Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Are You Playing? - Feb/March Edition.

• 26-02-2010 2:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 55,517 ✭✭✭✭

So whats everyone playing these days?

360:
    - I'm about 3 areas away from the end of Bioshock 2 - should finish it this weekend. Playing it the hard way (no vitachambers, rescuing little sisters and harvesting all Adam) so its a good challenge. It's a better game than Bioshock 1 too.
    - I rented Dante's Inferno on a whim at the start of the week. Its not as bad as people say, and I'm quite enjoying it.
    - The General Knox DLC for Borderlands is next. Looking forward to getting stuck into it.
    - After that, I'm starting Mass Effect 2 - I bought it a few weeks ago in a launch-day offer, and played the first section. Looks great.

PS3:
    - Got Heavy Rain today and can't wait to try it out.

DS:
    - Playing through Knytt Stories (homebrew). Its been a very quiet period on the DS. I hope things pick up soon.

iPod:
    - Space Miner. Ran down 2 full battery charges last Sunday playing this and its a great game. Its Asteroids with looting, lots of upgrades and a story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭Vyse

XBox 360:

Started the third disc of Star Ocean: The Last Hope. Really enjoying it, a lot more than I though I would.

GTAIV: DLC Disc: I'm pretty much halfway through the Lost & Damned and have decided to give up on it. It's so terrible that I'm not even bothered loading up The Ballad.....

PS3:

Just finishing off Uncharted 2 now. Great game but I can't see why it was so hyped. Uncharted was as good, both visually and gameplay wise.

Wii:

Playing Nights 2. Good enough little title. Really nice, dreamy soundtrack. Probably one that won't be finished as the Wii has been turned on for a grand total of 2hrs since we got it free with a phone contract.

PC:

Crysis: Recently bought a new PC so I thought I'd test it out with this beast. Not overly impressed but will try and battle my way through the rest of it at some stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

AvP2: Waiting for AvP to come from Play.com
    Starcraft: Brood War: Waiting for Blizzard to get off their rear ends and release Starcraft II already (beta pls!)

So much waiting! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Vyse wrote: »
    Crysis: Recently bought a new PC so I thought I'd test it out with this beast. Not overly impressed but will try and battle my way through the rest of it at some stage.

If you are playing Crysis you HAVE to use this custom config script.

Crysis Extreme Quality

It actually gives you better frame rates but makes the game look a lot better. I can't describe it, you just have to try it out for yourself.

PC:

Street Fighter IV
    James Cameron's Avatar: The Game
    Mirrors Edge (for the Physx on the PC)
    Need for Speed: Shift
    DiRT II
    Crysis: Warhead

Will be playing AvP and Bioshock 2 once I clear some of the other games. Will probably start World in Conflict akimbo to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

PS3: Master league in PES2010 - Just like Ive been doin on various playstations for the last 10 odd years :o

PC: Mass Effect - Resisted the temptation to launch into the sequel untill I played the first. Recently upgraded to a 5850 so playing this maxed out is pretty sweet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

PB:
    Bioshock 2 - loving this, single player is great and the multiplayer is suprisingly good too.
    AvP - played through the Marine and Alien campaigns and found it to be quite good, Predator one I got bored by second section, damn NPC Marines and their "I can see you cloaked from half way across the universe".
    World of Warcraft - don't look at me, DON'T LOOK AT ME.
    Dragon Age - bought it a month ago, still not started it
    Mass Effect 1 - trying to finish a second playthrough to import to ME2 but so many games in the way.

PS3:
    Assassins Creed 2 - downloaded the second DLC last week but ain't got round to it yet.
    Borderlands - tempted by the new DLC, loved Zombie Island and cranking BL up to 11 sounds like AWESOME.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

PC:Arma 2 pretty much, with the ACE mods and playing small coop missions.

Batman on Joker now so not much left in it.
    Bayonetta About half way tru it decent enough game batman has me distracted from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Wossack

pc - the saboteur at the moment (with a 360 pad) - good crack, quite enjoying it. TF2 otherwise...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭rizzla

Xbox 360

COD MW2 - Never leaves the side of the xbox
    Silent Hill : Homecoming - Should be arriving any day now

PS3

Resistance 2 - Haven't opened it yet but will soon
    Heavy Rain - I should be picking it up today

iPod Touch

Peggle - Brilliant game.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,436 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

DS: Pheonix Wright: Justice for All and Picross.

