Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird phone call! "online pc doctor" - Only thread on these scam calls please

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

keeps ringing me.

I rang vodafone and they said all they can do is stop "marketing calls", we'll see how it works, after that they said callthe guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭patentseven

The cops won't take any notice. They had it on crimeline once or twice but, it doesn't seem to be illegal wherever they are ringing from (India?).
    All you can do is hang up when you hear the words PC DOCTOR, COMPUTER, or VINDOWS. Just have some fun with them if you are in
    the humour otherwise hangup.

The cops won't take any notice. They had it on crimeline once or twice but, it doesn't seem to be illegal wherever they are ringing from (India?).
    All you can do is hang up when you hear the words PC DOCTOR, COMPUTER, or VINDOWS. Just have some fun with them if you are in
    the humour otherwise hangup.

they guy today, has called back several times and threatened to ring in the middle of the night!

*It may have been that i told him i wished he got either cancer or aids and if not him his children.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    Everyone who's ever had real IT support knows these guys are a scam.

Here, I'll give you some REAL IT support:
    • Have you checked if it's plugged in?
    • Are you SUUUUUUUURE??
    ...have you tried rebooting?

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Rickwellwood

had a call from these people too - had the radio on in the background during the call while i was listening intently to what the caller had to say yada yada - then put the phone beside the radio so the bloke IT guru genius on the other end was subjected to a bit of Joe Duffy for a while - he hung up and hasnt called back since :D

MURTINHO, ring in the middle of the night? IT my ass, that's vandal carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sorry you interrupted me as I was about to strike up the barbi and have some veal steaks! Mmm cow!

MURTINHO, ring in the middle of the night? IT my ass, that's vandal carry on.

Thats what he said "maybe you would like a call in the middle of the night", grand i had given him dogs abuse before that, phone is going to be on silent tonight either way:eek::eek:

There was a small piece in one of today's papers. We on here only hear from people
    who got calls but, it said more than 25% of peple in Ireland get calls frm scammers
    (sounds alot) & 16% of them fall for it. Like I said, must be lucrative. Orla Hogan Microsoft Ireland said "Criminals have proved their ability to inovate new scams is matched by their pursuit of money".

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

Got my first call from the Online PC Doctor today. Told him I work for Microsoft so he said "have a nice day" and hung up.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 fti

Got my call today from John Smith (or something like that) with an accent not quite matching such a name.
    I forgot to tell him I did not have any PC running on Windows OS and had an interesting chat with him. He made me take a look at all the errors which were about to kill my PC, I sounded so afraid he offered some help.
    Took me to visit logmein123.com (which seems to be legit), tried to make me enter some digits which I did not even if I said I was. I also invented various error messages ("This 6 digit code has been linked to a fraud case, please turn off your computer immediately") He was so afraid I would really turn my computer off and hence putting an end to this promising (to his point of view) conversation.
    I also on several occasions hung up, pretexting the line had just went dead, just to increase his annoyance level.
    I was eventually transfered to a manager (whoa, a manager !!!!) who tried to make me download some remote control tool, I asked several times to explain where was the link as I was unable to locate it (a very interesting conversation, full of "on the left", "no the left of the screen", "and what do you see now? => my computer screen" :D).
    Anyway as he was seemingly losing patience (and remember I was talking to A MANAGER), I eventually found the link, said I had clicked on it and that an error message was displayed "Sorry this tool is designed to run on Windows PC, it appears your computer is running on Linux which is flawless and does not require such software"
    I guess he may have understood by now and asked me "do you know what you are ?" I said "a human being ?" he then told me various names I did not understand (sounded like indian or somethin'), then told me to shut the f**k up and various other niceties.
    I just played on my computer a MP3 with a sarcastic laugh and put the phone in front of the speakers.
    Some 30 min later I hung off the phone so if he tried to call me back during these 30 min, too bad for him...

Anyway I stayed 35 min on the phone with them. I certainly wasted my time but also theirs. I guess if every one does the same, they will just stop ....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Even my 80 year old mother has been plagued by these assholes so I've told her if they ring again she's to tell them she's using FreeBSD :)

Oh my god, im such a eejit, i got a call today and i spoke to him for 22minutes, i had a feeling like it could have been a scam but now after reading all this it is obvious its a scam!! After 22 mins i hung up and the indian man told me i had to pay a once off payment of 189 euro.

So i obvious didnt pay that but what i did do was i entered this password 882264 ( which the Indian man gave to me )into a website called www.support.me , and this came up to download the file, and i didnt even though he persisted i should which i hung up there and then.

Okay so my question is, i logged on to that website, what damage has this done to my laptop and my Internet connection( i have 2 laptops in the house and one household computer) . Can they have access to my computer, and all my files?? I have loads of pics of me and my friends and pictures of me and my family when i was younger, and pictures of my nephews confirmation and communion.

what can i do??? please help as im FREAKING OUT!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,392 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Oh my god, im such a eejit, i got a call today and i spoke to him for 22minutes, i had a feeling like it could have been a scam but now after reading all this it is obvious its a scam!! After 22 mins i hung up and the indian man told me i had to pay a once off payment of 189 euro.

So i obvious didnt pay that but what i did do was i entered this password 882264 ( which the Indian man gave to me )into a website called www.support.me , and this came up to download the file, and i didnt even though he persisted i should which i hung up there and then.

Okay so my question is, i logged on to that website, what damage has this done to my laptop and my Internet connection( i have 2 laptops in the house and one household computer) . Can they have access to my computer, and all my files?? I have loads of pics of me and my friends and pictures of me and my family when i was younger, and pictures of my nephews confirmation and communion.

what can i do??? please help as im FREAKING OUT!!

Once you did not enter the code for support.me you are fine and have nothing to be worried about. Entering that code would have granted Tonto remote access to your system and then you might have had something to be concerned about.

If you genuinely did not enter that code you are fine ;)

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Hi

as far as I know support.me (also known as logmein123.com) is a legit website. It is widely used to help IT technicians in repairing PC remotely located.

If you did not download anything, I guess you are pretty much OK.

If you really want to be sure, you can have an online check with BitDefender
    just google for bitdefender online scan.

I would not worry anyway.

Take care
    fti ;)

Once you did not enter the code for support.me you are fine and have nothing to be worried about. Entering that code would have granted Tonto remote access to your system and then you might have had something to be concerned about.

Looks like she did :(

Anyway these guys are only interested in getting some money from you by selling lame software. Not hackers wanting to enroll your PC in a botnet.

Of course logmein123.com is a legit site, it's only a tool used to remote control.

The OP's worry was not the site but the individual attempting to use it ;)

Are you working for them fti?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Are you working for them fti?
    I wish I would as I am looking for a job even if I would prefer another company ;)

I don't know that tool so much just by googling it when the fake PC doctor tried to "help" me yesterday. But I think it needs to install some client on the PC to enable a remote control of it. So if our friend did not download anything I guess she is safe. Anyway a free scan from a well known AV software (BitDefender, AVG, Panda, ...) or even the free tool from Microsoft (google for Microsoft safety scanner) wouldn't hurt.

No, see i did enter the code,

what will happen to my laptop now?? i cant believe i fell for this its just im hungover, i know not a good excuse!!

anyone please help me, im freaking out

Yes you entered the code but you didn't download or run the file right?

If that's the case you are fine and have nothing to worry about ;)

No, see i did enter the code,

what will happen to my laptop now?? i cant believe i fell for this its just im hungover, i know not a good excuse!!

anyone please help me, im freaking out

Ok so you entered the code and the website prompted you to download something. You didi not accept the downloading ?

logmein123.com (or support.me) being legit tools, you don't have to be afraid of what the website might have done to your PC. I guess (but not 100% sure) you have to download something on your computer and then accept that someone takes control over your PC. I quickly read their user guide, and it says that it needs a program running on your PC to enable remote control.

