Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrestlezone Ireland info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

in case you missed it first time..

Can you pay on the day, or do tickets have to be bought upfront???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

kinda softening my stance on the price now that ive had a think on it, think it was a knee jerk reaction to it as most were expecting it to be sub 100 euro mark, but i guess with pics autographs and lunch with them its not bad for the price

and as for the one day price, im not sure what exactly what will happen on the second day that will not happen on the first

Ill still have to see if I will goto this but im warming to the idea, might wait and see what the family offers are as well

Shin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Ah yes. Gerard C. Another of the serial negative pack. Since you had no credit in your phone a few weeks back to text my asking me for my CV I never expected you to be a positive and consider this value. Maybe you can go and see Tipp in Croke Park this year in the quarter, semi and final of the All Ireland hurling and fork out about €300 on travel and tickets and drink for Kilkenny to beat ye in the final again.:pac:

Candice will have to wait for her inner thigh to be signed.

Serial Negative pack? By commenting on the deflation in the value of the pound sterling in the last few years? Are you serious or joking? I actually said I might go earlier in the thread. I wasnt even responding to you when I made that comment.

You'll be eating your words when we bring Liam home this year boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Thanks lads,
    I have had a few organisations onto me about doing a wrestling show on Saturday night too and I am very keen on the idea but I need to talk hotel around

I like these posts myself. Constructive/negative/positive all in one.

Alan.

Like ive said in that post i understand you have to make profit Alan. And i respect someone like yourself trying to give Irish wrestling fans something like this..but you understand my and others trepidation at the price of 160 euro's for a simple meet and greet. If you could have some wrestling at the event even just some local Irish guys then id imagine that would soften the blow of the price and encourage more people to go, And in regards to Foley its not just AWR hes cancelled on but he also cancelled on IWW a few times aswell

Again Davrho,

I know you showed big interest early doors on this and thanks for this and I am sorry you and your mates feel like this. I like the idea posted about €5 a week to cover costs. Makes sense. Maybe if Gerard C puts only €5 credit in his phone each week instead of 10 he could go too. Candice will go home sick if her thigh doesn't get signed.

Whats your obsession with my credit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 TKT

Jesus Christ!
    In so many of my posts I mentioned things like I understand it's probably not too possible to do it for cheaper but I believe it's too expensive for people, the fact that you get so ratty and especially the type of sarcasm you're throwing at Gerard.C I feel you have to be taking everything said personal...even the ones where people are saying price is too high but fair play. Seems petty and childish to me. Cop on, and maybe it will not be cancelled, if you have enough interest already then fair play, I underestimated the market for wrestling in ireland.

I still think it wont go ahead and you'll disappear off these boards. That's just my opinion, don't get ratty over it. I'm not suggesting that I hope it fails, I hope it suceeds.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

ill re-open this in a bit, its getting a little heated at the moment and i just want to read through this before it potentially becomes an issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Ah Flahavaj again,

I was in Belgium yesterday. I don't need to check this every 5 minutes. I have work to do. This isn't a serious advertising campaign for me on this site ya know. I log in when I get a chance. I will Pm you in future when I am about to log in shall I?:pac:

You're getting very touchy lad.

I've been nothing but polite to you on this thread despite privately thinking you're p*ssing in the wind with this venture and setting yourself up for a big fall. Between this pretty immature post above and your constant petty jibes about phone credit and hurling you're showing yourself up to be pretty unprofessional to go with your poor judgement.

You wouldn't ever catch a serious promoter of well run wrestling events like Mark Sloan acting like that on a message board, no matter what was said to him. Its what seperates the professionals from the amateurs I suppose.

Anyway good luck with this, but think long and hard about what your doing because at that price you're playing with fire IMO.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Ireland2010

Roar wrote: »
    in case you missed it first time..

Can you pay on the day, or do tickets have to be bought upfront???

Thanks Roar,

I certainly did miss the first time mate, sorry about that. It is indeed pay up front any point from mid April to 2nd weekend in November.

Alan.

