Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Times article on racist taxi drivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

So it's the migrants fault for availing of this scheme?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

WindSock wrote: »
    So it's the migrants fault for availing of this scheme?

Nope, its the poxs in government for allowing them stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

The vast majority of blaxis
    Thats why we have vast throngs of non EU citizens driving taxis on our streets.

got any figures as to what percentage constitutes this "vast throng"?

As long as my taxi driver gets me home, I don't give a **** where he or she comes from.

Even when it was the bears, I knew it was the immigrints.

Yawn, yawn, yawn.:rolleyes:

so you've turned a debate about white taxi drivers treatment of black taxi drivers into a thread about how they shouldn't be here in the first place.

yaw, yawn, yawn :rolleyes:

Stick up the South Park episode there too, theres a good man. These people got leave to remain against the wishes of the majority of the Irish people. 80% of the electorate voted against this loophole. It was undemocratic to let them stay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Sure is.

The vast majority of blaxis .....

Not that you're a racist or anything.

Stick up the South Park episode there too, ....

I've a few suggestions on what can get stuck up where too....

Nodin wrote: »
    Not that you're a racist or anything.

Its slang, similar to the term "blacks in the jacks". Nothing racist about that what so ever.

I've a few suggestions on what can get stuck up where too....

I would appreciate it if you could keep your fantasies to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Tell me about it.

Thank heavens we are importing highly qualified Africans to teach whitey a lesson.......

With all the shíte that goes on in thier country, and they can come here and have a laugh with us, and poor old fat lazy kunt jimmy down the road cant go for a few pints the weekend, boo hoo.

Think i give a toss about taxi drivers?

Just because they arent making as much €€€€€ as the used to, I dont care, buy a cheaper car, dont drink all night day, live within your means, gone are the day of the taxi mans country club, get with the times or get a new job.:mad:

"My wife is at me to go on holiday again this year, I could barley afford the last 2 a few months ago, now she wants to go again!!"
    :rolleyes: **** off.

Its slang, similar to the term "blacks in the jacks". Nothing racist about that what so ever.

You're singling out a group by their skin colour in a diminutive fashion, in a post that casts aspersions on the manner of their arrival in the country, states they were treated more favourably than locals, following it up with a post or two complaining about them being allowed stay in the country. So yes, its racist.

Stick up the South Park episode there too, theres a good man. These people got leave to remain against the wishes of the majority of the Irish people. 80% of the electorate voted against this loophole. It was undemocratic to let them stay.

The referendum wasn't to "send the buggers back".

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    With all the shíte that goes on in thier country, and they can come here and have a laugh with us, and poor old fat lazy kunt jimmy down the road cant go for a few pints the weekend, boo hoo.

What shyte goes on in Nigeria? A large proportion of the IBC scheme claimants were failed Nigerian asylum seekers.

What industry do you work in? I am sure there are millions of people in the third world who can do your job for a fraction of the wages. Especially if the state subsidised them in the form of welfare and rent allowances.

The referendum wasn't to "send the buggers back".

No, it was to stop them from coming in, claiming asylum, then giving birth, dropping their asylum claim and then been given leave to remain under the Irish Born Child scheme.

Thank Jebus we closed that loophole.

Yeah famine, starvation and civil unrest are no biggie....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Id say its more or less the same in Duublin, with the buses, Luas, and DART services. Not to mention the number of motorists who drive to work. I really dont get your point.....
    AHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    Seriosuly you think the bus,luas and dart bears any comparison to the nyc subway system ?? thats the funniest thing i've heard today

yes, both those terms are racist. reported.

....Especially if the state subsidised them in the form of welfare and rent allowances.

Yep....tick all the boxes why don't ye.....

I am sure there are millions of people in the third world who can do your job for a fraction of the wages. Especially if the state subsidised them in the form of welfare and rent allowances.

Im sure being an armchair debator can be replaced by a monkey or one of these.

Your replacement.

Yeah famine, starvation and civil are no biggie....

