door number on my house and not pay my bin charges now can I :)

However, i could look for a Black 99 reg Golf 1.9 TDI on carzone, so if it does get radioed in by the Gardai or Pictured on ANPR it wouldn't raise any red flags.

Also if i were that way inclined i'd pick a car located in the opposite end of the country to minimise the risk of ever running into them.

Would be alot harder to do the above and without online car search engines .. if you were that way inclined ;)

If someone doesn't want to pay a €3 toll they're not going to clone a reg, they'll just not bother washing their car so it can't be read. If a plate is cloned then it's for another reason like a robbery, in which case the car is usually ditched afterwards anyway.

And if you clone a plate, what's to say the car you've taken the plate from has even paid to motor tax or has an NCT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

In general I would have thought it easier to spot a car in a car park and clone it rather than one on sale.
    If a plate is cloned then it's for another reason like a robbery, in which case the car is usually ditched afterwards anyway

If a plate is cloned then it's for another reason like a robbery, in which case the car is usually ditched burnt afterwards anyway.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

If someone doesn't want to pay a €3 toll they're not going to clone a reg, they'll just not bother washing their car so it can't be read. If a plate is cloned then it's for another reason like a robbery, in which case the car is usually ditched afterwards anyway.

And if you clone a plate, what's to say the car you've taken the plate from has even paid to motor tax or has an NCT?

Exactly .. the Ad usually has all that handy information regarding if its Taxed and NCT'd :) If it was on the street i'd have to go check and possibly draw attention to myself.

Port Tunnel toll is 10 euro a pop, plus could fill up at a Petrol station and just drive off, drive past a couple of speed cameras for the craic.

Getting new plates is pretty easy and they can just be ordered online.

Anyways this is a common occurence in the UK especially with the London congestion charge and the most annoying thing is that the system is automated so its even harder to convince them that it wasnt you.

Any SIMI reg'ed garage so long as they've paid their subscription can get all the info about a cars owners address etc from the reg no.
    Matt Simis wrote: »
    Why dont you stop dancing around and state where you are getting this info so we can determine if its even relevant to the thread?

If you read all the posts you will see I already said where I was getting the info:D there was no dancing around. Its relevant because it shows that once you have a reg its very easy to get adresses etc of the vehicle owner.

I could have made an assumption yes, but you didnt outright state that misuse of SIMI databases was the basis for your account lookups. I assume there is a legal responsibility and therefore liability for your employer if they allow their access to be misused in a such a manner.

Yes there is liability but it would be next to impossible to prove, this info is available to loads of people, Guards, council employees, toll bridge operators, Banks, upcoming speed limit enforcement co. etc, hiding your reg on a high value car would be a very wise move less so a 3000 euro corsa etc.

Yes there is liability but it would be next to impossible to prove

I reckon your posts alone should be enough to prove that the system is misused!

And you can bet they monitor what cars you're running a search for.

I reckon your posts alone should be enough to prove that the system is misused!

And you can bet they monitor what cars you're running a search for.

How was I misusing it?? by telling someone where they live and what car they drive, I'm fairly sure they already have this info themselves.

It's personal info, yet you can access it whenever you want, for no valid reason at all? I'd say that's misuse.

While on the subject of getting car info I have a friend who deals in modern classics Escorts, Mk1 Golfs etc and if he sees a car on the road that he thinks he would sell he takes the reg and rings his local tax office and gives them a sob story about a hit and run on his car or some story along those lines and the usual response from the tax office ladies is along the lines of "I'm not supposed to give out this information but........." and it works 90% of the time for him, he then goes to the owner and makes an offer(once picked up a mint KP Starlet for 250 euro and sold it on for 3500 euro using the above method to find out where the car lived)

It's personal info, yet you can access it whenever you want, for no valid reason at all? I'd say that's misuse.

Take it up with SIMI, its a service they provide to the motor industry for an annual fee.

How was I misusing it?? by telling someone where they live and what car they drive, I'm fairly sure they already have this info themselves.

Do you have to login to this system/database? I work in a business with personal details, there are very specific laws in the EU on identifiable information. You cannot, for instance, have blanket access to user details for no apparent reason, cannot hold such details beyond certain periods and must control access to said details. What you described sounds... non-conformist in a completely illegal manner, even if you are not a scammer personally.