That's pretty much all I've time for these days and the odd bit of Front Mission 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Playstation 3

Just finished God of War and have jumped straight into God of War II.
    Up to level 15 in MAG but have put it on hold till I finish the GOW collection.
    I've also got Resident Evil 5 to start
    I wanted to re-play GTA 4 (for the Trophys) before the add-ons come out but I need to get all the above finished before I attempt it.
    I've also only 5 levels left in Uncharted 2 on hard, I want to finishs that along with getting all the treasures.

PC

I got Mass Effect on a Steam sale a few months back, need to get cracking on it.
    Want to get Battlefield Bad Company 2 as Call of Duty MW 2 still leaves a sick taste in my mouth.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,634 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

360:
    - Mass Effect 2 is my main focus this weekend, a good bit in, but the stupid save system seems to count the time you have the game paused in your overall time on your save games, so not really sure hour wise what I have put into it or how much I have left.
    -Bioshock 2 - player the opening scenes loved the first, this seems pretty excellent too but will have to wait

PS3:
    - Picked up Heavy Rain, this is my focus after or alongside with Mass Effect 2.

iPhone:
    - Plants Vs. Zombies, never picked it up on steam, but have it now and loving it, a bit sketchy on the 3g though sadly.

PC:
    - I'll dabble in the Starcraft Beta whenever I get time, but all the games I've spent money on above are a bit more important, Starcraft can wait until retail really.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Xbox: Picked up Mass Effect 2 last week and having a great time with it. Angry handlebar moustache biker shepard is an intergalactic badass. Especailly in that sleeveless outfit you can wear on the Normandy.

PS3: Demon's Souls and Killzone 2

PS2: Playing through Final Fantasy X again to see if it's as bad as I remember, enjoying it so far. Also got Shadow of the Colossus and Okami so I'll give them a go too.

Ps1: International Track and Field and Total Drivin'. :pac:

PSP: I'm determined to get around to playing patopon 2, but I only play psp travelling so I always have something to do and won't be tired of the games, and I'm not travelling as much as usual this month. Might just take a few long bus trips at random :)

• Registered Users Posts: 55,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Angry handlebar moustache biker shepard is an intergalactic badass. Especailly in that sleeveless outfit you can wear on the Normandy.

Sounds more like Village People Shepard.
    ♪♫ "Its fun to stay on the Nor-man-dy-2" ♫♪

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

PS3: I got Heavy Rain and White Knight Chronicles today, so I suspect that they'll take up most of my time, along with the occasional game of MAG. New Game + of Demon's Souls will get some attention as well.

PC: Finally getting around to finishing Mass Effect. Can you believe it's taken me this long to finish the bloody thing that the sequel is already out. :pac: Will be playing Guild Wars with the missus as well. I started Dragon Age: Origins but I don't think it's for me, the missus swears by it though.

PSP: I'm playing a lot of Patapon 2 and echoshift. Age of Zombies is a new purchase and a great laugh. I'm just about to finish Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines.

DS: Phoenix Wright - Justice for All and Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor. Will be importing Pokemon Heart Gold in a week or so - Gold was always my favourite so I'll really enjoy this I think. I think the top screen on my DS (or at least the backlight) is about to go, I can't believe it. I love the little fat yoke. Original DS fo' life yo.

PS2: I've been working my way through Level 5's games on the PS2 so now I'm playing Dark Cloud, it's incredibly simple in some ways but charming in the way that so many Level 5 games are. Once I get my PS2/PS3 memory card transfer thingy from DealExtreme I'll be back playing Persona 3 and Zone of the Enders 2.

360: I'm playing Assassin's Creed for the first time, I'm playing it at the weekend usually so that I don't get burnt out with it, as it can be quite repetitive. I'm having a lot of fun playing Lost Odyssey too. Any time my internet goes down I get stuck into this game.

Somewhere in there I'll try and fit in some socialising, science, eating and sleeping. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Xbox 360
    Rock band 2 - do I ever stop playing this ?

Just finished GH: Van Halen on expert it was ok only got it for the free guitar, the game will be going to adverts any day.

PB Winterbottom : loving this finished the main game and working on the bonus stuff now.

Undertow : got this for free from MS after some outage on live a few years back and never played it.

Fracture: I'd say many picked this up for 4.99 in HMV :p It's not great but not terrible, finding it a bit of a chore though.

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭Xyo

PC
    Still have Beyond Good and Evil from the steam sale to play
    League of Legends
    The Last remnant

Ps2
    Persona 3

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭NunianVonFuch

Xbox 360
    Aliens v Predator: Did first 4 marine chapters, 2 alien and 1 predator so far. Prob be too busy at the weekend, but if I get a chance for a good blast it'll be this I'll be playing.

Call of Duty/Battlefield Multiplayer: Keep changing game between each entry in both series to keep it fresh but I'll probably get an hour or two in over the weekend.