Without generalizing about all Nigerians, here are three significant reasons why the Nigerian community in Ireland has a poor reputation.
    1. Unemployment and welfare dependency. At the time of the last census, taken at the height of an economic boom in 2006, the national unemployment rate was 4.3 percent. The unemployment rate for Nigerian nationals was 31 percent. Only 38 percent of working-age Nigerians were actually working. More than 18 percent of Nigerians were claiming rent subsidies—compared to 1.5 percent of Poles.
    2. Welfare and immigration fraud. A joint operation by the Gardaí, the Department of Social and Family Affairs, the Immigration Agency, and the Police Service of Northern Ireland—codenamed "Operation Gull"—has found that Nigerians are "by far the largest single national group" involved in various immigration and social welfare scams to obtain benefits fraudulently.
    3. Bogus asylum applications. Nigerians constitute 25 percent of all asylum applicants to Ireland, even though Nigeria is a democratic country 5,000 km away that is not at war. Our courts recognize only 0.1 percent of Nigerian asylum seekers as refugees, an approval rate that is tiny when compared to other national groups (44 percent of Iraqis and 40 percent of Sudanese are approved, for instance). But Nigerian asylum seekers have wasted hundreds of millions of euros' worth of Irish taxpayers' money to pursue patently ridiculous claims—often based on "persecution" from voodoo curses, occult witch-doctors, and the like—through the Refugee Appeals Tribunal and the High Court. Some "asylum seekers" have actually been discovered sneaking home via the UK to visit friends and relatives, while claiming to the Irish courts that they fled Nigeria in fear of their lives.
    A Nigerian solicitor, now admitted to the Roll of Solicitors in Ireland, and working in a practice in Tallaght, stated in an interview in the Law Society Gazette of April 2006 that he claimed asylum seeker status to gain entry to Ireland, not because he was on the run from anybody, but simply because here there is a "better life".

He continued: "It's just a platform to enter the country".

http://www.lawsociety.ie/Documents/Gazette/Gazette%202006/april06.pdf

Page 27. Il leave it with ya.

No, it was to stop them from coming in, claiming asylum, then giving birth, dropping their asylum claim and then been given leave to remain under the Irish Born Child scheme.

"1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Constitution, a person born in the island of Ireland, which includes its islands and seas, who does not have, at the time of the birth of that person, at least one parent who is an Irish citizen or entitled to be an Irish citizen, is not entitled to Irish citizenship or nationality, unless provided for by law. 2. This section shall not apply to persons born before the date of the enactment of this section."

so the democratic wish of the people (btw 80% of the electorate didn't approve this, 79% of 51% of the electorate who voted approved this) wasn't that they all be rounded up and sent home.

and if you're representative of the type of person who voted for this amendment it's pretty sure they voted for ulterior reasons.

hence why the Phoenix Nights clip is quite apt.

After your previous posts, do you really think im going im going to read that?

I dont care if they are on the social welfare, many of them will clean toilets, shine your boots, etc,

Will you work in a toilet?
    that he claimed asylum seeker status to gain entry to Ireland, not because he was on the run from anybody, but simply because here there is a "better life".

Because No Irish person has EVER in the history of immigration, ever done this!!!!!

After your previous posts, do you really think im going im going to read that?

I dont care if they are on the social welfare, many of them will clean toilets, shine your boots, etc,

Will you work in a toilet?

Why do we need anyone to work as a toilet attendant?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Sure is.

The vast majority of blaxis are former asylum seekers.

Welcome to Boards. You're new here
    We don't accept racist terms here. This is site wide policy.
    Please read the charter

Why do we need anyone to work as a toilet attendant?:confused:

your not a fan of Clean toilets?

yes, both those terms are racist. reported.

Its Dublin rhyming slang, the whore in the sewer, the stilhetto in the ghetto, ah why do I even bother.

your not a fan of Clean toilets?

What are you on about now, son?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Maserati23

IrishManSaipan

Congrats: Well handled Thread:).

About time somebody told the truth. Then again you have the do-Gooders that know [EMAIL="f@ck"]f@ck[/EMAIL] all coming on and posting [EMAIL="R@ubbish"]Rubbish[/EMAIL] later.

Yes I am an ex taxi man. I make more money on the dole now than when I was a fulltime taxi driver.

I queried and applied for the BTW scheme before I started, The social welfare said the buying of your taxi plate, car, and licence , was paid for by the welfare " FOR NON EU NATIONALS ONLY".

So free rent allowance 75% of your welfare for the first year then 50 percent for the next 3 years while driving your "Free" taxi. Also just slipped my mind, after 3 years most availing of the scheme go on disability and drive at the same time. Fact.

Maserati23 wrote: »
    IrishManSaipan

About time somebody told the truth. Then again you have the do-Gooders that know f@ck all coming on and posting Rubbish later.

Yes I am an ex taxi man. I make more money on the dole now than when I was a fulltime taxi driver.

I queried and applied for the BTW scheme before I started, The social welfare said the buying of your taxi plate, car, and licence , was paid for by the welfare " FOR NON EU NATIONALS ONLY".

So free rent allowance 75% of your welfare for the first year then 50 percent for the next 3 years while driving your "Free" taxi. Also just slipped my mind, after 3 years most availing of the scheme go on disability and drive at the same time. Fact.