Like ive said in that post i understand you have to make profit Alan. And i respect someone like yourself trying to give Irish wrestling fans something like this..but you understand my and others trepidation at the price of 160 euro's for a simple meet and greet. If you could have some wrestling at the event even just some local Irish guys then id imagine that would soften the blow of the price and encourage more people to go, And in regards to Foley its not just AWR hes cancelled on but he also cancelled on IWW a few times aswell

I am very keen on the idea of putting on a free show on Saturday night with one of the organisations in Ireland. Think this is a great idea. Its more than a simple meet and greet I would like to think.:pac:

TKT wrote: »
    Jesus Christ!
    In so many of my posts I mentioned things like I understand it's probably not too possible to do it for cheaper but I believe it's too expensive for people, the fact that you get so ratty and especially the type of sarcasm you're throwing at Gerard.C I feel you have to be taking everything said personal...even the ones where people are saying price is too high but fair play. Seems petty and childish to me. Cop on, and maybe it will not be cancelled, if you have enough interest already then fair play, I underestimated the market for wrestling in ireland.

I still think it wont go ahead and you'll disappear off these boards. That's just my opinion, don't get ratty over it. I'm not suggesting that I hope it fails, I hope it suceeds.

I'm not getting ratty lads. It was said I was gone quiet so I have given each post a personal reply. Regarding Gerard C. Totally joking. I mentioned Candices thigh weeks ago to him.

I have never taken anything personal in my live and I have dealt with loads of different sports men and women down through the years.

ill re-open this in a bit, its getting a little heated at the moment and i just want to read through this before it potentially becomes an issue

This is far from heated. I thought by giving each a personal reply the way to do it as I think it is only manners.

flahavaj wrote: »
    You're getting very touchy lad.

I've been nothing but polite to you on this thread despite privately thinking you're p*ssing in the wind with this venture and setting yourself up for a big fall. Between this pretty immature post above and your constant petty jibes about phone credit and hurling you're showing yourself up to be pretty unprofessional to go with your poor judgement.

You wouldn't ever catch a serious promoter of well run wrestling events like Mark Sloan acting like that on a message board, no matter what was said to him. Its what seperates the professionals from the amateurs I suppose.

Anyway good luck with this, but think long and hard about what your doing because at that price you're playing with fire IMO.:)

And again the point is missed. As I said earlier I don't see this forum a serious advertisment for our event hence me coming on the forum. I enjoy the banter. If Gerard C thought I was poking at him about credit or hurling I apoligise. I hope they beat Kilkenny if I was honest. I hope any team does. You said I was gone quiet so I told you where I had been. Mark Sloan is a class act and if this forum was a 1% priority to me as an advertisment/promotion I wouldn't come on it either. I enjoy it. Opinions are what make things better. Not touchy at all. I have enjoyed replying to each person individually as people can make up their own minds. The post about the event being cancelled I nearly got touchy about but I rose above that one as I know how concrete it is.

I have told the organisations involved I will return their requests when I get a chance and allow them to promote an event on the Saturday night if the hotel are for it as I certainly am. I have aimed to please all age brackets/families/organisations/indivduals along the way. Please don't think I'm ratty mate as I ain't.

Fair enough.

Why can't people pay on the door? You'd hardly turn away good money surely?

Fair enough.

Why can't people pay on the door? You'd hardly turn away good money surely?

I am limited on numbers each day. Hence the 2 days. Thats basically the reason Flahavaj.

What if you didn't sell out fully beforehand, would you reconsider then?

And again the point is missed. As I said earlier I don't see this forum a serious advertisment for our event hence me coming on the forum. I enjoy the banter. If Gerard C thought I was poking at him about credit or hurling I apoligise. I hope they beat Kilkenny if I was honest. I hope any team does. You said I was gone quiet so I told you where I had been. Mark Sloan is a class act and if this forum was a 1% priority to me as an advertisment/promotion I wouldn't come on it either. I enjoy it. Opinions are what make things better. Not touchy at all. I have enjoyed replying to each person individually as people can make up their own minds. The post about the event being cancelled I nearly got touchy about but I rose above that one as I know how concrete it is.

