Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ford GT in Wicklow

• 01-03-2010 9:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭

I know it's not a 'classic' but I saw a '06 Ford GT in Ashford, Wicklow today. Never saw one before...amazing looking car!

Has anybody else seen it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,747 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Moved to motors. The modern GT is very much a salute to the legendary classic GT40, but I suppose discussion in the main motoring forum is more appropriate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Silver/ Grey colour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

Yeah that's the one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

must cost a fortune to run it here......

V480 wrote: »
    Yeah that's the one!

Well there are two silver/grey GT's over here. Could be either one.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 steveirl2

This is the car
    Picture044.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Looks quite dated and not in a 60s throwback way, more like a car from the 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I saw this or one similar to this parked up in Thurles on Munster final day. I think it belonged to one of the Ronans? The reg of the car was ENF3R, I presume some sort of link to the Enfer Group (sponsors of the Tipperary hurling team)?

Vehicle details
    Vehicle Details 1 for registration number ENF3R
    Make
    FORD
    Model
    GT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

I bet he gets away with the M50 toll!

(Cameras cannot read the reg!:D)

It is a modern take on a 70's race car legend. That's why it is so cool:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

steveirl2 wrote: »
    It is a modern take on a 70's race car legend. That's why it is so cool:)
    As I said, it is a 90s take on a 60s car. Althought the GT90 which was the original concept doesn't look as dated.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

mullingar wrote: »
    I bet he gets away with the M50 toll!

(Cameras cannot read the reg!:D)
    Yeah cos, the cops would never know who dunnit .... oh.

um. :)

Nice car though...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

As I said, it is a 90s take on a 60s car. Althought the GT90 which was the original concept doesn't look as dated.
    The GT90 is a travesty of a car. The Ford GT is also not a 90's take - it was only released a few years ago. It's a car based on a design and heritage that will always age well and inspire emotion with any motor enthusiast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,297 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yeah but the boot is nothing compared to that of an Octavia. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

Yes, but the comedy value of seeing others wallop their head as they exit the car makes the GT a far superior investment to the Octavia... :D
    wrote:
    Back under your rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

I saw this or one similar to this parked up in Thurles on Munster final day. I think it belonged to one of the Ronans? The reg of the car was ENF3R, I presume some sort of link to the Enfer Group (sponsors of the Tipperary hurling team)?

Yep it's belonging to one of the Ronans. They own Enfer.

faigs wrote: »
    It's the not the car photo'd above though.

True!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,592 ✭✭✭tossy

I heard from a reliable source that GT is only a kit car based on a ford mondeo!!

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭CONM

Its actually owned by Michael O'Connor who own 15% of enfer, Louis Ronan owns 85%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Ugly looking yoke. Wouldnt be into it at all meself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

You failed the exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

sure an oul passat red TDI would take it :D:D

it is fecking sweet... real sweet....

fap fap fap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

seanybiker wrote: »
    Ugly looking yoke. Wouldnt be into it at all meself.

Do you like the GT40?

Ford_GT40_MKI_gulf_1968.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Gt40 = want

Love the GT40 and I think the GT is as good a job as they could have done to pay it tribute..
    Amazing looking car.

Still no chipped 535d though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

CONM wrote: »
    Its actually owned by Michael O'Connor who own 15% of enfer, Louis Ronan owns 85%

Wha!!? is that a horse or something,

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Wha!!? is that a horse or something,
    Its a company http://www.enferscientific.com/ . They invented the screening process for BSE

Really? I'm pretty sure my cousin has been in it with Louis Ronan jnr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I had a nosey at it on Sunday, where the above pic was taken, my God it's something else, the supercharger alone wouldn't fit into the engine bay of a family hatch

Really? I'm pretty sure my cousin has been in it with Louis Ronan jnr.
    Louis Ronan jnr has a black ferrari 430 and a 350Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Do you like the GT40?

Ford_GT40_MKI_gulf_1968.jpg

Why wouldn't ya ? Won LeMans 4 years running in 1966-9. Personally I think they're gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Saw one of these at Toys4BigBoys a few years ago, I wonder if it's the same as the one in the op, they aren't exactly common.

pict0172.th.jpg

Louis Ronan jnr has a black ferrari 430 and a 350Z

I know that but I thought he had the GT coz it was his Dads/uncles? Didn't know he kept the 350Z.

I'm almost certain he sold the 350Z to a mate of his when he got the Ferrari a few years ago.

Anyone have pics of the Enfer Ford GT?

Could he have borrowed it off his dads business partner?

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    I'm almost certain he sold the 350Z to a mate of his when he got the Ferrari a few years ago.

Anyone have pics of the Enfer Ford GT?
    He tried to sell the 350Z but couldn't get the right money for it so he decided to hold on to it, he had put a serious amount of money into that car

I remember seeing it years ago, absolutely crazy money spent on all the mods. Any pics of it around?

There should be, i saw it at a good few shows

Onkle wrote: »
    I had a nosey at it on Sunday, where the above pic was taken, my God it's something else, the supercharger alone wouldn't fit into the engine bay of a family hatch
    Did you just happen to be in the area, or did you come to the event?

Redisle wrote: »
    Saw one of these at Toys4BigBoys a few years ago, I wonder if it's the same as the one in the op, they aren't exactly common.
    yea that's the same car.

Could he have borrowed it off his dads business partner?

True! I just assumed all the time that it was one of theirs. How foolish of me. :pac:

Who cares who owns it, it's not the car we're talking about. And sure at least someone is enjoying it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

steveirl2 wrote: »
    Did you just happen to be in the area, or did you come to the event?

Nosied along with one of the lads from here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Why wouldn't ya ? Won LeMans 4 years running in 1966-9. Personally I think they're gorgeous.

Oh there's no question about me liking it, it's number 2 in my ultimate garage (DB4 GT Zagato @ 1) I was just wondering if the person who said they didn't like the GT, liked the GT40 (or even knew it existed?)

S.

Onkle wrote: »
    Nosied along with one of the lads from here
    You should have introduced yourself, we are a friendly bunch:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Louis has an Irish reg black Ferrari among other cars. Never seen him with a GT40 though and he lives close enough to me so I do see what goes in and out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh