Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland -v- Brazil: Emirates Stadium Tuesday 8.05pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

kmart6 wrote: »
    Andrews you agro bollox!
    He's a legend, doesn't take sh!t from anybody

article-1227938-0737FF27000005DC-262_468x316.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Gibson for Whelan
    McGeadey(sp?) for Duffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Whelan is like a ticking clock with passes in the middle. Really growing on me as a player and seems like a genuine character.

Jigga wrote: »
    He's a legend, doesn't take sh!t from anybody

article-1227938-0737FF27000005DC-262_468x316.jpg
    i.e. agro bollox:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Do friendlys count in World rankings

Yes they do, don't have as much impact on rankings as qualifiers, but they still count.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Whelan is turning into a great player , would of like to see him finish the game but they reckon he took a little knock !

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

McGeady and Gibson on for Duff and Whelan, Whelan really impressed me, especially in the last ten minutes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

40,082 is the attendance

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Well done Kelly ,

Stand off let him do all his step overs, when he is finished he realizes that he is going no where and has to pass the ball back .

Where did the bloke doing the RTE commentary get the 15 step overs from :confused:

Pity to see Whelan go off, was having a great game. Didn't get what Trap saw in him at 1st, but he's proving to be a very effective mf afterall. Hope McGeady has a good 30 mins.

Whelan is turning into a great player , would of like to see him finish the game but they reckon he took a little knock !
    Or maybe the fact he has an FA Cup game against Chelsea coming up!:rolleyes!

Well done Kelly ,

Stand off let him do all his step overs, when he is finished he realizes that he is going no where and has to pass the ball back .

Where did the bloke doing the RTE commentary get the 15 step overs from :confused:

I was wondering the same thing, two Brazil subs coming on in a minute

Ramires for Dani Alves
    Grafite for Adriano

How did he miss it? :confused: Very lucky let off for Ireland!

That would have been some introduction for Alves!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Jaysus. St Ledger was spared blushes there. Silly stuff. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Well if we were unlucky with the first goal, we are even more lucky with that shocking miss from Alves! He did the hard work!

St. Ledger didn't cover himself in glory there. Fortunately Alves missed, shocking effort!

Robinho thinking very highly of himself:rolleyes:

James McCarthy better be on soon! Really hope its not a 5 minute job at the end for him!

Ledger that was bad, very lucky to get away with that.

Bring on James McCarthy now, wud be nice to see him get at least 20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I can NOT believe Paul Mcshane is a premiership footballer sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

haha that was funny

Lucky that didn't count!

Defense is all over the shop!

Show's how much we depend on Dunne and O'Shea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,137 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

FFS what the feck are they at, that's Gibson, Ledger and McShane all caught out in the last few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

McShane should never wear the Green again tbh.

Baffled as to how he still gets picked.

We must be desperate.

McShane was lucky the linesman spotted that, he's a shocking player. Come on James McCarthy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

McShane. :rolleyes:

McCarthey for Lawerence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

noodler wrote: »
    I can NOT believe Paul Mcshane is a premiership footballer sometimes.

Only sometimes? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

donkey.jpg

Very lucky there

McShane, u are so brutal. Right decision it was offside, but still McShane...shocking player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,137 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Add Keane to that list.

Terrible stuff.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

And that's why McShane should be nowhere near an Irish set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,945 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

How have Brazil not scored? we are all over the place, especially the centre backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

All the good work done in the second half is getting undone.
    Brazil should be 3-0 up, at least.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

They are making way too many mistakes at back. Defence has falling completely. Should be about 4 nil now I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Brazil running riot now. Ireland's muck defence is really starting to show.

Jesus, Robinho really is a muck player.

could/should be 4 or 5 nil at this stage.... Andrews and McShane are so far from proving their critics wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

We're starting to play a bit more like ourselves now.

When I started playing football , the aul man always said to me " never mess around with the ball in or near your own box " I think some body needs to pass these words of wisdom on to the Irish defense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

is it just me who thinks glenn whelan is a much better player than andrews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Brazil are blitzing us now, we could still nick one I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

at least this performance will lower the expectations of the team...should be 4 or 5 at least to Brazil, and it's nowhere near their strongest team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

McGeady.

Its not so much for this game alone but if he really wants to go to a premiership club at some stage in his career then he really needs to be in games.

He can go such long periods without being involved and we simply cannot afford to carry players like that.

is it just me who thinks glenn whelan is a much better player than andrews?

I'm with ya on that one! We're too loose at the back, being caught in possession too easily, lucky not to be 3-0 down

, the aul man always said to me " never mess around with the ball in or near your own box "

are you sure he was talking about football though? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

kmart6 wrote: »
    McCartney for Lawerence!

George McCartney declared for Republic of Ireland now too?