I worked for 6 months getting less wages in my job than I would on the Dole, Why? because I wanted to work. The tought of being on the dole scares the **** out of me.

...free haircuts.....wharble garble....sisters hairdressers sisters mother swore...... free cars .....wharble garble......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Do they eat swans as well, or dump their pushchairs as bus stops because the welfare will buy them a new one?

Just wondering.

...free haircuts.....wharble garble....sisters hairdressers sisters mother swore...... free cars .....wharble garble......

Feel free to point out any inaccuracies, Nodin.
    The vast majority of non EU taxi drivers of african origin are former asylum seekers. They got leave to remain under the Irish Born Child Scheme. Those who applied for the IBC scheme were offered courses and encouraged by the state and the various number of state funded immigrant agencies to avail of schemes run by the Dept of Social Welfare. Better to have them driving a cab than availing of the dole. Which under the scheme, they were entitled to as much as any Irish citizen.

The most widely used scheme was the Back To Work and Education Scheme, which includes grants from local welfare partnership to become self employed while retaining gradually lowered social welfare benefits over a five year period. Additional payments such as rent allowance are not affected and the recipient will continue to recieve these benefits regardless of income.

Over 90% of applications for the Back to Work and Education scheme were relating to the purchase of taxi licences and motors.The system is stacked in favour of the BTWE recepient as he is in receipt of welfare, rent allowance and paying no tax, whilst his competitor is paying full tax and trying to run a household on his deflated wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Maserati23

Yes you are full of garble alright.

Your real world is probably the local Spar:)

Get a life. Idiot

Do they eat swans as well, or dump their pushchairs as bus stops because the welfare will buy them a new one?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

You're a a taxi driver, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Your real world is probably the local Spar:)

This is one of the stranger insults I've seen...

Confab wrote: »
    You're a a taxi driver, right?

No, are you?

Iolar wrote: »
    Where do these people get this information from?:confused:

Word of mouth. People genuinely believe it. The free cars is the classic example. Even folk with sense have been taken in by it.

MikeC101 wrote: »
    This is one of the stranger insults I've seen...

I'm glad you said that, as I was wondering what the hell he was on about.....

Word of mouth. People genuinely believe it. The free cars is the classic example. Even folk with sense have been taken in by it.

If it is a myth please point out the inaccuracies.........
    The vast majority of non EU taxi drivers of african origin are former asylum seekers. They got leave to remain under the Irish Born Child Scheme. Those who applied for the IBC scheme were offered courses and encouraged by the state and the various number of state funded immigrant agencies to avail of schemes run by the Dept of Social Welfare. Better to have them driving a cab than availing of the dole. Which under the scheme, they were entitled to as much as any Irish citizen.

The most widely used scheme was the Back To Work and Education Scheme, which includes grants from local welfare partnership to become self employed while retaining gradually lowered social welfare benefits over a five year period. Additional payments such as rent allowance are not affected and the recipient will continue to recieve these benefits regardless of income.

Over 90% of applications for the Back to Work and Education scheme were relating to the purchase of taxi licences and motors.The system is stacked in favour of the BTWE recepient as he is in receipt of welfare, rent allowance and paying no tax, whilst his competitor is paying full tax and trying to run a household on his deflated wages.

I'm glad you said that, as I was wondering what the hell he was on about.....

Now you are just being a bit Centra, only a complete Tesco wouldn't get that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

If it is a myth please point out the inaccuracies.........

So you can just ignore them, as you did when your claim of more taxi drivers in NY than Dublin was shown to be inaccurate?

IrishManSaipan

About time somebody told the truth. Then again you have the do-Gooders that know f@ck all coming on and posting Rubbish later.

Care to provide a bit of evidence for this?

Can someone tell me where all these black taxi drivers are? I get about 6 to 8 taxis a month and in the last three years have had two black drivers (both of whom have been every bit as efficient and courteous as their Irish peers, not that that says much)

MOH wrote: »
    So you can just ignore them, as you did when your claim of more taxi drivers in NY than Dublin was shown to be inaccurate?

There are more taxi drivers in Dublin than in New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭spatchco

if this is in the wrong forum please change,while walking in to town this morning on Mountjoy Sq just at the 46a terminus a woman was standing at the stop ,the bus there but as we know you cant get on till driver opens the door so bus starts up woman knocks at door to get on but low and behold the bus moves off lights are red on Gardiner St so bus stops with that a young chap runs past me and knocks on the door driver lets him on ,woman sees this and does same think but driver does not let her on WTF,now i cant do anything [as i am a coffin dodger] slow am still asking myself what was that all about should say at this time woman at the bus stop was a colored person just think out loud to myself,finish of rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

What ever happened to "Attack the post not the poster"

21/25