I have told the organisations involved I will return their requests when I get a chance and allow them to promote an event on the Saturday night if the hotel are for it as I certainly am. I have aimed to please all age brackets/families/organisations/indivduals along the way. Please don't think I'm ratty mate as I ain't.

Twasnt the credit jibe at all, twas the serial negative pack one that came off very touchy

Where else are you advertising also Alan if this forum is only 1% of your market?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭wayne76

lad's i'd just like to throw my opinion up if i can.
    1st off alan thanks for your individual reply's as in other cases ya dont even get that respect from promoters, plus i think the forum here is a small minority of the potential fan's, ie. i dont see wwe tour's advertised on board's so there's a potential 4 million fans in this country, even as a big fan of boards.ie it doesn't cover the population so advertising is key imo, also there has been comments passed over the duration of this thread by people that will most likely end up attending this event even though they are quibbing about the price now, so i would like to say i have confidence in this event being a huge success and when it is i hope ya come back on here to confirm that! thank's again and looking forward to the official website:)
    wayne76

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I have to say, I live down the road from the Glenroyal and had been looking forward to this since I first read about it on here. I wouldn't be an avid fan of wrestling, more of a closet fan (sorry lads) as would most of the lads I grew up with, there's not one of them who didn't get excited about the chance to meet Mick Foley and the Million Dollar man.

Let's look at it and say that your target market is lads 18-35 who grew up idolising these guys.

Now let's rule out those out of work or in financial strife this year.

So the young, free and employed, thank god, like myself.

I'm goin to Glastonbury for 5 days to see hundreds of the worlds top music acts including U2, Muse, etc etc etc and the whole trip, ticket, travel everything is costing me under 300. Electric Picnic or Oxegen would cost less.

How could anyone but the most hardcore of wrestling fans be willing to think "160 quid to meet and get my picture taken with some famous wrestlers, that seems like a good deal".

I read somewhere along the thread that 400 people went to something similar (or at least advertised as something similar) in the UK. Let's be very generous and say there's 40 million people in England and 4 million in Ireland.

Based on the same level of popularity for wrestling in both countries you can expect 40 people to pay to see this. On one day.

Wake up mate. It saddens me to say it, but this thing is dead in the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Oooops!

Did I actually kill this? If so I have directly affected the lives of Mick Foley, Lita and Ted DiBiase.

In which case I f**king rule!:D

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Oooops!

Did I actually kill this? If so I have directly affected the lives of Mick Foley, Lita and Ted DiBiase.

In which case I f**king rule!:D

Of course you didn't. Don't be silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭*tripsi*

Sorry guys, can i ask, Is lita confirmed??

*tripsi* wrote: »
    Sorry guys, can i ask, Is lita confirmed??

How ya doing Tripsi.

No as I confirmed Mick Foley to the second day it would have been an extra cost had I added Lita to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

What if you didn't sell out fully beforehand, would you reconsider then?
    Where else are you advertising also Alan if this forum is only 1% of your market?

I would be interested in hearing the answers to these as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭*tripsi*

How ya doing Tripsi.

No as I confirmed Mick Foley to the second day it would have been an extra cost had I added Lita to it.

Oh ok cool! If i can get the money, me and me brother and siser will def be going. Can't miss Candice and Foley! :D

gimmick wrote: »

I get the impression my questions are being dodged.

Tread carefully lads.

I get the impression my questions are being dodged.

Tread carefully lads.

Not being ignored Flahavaj. I said before I will always come back on at some stage when I get a chance.

The answer is no. Transaactions needed to be recorded with the selling date ceasing on a cerain date just before event. I am limited to numbers both days as I said hence the second day.

gimmick wrote: »

I have my advertising campaign arranged with all the usual routes any event would be arranged with. National Papers, TV, Radio etc.

These will kick in mid June. Tickets go on sale mid April to able people who have contacted me directly to get their tickets before the national campaign happens.

Not being ignored Flahavaj. I said before I will always come back on at some stage when I get a chance.

