Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moneenagisha PLC

• 03-03-2010 12:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭

I'm looking for a bit of advice and some feedback here if that's okay.

I've been having a really stressful time with my son who's currently doing a PLC in Moneen, in a subject he always thought he loved and it's going really badly. I thought it was because he was being a lazy bum at first, then I had a chat with a mate who was doing the course too. She left it. Both she and my lad said the tutors don't turn up quiet frequently. He said he's at a loss regarding what to do and he thinks he's going to fail:eek:.

To top it all off (and this is why I'm writing this) I met an old student of mine who's also doing a PLC there and she has a similar story (different course altogether).

Now I know this kid well and she slogged for her leaving, she's a lovely kid, but she feels lost and that she's bound to fail her course. Her tutors, when they turn up, always seem to have to go to a 'meeting'.

I'm starting to get a really negitive picture of the college here folks and what's more, I'm watching my sons college career crash and burn before he's even 18!! Thanks to the banks and pensions going down the toilet, I can't afford to send him to college without a grant!!

I'm very close to paying a visit to the principal of the school (my son has asked me not to). What do I say when I get there? I know my kids no academic genius but it's ART for crying out loud, he loved that subject!!:( Is Moneen droping the ball in some courses? Has anyone else had this experience? Has anyone heard anything regarding what's going on with the PLC's there?

Anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

My bro did a course there a few years ago, and really left him SO unmotivated as the tutors didn't bother turning up a lot of the time. I rang about it because *i think* he failed the course, as he was meant to pass 7 out of 8 modules or something like that, but they hadn't been able to sit two modules he considered to be easier (computer studies being one) as it wasn't on offer.

But yeah, I have heard a lot of bad things about them not turning up, which was terrible.

Not positive but have you considered tutoring?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

I would sooner approach the CEO of the City of Galway VEC than the principal. I know someone who had a similar problem with one of their other PLC courses and got a resolution that way.

The reason is that most of the money Galway VEC gets is PLC money from the Dept of Education. PLC courses are their main 'business' rather than second level education any more.

Were the CEO left with a strong impression that certain matters would be promptly brought to the attention of the Department of Education I would think that the tutors would suddenly find more time to attend class rather than go to these important meetings.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Greaney,

I think the gravity of the situation dictates that you should try to help your son rectify the situation and verify that the principal is aware of the shortcomings of his/her tutors.

If the alleged shortcomings do not disappear fairly sharpish after your chat with them, I would get onto the body responsible for the college and also to your T.D.

I'm hesitant to say anything one way or another, but I know of other people who attended Moneen who were, shall we say "less than satisfied".

The Principal does not appoint these tutors, the CEO of the City VEC does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭unJustMary

What's the legal situation with PLC collleges? Do they talk to mum and dad, or does the student get treated like an adult? Is there a students association of any sort?

If your son doesn't want you ringing, then he's going to have to take steps himself (in conjunction with classmates perhaps): if the tutor doesn't turn up, send a deputation to the principal asking why.

Like I said, the tutors and the course accreditation are dealt with centrally by the VEC not the Principal. The Principal sort of hosts these courses in their establishment.

If the students wish to complain as a body they should also deal with the CEO of the VEC not the Principal.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 paulaner

Attempted to do a PLC course (also in art) there the year before last. Absolutely awful, tbh. One of my tutors didn't turn up for 3 weeks straight, and no one even bothered to tell us or give us a replacement, so we just turned up day after day hoping for the best. This was out 'main' tutor, who taught 80% of the classes, so we were pretty much screwed.
    Also one of the tutors kept saying stuff like 'one day, when you're doing a REAL course in a REAL college...' (This tutor was only about 2 years older than myself and I'm early 20s).
    The school students were also constantly coming into classes and being generally disruptive. Tutors always had to go off and deal with them taking away from our 'learning' time. One tutor in particular was also often on her cell phone during the classes, even if she was int eh middle of explaining something to us and her phone rang, she would anwer it and have a good ol' chat to whoever was on the other end.
    On top of that, we were promised work placement. They could not get us any, due to the year befores group having messed around the crowd that we were supposed to go to for work placement and they refused to take anyone after that.
    Ended up leaving after a few months :(

