Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Illness in the Family

Options
  • 04-03-2010 10:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

Hi I was just wondering if anyone knew if there any allowances when it comes to exams if there is someone in your family that is terminally ill. I am currently in final year and My grandmother who I am very close to was diagnosed with cancer at the start of the year and since then has continued to get worse, I didn't feel like saying it to anyone because I really do prefer to keep my business to myself but I have gotten my results back and I really dont feel like I got the grades that I could of gotten in a different situation. The same sort of situation happened to me before my leaving cert where my mam also got cancer and passed away during 6th year. I never said anything in my previous situation because I really like to keep things to myself but this year is really important to me as I hope to go onto to do a masters after. Any help on if there is any way that my situation can be taken into account and if so who would be the right people to talk to? Thanks in advance for your time and advice.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭meganj

I'm really sorry to hear about your Gran Op I hope your coping ok.

I'd say talk to your lecturer, either the head of your department or the lecture you see the most. If you don't feel like doing that do you have a tutor/supervisor who you would know?