The answer is no. Transaactions needed to be recorded with the selling date ceasing on a cerain date just before event. I am limited to numbers both days as I said hence the second day.

that makes absolutely zero sense whatsoever. None in fact. i'm still puzzled by it.

selling date ceasing? limited to numbers? transactions being recorded? that just sounds like complete and utter waffle.

if you're limited to numbers, why not accept cash on the day, and when your limted numbers are full, just close off the event and tell people who are waiting in line that you've reached capacity?

this whole thing doesn't sit right with me at all..

that makes absolutely zero sense whatsoever. None in fact. i'm still puzzled by it.

selling date ceasing? limited to numbers? transactions being recorded? that just sounds like complete and utter waffle.

if you're limited to numbers, why not accept cash on the day, and when your limted numbers are full, just close off the event and tell people who are waiting in line that you've reached capacity?

this whole thing doesn't sit right with me at all..

I pay tax roar. Mainly thats it. I can't except cash. You can buy tickets up to 2 days before. If it doesn't sit right I can't do much about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I don't approve of the overwhelming cynicism and skepticism in this thread. Guy's just promoting a wrestling event, taking in feedback, yet he gets a ton of abuse over it.

I'm relatively new to Boards.ie but if/when this event goes ahead, everyone who spoke negatively about the event will look like angry internet folk; and if it doesn't, then those same people will be vindicated (and also angry internet folk). Either way I don't think the tone is befitting an otherwise awesome knowledgeable crowd.

Has it happened that this many similar events were proposed over the years and has always fallen through? How many times? Why are people so vocally cynical?

I don't mean any disrespect, but I feel I must ask, because to me it seems out of line.

I pay tax roar. Mainly thats it. I can't except cash. You can buy tickets up to 2 days before. If it doesn't sit right I can't do much about it.

so you can't pay tax on tickets sold on the door on the day? how odd.

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I don't approve of the overwhelming cynicism and skepticism in this thread. Guy's just promoting a wrestling event, taking in feedback, yet he gets a ton of abuse over it.

I'm relatively new to Boards.ie but if/when this event goes ahead, everyone who spoke negatively about the event will look like angry internet folk; and if it doesn't, then those same people will be vindicated (and also angry internet folk). Either way I don't think the tone is befitting an otherwise awesome knowledgeable crowd.

Has it happened that this many similar events were proposed over the years and has always fallen through? How many times? Why are people so vocally cynical?

I don't mean any disrespect, but I feel I must ask, because to me it seems out of line.

Thanks you Jayhunter. Means alot. This is a 100% runner. Don't worry about that.

*tripsi* wrote: »
    Oh ok cool! If i can get the money, me and me brother and siser will def be going. Can't miss Candice and Foley! :D

Thank you tripsi. In that case you will certainly benefit from the discount options on the site.

The site is ready by the way but I am holding back on it as waiting on a confirmation before I go live.

Thanks,
    Alan.

so you can't pay tax on tickets sold on the door on the day? how odd.

Ah yes.I should give you a free ticket really, as out of all the comments so far this has stupidity written all over it. How odd is right.:pac:

Larry, Curly and Moe just asked the same question regarding tax.

Thanks to those again who contacted me during the week. I appreciate it immensely.

We will have a good few days.

Alan.

Ah yes.I should give you a free ticket really, as out of all the comments so far this has stupidity written all over it. How odd is right.:pac:

Larry, Curly and Moe just asked the same question regarding tax.

Uncalled for really.

Its not a bad question he asks.

Countless events all over the country take cash on the door every single day of the week. Whats the problem?:confused:

Uncalled for really.

Countless events all over the country take cash on the door every single day of the week. Whats the problem?:confused:

No problem whatsoever. Jayhunter summed it up really. Fair play to him and he was on an earlier post moaning but he is very logical. If anybody doesn't think this is value for money they know what to do on November 13th and 14th.

I can't put it clearer than that. Private correspondane regarding tickets have been brilliant and I can't thank people enough for their support but I do love the banter on here hence my less than 1% advertising comment.

"angry internet folk" That is pure quality in my opinion.