Actualy reading the above post reminded me that my brother didnt get any placement that was promised. Kept being told they would sort something out but never did. People seemed to go in just so they could claim their grant or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Bit of an eye opening thread this. If even half of it was true I'd be causing some noise fairly quickly, the education of young people is not something to be idly interfered with, and this sounds institutional.

The name of the VEC CEO in Galway County is Seosamh MacDonncha, phone 091-874535 extension 335, email ceo@cogalvec.ie, Galway City is Breandan O Callaran, 091 549 400 or breandan.ocallaran@cgvec.ie as far as I can see, there's no staff list on the City website, and its probably them who deal with Moneen. Map here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

You might also write a letter to the editor of the Advertiser and Independent if you can get no satisfaction, see if any other concerned parents or students want to meet up to discuss the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 frogwestside

i done a plc in horticulture up there and there was only maybe a handful of occasions when teachers didnt show up and we were notified the day in advance by phone, cant speak for all all courses but oure one was grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭pasta-solo

I must say, I'm very surprised to read this! I have had only positive experiences in my time in the college. Obviously I can't speak for all the tutors, but the ones I have dealt with(specifically those involved with the Theatre Performance and TV & Film Production) were great and really went out of their way to help the students.

Having also spent time in both NUIG and GMIT, I can honestly say I much preferred doing a PLC in Moneenageisha, I felt more valued as both a student and as a person! Would recommend it to anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Greaney

I really appreciate everyone's feedback. I will follow up by contacting the CEO of the VEC today!!!!.

Just to answer a few other remarks made (and can I just say, they really shined a light on the situation for me and helped me get my head around things, thank you amhran nua and everyone who else who had either themselves or family members suffer the same fate and were willing to share it)...

1) My son attended Moneen as a secondary school and I found it to be terrific. His art teacher was wonderful I believe she teaches art on the childcare course aswell as the second level students and she's a cut above the other tutors, from what I've gathered from others

2) I have had a couple of friends kids do the film course and they thought it was great. They passed and went onto study film in college

3) At 17, my lad is still a kid and I understand him not wanting me to talk to the principal. He is not an adult and he's on the quiet side so I simply can't leave it up to him. He's genuinly floundering.

Finally, he came back today an hour after setting off for college, I asked him why he was back. He said his classroom was locked and there was no-one in it. This is not the first time this has happened. It happens more than once a week that teachers dont' turn up. He lost a few months of Friday classes due to the tutor not turning up, she took all four classes on the friday and didn't turn up for months. Some personal reason, so I understand a fortnight but seriously... it went on for months!!!:(

Man, if i were a student in that college:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Jesus Christ.

With the HUNDREDS maybe THOUSANDS of teachers (and other people who would be qualified to teach in their chosen profession) out of work and these jokers not even turning up?

Makes my blood boil. I'd love to be a teacher. It was always my dream, and I'm good at it. No point in going for it here and now.

Those poor kids though :(

Once you meet the City VEC CEO do report back here on the result.

If the tutor claimed their salary and never showed up for weeks on end on fridays then that is fraud and at the very least the tutor should pay back every single hour they claimed and should be severely disciplined.

If that tutor had agreed time off then why were the students not informed and set work on fridays AND provided with a facility to do that set work in the College. Alternatively why was another tutor not tasked to that course on fridays ????

Tell the CEO you expect a full explanation in writing and within 1 week at most, or you will go public on this matter. Funny how that womans father dies on a friday not a thursday all the same :(

Also tell the CEO that you expect all lost course hours to be made back over the Easter Holidays and afternoons between 4 and 6 so that the students can get their credits and advance to a higher level course. Tell the CEO you expect a schedule of classes in writing and in the post to make the lost time up and you expect that the CEO will personally ensure they are adhered to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

Well said Sponge Bob. Don't let them get away with this OP, or they will keep doing it.