PS3
    Demon's Souls: After 10 hours and only beating level 1-1, I checked the wiki and something *clicked*. Then I beat 2 other levels in an hour but it's still bastard-hard so if I'm feeling masochistic this might get a whirl. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Completed Bioshock 2 the other night, good game but wasn't overly impressed.

Completed Crysis on hard last night, running around the jungle silently capping Koreans never gets boring :pac:.

Still haven't gotten around to completing Fallout 3 yet.

And I usually play Left 4 Dead 2 online most nights.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I am revisiting fallout 3 but on the xbox360 this time. I played it before on the pc.

I just purchased Left4dead 2 and am looking forward to a co-op game later! I had good fun with the first game anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

XBOX 360
    My copy of Bioshock 2 which i ordered online two weeks ago finally came yesterday so i've finally got to play it. Happy enough with it so far.

PC
    Started a new game of FM09 the other day so i'm playing this every now and again.

DS
    Started playing the Ace Attoreny game as well the other day but i might leave it a while.

PS3
    I'm hoping to get Heavy Rain next week.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

PS3 - Just picked up Heavy Rain, which I shall be starting later tonight. Will likely get around to finishing Trine too at some point. The incoming Yakusa 3 / GoW III / FF 13 means the PS3 will be getting plenty of action soon. Uncharted 2 Map pack is a good excuse to get back into last years best game too :)

Wii - Dead Space Extraction, first Wii game I've bought since Madworld. Very good so far.

Xbox 360 - Mainly XBLA stuff, namely Winterbottom (still to finish shorts) and Splosion Man.

PSP - Disgaea, Disgaea, Disgaea. Maybe Half Minute Hero if they get it onto PSN anytime soon.

PS2 - Started Odin Sphere the other day, haven't given it much attention yet though. Amazing graphics.

IPod Touch - Plants vs Zombies. Popcap are so wonderful, and maybe I'll finish the game this time.
    In conclusion: Too many games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

PC:
    Got into TF2 again after about 2 years and starting to play with some lads from the Half Life section on boards so it should make things more interesting.

Replaying Plants Vs. Zombies, what a game.

360:
    Just got Lost Oddesy for a tenner so trying to get into that, also the last mission on Brutal Legend, thinking about replaying Ghostbusters

• Registered Users Posts: 83,306 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

PC: Warcraft mostly. I knew i shouldnt have gotten that trial

Wii: Megaman 9, and 10 is coming out on Monday.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,332 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Xbox:Just got xbox live so pretty much gears of war 2 alot

Wii:Kinda playing zelda twilight princess just to see what the hype is about

Pc:Football manager 2010 but thats a year long thing

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Will be playing MAG and Heavy Rain if I ever get my PS3 back. Telling the missus that it can play all those episodes of Glee she downloaded was a mistake in hindsight. Getting
    back into online Halo 3, it still stands up as a quality game

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

PC:
    Counter Strike Source
    Call of Duty 4
    Guild Wars
    Crysis Wars
    DiRT 2
    Audiosurf
    Supreme Commander 2
    annnd Osu! (its free, try it :P, its Elite Beat Agents, only on PC basically)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

PS3

Bit of MAG, it'd be a crime not to! Will probably have another run through of Dragon Age as i lost my saved games and i want to have a character ready for Awakening! Will probably pick up Heavy Rain and BioShock 2 soon enough too!

Mass Effect 2, ooooo yea.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Making It Bad

PC - Bad company 2, Battlefield 2 w/ Project Reality mod, Torchlight and I'm still trying to get around to finish Dragon Age. Played it for around 50 hours non-stop and then suddenly one day I just didn't feel like playing it anymore!

Xbox 360 - CoD:MW2, I know, I know. Only play it cause it means I can play with my RL friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

360 - Brutal Legend got it for £12 in Tesco the other day, score!

PS3 - Borderlands started the expansion, but I'm not really enjoying it all that much... Either too hard on playthrough 2, or too easy on playthrough 1. Might try to level up a couple of times and get some better gear before I carry on with it

PC - Torchlight - superb game!
    Starcraft II beta - have only had a chance to play 1 game so far, but loved that!

DS - Pokemon Pearl - my commute to work goes by in the blink of an eye

Wii - Madworld - really don't like the lack of checkpoints... Having to play through a level again because you can't beat a boss has pretty much put me off going back to it. Shame:(

• Registered Users Posts: 26,400 ✭✭✭✭noodler

PS2: Persona 3 FES

PS3: Demons Souls (not long to go), Resident Evil 5, PES 2010, Valkyria Chronicles DLC (makes me want to start it again).