I put my phone number up on earlier posts for people to contact me directly with any queries but Gimmick took it down and advised against it in case I got negatives which is ironic really.

Uncalled for really.

+1 obnoxious comment tbh. Just because he asked about paying at the door? Which is a fairly logical question seeing as not all people have access to credit cards these days.. Especially with the situation of the banks at the moment, and also most "events" even concerts you can buy tickets at the door, dont see what that has to do with paying your taxes..

Its the way I work. I keep records. No cash. Not that difficult at all. Try and pay on the door of the O2 on the 9th and 10th of April and se how ya get on?

you can buy tickets a box office at any venue anywhere in the world man its not complicated, if an event doesnt sell out it gives people the option of the last minute purchase so yeah theoretically i could buy tickets at the o2.. Honestly No Cash= fu*cking retarded imo

With the greatest respect this is not an O2 Arena level production you're putting on, its a meet and greet of retired wrestlers in a hotel down the country.

It seems so odd you won't take cash on the door when its common practice at similar sized wrestling shows and sporting events allover the country to do so.

What if people don't have a credit card?

Not at all. I can't see what you and Walter are missing?

What part of no cash on the door are you missing.

If the younger people are concerned they should wait for our discount options. There they will save money as oppose to moan like jayhunter said.

We have 5 discount options for people to save on?

No cash. How easy can that be? If ya don't have credit/debit laser/paypal accounts its another thing I can't do anything about.

By alienating a % of your possible audience your on the road to failure.. Simple Economics..

Not at all. I can't see what you and Walter are missing?

What part of no cash on the door are you missing. Shall I put it in brail?

If the younger people are concerned they should wait for our discount options. There they will save money as oppose to moan like jayhunter said.

We have 5 discount options for people to save on?

No cash. How easy can that be? If ya don't have credit/debit laser/paypal accounts its another thing I can't do anything about.

Its perfectly clear that you're not taking cash. I'm not asking you to change your mind nor am I disputing that this is the way you're running it. It is an undeniable fact that you are not taking cash on the door of your event: upon that I am very clear and have been for quite some time.

But this is not my query Alan, just to be clear.

What I want to know is why no cash on the door? The reasons you have given are very vague and don't make any sense to me.

The braille comment was again, unecessary btw. What was that about "angry internet folk?":pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭cinder

seriously guys. you are nothing but moans. the guy is trying to promote something that ireland has craved for years and all people do on here is complain. no wonder a lot of promotions dont bother advertising on here. the amount of venom on here of people that think they know what there talking about is shocking. bottom line its his show. he can promoted how he wants. if he dont take cash he dont take cash. 1% of the audiance is a generous estimate for the audience on here that will actually go. same story all the time. best of luck with the meet and greet ireland2010

cinder wrote: »
    seriously guys. you are nothing but moans. the guy is trying to promote something that ireland has craved for years and all people do on here is complain. no wonder a lot of promotions dont bother advertising on here. the amount of venom on here of people that think they know what there talking about is shocking. bottom line its his show. he can promoted how he wants. if he dont take cash he dont take cash. 1% of the audiance is a generous estimate for the audience on here that will actually go. same story all the time. best of luck with the meet and greet ireland2010

I'm not moaning. I appreciate the fact that Alan comes on here and responds to users and their questions. I just find it strange that he's not taking cash at the door and wondering why. If he doesn't want to answer the question he doesn't have to or if theres some reason he'd rather not share then thats cool too. It is only Alan's opennes and willingness to engage with us that makes me feel that its OK to ask him questions in the first place and he deserves massive credit for this.

Personally, while its way overpriced for me I wish him all the luck in the world with this undertaking.

Honestly man why would you "wind up" and piss off your potential audience??

Would I be wrong in saying this is the only place the show is being advertised, too? So the only place this is being advertised is being wound up by the promoter? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭cinder

Honestly man why would you "wind up" and piss off your potential audience??
    a potential audience would be excited about something like this. not be negative. that all this forum is. who cares if doesnt take cash. it's clearly his business. surprisied he actually bothered advertising on here.