Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Taarup 3124 8ft conditioner mounted

• 02-03-2010 2:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭

Hello,
    Can you give me your're opinions on this model taarup (it comes with nylon tines)?

Anybody got one?

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

saw one last year down at local dealer, think he said about 8 grand though i could be wrong on that, nice looking mower though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

I've got one, it's a good solid mower and cuts well. On the negative side it's very heavy hanging out the side of the tractor when working, we worked it for a couple of years on a 4 cylinder 120hp tractor and it spent a lot of it's time on 3 wheels turning on the headlands on hilly ground. It also sticks out a lot on the right hand side of the tractor when folded for transport, as much as 18 inches or 2 feet depending on the tractor. You need your wits about you travelling on the road with it! As far as price goes I think I paid around €11250 plus VAT for it in 2007.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

casinoking how do you find it when lifting at headland, it lifts off the spool right, not the actual lift? Have an 8ft marangon myself which is a jf copy, need to lift it with lift and its a balls of a job, far end dips down and catches already cut grass. like your its too heavy off side of tractor. Lely splindimo looks like a nice enough mower which might also be worth considering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

That's right it lifts on the spool valve. It lifts from the centre of the mower so there's no problem with the outside catching the ground. There's also an accumulator on the lifting ram to allow the mower follow ground contours more smoothly. The only problem with lifting it is, as I've said, the weight of the bloody thing. You'd need a fairly sizeable tractor to handle it with comfort. The Lely is a tidy looking mower alright, an uncle of mine has had a couple of them and has had no major problems. It's an altogether lighter mower than the Taarup, and it folds vertically for transport as opposed to horizontally behind the tractor with the 3124. Think it might be a keener price too, I know there was a couple of grand difference between the trailed Taarup and Lely last year anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭westlander

Thanks for the replies lads.
    Was also looking into a pottinger novacat 225h extra dry conditioning. This one has a removable conditioner. Its smaller than the taarup and lighter.

Did ye ever use one of these?