You cant take a look at it:
    http://help.logmein.com/SelfServiceUserGuidesByProd

under the user guide section there's a link to download their user guide. It explains how to monitor the remote access. You're supposed to have an icon close to the clock display (usually bottom right of your screen).

Ask if you need more advice.

Cheers
    fti :)

Yes you entered the code but you didn't download or run the file right?

If that's the case you are fine and have nothing to worry about ;)

really i hope so??? god i am freaking out??? i cant get over this!!! What scumbags would think of doing this to people

fti wrote: »
    Ok so you entered the code and the website prompted you to download something. You didi not accept the downloading ?

logmein123.com (or support.me) being legit tools, you don't have to be afraid of what the website might have done to your PC. I guess (but not 100% sure) you have to download something on your computer and then accept that someone takes control over your PC. I quickly read their user guide, and it says that it needs a program running on your PC to enable remote control.

You cant take a look at it:
    http://help.logmein.com/SelfServiceUserGuidesByProd

under the user guide section there's a link to download their user guide. It explains how to monitor the remote access. You're supposed to have an icon close to the clock display (usually bottom right of your screen).

Ask if you need more advice.

Cheers
    fti :)

ya i didnt download anything. SO what do i do now??? nothing???? im freaking out still lol, i mean my computer has not been acting fishy since and the call happened about 2 and a half hours ago. Should i do any scans, do they have my IP address and if so, is this dangerous??

Ok take my advice as from someone quite knowledgeable about computers but not a specialist of logmein.

If you did not download anything and did not run anything "recommended" by these scumbags, you're safe.

You may want to make a AV scan to ease your mind, it wouldn't hurt and maybe you can even find something unrelated to that "friendly" PC doctor.

As for your IP address, if you want to be safe, just turn off your broadband modem (electrically speaking) and then on. Your provider would most probably change your IP address during that process (check before and after by visiting http://www.whatismyip.com/).
    Anyway knowing your IP address only tells them you're living in Ireland and they already know that;).

So my recommendation is:
    1) do a scan (not necessary but won't hurt)
    2) pour yourself a drink
    3) enjoy your drink while thinking about that lame PC doctor who did not succeed in stealing you 189 euros :D

fti wrote: »
    Ok take my advice as from someone quite knowledgeable about computers but not a specialist of logmein.

If you did not download anything and did not run anything "recommended" by these scumbags, you're safe.

You may want to make a AV scan to ease your mind, it wouldn't hurt and maybe you can even find something unrelated to that "friendly" PC doctor.

As for your IP address, if you want to be safe, just turn off your broadband modem (electrically speaking) and then on. Your provider would most probably change your IP address during that process (check before and after by visiting http://www.whatismyip.com/).
    Anyway knowing your IP address only tells them you're living in Ireland and they already know that;).

So my recommendation is:
    1) do a scan (not necessary but won't hurt)
    2) pour yourself a drink
    3) enjoy your drink while thinking about that lame PC doctor who did not succeed in stealing you 189 euros :D

Thanks a mill fti, your a star i feel good about it now:) did the ip address thingie and it has changed ha:) so happy, hopefully i'll be ok:)

Have a nice day:)

Thanks a mill fti, your a star i feel good about it now:) did the ip address thingie and it has changed ha:) so happy, hopefully i'll be ok:)

Have a nice day:)
    you're very much welcome :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8 imurphy

imurphy wrote: »
    Just got my weekly call from "24x7 PC Help". Said that my pc security had expired. When I questioned her on this she hung up. The number that came up on caller id was odd "0091797", can't be rung back.

http://www.microsoft.com/security/online-privacy/msname.aspx

another call this morning, i was hoping the copious abuse i gave them last week would have me taken off their lists. Nr came up as withheld this time. Surely there must be something the phone companies can do about this.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

I'm at home today - kind of hoping I'll get another call from these guys - cos I'm in a mood to mess with them. Any suggestions?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

God I'd love if these assclowns rang me.