Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bridge Withdraws from World Cup

• 25-02-2010 12:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭

England left-back Wayne Bridge has declared himself unavailable for the World Cup.

The Manchester City defender released a short statement this morning claiming his presence within the national squad was "untenable and potentially divisive" and that he did not wish to be selected.

It leaves Fabio Capello without both his first-choice left-backs for Wednesday's friendly with Egypt.

Nice one JT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

well we could all that one coming. It's England though, so who cares :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

yeah lashed it into the JT thread there

Capello will probably look to warnock or baines, unless he goes with milner who he has played there

women and idiot footballers..I'm sick of reading about these eejits day in day out. Don't blame wayne though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,427 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Wayne Bridge is the looser in this whole affair.

I know footballers can be spoilt brats but this occasion Wayne is on end of something that he should not have to be the end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Paleface

It should be the other way around. Terry is the one who caused all this.

Paleface wrote: »
    It should be the other way around. Terry is the one who caused all this.

dam right..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

From BBC
    Manchester City defender Wayne Bridge has made himself unavailable for England selection.

In a statement released by his lawyers, Bridge said his position in the England squad had become "untenable and potentially divisive".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭death1234567

He's rubbish anyway. Baines and Warnock should be ahead of him in the pecking order.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

He's rubbish anyway. Baines and Warnock should be ahead of him in the pecking order.

Bridge is muck as are Baines and Warnock. The only decent left back England have is that idiot Cole.

waiting to see some headlines for Rio..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Not a massive loss tbh. After Cole i'd have always though Warnock was England's most defensively sound LB. Maybe not as good going forward as bridge, but he's always put a good shift in any time I've seen him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

England defence isn't looking too healthy going into the WC.

First choice LB out injured. 2nd choice LB unavailable.

1st choice RB injured (Johnson is close to return though?).

Rio continually injured.

Terry badly out-of-form.

No settled goalie.

Though Warnock does look to be better than Bridge these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Bridge should break Terry's leg this Saturday. Maybe he is planning something epic and withdrew from the England squad before he would have been kicked out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

event wrote: »
    yeah lashed it into the JT thread there

Capello will probably look to warnock or baines, unless he goes with milner who he has played there

Milner at left back would be crazy. Barry could do a job there if needed but I'd have Warnock.....I may or may not be biased!

fullstop wrote: »
    Milner at left back would be crazy. Barry could do a job there if needed but I'd have Warnock.....I may or may not be biased!

yeah it would be madness, but capello has played him there

he wont be a starter for england if lennon is fit, so ye never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

That Arsenal kid (Gibbs?) will be on the bench for the WC then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Disgraceful Bridge is forced to do this. Feel sorry for the chap. Terry should be the one staying at home. This pretty much means Bridge is retired from international football until Terry retires.

I think Gareth Barry should get the left back spot myself. Baines would be my second choice. Cole may be back in time though so all this speculation could be pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

More info....
    In Bridge's statement released on Thursday, he added: "I have thought long and hard about my position in the England football team in the light of the reporting and events over the last few weeks.

"It has always been an honour to play for England. However, after careful thought I believe my position in the squad is now untenable and potentially divisive.

"Sadly therefore I feel for the sake of the team and in order to avoid what will be inevitable distractions, I have decided not to put myself forward for selection.

"I have today informed the management of this decision. I wish the team all the very best in South Africa."

mike65 wrote: »
    That Arsenal kid (Gibbs?) will be on the bench for the WC then!

Kieran Gibbs. Broken metatarsal has ruled him out until the end of the season. Very unlikely he'll be fit. Bit of a shame because he was having a good run of games and looks like he might have the potential to replace Cole someday. But he was being over-hyped to the nines tbh, I'd still rate Warnock and Baines way ahead of him at this point in time.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Gary Neville :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

no loss really.

it'll hopefully give Leighton Baines the chance, seen as he's a superior LB anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

SlickRic wrote: »
    no loss really.

it'll hopefully give Leighton Baines the chance, seen as he's a superior LB anyway.

I think Baines is better than Bridge tbh, should have always been between himself and Warnock for the back up LB slot imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Baines hasn't even been in a England squad AFAIK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Boggles wrote: »
    Baines hasn't even been in a England squad AFAIK?

Most likely not, he's a 50/50 chance now though.

magma69 wrote: »
    Disgraceful Bridge is forced to do this. Feel sorry for the chap. Terry should be the one staying at home. This pretty much means Bridge is retired from international football until Terry retires.

I think Gareth Barry should get the left back spot myself. Baines would be my second choice. Cole may be back in time though so all this speculation could be pointless.

when is the last time he played there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I feel really sorry for Bridge to be honest. Whatever you think of his prowess as a footballer (and I don't really rate him too highly to be honest), if I was betting man I'd say he would've started first choice for England in the event of Cole not recovering.

Basically he's suffering on the double for something that is no fault of his own. Firstly he gets f*cked over by his former clubmate and current England teammate in his personal life. Now he's going to miss out on potential immortality at the World Cup in the Summer (not saying they're gonna win it, but with Capello in charge its their best chance in decades) too. How's he gonna feel in the Summer if they DO win it and he missed out because JT couldn't keep his mickey in his pants?

If Terry had any decency whatsoever he'd offer to stand down from the squad, so that Bridge doesn't have to suffer anymore than he already has.