Please let us know how you get on after you contact them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭pasta-solo

While I can understand the frustration of not having a tutor show up for their class, I really feel the need to point out again, in my opinion as a student at Moneenageisha(Galway Community College as I believe the PLC section is called) that this is an exception and not the rule. The staff who I have encountered are utterly professional, friendly and respectful of all the students who are willing to put effort into their coursework. I think it would be unfair to imply that all tutors are the same as your son's (the art teacher, I think you mentioned.) By all means, if this tutor is as bad at their job as you have described them to be, then make a complaint against them, but it is unfair to say the entire college is bad as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

I did a fitness course there when I finished secondary school. Was very good standards and it also had a follow on course for UL which made it that bit more professional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 galgirlgal

Right, this post might go on a bit cos I've lots to say but I'm going to say it. Been hearing about this thread all day at work but been up to my eyeballs so not had a chance to get a look at it til now. I often read boards but don't usually have an awful lot to say or mores the point an awful lot of time to say it. But on this subject I do.

I'm from Galway. Ballybane to be more specific. Doorstep of Galway Community College as it is known now or Móinín as it was when I was younger. This school has had its fair share of bad rep. Some is deserved, some is damn well not.

As a single mother, not by choice might I add before I get attacked over that, and not there for handouts either cos I've always worked, even now, I find it tough sometimes but education is the one thing my kids have I never had. I had no time for it and was not good in school but those teachers broke their backsides with me. I'm good at writing and maths and the like and love reading. What more can I ask?

I completely understand Greaney and your woes but I wonder why not go in? I mean if you think a parent will get seen by a CEO you need your head checked? Document everything is what I would say.

Pros of this school are the facilities. They are unreal. I've seen the new ones and my God they are savage, nothing like it anywhere else cos I had thought about sending one of mine elsewhere when we lived on the other side of the city but could not put him somewhere without these facilities. Also, teachers are amazing. We had an awful time of it a few years back and over the holidays the teachers made sure my young lad caught up and came in giving him what I can only call free grinds. You would not get much of that in lots of schools. My youngest is there now and his tutor keeps me up to date so much, it's just so personal. But there are cons to it, some of the kids in there have no manners, I see them when I drop my own off smoking outside and such, not the image I would like for a school. I just think that a parents side for all this was needed. I never felt more at home anywhere than in this school, they will support you thru it all and you don't get much of that these days. Obviously Greaney you have your point but I would not have left it til March, sure how can he catch up now? I am dying to hear how ya get on cos I really doubt you wont be happy by the end of it, I mean I have always found them great there. They get all sorts granted from the high pointers to the others but they always treated me with respect and listened so I hope they do the same for you. Rant over.

galgirlgal wrote: »
    I just think that a parents side for all this was needed. I never felt more at home anywhere than in this school, they will support you thru it all and you don't get much of that these days. Obviously Greaney you have your point but I would not have left it til March, sure how can he catch up now? I am dying to hear how ya get on cos I really doubt you wont be happy by the end of it, I mean I have always found them great there. They get all sorts granted from the high pointers to the others but they always treated me with respect and listened so I hope they do the same for you. Rant over.

That is rather a lot of praise there GalG :) fair play. You might have noticed that I never condemned the school itself.

You are describing the second level bit there GalG , a parent of a second level child should go to the Principal about problems because they are in charge of the teachers and then there is a board of management in charge of the principal etc etc. Like any second level school. Greaney should have gone in long ago like you said.

Most of Moneen nowadays is PLC courses and the Second Level school is only a fraction of the overall school. Fr Griffin is all PLC courses nowadays

Galway City VEC has TWICE or THREE TIMES as many PLC students as second level students.