But I doubt he does, so he won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

PORNAPSTER wrote: »

He can't even play RB any more, never mind LB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Paleface

Nothing cool about Gary Neville!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Feel so sorry for Bridge. The man has done nothing wrong but he has had a load of agro and now has to withdraw from representing his country. Total joke.

Des wrote: »

Aye I would be so pissed off if he ended up at the world cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

He's been turned inside-out enough times recently to fit the bill now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Paleface wrote: »
    Nothing cool about Gary Neville!
    What about Phil?

He hates scousers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

All we need now is for Rooney to brake his leg and they havent a hope;)

even with Rooney they haven't a hope. don't believe the hype. their like this for every championshipp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

With Capello in charge they actually do have a chance this year though....

i can't see it tbh..have to wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Does anyone else find it interesting how the media are reporting this. 'Bridge turns his back on England'. He left the squad because his former captain cheated with his missus so turning his back on england is a bad way to report it in my opinion. Just sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

SSN jizzing themselves silly over this, you'd think he was actually good.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

JPA wrote: »

Sensationalism thats all

SantryRed wrote: »
    With Capello in charge they actually do have a chance this year though....

They've always had a chance in recent years. They've always had match winners in their squad, and for the most part they've actually had decent managers.

But the same thing always happens, the rags have their field day, the players egos get in the way, the manager gets undermined by player power, the vested interests come out from the shadows and the end performance is crap. It will be no different this World Cup, Capello will walk away a 'failure' (exact term to be coined by the Sun) and take the blame for everyone else's failings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

They've always had a chance in recent years. They've always had match winners in their squad, and for the most part they've actually had decent managers.

But the same thing always happens, the rags have their field day, the players egos get in the way, the manager gets undermined by player power, the vested interests come out from the shadows and the end performance is crap. It will be no different this World Cup, Capello will walk away a 'failure' (exact term to be coined by the Sun) and take the blame for everyone else's failings.

Capello is their best manager since Robson though.
    It will be different this time I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

I think it is more about the injustice of it rather than the detrimental effect it has on the England squad. Perfectly reasonable in my eyes. Bridge did nothing wrong and is being punished for it.

Capello is their best manager since Robson though.
    It will be different this time I believe.

That's true, but the media machine is much more powerful today than it was 20 years ago. Once the tournament gets underway every single move Capello makes will be put under the microscope, every little decision torn apart on its potential implications, the players will be misquoted, their 'advisors' will misguide them and last but not last you'll see a spate of red tops attempt to slander Capello's character just before the tournament starts. It's an impossible situation for any manager tbh, if he does manage to shield himself and the players from the media sh*te it'll be an absolute miracle tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

Just want to clarify something here...

Terry had an affair with the former financée of Wayne last year, right? Was she still with Wayne when this affair happened, or had they already broken up? I'm just trying to find out if she became his former financée before the affair happened, or after?

J.

jasonb wrote: »
    Just want to clarify something here...

Terry had an affair with the former financée of Wayne last year, right? Was she still with Wayne when this affair happened, or had they already broken up? I'm just trying to find out if she became his former financée before the affair happened, or after?

J.

It was in the immediate aftermath apparently, i.e. he started going round to her house within days, when Bridge would obviously still be very sore over it.

I think what pisses Bridge off more than anything else though is that Terry didn't have the balls to tell him to his face. Bridge only found out about the whole thing through the media apparently, all the time Terry was ridin' yer wan he was pretending to be Bridge's best mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

It was in the immediate aftermath apparently, i.e. he started going round to her house within days, when Bridge would obviously still be very sore over it.

I think what pisses Bridge off more than anything else though is that Terry didn't have the balls to tell him to his face. Bridge only found out about the whole thing through the media apparently, all the time Terry was ridin' yer wan he was pretending to be Bridge's best mate.

Ah, that makes sense. I was thinking that if she was an ex and it was all in the past, then the fact that Terry was with her shouldn't have had such an effect on Bridge ( never mind that Terry was still cheating on his own wife ).

What this comes down to is Terry is a better footballer than Bridge. So England can breathe a sigh of relief, they haven't lost one of their better players and the situation should be mostly defused by the WC. Of course Terry should step down, but of course he won't. Of course Bridge shouldn't have to step down, but I'd say quite a few of the England players / coaches are glad he has.

Bridge has just shown he has a lot more class than Terry has. No surprise there...

J.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

jt might not even be on the plane the way he's playing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ah, that makes sense. I was thinking that if she was an ex and it was all in the past, then the fact that Terry was with her shouldn't have had such an effect on Bridge ( never mind that Terry was still cheating on his own wife ).

I dont think its really possible for it to be 'all in the past' in this case, since she's the mother of his child so he's always going to have to be in close contact with her. But yeah, the fact it was soon after, with his best buddy is just exceptionally shit out of terry. I'd say in that situation, he'd simply never want to be in the position of seeing Terry, let alone sharing a pitch with him and having to be civil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Bridge claims the moral high ground and Terry is left looking like a knacker.

but I'd say quite a few of the England players / coaches are glad he has.

I'd say so. The wording of his statement makes it sounds like it's a fairly contentious issue among the staff. "Untenable", "divisive" and "distraction" are quite strong words for someone who's stepping down for personal reasons. I'd say the squad most have been split down the middle on this (just like people here are).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I really don't think Bridge had any other option.