Galway City VEC is effectively a third level institute specialising in PLC courses nowadays where 20 years ago it specialised in Secondary Education like all VECs back then.

PLC courses are not actually run by Teachers but by TUTORS appointed for the purpose by VEC head office.

NOBODY in Moneen is in charge of these Tutors, they are managed direct from VEC HQ.

Therefore if your problem is with a course/its content/organisation or tutor not showing up you should take it to the CEO of the VEC where the buck should clearly stop.

Hi GalGirlGal; I think the OP is making reference to the PLC part of Moinin, not the secondary school part. I don't know of any issues with the second level part; sounds like form your experience it is pretty good.
    But the PLC part is separate and operates differently.

Right, it seems I've opened a can of worms here....I think this will be my final say on the matter so if you want to know more than this....PM me

1) I've asked for this post to be moved to another section, I didn't expect it to be so controversial so I've contacted the mods to see if there's somewhere more appropriate.

2) I had actually contacted the VEC career guidance section over a month ago when I thought my son was really lost. I took steps at home and it's been tough actually.

3) As it turns out there is a 'Head of the teaching faculty' in each VEC college and that's the person to contact. Since I hoped that this thread would be informative.... there's the info

4) I'm meeting them tomorrow.

5) I'm not optimistic. I had thought that grants got cut pretty quick if one's attendance isn't up to scratch, I was wrong. Would like to get to the bottom of that.

6) Moneen was my sons second level school and I think it's terrific, so do most folk I know, in fact, with regard to discipline it was mentioned on Morning Ireland (RTE radio one) as a model school for it's dicipline structure.

7) I guess that's all I have to say

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

At this time I don't see a reason to lock or move this thread so if you could get back to us Greaney after the meeting? It'd be nice with some closure on your issue. I'm sure lots of parents would be interested too.

Greaney , do not report back if the meeting with this 'head of faculty' person is unsatisfactory because you will then have to escalate to the CEO anyway. If they claim not to be 'aware' of the regular disappearances of the tutor in question then it is pretty obvious that they are not in charge of anything at all and only have some BS title to save the CEO from doing their job.

They should be like the head of a second level school and they should be able to hand you a detailed written policy on the spot detailing how a complaint may be made and precisely how the resolution procedure for this complaint works.

Do not accept the validity of any grievance procedure which ends with the Board of Management because that is self evidently for second level pupils not for PLC pupils. It is of course entirely appropriate and correct for second level pupils up to leaving cert to have a grievance procedure ending in a Board of Management step because the Board of Management is in charge of the second level strand ....but not the PLC strand.

Ask your kid whether they were ever told there was a ' Head of teaching faculty' ( Head Tutor) at any stage ??? I never heard of these pseudo head teachers although they may well exist in Galway VEC.....and indeed shoud seeing as Moneen and Fr Griffin have at least 20 PLC courses each.

Frankly I suspect this important person is a new one on your child too :rolleyes:

And the very best of luck in resolving this.

I had my meeting with a member and the head of the teaching faculty today and they were very helpful. We put together a plan to work through his problems with the course. It's very do-able.

After my experience, my advice to anyone is to perhaps give even more supervision to their kids in the first couple of months in a PLC. Have their full time table and module plan. The staff were more than willing to help.

I didn't mean to identify any teachers in particular (I didn't know them) and apoligise if I caused any offense or harm, that was not my intention.

It looks like the the plan of action can salvage the course.

I'd like to thank the staff at the school who were so helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pernickety

Good to hear that you got on well Greaney and best of luck to your son!I think you make a very good point about supervising your kids education to some degree if possible after they leave school.When you think about it a kid goes from being 17 and having everyone on their back from parents to teachers about studying for the LC to having no one keep any eye on them at all when they're 18 and doing a new course.No wonder so many get lost along the way really.It's not as if 17 to 18 constitutes an evolutionary leap in personal development and responsibility!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Locked pending.